Author Topic: In all fairness nairobi is one chaotic cesspool  (Read 1336 times)

In all fairness nairobi is one chaotic cesspool
« on: March 08, 2022, 12:01:51 AM »
From cbd to the residential areas the place leaks of chaos. I can't stomach nairobi for more than 2 days. That city needs to be abandoned. Let us start over somewhere else.

Boda bodas just run aimlessly. On the pedestrian walkways, roads. It is actually a miracle there no more deaths in nairobi. The rideshares are god.sent saving me the heasaxhed or driving or hiring a driver. Then the chaos of trash. I observed how trash companies contract estates to remove trash then pay mkokoteni guys a few bucks to dump the trash into nairobi river. I couldn't believe my eyes seeing guys throwing trash into the river like it is a dumpsite.

Living in kenya should come with a hazardous bonus

Re: In all fairness nairobi is one chaotic cesspool
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2022, 11:51:57 AM »

You pretend where you live is heaven but its evident you are strugling.

From cbd to the residential areas the place leaks of chaos. I can't stomach nairobi for more than 2 days. That city needs to be abandoned. Let us start over somewhere else.

Boda bodas just run aimlessly. On the pedestrian walkways, roads. It is actually a miracle there no more deaths in nairobi. The rideshares are god.sent saving me the heasaxhed or driving or hiring a driver. Then the chaos of trash. I observed how trash companies contract estates to remove trash then pay mkokoteni guys a few bucks to dump the trash into nairobi river. I couldn't believe my eyes seeing guys throwing trash into the river like it is a dumpsite.

Living in kenya should come with a hazardous bonus

« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2022, 02:51:33 PM »
Nairobi is great city - regardless I would love to live here - as long as I dont have to commute to work.
The rest of issues are okay
Weather to die for.
Social life great
Basic comforts - like electricity/water

« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2022, 03:02:16 PM »
Weather and social life in Nairobi is great, but there is room for lots of improvents especially traffic, petty thefts etc.

Nairobi is great city - regardless I would love to live here - as long as I dont have to commute to work.
The rest of issues are okay
Weather to die for.
Social life great
Basic comforts - like electricity/water

« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2022, 03:49:25 PM »
What is this social life? Outside drink and going to church what else is there in nairobi. Compared to other cities nairpbi has very little offer in terms of social life. If you are one of those ever teenager adults who believe drinking all day is social life then nairobi is your place but if your are a person who wants small activities like hiking, trying new hobbies, quality of life, not having to worry if the water bowser selling water is clean. The real quality of life in kenya is on the country side. You get to live without a lot of hustle and worry about social and actual environment. When I am in the village hiking the valleys, making contact with my old friends the village brings so much satisfaction. Nairobi is a cesspool that once you get in it you rot pole pole without knowing

« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2022, 04:22:15 PM »
What is this social life? Outside drink and going to church what else is there in nairobi. Compared to other cities nairpbi has very little offer in terms of social life. If you are one of those ever teenager adults who believe drinking all day is social life then nairobi is your place but if your are a person who wants small activities like hiking, trying new hobbies, quality of life, not having to worry if the water bowser selling water is clean. The real quality of life in kenya is on the country side. You get to live without a lot of hustle and worry about social and actual environment. When I am in the village hiking the valleys, making contact with my old friends the village brings so much satisfaction. Nairobi is a cesspool that once you get in it you rot pole pole without knowing

Agree here. Drinking fweee all day and bar hopping not life. You want hassle free life and spend time enjoying nature and meeting serious people Nairobi not the place. No public parks dont say Uhuru Park you will be robbed. ;) Countryside best or small towns like Eldoret. KK has vicious thugs killing spree even countryside sometimes but generally better. Crime spiral out of control in 254.

https://www.citizen.digital/wananchi-reporting/kakamega-market-traders-worried-as-thugs-break-into-shops-at-night-n292204

« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2022, 04:49:06 PM »
That life of drinking fuaaa at age 30 and up will lead you to an early grave. Most of these people drinking like this are over 40 because that when midlife crisis hits and you have a lot of money if you have the income. Add that to the escorts called mpango..ya kando and if aids doesn't take you herpes and who lot of viruses will dispatch you at a later date. Anyway we need to start working on making life in nairobi to be to be better for her residents. The parks are there they just need reclaiming and investments. Kids in nairobi deserve to have a better environment than the current one. The way to reduce alcoholism is to engage your people in activities. Let them use their energy for better things. In my youth in the village we used to start football clubs. This gave us something to do in the afternoons and on weekends will be in tournaments. With no time even families started to come to the games. For less than 2k shs back them the village had entertainment and a life away from the bars.

Anyway nairobi is a good place to just stop over and be there to see what is up and then vamooze out of there

« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2022, 04:59:15 PM »

Naso! Nature over everything for me. Nairobi used to be green and unbuilt while I was growing up, I would go to National Park during the weekends, it still had shags feel, now I can't stomach Nairofi, it is a concrete jungle with little greenery left. The desperate poverty and hopelessness you witness everywhere throws you into a melancholic mood. It is a Hobbesian petri dish. Best thing is to stay far from it only visiting occasionally to buy stuff.

For me, a simple litmus test of development for all time is, __ "can a polity or society solve it's urban sanitation issues?". It ain't about building underpasses or constructing highways to nowhere. I don't have hope Nairobi or any African city  will be able to do that for a millennia to come. Melanin man's ability to fashion a humane living environment for himself is nonexistent anywhere sadly, unless it is done at the butt of the gun like Kigali using brutal police state tactics we will be doomed to urban centers that are garbage dumps for human and material waste.

« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2022, 06:09:08 PM »
The CBD appears to be cleaner with what NMS has been doing lately or is that not the case?

I would not call it a ''great" city like Pundit has (it's increasingly looking like pundit has not traveled much outside of kenya and so his standards are third world) -- Great cities have parks, clean air, biking paths, tree lined streets, museums, no hawkers, no garbage, etc (think Paris, Vienna, London, most cities in the US would also qualify because they have all these things & they're well planned)

And yes, social life in Kenya is 99% drinking, womanizing and gossiping. No where to walk or bike. No green spaces. It's actually a very stressful place to be so I can't imagine how much worse it is for  people that have to get up in the morning, deal with matatu's, traffic, bills, earn a living, etc.

« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2022, 06:25:43 PM »
I see most of you are westernized - and are now hermites enjoying hiking and other mzungu stuff. Nairobi social life is not just drinking; it just meeting people who are bubbly, smilling and happy despite their situation. Nothing beat that. You feel alive in Nairobi. You just feel happy to be around people - including strangers. Money cant buy that. Same with great weather.

Frankly western world beat nairobi in very very few things if you have good income.

VERY VERY few - maybe just garbage - otherwise Nairobi is pretty great city.  The traffic jam in rush hour is crazy - and I wont work in nairobi ever if I have to do 8-5pm... I rather work remotely. Nairobi traffic is the deal breaker everything else is NYWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Basic like - water, electricity - is sorted in most places - even in shags. I can stay for months without any serious power issues.

Housing in Nairobi is so cheap compared to abroad - and variety so much - you dont need to cram yourself in tiny corner - except maybe in the US of A - outside big cities - but in big city like Nairobi - housing options are so much and so great - and so cheap

Expat recently ranked Nairobi 11th in world for expats.
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/bd/economy/nairobi-best-city-africa-12th-globally-3636816

« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2022, 07:51:40 PM »
I disagree with Pundit on this one and again, I think you need the benefit of being able to compare Nairobi to other westernized cities.

The socializing, drinking and gossiping is good for maybe one month especially if you are there in December for the holidays, but after a month, it just starts getting old. You start asking yourself questions like ...what else is happening in this town besides drinking? especially if you have kids. You can't take them to Disneyland or universal studio's or even to the Bahamas. Your just stuck there drinking and eating nyama choma with toothpicks in your mouth.

« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2022, 07:56:52 PM »
I have lived abroad. I would choose an african city everyday - except Kigali. Kigali has that uptigthness of a western city. You're almost always afraid of everything - throwing garbage, cops, running traffic light, dogs, being black, name it. Nairobi you're only afraid of thugs - not your own shadow. I enjoyed living in Kampala and of course Nairobi - except for traffic in both cities. Europe or US is just not for me. The weather is killer for half the year. The summers are okay but there is not much fun - just skimply dressed small girls. Kenya them girls with them big round arse :)

Then add free cheap labour in kenya - abroad you gotta clean up - cook for yourself - and do everything - for yourself - everyday you are busy caring for kids - doing shopping - cooking - name it - you're almost living a life of a kenya maid.

Kenya you sleep, you socialize, you comeback happy and you live happily - kids get picked, kids get cleaned, cooked for - name it by by cheap labour around you.

I disagree with Pundit on this one and again, I think you need the benefit of being able to compare Nairobi to other westernized cities.

The socializing, drinking and gossiping is good for maybe one month especially if you are there in December for the holidays, but after a month, it just starts getting old. You start asking yourself questions like ...what else is happening in this town besides drinking? especially if you have kids. You can't take them to Disneyland or universal studio's or even to the Bahamas. Your just stuck there drinking and eating nyama choma with toothpicks in your mouth.

« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2022, 08:09:31 PM »
Funny feeling in Kigali too. Greatest fear is that things will lipuka before you leave. Western cities great on infrastructure and predictability, cleanliness, organized. Still fear of racism all over running into punks in social places. Quarantines and mandates make west suck.