For grown folks only.Gen-z's and millenials please keep off this thread!

It's shocking to me just how much Rich has aged (just like we all have). He used to be this almost comically young and meek-looking tech-geek in Kentucky!
Time is something else.
The golden years of RCB were undoubtedly 1999 to 2010 or so in my humble view.
Once you aged out of the mashadas and Kenyaniyetus and Kenyawebs of this world (which were a mess of matope posts from teens and colle students fresh off the boat from home) you were ready to join the decent citizens of RCB. Double O's Jukwee (Jukwaa) was joined by the more politically inclined. Run by former Moi-error political detainee-exiles like Oloo himself and - reportedly - Willy Mutunga, Ngugi Wa Thiongo and of course Migush, among many others.
RCB was like the bar in Cheers. The safe place you visited to commune with friends, in a friendless world for Kenyans abroad seeking solace outside the mzungu and/or akataa foreign circles they moved in at school, at work and beyond. A safe place to batten on one's Kenyan-ness and connect with Kenyans at home and around the word.
Then came
the two nipates. Correct me if I'm wrong but this was around the 2007 election cycle in Kenya. That's when the multiple RV's appeared. like 6-7 of them including my good friend Pundito. By the way other than Hitter and Pundito, what happened to the rest of them? They defected en-masse and disparagingly referred to RCB as TOP (that other place.) I believe because the mods on RCB kept everyone on a tight leash on most political issues and they wanted more freedom. I could be wrong though. The difference between RCB and nipate
to this day, IMHO is that RCB was more balanced - between politics and social life - while the two nipates were overwhelmingly political. In this way, they were very much like Jukwee.
Speaking of which, remember how Oloo would always conclude his hefty tichitals (on RCB and later on Jukwee when he realised most of us had grown weary of them) with a tribute to
"the Kamoji Wachiras. the Makhan Singhs, the Willy Mutungas, the....." He was an interesting chap. I remember his return to Kenya and new lease on life. Even finding a new bride. We were all very happy for him. But the political climate in Kenya had 100% changed under Kibaki. Being a die-hard cold-war revolutionary Marxist-Leninist ready to fight dictatorship to the hilt became anachronistic. But this is what happens to most exiles, they take the Kenya they left decades ago with them, and in many ways still long for it, as terrible as times were back then for them when they were being persecuted. With all due respect, Oloo's impact was next to none. The enduring memory I have of him was during Migush's book launch in Mombasa where the mysterious "men in black" stormed the hall and frogmarched Migush out of the venue as Oloo stood frozen in shocked disbelief. A very distraught and different-looking Migush was left shoe-less and kofia-less on the Mombasa street, after being roughed up by those goons. Oloo was also very open about having contracted the big mdudu, yaani the Hi-Five(V), yaani Ukedi, yaani the deadliest catch. He was even more open about his new bride having it too. I admired him for his honesty. Sadly, a few years later he (Oloo) was gone - RIP to him.
Then there was Njamlik (RIP) who - to me - was by far
the most interesting RCB'r in history. Hostile beyond measure yet wore his heart on his sleeve, hypersensitive to any difference in opinion. Not a good combination! The rest of us young'uns had a field day making mince meat of him. When I look back I now laugh at it all. We were all young and hot-blooded. These days I look at some of the exchanges between youngsters online and realize we all go through that phase. Most of us age out of it. Some don't!
As we age, just how brief our lives are on this planet becomes very salient. The golden era of RCB we will never get back.
I remember the 2002 NARC wave when Baba Jimmy romped into office. It heralded a new era in Kenya, which in many ways, we are still enjoying to this day. Most of us in diaspora were shocked beyond belief that DT Moi let the big seat go to a person not of his choosing. I honestly didn't expect that. I expected the usual rigging that Kenya had experienced since 1963. The victory was truly a game-changer for Kenya, but I digress.
Bottom line, is it RCB I miss or the seemingly halcyon era it represents. Just like Rich has aged and so have we, the world has done so too in so many ways.
But life moves on!
RIP to the
RCB Hall of Fame veterans-- OO
- Stocko Exchange (formerly Nyumba). RIP my friend
- Frank Mwaniki (former KCA Chairman) by the way does KCA (Kenyan Community Abroad) still exist?They fought hard for Dual Citizenship and it came to pass! Asante to them! Which shows that these forums aren't entirely useless!
- Martin Ngatia wa Sweden (of "Zokwe kazolo mkia" fame). He was an air-force cadet during the coup and fled into exile in Sweden when the crackdown on rebels begun.
- Njamlikadd yours here..........!!
I also thank RCB for introducing me to valuable perspectives (and people) that I still cherish to this day!
Those very enjoyable days of the RCB era are gone forever but we still cherish the memories always!
Ni hayo tu.
Meezy