Author Topic: Ruto to phase out petrol and diesel - and go fully electric in 3yrs  (Read 1992 times)

I guess gov will have to create industries to convert diesel and petrol engines to electric engines...do the conversion as loan.
Doable for motor bikes...worldwide the trend is to electric bikes.
Difficult for cars.
But if gov zero rate electric cars...we could see many of them coming in.
We have about 700MW of power going to waste now.
Ethiopia can sell us 400MW of power cheaply.
We spend 2-3 billion dollars importing fuel.

This will provide huge opportunities for electric transport sector.

Re: Ruto to phase out petrol and diesel - and go fully electric in 3yrs
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2022, 07:04:17 PM »
For motorbike its very easy - just small electric motor and a small battery - and you're good to go. Gov will have to put charging ports in every boda boda shade....as they wait for next customers...they plug in.

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2022, 07:07:24 PM »
you are still littering the board with nonsense. post stuff that is realistic not some dreamt shit

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2022, 07:11:09 PM »
This is realistic for motor-bikes - and it moonshot for motor vehicles. Coming from Ndii and his 250 experts. Ruto is not a drunkard like Uhuru. Wait for the details. For motorbikes this is big winner. It fixes many problem - pollution, noise,  cheaper,forex, many things.

If we go big on motor-bikes and buses - we would have fixed many things on transport sector. It ideal for many matatus who drive then wait in stage...they could be slowly charging their batteries.

you are still littering the board with nonsense. post stuff that is realistic not some dreamt shit

« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2022, 07:12:59 PM »
Watch this documentary. We have 2 million motor- bikes (now) creating huge pollution - and are unaffordable to passengers/riders. Kenya already has 4-6 motor-bike assemblers doing the conversion
« Last Edit: June 28, 2022, 08:23:39 PM by RV Pundit »

« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2022, 07:37:41 PM »
Everything is possible with the right sober leadership. When you have a president using hard drugs and drinking hundreds of bottles a week, Unga, a basic commodity, can easily go from 80-230 in no time. Moving to electric brings fuel down, which in turn brings prices of everything down. Energy mismanagement can sink economy anywhere!

« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2022, 07:58:00 PM »
It makes sense.

1) county and national governments are biggest customers for new vehicles..
2) Give tax rebates and incentives to big companies which purchase electric vehicles.

The most important thing:
Who supplies & finances GOk with vehicles?
Who finances and rolls out charging station infrastructure?

Kenyattas are in the vehicle assembly business in Kenya I think they own major franchises like GM Isuzu Toyota and Urysia Peugeot plus VW..I am not sure while NCBA is major financier of the GOK vehicle lease agreements with this franchises..time to phase then out.

« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2022, 08:22:38 PM »
If they focus on boda boda and matatus which has greatest benefits for sector the personal car can move slowly.. matatus that are electric should be zero rated.. motorbike will need conversion industry.If done right Vietnam export 12 billion dollars worth of electric motorbike..if we start like we did mpesa we could join them.. electric motor bikes are easy to make.. doesn't have lots of parts..just electric motor and a gear

« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2022, 08:24:34 PM »
The future of transport is electric.. countries that move first and fast will benefit... combustion engine era is coming to an end

« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2022, 08:47:58 PM »
He will also turn water into wine and rocks into bread. The Kenyan electric grid cannot even supply electricity to homes consistently. Sell Ruto with realistic goals like digging hole toilets for every home in Kenya, flushable toilets in every home in Kenya is not even possible in the next 50yrs.

« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2022, 09:34:40 PM »
He will also turn water into wine and rocks into bread. The Kenyan electric grid cannot even supply electricity to homes consistently. Sell Ruto with realistic goals like digging hole toilets for every home in Kenya, flushable toilets in every home in Kenya is not even possible in the next 50yrs.
Ndii your neighbor in kiambu is consulting for Ruto..I trust him more than a truck driver living in lolwe slums of Boston

« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2022, 10:51:50 PM »
C'mon guys lets not be pessimists here. You shoot for the stars and landing on the moon is a goal accomplished.
Problem is he needs to put it in writing on the steps to achieve these.
CA has a goal of 2035. i think.

« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2022, 10:53:38 PM »
Ndii your neighbor in kiambu is consulting for Ruto..I trust him more than a truck driver living in lolwe slums of Boston

You are so Trumpish. You turn into abuser to try to win a point. I loathe that.

« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2022, 11:56:09 PM »
I've always said that Ndii is your typical academic living in the peter pan pie in the sky world. You can tell when you listen to him that he has very little real world experience and has spent his working years living in the theoretical world bank world and in academia.

The other day I heard him giving a speech and spitting out all these mathematical equations in his head (where of course every equation worked out perfectly) the real world will be a huge shock for him and dealing with ruthless politicians like ruto and gachagua another shock (I don't see him lasting)

« Reply #14 on: June 29, 2022, 03:26:02 AM »
Electric is the future.. but China is running with the market of low-end EVs. Nio and BYD are snapping it from the Japs. Tesla is also beating German brands for medium to luxury market.

So yes to electric, targets are actually good. But if the ambition is to manufacture the scooters that's WAY tougher ambition to deliver. The Japs and Germans are drinking water cause it tough to hack the tech at scale.

« Reply #15 on: June 29, 2022, 03:57:25 AM »
Kenya is ideal because we were already leading the world in small solar systems...ev is very similar market of batteries and charging... just small twists..to lithium batteries and electric charging stations that enterprising Kenyans will rollout nationally quickly.Motor bikes and matutus operating short distance are ideal because they spend lots of time waiting for customers and can be plugged on charging then.The incentive for clean cheap electric transport in a non pil producing country is alluring.We would take the lead in Africa.

« Reply #16 on: June 29, 2022, 09:44:48 AM »
I do not understand what has happened to Pundit in the past few years. He is degenerating to a mind of a toddler.
The EU has just made a proposal not to register convectional vehicles by 2035. Ruto wants to do it in 3 years!
No further comment.

« Reply #17 on: June 29, 2022, 09:47:51 AM »
Ndii will be the first victim of those two thugs. He does not know with whom he is playing. I pity him since he will end up having a serious depression.

I've always said that Ndii is your typical academic living in the peter pan pie in the sky world. You can tell when you listen to him that he has very little real world experience and has spent his working years living in the theoretical world bank world and in academia.

The other day I heard him giving a speech and spitting out all these mathematical equations in his head (where of course every equation worked out perfectly) the real world will be a huge shock for him and dealing with ruthless politicians like ruto and gachagua another shock (I don't see him lasting)

« Reply #18 on: June 29, 2022, 10:05:12 AM »
Again I am trying to just read Ndii tea leaves. I am not in Ruto think tank. We will get the details. If you ask me - boda-boda and matatus are easy targets - and ideal for electric - for personal cars, trucks and etc - it going be be tough.

Definitely when things improve - why not have electrified metro in Nairobi-it's very expensive but we need to move towards non-motorized transport - and electricity powered transport.

I wouldnt care much about people import diesel and petrol cars for their personal use.

But for public transport - gov should encourage the move to cleaner and cheaper e-mobility.

I do not understand what has happened to Pundit in the past few years. He is degenerating to a mind of a toddler.
The EU has just made a proposal not to register convectional vehicles by 2035. Ruto wants to do it in 3 years!
No further comment.

« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2022, 10:08:59 AM »
Ndii kazi yake imeisha.
Once he has given Ruto a 5yr plan then he is no longer needed.
Ruto will implement the plan.
Otherwise your risk going back to where we are - where plans are generated daily - and they gather dust.
Ndii job will be to do annual reviews - monitoring and evaluation.
Implementation will be left to Ruto, Gachagua to deal with security, MaDVD to deal with supervision, Weta in parliament, Kingi in senate.
After 5yrs - he will come up with a new plan.
Ndii will be the first victim of those two thugs. He does not know with whom he is playing. I pity him since he will end up having a serious depression.