Author Topic: Tweet Of The Day  (Read 14905 times)

Re: Tweet Of The Day
« Reply #40 on: July 30, 2017, 11:17:51 AM »
Kadame

You must be unfamiliar with proverbs or Oral literature in Africa generally.

Long before people started complaining of "violence in cartoons", African Oral literature had marked itself as extremely "violent", obscene and vulgar.

Briefly: The description of Opul cannot be flowery. He does all the bad things - rapes women, kills, he is a cannibal who especially loves to eat children.

There is a purpose and function for the vulgarity. If you read further you and between the lines, you meet the moral. The vulgarity may serve the purpose of promoting seriousness, amusement, etc.

In this case one could say it is a warning: A stitch in time saves nine. The things we ignore can have consequences.

But I think the words of Cardinal Richelieu are more apt: One can hardly be sinful in good company. The man goes to bed with an itch. He can't be surprised that his fingers smell of shit. It can be interpreted widely. As a lawyer, you probably don't need those  :)

I have this feeling I may have misunderstood your reaction.

----Tweet offending Kadame deleted----
Ate ke?... :roll: Jameni kuna wazimu hii dunia  :lolz:

« Reply #41 on: July 31, 2017, 04:22:46 AM »

Offline Globalcitizen12

« Reply #42 on: July 31, 2017, 05:23:13 AM »
this son of gun should have continue with his Lab band intervention.. he needs to do gastric.. god forbid he ever becomes president..

Offline Kadame5

« Reply #43 on: July 31, 2017, 08:11:18 AM »
Kadame

You must be unfamiliar with proverbs or Oral literature in Africa generally.

Long before people started complaining of "violence in cartoons", African Oral literature had marked itself as extremely "violent", obscene and vulgar.

Briefly: The description of Opul cannot be flowery. He does all the bad things - rapes women, kills, he is a cannibal who especially loves to eat children.

There is a purpose and function for the vulgarity. If you read further you and between the lines, you meet the moral. The vulgarity may serve the purpose of promoting seriousness, amusement, etc.

In this case one could say it is a warning: A stitch in time saves nine. The things we ignore can have consequences.

But I think the words of Cardinal Richelieu are more apt: One can hardly be sinful in good company. The man goes to bed with an itch. He can't be surprised that his fingers smell of shit. It can be interpreted widely. As a lawyer, you probably don't need those  :)

I have this feeling I may have misunderstood your reaction.

----Tweet offending Kadame deleted----
Ate ke?... :roll: Jameni kuna wazimu hii dunia  :lolz:
OMG, Omollo, noooo! I was not offended in the least. :D I found the vulgarity unexpected, logical and quite funny! I just imagined people actually saying that in that conservative, very traditional culture and burst out laughing. :D I thought the original "author" of the saying mustve been a little nuts. Not to say he was wrong...just a tad nuts.

« Reply #44 on: July 31, 2017, 12:50:45 PM »
OMG, Omollo, noooo! I was not offended in the least. :D I found the vulgarity unexpected, logical and quite funny! I just imagined people actually saying that in that conservative, very traditional culture and burst out laughing. :D I thought the original "author" of the saying mustve been a little nuts. Not to say he was wrong...just a tad nuts.
Thanks. I doubt that there has been any delving in the etymology of individual proverbs beyond establishing the first person to publicly utter the same. I still don't attach much to that because most of the time these sayings, proverbs, tales are passed over generations adapt to linguistic changes and eventually cross linguistic frontiers to enter and be modified in new regions.

I did some "work" in remote parts of Pwani and in the evening we ended up around a fire place where story telling , well, yes, erupted. After some time the kids either fell asleep (the extremely humid nights are legendary) or were sent away along with all others.

Then the real stuff started. It was as you say highly logical and deeply vulgar. Remove the vulgarity and you ruin the story. I regret losing the recording. It was delivered in a perfect swahili dialect. Each narrator sought to outdo the last.

One thing I also noticed, the same story could be told several times. The seemingly tiny variations would end up distinguishing it from all others. Speak of there being no patents in Africa before the white man - each narrator would have a unique delivery method.

I noticed the kids who had heard these several times before, would have their own preference of who should deliver which.

« Reply #45 on: August 03, 2017, 04:52:48 AM »
Check out @Kamzy___'s Tweet: ?s=09

« Reply #46 on: August 04, 2017, 02:20:25 AM »
Invalid Tweet ID

« Reply #47 on: August 04, 2017, 06:28:59 PM »
Invalid Tweet ID

« Reply #48 on: August 04, 2017, 06:43:57 PM »

« Reply #49 on: August 04, 2017, 06:47:37 PM »
Invalid Tweet ID

Offline Globalcitizen12

« Reply #50 on: August 07, 2017, 01:26:58 AM »
Uhuru will be declared the winner where he loses or wins. He has already bought everyone.

« Reply #51 on: August 07, 2017, 02:40:04 AM »

Calm down, Ouru cannot buy everyone. Everyone is not on sale in Kenya.  Ouru just want to look bad but he is NOT.  Bad dudes like Kagame or Putin do not run around the country campaigning/begging for votes, being booed at and yelling back at people with empty threats like ouru.

Uhuru will be declared the winner where he loses or wins. He has already bought everyone.

« Reply #52 on: August 07, 2017, 06:00:54 AM »
894172727187308544[/tweet]][/url]

« Reply #53 on: August 07, 2017, 09:55:53 AM »
Shah means King in Farsi.
Baal is the heathen god most despised by God (Yaweh, Allah, etc).

The combination means: King Baal. Now if this guy is caught in an Isis roadblock, he will pass all the tests of determining his being Sunni (true muslim according to the terrorists). But when they are about to release him and in the process of exchanging niceties they ask him for his name and he says "Shah Baal" expect to hear all of them shout "A'udhu billahi minash shaitanir rajim" ( I seek Allah's protection/refuge/shelter from The Devil) as they scramble to put him to death. There is no way he would survive.

I even fear if he went walking anywhere in fucking wahhabi Saudi, he wouldn't make it back alive.

Am just saying...

« Reply #54 on: August 07, 2017, 03:35:22 PM »

« Reply #55 on: August 07, 2017, 03:38:00 PM »

« Reply #56 on: August 07, 2017, 11:50:58 PM »
Invalid Tweet ID

« Reply #57 on: August 08, 2017, 12:21:31 AM »
Invalid Tweet ID

« Reply #58 on: August 09, 2017, 01:42:02 AM »

« Reply #59 on: August 12, 2017, 02:36:55 AM »
Invalid Tweet ID