Author Topic: Mathenge solution to our energy needs  (Read 4280 times)

Mathenge solution to our energy needs
« on: July 02, 2022, 10:04:58 PM »
The fast growing trees are colonizing 2/3 dry areas now running into an a million acre.Gov just need to train pastoralists to dump cattle keep for charcoal making..and promote charcoal industry

Re: Mathenge solution to our energy needs
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2022, 10:07:03 PM »
What is needed is legislation of legaize it...then building modern kilns to turn mathenge to high quality coal..then it can even be exported

« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2022, 10:22:34 PM »
Considering the huge land in those areas one could go to turkana buy land for 10k an acre...with 10 million..you can buy 1,000 acres and engaged in charcoal production the whole year.From a point of an acre you can fill a trailer of charcoal...meaning in 1000 acre farm...you can do three trailers of charcoal every day.. selling even at kshs 500 bag...you can easily carry 20 tonnes..2000 bags ..is clean 250k..daily you can make almost a million..and plant regenerate..Most families can survive on a bag or two of charcoal with fuel efficient stove..there 12 million families in Kenya plus... potential 12b industry per month or 15Ob per month..ksh . without even thinking export..or using it generate power

« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2022, 05:39:01 AM »
another kalenjin brain haired idea. moi brought this misery to kalenjins now it is killing their goats. your solution plant mode and make kilns. nyinyi ni wazembe sana. you are too lazy to do the kikuyu self help solution based approach to solving problems

« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2022, 06:12:19 AM »
Considering the huge land in those areas one could go to turkana buy land for 10k an acre...with 10 million..you can buy 1,000 acres and engaged in charcoal production the whole year.From a point of an acre you can fill a trailer of charcoal...meaning in 1000 acre farm...you can do three trailers of charcoal every day.. selling even at kshs 500 bag...you can easily carry 20 tonnes..2000 bags ..is clean 250k..daily you can make almost a million..and plant regenerate..Most families can survive on a bag or two of charcoal with fuel efficient stove..there 12 million families in Kenya plus... potential 12b industry per month or 15Ob per month..ksh . without even thinking export..or using it generate power
Land in Kenya is massive but highly unutilized. Now that you mentioned 1000 acres of farm in Turkana. I had two friends that used to be gatekeepers/guards in Karen years ago. While earning 8K a month, they had over 1000 acres of farm in their remote Samburu. We thought they were lying until I decided to hang out with them one Christmas in their Samburu villages. Land in Samburu is massive with very few people. You can easily own 100K acres, but you won't make much from it. However, with rehabilitation and new thinking, it can be used to generate income, especially in the charcoal and solar industry!

« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2022, 08:26:52 AM »
Yes that mathenge has now spread as far as Mandera and Turkana.It can be the source of our energy and could unlock that dry region.its pods can also make good animal feeds

« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2022, 08:28:27 AM »
another kalenjin brain haired idea. moi brought this misery to kalenjins now it is killing their goats. your solution plant mode and make kilns. nyinyi ni wazembe sana. you are too lazy to do the kikuyu self help solution based approach to solving problems
There is no hardwork you have...just geographicsl lucky...few days out of gov you cry

« Reply #8 on: July 03, 2022, 08:46:24 AM »
If it's that lucrative..why not go do it yourself and show us the results.

« Reply #9 on: July 03, 2022, 09:46:39 AM »
I saw very fat goats in Kitui surviving on Mathenge. The goats, cattle and camels have already adapted while we are playing catch up.

The charcoal is simple Keriako job. But he does ruto 20/7. Yenyewe mwafrika needs whips. Puny ass lambistic piece of shiet!

Seems charcoal was put under state capture too. The wazees says Cummin brought permits nonsense. 

The researches lying in our institutions need just funding injection and whips!

« Reply #10 on: July 03, 2022, 09:55:54 AM »
When Ruto remove totally all charcoal restrictions - and gov promote charcoal instead of LPG - it will become predictable enough to invest. But now every minister wakes up - ban and unban charcoal.

Also the Burns factory in Ruiru is already doing very impressive work.

Gov should buy every poor family a Burn cookstove - and then make charcoal cheap - 500 bag per month - is enough for small family - and now that LPG is crazy 1600 for 6kg and 3000 for 13kg - charcoal is the way forward

« Reply #11 on: July 03, 2022, 09:57:14 AM »
Imagine if they did some basic crop husbandry on Mathenge...pruning...and thining..those trees can turn the huge 2/3 of kenya into a mathenge forest....and we could have enough biomass - and even export. When I ran the maths - this can easily become a 2 billion dollar industry - equal to tea or dairy.
I saw very fat goats in Kitui surviving on Mathenge. The goats, cattle and camels have already adapted while we are playing catch up.

The charcoal is simple Keriako job. But he does ruto 20/7. Yenyewe mwafrika needs whips. Puny ass lambistic piece of shiet!

Seems charcoal was put under state capture too. The wazees says Cummin brought permits nonsense. 

The researches lying in our institutions need just funding injection and whips!

« Reply #12 on: July 03, 2022, 11:48:52 AM »
There is no hardwork you have...just geographicsl lucky...few days out of gov you cry
you can't survive a day in Githunguri working from dawn to dusk. kikuyus converted the most barren land into food baskets. mzungu took all the arable land and left us the most unproductive land.

my family farm was a very barren place full of Ferns. we developed that land by buying 6 dairy heifers from Lord Delmare farm and using the manure to improve the soil. in the 80 and 90s my dad would buy about 4 trucks of manure from maasai. the manure would be collected from masaai bomas and trucked all the way to githunguri. each of this truck would charge up to 7k. poor women in my village would contribute money and when a the manure was delivered they would subdivide it. if you put 400 shs you get manure worthy that amount. within time the land became rush green. nowadays kales may visit our area and think those farms were always this productive. nope it has taken 5 decades of hard work to improve the soil. Anyway our work ethic is no joke. only kisiis can beat it

« Reply #13 on: July 03, 2022, 11:50:42 AM »
bottomline Agikuyu won't wait for no govt. they will elect ruto snd let him be. if HD delivers he gets 4 more years if he doesn't they will turn on him like they have done to uhuru

« Reply #14 on: July 03, 2022, 11:56:55 AM »
You live 40kms from Nairobi city that provide huge market for milk - heck Kiambu itself is urbanizing mean you have ready market for milk. That is still part of geography. You're not hardworking. The most hardworking people I saw were women of Turkana and somalis of Garissa...who trek with donkeys every day to collect water for their own use and some for the snakes of the wilderness...for 20kms. And this is in sweltering heat of nearly 40 degrees - where breathing is a already a problem.
you can't survive a day in Githunguri working from dawn to dusk. kikuyus converted the most barren land into food baskets. mzungu took all the arable land and left us the most unproductive land.

my family farm was a very barren place full of Ferns. we developed that land by buying 6 dairy heifers from Lord Delmare farm and using the manure to improve the soil. in the 80 and 90s my dad would buy about 4 trucks of manure from maasai. the manure would be collected from masaai bomas and trucked all the way to githunguri. each of this truck would charge up to 7k. poor women in my village would contribute money and when a the manure was delivered they would subdivide it. if you put 400 shs you get manure worthy that amount. within time the land became rush green. nowadays kales may visit our area and think those farms were always this productive. nope it has taken 5 decades of hard work to improve the soil. Anyway our work ethic is no joke. only kisiis can beat it

« Reply #15 on: July 03, 2022, 12:22:20 PM »
When Ruto remove totally all charcoal restrictions - and gov promote charcoal instead of LPG - it will become predictable enough to invest. But now every minister wakes up - ban and unban charcoal.

Also the Burns factory in Ruiru is already doing very impressive work.

Gov should buy every poor family a Burn cookstove - and then make charcoal cheap - 500 bag per month - is enough for small family - and now that LPG is crazy 1600 for 6kg and 3000 for 13kg - charcoal is the way forward

Charcoal restrictions work on paper...charcoal is everywhere

« Reply #16 on: July 03, 2022, 12:25:39 PM »
You live 40kms from Nairobi city that provide huge market for milk - heck Kiambu itself is urbanizing mean you have ready market for milk. That is still part of geography. You're not hardworking. The most hardworking people I saw were women of Turkana and somalis of Garissa...who trek with donkeys every day to collect water for their own use and some for the snakes of the wilderness...for 20kms. And this is in sweltering heat of nearly 40 degrees - where breathing is a already a problem.

bullshit.. we used to sell our produce to mombasa..my neighbor bought a Fuso lorry he would buy sukuma wiki and cabbage and truck it all the way to mombasa. he was not the only one..we had like 30 people doing this..wewe you under estimate kikuyus work ethic. you are used to sensational political noise that caricatures kikuyus. Mugikuyu is a very self reliant Bantu and a hardworking one. even in turkana kikuyus do better than the lazy locals. go to every corner in kenya and you will find kikuyus doing their thing..minorities, bungoma, samburu, lamu, diani, marsabit..Mugikuyu does their thing and let others just talk shop. kalenjins are still waiting for govt to rescue them from poverty and pastroralism..we will buy the whole of rift Valley and put you in slums you go drunk busaa huko

« Reply #17 on: July 03, 2022, 12:45:43 PM »
You change the topic from hardwork to being enterprising.
I consider Somalis the ultimate enteprising lot and you're kaput because somalis are going to overrun you.
We will remain farmers - and policemen :)
bullshit.. we used to sell our produce to mombasa..my neighbor bought a Fuso lorry he would buy sukuma wiki and cabbage and truck it all the way to mombasa. he was not the only one..we had like 30 people doing this..wewe you under estimate kikuyus work ethic. you are used to sensational political noise that caricatures kikuyus. Mugikuyu is a very self reliant Bantu and a hardworking one. even in turkana kikuyus do better than the lazy locals. go to every corner in kenya and you will find kikuyus doing their thing..minorities, bungoma, samburu, lamu, diani, marsabit..Mugikuyu does their thing and let others just talk shop. kalenjins are still waiting for govt to rescue them from poverty and pastroralism..we will buy the whole of rift Valley and put you in slums you go drunk busaa huko

« Reply #18 on: July 03, 2022, 12:48:11 PM »
Yes but it prevent investment in the sector and make it very expensive. Every police man collect bribe from charcoal dealers. It transported like a contraband. If today gov announce charcoal is completely free - totally - then prizes will come down - and more people will use it. We can then rush to Baringo or Turkana....acquire thousands of acres....and tend to mathenge....and make charcoal.

Charcoal restrictions work on paper...charcoal is everywhere

« Reply #19 on: July 03, 2022, 12:55:33 PM »
You change the topic from hardwork to being enterprising.
I consider Somalis the ultimate enteprising lot and you're kaput because somalis are going to overrun you.
We will remain farmers - and policemen :)
..kikuyus have both hardwork and enterprise. the combination is lethal. a kikuyu poor will work hard producing agricultural products and will use the earnings to start a real estate investment or others businesses. Somalis are slaves to retail business. that why rural poverty in that community is very high. all their capital is ties in retail and now real estate plus due to clanism only certain rich clans dominate ..add religion to the mixture and your average somali is not doing to well. use any metric to show me that Somalis are doing better than kikuyu. only the merchant class of Somalis is doing well. the rest are poor