Author Topic: Dr Njoroge turn downs perks and choose to live in communal house  (Read 8190 times)

For first time ever we have a rare public servant who doesn't care about stuffing himself up with public money.

http://www.nation.co.ke/news/CBK-boss-turns-down-juicy-perks/-/1056/2772408/-/mkf1fhz/-/index.html

Re: Dr Njoroge turn downs perks and choose to live in communal house
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2015, 12:45:09 PM »
He being an Opus Dei man is driven buy other motives very opposite to most Kenyans.
Majority will not understand him but I prefer him to to normal self centered Kenyan who is just out there to get the most for himself using as little energy as possible.
This guy will not end up having cases in court like his predecessor. He should also look into that deal Kenya govt signed with Del la Rue but this could prove to be one too heavy task for such a humble fellow.

« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2015, 01:13:42 PM »
I hope is not a softie and push over who will be relegated to a corner as wierdo..as the eating class fill their stomach and their fifth generation stomachs. Definitely he is incorruptible. I just hope he agrees to get top level security given some big cats might want to finish him.

All in all..where can we get more opus dei.

We had one in our class in campus..and he was holiest man I ever saw. A very good programmer too.After graduation, he left all that and went to Rome, now he is father.

Wacha vooke (with all respect) and their evangelical groupies. Opus dei in all their dealings define holiness.

He being an Opus Dei man is driven buy other motives very opposite to most Kenyans.
Majority will not understand him but I prefer him to to normal self centered Kenyan who is just out there to get the most for himself using as little energy as possible.
This guy will not end up having cases in court like his predecessor. He should also look into that deal Kenya govt signed with Del la Rue but this could prove to be one too heavy task for such a humble fellow.

« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2015, 02:19:46 PM »
I hope is not a softie and push over who will be relegated to a corner as wierdo..as the eating class fill their stomach and their fifth generation stomachs. Definitely he is incorruptible. I just hope he agrees to get top level security given some big cats might want to finish him.

All in all..where can we get more opus dei.

We had one in our class in campus..and he was holiest man I ever saw. A very good programmer too.After graduation, he left all that and went to Rome, now he is father.

Wacha vooke (with all respect) and their evangelical groupies. Opus dei in all their dealings define holiness.
Pundito,
Wacha uchokozi.
There is more to Opus Dei than you know. Anyway, all we need is some serious brains there like Ndung'u but completely unshackled. Corruption at CBK is not the biggest problem, meddling  is IT

« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2015, 02:36:17 PM »
Njoroge had better accept security at the minimum.  Given that he may be called upon to push back against the Jimmy Wanjigis and Ann Waigurus of this world.

Otherwise a breath of fresh air.

« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2015, 02:48:30 PM »
Meddling in what. We don't see any serious brains because MPC is the brains and CBK governor has a single vote there. We need somebody who will do the core job of CBK.

Which is to REGULATE BANKS by making sure they follow ALL THE BANKING LAWS. That is where a strong incorruptible character like Dr Njoroge comes in. One reason corruption has thrived in Kenya is because banks are acting like Swiss bankers...they just bank the money without asking any questions. That is not how our banking laws are designed. The banks ought to alert CBK for every transaction that is suspicious. People no longer need to go to swiss banks, goes they can bank their stolen money anywhere in kenya.

Internally CBK procure a lot of goods and services--- it will help if we do not have Dela Rue (sp) still printing very old ugly notes..that are easy to be duplicated..while countries like Uganda have better looking money.

Pundito,
Wacha uchokozi.
There is more to Opus Dei than you know. Anyway, all we need is some serious brains there like Ndung'u but completely unshackled. Corruption at CBK is not the biggest problem, meddling  is IT

« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2015, 02:58:59 PM »
I like this guy. First ever Kenyan.
Whoa!!
BTW. Why does Uluru and Ruto accept salaries? They are already billionaires with the money Uhurus father stole and Rutos theft of every public property

« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2015, 03:11:43 PM »
Meddling in what. We don't see any serious brains because MPC is the brains and CBK governor has a single vote there. We need somebody who will do the core job of CBK.

Which is to REGULATE BANKS by making sure they follow ALL THE BANKING LAWS. That is where a strong incorruptible character like Dr Njoroge comes in. One reason corruption has thrived in Kenya is because banks are acting like Swiss bankers...they just bank the money without asking any questions. That is not how our banking laws are designed. The banks ought to alert CBK for every transaction that is suspicious. People no longer need to go to swiss banks, goes they can bank their stolen money anywhere in kenya.

Internally CBK procure a lot of goods and services--- it will help if we do not have Dela Rue (sp) still printing very old ugly notes..that are easy to be duplicated..while countries like Uganda have better looking money.

Meddling means he is allowed to do his job without too much interference by the executive. We see that every so often. Good brains who suddenly become idiots upon assuming office

Of course CBK has some spare cash for printing notes and such and some itchy fingers may find it irresistible but the amounts to me are not staggering. Njuguna has been accused of colluding with banks but these fall in the realm of conspiracy theories. Totally unsubstantiated BS. MPesa if anything is the best proof he was not beholden to that industry.

our economy is far from paperless and this is a huge challenge in fighting corruption. Besides, corruption is far much bigger than CBK

« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2015, 03:25:52 PM »
Prof Njunguna did well to allow MPESA (although by then it was beyond him..Mpesa had it's own momentum) and agency banking; But he was too cosy with Kimunya & James Mwangi (who I think influence his appointment) and we saw many scandals..Dela' Rue, Pattni Grand Regency, Libya asset freeze and of course networking one which he is being tried etc..I think Nakumatt linked money laundering bank was his predecessor.Colluding with banks..I think there is prima facia evidence that Forex Trading by most banks was left unregulated by CBK and most of speculative attacks on Kshs was collusion by some favoured banks..you can see forex earning showing strongly in bank balance sheet around that time.

Everyone should play their role in fighting graft..in Dr Njoroge we are sure we have our christian knight.

I know it pain your greatly to see a catholic knight standing for what Christianity ought to be. Humble service.

Meddling means he is allowed to do his job without too much interference by the executive. We see that every so often. Good brains who suddenly become idiots upon assuming office

Of course CBK has some spare cash for printing notes and such and some itchy fingers may find it irresistible but the amounts to me are not staggering. Njuguna has been accused of colluding with banks but these fall in the realm of conspiracy theories. Totally unsubstantiated BS. MPesa if anything is the best proof he was not beholden to that industry.

our economy is far from paperless and this is a huge challenge in fighting corruption. Besides, corruption is far much bigger than CBK

« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2015, 04:18:33 PM »
Prof Njunguna did well to allow MPESA (although by then it was beyond him..Mpesa had it's own momentum) and agency banking; But he was too cosy with Kimunya & James Mwangi (who I think influence his appointment) and we saw many scandals..Dela' Rue, Pattni Grand Regency, Libya asset freeze and of course networking one which he is being tried etc..I think Nakumatt linked money laundering bank was his predecessor.Colluding with banks..I think there is prima facia evidence that Forex Trading by most banks was left unregulated by CBK and most of speculative attacks on Kshs was collusion by some favoured banks..you can see forex earning showing strongly in bank balance sheet around that time.

Everyone should play their role in fighting graft..in Dr Njoroge we are sure we have our christian knight.

I know it pain your greatly to see a catholic knight standing for what Christianity ought to be. Humble service.

This emotionalism is what Moon Ki keeps telling you of. Where does it 'greatly pain' me?
Somebody was quick to remind us that even MUTUNGA started on such a 'humble' tone. It's a tad unfair judging a fresher with zero results or even a chance to do anything with somebody who has been there. Right now, the most we can do is to get mesmerized by this oddity.

All that bar talk of banks colluding, I have never seen no evidence. It seems to be a case of exploiting weak policies among others and you can't fault them for that

« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2015, 04:37:14 PM »
I think John Githongo is also Opus Dei. 

« Reply #11 on: July 02, 2015, 05:28:36 PM »
Now who is emotional. Aren't you the guy who went looking for evidence that Opus dei was some occult. I can read btw the lines. Now that aside.

CBK, CMA, CCK, ERC, name any regulator should NEVER be in bed with guys they are suppose to regulate. They should never even appear together. It like a referee attending Arsenal celebration. That is essentially my beef with Prof Njunguna. He was too chummy with the bankers.

When it comes to forex... I'm sure you know after that debacle (of Kshs dropping to 107!!)...when Prof Njunguna was voted the worst CBK governor..he later on introduce regulations to ban margin trading on forex. Banks were playing and maybe still play around exchange rate for speculation purpose. That shouldn't not happen.

I expect Njoroge unlike Njuguna to be always on the side of customers and economy; that means regularly checking if bankings are getting ahead of CBK regulations and then quickly nip any such excess in the bud.

This emotionalism is what Moon Ki keeps telling you of. Where does it 'greatly pain' me?
Somebody was quick to remind us that even MUTUNGA started on such a 'humble' tone. It's a tad unfair judging a fresher with zero results or even a chance to do anything with somebody who has been there. Right now, the most we can do is to get mesmerized by this oddity.

All that bar talk of banks colluding, I have never seen no evidence. It seems to be a case of exploiting weak policies among others and you can't fault them for that

« Reply #12 on: July 02, 2015, 05:31:37 PM »
Now who is emotionally. Aren't you the guy who went looking for evidence that Opus dei was some occult. I can read btw the lines. Now that aside.

CBK, CMA, CCK, ERC, name any regulator should NEVER be in bed with guys they are suppose to regulator. They should never even appear together. It like a referee attending Arsenal celebration. That is essentially my beef with Prof Njunguna. He was too chummy with the bankers.
There is no emotion there. Opus Dei is being touted as his forte and I simply differed. And I explained why. Emotion is imagining am hurt

When it comes to forex... I'm sure you know after that debacle (of Kshs dropping to 107!!)...when Prof Njunguna was voted the worst CBK governor..he later on introduce regulations to ban margin trading on forex. Banks were playing and maybe still play around exchange rate for speculation purpose. That shouldn't not happen.

I expect Njoroge unlike Njuguna to be always on the side of customers and economy; that means such regularly checking if bankings are getting ahead of CBK regulations and then quickly nip any such excess in the bud.
The sector has reformed. Can't recall the last time we had a collapse. That's a big plus for Ndung'u . Collapse is akin to TKO.

Banks are run by men and women who are out to profit. Can't blame them for that. As long as they are on the right side of the law, it's all game. CBK job is to monitor weaknesses of the system and seal the loopholes while cracking whip on offenders. So far, nobody has been charged with nothing nor investigated.

The new cowboy has a huge task of outdoing a performer as it were.

I advised my Naija friends against celebrating too early Buhari and expecting too much. That's all am saying. If he fails, you will really eat your Opus Dei hymns. Let him succeed or appear to succeed and we can pop champagne. Is that too much to aks?

« Reply #13 on: July 02, 2015, 05:48:13 PM »
On Opus Dei..I have told you I had friend in campus and I have never met such an impressive person ever. Impressive in all ways. And I never heard him talk about Jesus or Bible..not once.We use to befittingly call him Pope. So yes am emotionally connected to Opus dei. In fact we went with that guy to his opus dei place hapo Mesuem hills.

Now back to CBK tenure. Yes Njuguna I think did very well. He did very well especially with financial access and innovation. I can credit him with maybe Agency Banking. I cannot give him MPESA (Michael Joseph) or Equity success (James Mwangi)...however he was corrupt. The way Grand Regency was sold, the way Dela Rue deal was extended and finally the case he is facing tells you the guy was super corrupt.

Each CBK governor tenure will deal with contemporary issues. Cheserem (who I consider the greatest) is the guy who rescued CBK from the dogs. Nyagah the idiot mmh. Mulei..mmh. Prof Njuguna is definitely my second after Cheserm.

Njoroge will not deal with "financial access and deepening". Nearly everyone has bank account now and those that don't have will get. The momentum is there.

Njoroge...will have to find his priority..and he seems to want to know why interest spread is that wide...despite all the credit referencing bla de bla.

Njoroge has promised he won't be emotionally....he will seek empirical evidence through some studies and analysis..and give us solutions.

The sector has reformed. Can't recall the last time we had a collapse. That's a big plus for Ndung'u . Collapse is akin to TKO.

Banks are run by men and women who are out to profit. Can't blame them for that. As long as they are on the right side of the law, it's all game. CBK job is to monitor weaknesses of the system and seal the loopholes while cracking whip on offenders. So far, nobody has been charged with nothing nor investigated.

The new cowboy has a huge task of outdoing a performer as it were.

I advised my Naija friends against celebrating too early Buhari and expecting too much. That's all am saying. If he fails, you will really eat your Opus Dei hymns. Let him succeed or appear to succeed and we can pop champagne. Is that too much to aks?

« Reply #14 on: July 02, 2015, 05:54:56 PM »
From Facebook:The CBK Governor took lunch at the CBK staff canteen yesterday to the surprise of junior staff. Imagine a governor eating ugali and beans plus veges costing below KES 500

« Reply #15 on: July 02, 2015, 06:06:21 PM »
No way. Those guys are very discrete and mainly recruit from Strathmore College. Githongo was St. Marys.

I think John Githongo is also Opus Dei.

« Reply #16 on: July 02, 2015, 07:01:09 PM »
On Opus Dei..I have told you I had friend in campus and I have never met such an impressive person ever. Impressive in all ways. And I never heard him talk about Jesus or Bible..not once.We use to befittingly call him Pope. So yes am emotionally connected to Opus dei. In fact we went with that guy to his opus dei place hapo Mesuem hills.

Now back to CBK tenure. Yes Njuguna I think did very well. He did very well especially with financial access and innovation. I can credit him with maybe Agency Banking. I cannot give him MPESA (Michael Joseph) or Equity success (James Mwangi)...however he was corrupt. The way Grand Regency was sold, the way Dela Rue deal was extended and finally the case he is facing tells you the guy was super corrupt.

Each CBK governor tenure will deal with contemporary issues. Cheserem (who I consider the greatest) is the guy who rescued CBK from the dogs. Nyagah the idiot mmh. Mulei..mmh. Prof Njuguna is definitely my second after Cheserm.

Njoroge will not deal with "financial access and deepening". Nearly everyone has bank account now and those that don't have will get. The momentum is there.

Njoroge...will have to find his priority..and he seems to want to know why interest spread is that wide...despite all the credit referencing bla de bla.

Njoroge has promised he won't be emotionally....he will seek empirical evidence through some studies and analysis..and give us solutions.
It's good that you admit to emotions, it's wrong to impute emotions on others.

About MPesa I know innovation and marketing is MJ,what I credit him with is resisting pressure from banks in improving MPesa like raising deposits and daily transfer amounts. These are things that made it more attractive. I read that they have acquired a license to transfer money outside Kenia in March. These quasi banking aspects of MPesa have annoyed banks endlessly because like it or not, they eat into their deposits.

Equity success is 100% due to JM. Again as early as 2007 there was rumors of Equity being favored by GoK. In fact I recall Khalwale tabling a motion and JM being grilled.They finally gave the bank a clean bill of health. What I mean is rumors of Equity colluding either with Ndung'u or GoK are baseless as are other rumors.

However Ndung'u is tainted, I can't add to that innuendos.

Cheserem to me is more like Kifacki in 2003. So much ineptitude preceded him and he just had to do little to impress.

Interest spreads is a boogeyman.
Why can't government banks or these Naija banks pay depositors more cash, attracting huge deposits for onward lending? And why can't they charge lower interest rates on loans growing their assets in seconds and knocking off everyone?

These things are market driven and the banks are such mean competitors they can't afford collusion

« Reply #17 on: July 03, 2015, 02:13:38 AM »
I like this guy. First ever Kenyan.
Whoa!!
BTW. Why does Uluru and Ruto accept salaries? They are already billionaires with the money Uhurus father stole and Rutos theft of every public property

« Reply #18 on: July 03, 2015, 11:08:29 AM »
It could be. That is why I like Dr Njoroge overrider that he will seek empirical or data driven evidence before making the decision. Part of the problem is that most banks find it easy to lend treasury money for assured rates. Gov of course need to borrow some monies domestically due to currency risks with borrowing external.

Dr Njoroge role as Gov banker will also help in unearthing scandals like those NYC ones..given CBK can see suspicious withdrawals or payments from county and national gov.

Interest spreads is a boogeyman.
Why can't government banks or these Naija banks pay depositors more cash, attracting huge deposits for onward lending? And why can't they charge lower interest rates on loans growing their assets in seconds and knocking off everyone?

These things are market driven and the banks are such mean competitors they can't afford collusion

« Reply #19 on: July 03, 2015, 11:43:45 AM »
Interesting stuff.

I have no reason to believe that the man is anything other than a fine outstanding man and a pillar of the community.    Nevertheless, I am intrigued by this idea that the proof of that comes from his evidently public displays of piety.   Given the connection to the "Catholic Church", I will note this: whatever possible evil, large or small that one can think of, there is a Pope who excelled at it while at the very time managing to "piously" lead the "flock".    As an example, one of the scandals of our times is that of "holy" and "celibate" types fucking little boys in the butt.   What is new about that is the recent revelations; otherwise, that's been going on for hundreds of years, with some popes leading the way.

Beyond the "Catholic Church", one can readily elsewhere find reminders of "pious", "holy" types being anything but.   For example, in Thailand, it is not unusual to learn that a "celibate" type who "lives in a communal house" and who gets his food by "begging" is actually living large---flying on private jets, enjoying plenty of pussy, has a huge bank account, etc.

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2013/07/04/sex-scandal--money-laundering-probe-thai-buddhist-monk-private-jet_n_3546552.html

I don't know much about Opus Dei, i.e. beyond what the "casual" person might find in, say, Wikipedia.   I have heard claims that they are some sort of "secret cult", and I have heard counters to that charge.   But I have today learned, here, that in Kenya they are "discreet" and that Githongo couldn't possibly be one of them because they "recruit" in just some selected places.   The very notion of recruiting is an interesting one: Just what is it that they are recruiting for?   And why should it be that the "it" can be found at Strathmore but not at St. Mary's?   And why is it necessary to be "discreet" about it?

Beyond all that, one may consider a basic question: Is his a fine example that will inspire other Kenyans to a less thieving "lifestyle"?      It is nice to believe or imagine so, but I doubt it.     Corruption in pursuit of "the good life"---and especially theft from public coffers---is far too deeply ingrained in our culture.   Anyone who had a good opportunity to rob the public is expected to do so and is regarded as a fool of he or she does otherwise.   

In the Kenyan context, I see this case as not too dissimilar from that of a two-tailed dog.   A "marvel" to behold and talk about?  Certainly.   But one should not be "automatically"  led to believe that it will (a) inspire the single-tailed ones to more vigorous wagging or (b) provide more barking or better protection for the owner.