Author Topic: Safaricom launches 4G--speeds at 100MBps  (Read 11017 times)

Safaricom launches 4G--speeds at 100MBps
« on: December 04, 2014, 04:00:55 PM »
Thanks to your efforts since we started piloting this few years ago, we managed to connect 900 of our Bases stations to fiber which is a key enabler to the LTE technology. Through the NWRfP we have selected the technology and the suppliers to be able to continue to modernize our network and this includes LTE, we have successfully upgraded our core network and our services platforms to support this technology and we have already implemented it in 20 sites in Nairobi and Mombasa.

Today using Carrier aggregation with 15MHz of spectrum we have been able to demonstrate download speeds of 104,9Mbps which is quite an achievement and a first in Sub Saharan Africa.

Today, our journey towards a truly mobile broadband connected Kenya has just started, we need to continue the roll out in Nairobi and Mombasa with 234 sites before the end of the FY, and next year our network will reach to 15 cities and towns throughout the country.

Re: Safaricom launches 4G--speeds at 100MBps
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2014, 06:04:06 PM »
That 100MBPs.  Is that the speed that you get on your smart phone or is that what is available to safcom? 

« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2014, 06:15:26 PM »
Not sure either.Seem like test speed from smart phone to 4G base station. Of course when thousands connect concurrently that could reduce. Maybe we can go for average 4G speeds elsewhere.
That 100MBPs.  Is that the speed that you get on your smart phone or is that what is available to safcom? 

« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2014, 06:20:15 PM »
Not sure either.Seem like test speed from smart phone to 4G base station. Of course when thousands connect concurrently that could reduce. Maybe we can go for average 4G speeds elsewhere.
Most likely once the connections roll in, it will come down.   And quickly degrade with distance from radio frequency transmitters.  Either way, realistic broadband speeds is better than nothing.

« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2014, 06:25:06 PM »
Yes...most of 3G in kenya...are on 1-7 mbps for uploads..on average about 1mbs..or maybe 100kbs.

« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2014, 06:26:04 PM »
Thats a grt achievement.
I still use 3G. Sometimes 2G after I use my alloted 3Gigabytes.

« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2014, 06:40:19 PM »
As long as what you describe is part of the fiber optic expansion, I have no quarrel in fact you have my support. But if this is the so called wireless nonsense that safcom is peddling I just have no room for it.

I have no understood why County governments haven't invested in the expansion of the fibre optic expansion in villages.

« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2014, 07:15:36 PM »
Omollo, what would a village use fiber for; they need water first; it cost alot of money to lay cables....and it has to make business sense. Bottomline when it gov to private business with robust competition....let them do their biashara. Where  we have problems are companies like Kenya Pipeline or Mumias sugar or such...who are dragging everyone down.
As long as what you describe is part of the fiber optic expansion, I have no quarrel in fact you have my support. But if this is the so called wireless nonsense that safcom is peddling I just have no room for it.

I have no understood why County governments haven't invested in the expansion of the fibre optic expansion in villages.

« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2014, 07:24:30 PM »
Yes, plumbing should be the law. Population has increased too much to accomodate outhouses. Start with public insitutions first. The law whould be they have to go septic system in 5yrs, or risk shut down.

« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2014, 07:44:59 PM »
These things have a way of spurring growth Punda. I have seen it in many places. You construct roads and pull in electricity and sit back as people take over. You cannot underestimate people. I agree private companies need cash hence my naming County governments. They can wire schools and hospitals and bring it up to the local market or town center and leave it to wananchi

« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2014, 10:18:07 PM »
Omollo, who is punda? maybe you need to stick to the toilet.com where you're trully needed. As i near 35, i am liking this forum; veritas has created a little home and the least we can do is respect each other.  No need to involve the council to have you kicked out because you surely can do better than this.

« Reply #11 on: December 04, 2014, 11:02:35 PM »
Sawa. You are the one who once advised me not to call you by the full name RV Pundit. You suggested the one you have rejected. Any way, I hate nicknames too. I prefer the handle one has chosen. So consider it out of this world from this moment.

I went back to that cesspool to lend a hand to slow down the propaganda march. I had no idea it was state house sponsored. Now that I know - at least I confirmed today - I will take steps reduce and eventually depart. It is sad realizing I helped to bring it up and my intention was never to see it die. At the rate at which it is speeding down hill, I see no way back. It is a runaway cart that is pulling the sweating oxen with it down the abyss. Poor Jordan. His wonderful idea turned in to a cesspool thanks to Njamlik and the RCB rubble that fled after Rich cleaned up the mess we begged him to six years ago.

Omollo, who is punda? maybe you need to stick to the toilet.com where you're trully needed. As i near 35, i am liking this forum; veritas has created a little home and the least we can do is respect each other.  No need to involve the council to have you kicked out because you surely can do better than this.

« Reply #12 on: December 04, 2014, 11:08:40 PM »
Omollo,

I think part of your frustration with choo.com is that you go there without respecting the intellectual limitations of people.  Folks tend to operate at different intellectual levels.  I learnt not to fault people operating at or near their God given limits.

« Reply #13 on: December 04, 2014, 11:27:34 PM »
Choo is full of matusi bro. They wallow in it but detest being targeted. On any given day I can count up to 100 directed at me. Sometimes I opt to play their game especially when I have done making my point. The idea behind some of the matusi is to derail one from making certain points. They are so afraid of failing to make a coherent argument that they would rather you didn't make yours. But this is the situation we are in in the entire country. I am almost sure the next PEV will require UN Peace Keeping and subsequent UN supervised elections. I can't see a way out.

Uhuru has upped the construction and equipment of police stations in Rift Valley like he has a deadline to meet. I have seen some of these edifices, you wonder if they are fortresses. Where I come from anybody digging "defensive" trenches is a war monger preparing for war. Kimaiyo was bound to leave. He stood in the way of ethnic deployment in RV.
Omollo,

I think part of your frustration with choo.com is that you go there without respecting the intellectual limitations of people.  Folks tend to operate at different intellectual levels.  I learnt not to fault people operating at or near their God given limits.

« Reply #14 on: December 05, 2014, 09:48:53 AM »
Omollo, thanks for clarifying. Let try to be nice to each other even when we strongly disagree.

« Reply #15 on: December 05, 2014, 10:11:08 AM »
can't get 4G yet on my iDevice.

« Reply #16 on: December 05, 2014, 05:29:42 PM »
Back to my earlier proposal, I have seen from experience that the introduction of certain "advanced" technologies creates a dynamic of its own. Take the mobile phone for instance. My grandmother was at an advanced age when I left her in my car to go and buy something. While there my brother called and she read the name and took the phone, managed to answer and by the time I came back they were in the midst of a conversation. Both my brother and I were "shocked"! I bought a new phone for myself and let her keep mine. It became an experiment for me. I kept buying her newer more advanced phones and she would fumble a bit like the rest of the people but then learn to use most of the ordinary regular functions with as much ease as anybody.

The first man to describe how to end a slum carried out the project with the least amount of drama or large amounts. In short he spoke to the people in the slum as widely as he could. You would call that Focus Group discussions or PRA etc. My experience is that there is no need for surveys. Just talk to people. He identified their main problem to be sewage. If they could just get a sewage system their lives would change. He asked if they want it to each house. They said it did not matter. They could connect to it themselves. He asked if they want toilets (WCs supplied) they answered they would be grateful but could do it on their own. Thus he got funding and installed a sewage system. The few objections by some people who had encroached on public land were settled by resident committees. He would often find the houses located in the path of the sewage system had already constructed their part and would be connected  as soon as the section was complete. Locals learned plumbing and taught others. Masons were trained by other masons, people manufactured their own WCs from clay and many learned how to do it and started new careers as toilet makers.

You would find from this description that the problem with "development" in Kenya is the tendency to impose it on people.

Now look at what Waiguru is doing in Kibera. Good work but she has added politics to it. Those trenches are Uhuru's trenches. If you can't hit Uhuru because of his security, you can do some damage to him by destroying his trenches. It would be different if the locals were involved in the planning of the project. The youth from the slums would then do the job and even be allowed to write their names on the sections they have covered. They would be rewarded with being taken in to NYS to further their training as masons, carpenters, electricians, clay toilet makers etc.

« Reply #17 on: December 05, 2014, 07:34:23 PM »
If you want to defeat tyranny, invest in education. In early 1980s we had a good education system. But cant say the same now. Most people cant afford. So, tyranny is back

« Reply #18 on: December 05, 2014, 08:22:23 PM »
How come the most highly educated are also the most bigoted? Read Uhuru's "victory" statement again. See how he repeats the same propaganda lines about being politically fixed. He is President why can't he name those Kenyans who fixed him? The intention to to continue lying to GEMA and keep Raila as the enemy. Those ululating at Choo are all educated. They have studied things like philosophy just for fun.

If you want to defeat tyranny, invest in education. In early 1980s we had a good education system. But cant say the same now. Most people cant afford. So, tyranny is back

Offline Mr Mansfield.

« Reply #19 on: December 06, 2014, 10:13:23 AM »
Internet access revenues in Kenya will reach $897MN in 2017 from $111 in 2012,that's a CAGR of 52%...this will be largely driven by mobile broadband which accounted for 62% internet access and 98% of subscriptions in 2012..safaricom controls over 90% of the mobile broadband in Kenya and will continue to be the market leaders as it launches the LTE nationwide and smartphone penetration increases to 12MN by 2017 while mobile broadband will hit 30MN in the same period...The 9 member team nationwide 4G LTE consortium which was to cost $500MN failed due to gov corruption and safaricom bolted out and its launching its own system in towns and business centres to increase penetration...in just ten years we've mover from 2G-3G now 4G and 2020+ 5G,things keep on changing,

Lastly,safaricom has created so many jobs in Kenya,Over 240BN capital expenditure since year 2000 is a plus,

Without Prejudice.