Umekuwa mwanasiasa bwana oldie..As you say siasa ni hasara tupu. Kenya politics revolve violence. Kila mwaka lazima kuwe na vurugu. I was there when raila was demonstrating. It was just something to watch the riots on TV live and actually to know exactly where these demos were was like a mile from my house. Outering would be war between police and demonstrators and then as police moved out the goons would move in and loot businesses. The amount of violence and killings was just amazing. Our country has a serious anarchy problem due to extreme poverty. One day I get to kenya at around 1pm. My sis picks me up and we are headed to see my mum's place. As we are on jogoo road, I keep seeing these two boys who are climbing into lorries and then jumping off. I ask her what are they doing this for.. she was like they are petty thieves and they go in looking for shovels or other small items they can steal and sell. These boys were not older than 14 years. That whole scene shocked me. I was like this has to be something if you told someone in 🇺🇸 they won't believe.
I got into thinking how bad these street boys life has to be for them to result into this type of risky crime. Other than Nairobi leafy suburbs most of there places are full of these kids. It seems education and life has become expensive that it has priced them out.
We need to discover oil grow that gdp by 50% for 10 years
Hehehe. Njamba you've been away too long. You know when I used to visit annually vistuuu for one or two months per year, a rela of mine who had been ablod too for 8 years then returned in 2005 told me "
you will never truly know this place until you live here for 5-7 years minimum.."
I dismissed him and told him those visits and news stories we read on daily nation online and watched on YouTube were sufficient. 5-7 years later of me being on the ground, I had to eat humble pie and admit it. He was right!
What you say about Kwiinya easily applies huko huko too. If a tourist landed in L.A. and decided to drive around South Central, he would be shocked to find rough looking characters smoking weed shirtless on their porches with pitbulls running around and as-good-as-naked Shamequas and Bonqueefas walking around in their booty shorts. Or toothless meth smoking rednecks passed out in their trailer parks.
Add the gunshots rat-tat-taaaaa usiku. It would be unbelievable if reported back to middle and upperclass Kwiinyans in Kwiinya who've never been to the States.
Isallaboutperspective
Kwiinya has many different layers - just like the US has. Forget the political din and looting (also happening in the US but on a far more sophisticated level:
https://www.forbes.com/sites/kotlikoff/2019/01/09/holding-u-s-treasuries-beware-uncle-sam-cant-account-for-21-trillion/). There are an unbelievable amount of ordinary Kwiinyans doing unbelievably good things beneath the radar, and doing so LEGALLY. It's just that in Kwiinya, it's dangerous to come out and shout about it unlike the US where conspicuous consumption is the norm.
The culture hapa is not better or worse. Just different. I know a guy who does onion farming on 50 acres in Malaa as well as layers and apiaries and sells borehole water to bowsers and neighbours. The guy clears 30-40m easy annually from that operation alone yet has other things going on as well. He won't shout about it lest KRA, Kanjo - yes Kanjo, - and of course thugs come for him. If you see him having breko at Java you will think he's a pauper. Very ordinary looking chap.
Did you know that according to the KNBS, over 70 percent of Kwiinyans own their own homes? Bila mortgages? That is, by definition, a middle to upper middle class society. But they don't shout about it. Did you know that over 60% of Kwiinyans are married-monogamous? With about 12% single? No major single baby mama epidemic EXCEPT in the urban areas where feminism and mzungu lifestyle thinking has taken root, Even then, majority of Kwiinyans in the urban areas are married-monogamous! US je? Most of the peopleIleft there are bitterlysingle or divorcees.Marriage is a key plank of wealth-building. Two heads/paychecks are always better than one. This so called mass Kwiinyan poverty narrative is a big myth. As I said on another thread, I have never met a mama mboga who was not fat, fat, faat with the apron ya kazi. Nor a Gen-z without a smartphone. Have you been to Mukuru? Kawangware? Kangemi? Brathee you will be shocked. TV aerials everywhere ata kama stima is bootlegged. Pool tables, changaa dens, charging stations, water points, fat looking people with sneakers and nice looking clothes -albeit mtumba. There are even millionaires born and living there running their businesses!
Bottom line usindanganywe.
Just because Kwiinyans don't have gleaming Malibu style homes, manicured lawns, conspicuous consumption and the US way of doing things does not mean Kwiinyans are poor. No rich person will say they're rich in Kwiinya.
I went to Kiambu juzi to visit some relas. Food everywhere until it's being thrown away. Fat fat people. Fombe tu ndio shida. M7 calls it the non-monetary economy. If you can stay fat without a job and have a roof over your head to lay in usiku, are you really poor?
Take economic care of yourself, your family and those around you. blo. Wachana na siasa hasala tupu. Kwiinya is the LAND OF OPPORTUNITY for the hardworking and the smart. This is why the silent majority of us across the nation from every side of the divide -- political & apolitical - are against the looting that accompanies these mahandamanos. What did the mama mboga on Tom Mboya St do to deserve a day in wages lost? The young guy who borrowed to start his electronics stall in the CBD who couldn't give two hoots about who's prez?
Ni hayo tu.