Songs are crazy things. They can take you to long forgotten places. This one takes me back to a road trip I made with friends and the azanian chick I had a crush on back then to the Crescent City during my colle days. I can still remember the conversations, echoes of our laughter, the heated debates, the sunny summer breeze, everything. And the traffic jam into the Big Easy when we arrived there around 3pm on a weekday. I also remember us pub hopping on Bourbon that whole evening! Back then I was a drinker so I remember us getting wasted at some joint near Royale st. We didnt even stay the night. How we drove all the way back to the city we were living in back then is a blur.
Age and time also changes everything. At present;
- The chick is back in Azania with a half-akataa kid tall as me. We haven't spoken in well over 25 years
- My best buddy who accompanied us on that trip moved to a different city in the late 90s, got involved in criminal activity and got deported
- The chick's two cuzos, one who was the driver, after that trip I never saw them again
- My best buddy's chick was dumped by him a year or so later, she relocated back to her home country, got married, had a boyshaod and guess who she named the kid. The ex boyfriend
Hii maisha ni tricky blathee. About 5-10 very close primo and seco and uni buddies are all six feet under. One other lost his marbles in Canada. He was super popular and had all the esto chicks back in the day.
I used to value money up until this year. Now nothing here on earth really matters to me any more kabisha kabisha. Been there done that seen it all in this third rock from the sun na hakuna kitu special humu humu manze.
Ni hayo tu.