Author Topic: Is there a solution for shipping dead bodies to Kenya?  (Read 6293 times)

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

Is there a solution for shipping dead bodies to Kenya?
« on: July 23, 2021, 06:25:43 AM »
It seems I'm always reading of a Kenyan who has died abroad, and the family needs help to fly the body back to Kenya for burial.

I cannot see Americans facing such a problem and not being able to find a solution.

Surely, there has to be a better alternative to begging. This problem has been around for years! When will there be a solution for coming up with the $10,000 or so that's needed? Just wondering.
Don't steal. The Uhuruto Government hates competition.

Re: Is there a solution for shipping dead bodies to Kenya?
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2021, 08:17:21 AM »
Burn it up!

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2021, 03:02:53 PM »
When I read this I was quite shocked:

Kenya Embassy DC Staff Member Andrew Onyuna Ochieng Passes Away
https://diasporamessenger.com/2021/06/kenya-embassy-dc-staff-member-andrew-onyuna-ochieng-passes-away/

I can only think that this man (rest in peace) had to have been a locally hired staffer of the Kenya Embassy. I don't think he was hired from Kenya. In any case, funds were being requested to ship his remains to Kenya.

To see funds being requested to ship the body of a Kenyan Embassy employee brings things to a whole other level. Surely, there has to be a long-term solution.

« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2021, 03:58:33 PM »
There is insurance for this. There was an cover that was started by kenyans but our useful idiots want this to be someone else burden after they die. I don't contribute a penny to such nonsense

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2021, 04:03:24 PM »
When was this insurance started?

There is insurance for this. There was an cover that was started by kenyans but our useful idiots want this to be someone else burden after they die. I don't contribute a penny to such nonsense

« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2021, 04:09:08 PM »
15 years or so,ago. Kenyans ni watu washenzi sana. They do not plan for life.,they just live

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2021, 04:17:51 PM »
So the insurance no longer exists?

15 years or so,ago. Kenyans ni watu washenzi sana. They do not plan for life.,they just live

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2021, 04:28:20 PM »
Here is another example (God rest her soul in peace):

The family is kindly requesting well-wishers support through prayers and finances to help them raise funds to cater for the hospital, mortuary expenses, as well as repatriation of her body to accord her last respects and burial in Gem Ahono village, Siaya County.

Kenyan Lady Christine Babu Passes Away While Traveling From US To Kenya
https://diasporamessenger.com/2021/07/kenyan-lady-christine-babu-passes-away-while-traveling-from-us-to-kenya/

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2021, 04:31:33 PM »
And here is yet another example (rest in peace):

The late Judy Gatei had been hospitalized at St. Joseph hospital including ICU ward until her demise.  We kindly request for your prayers and financial support as we prepare to bid her farewell.

Death Announcement Of Judy Wambui Gatei Of Woodland Park, NJ
https://diasporamessenger.com/2021/07/death-announcement-of-judy-wambui-gatei-of-woodland-park-nj/

« Reply #9 on: July 23, 2021, 05:43:22 PM »
So the insurance no longer exists?

Not sure. I was never interested in it. I will be buried in USA or where I die

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #10 on: July 23, 2021, 08:50:11 PM »

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #11 on: July 23, 2021, 08:58:48 PM »
Transportation of remains of a Deceased Kenyan
https://kenyaembassydc.org/transdeceased/

« Reply #12 on: July 23, 2021, 09:47:59 PM »
People should be buried where they die. We need to hold our people accountable this thing of Harambee on everything is very annoying.

« Reply #13 on: July 23, 2021, 09:54:28 PM »
Cremate; bring the ash to africa in a jar; and bury

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #14 on: July 23, 2021, 09:56:37 PM »
An idea just occurred to me. What about working out an arrangement with the new Kenya Airways flight from New York Nairobi to have a discounted or affordable rate for shipping dead Kenyans to Kenya? I got the idea after reading this article:

Kenya Airways to airlift bodies for Sh25,000
https://nation.africa/kenya/business/kenya-airways-to-airlift-bodies-for-sh25-000-1049564?view=htmlamp

Can Kenyans in the Diaspora negotiate something with the national carrier? After all, the Diaspora has been sending so much money to Kenya lately. Surely, this is an issue of great importance to the Kenya Diaspora.

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #15 on: July 23, 2021, 10:07:31 PM »
The direct New York to Nairobi Kenya Airways flight might be the key to solving this old problem. Just my feeling. But we need more heads to come up with possible solutions.  :)

« Reply #16 on: July 23, 2021, 10:42:33 PM »
An idea just occurred to me. What about working out an arrangement with the new Kenya Airways flight from New York Nairobi to have a discounted or affordable rate for shipping dead Kenyans to Kenya? I got the idea after reading this article:

https://nation.africa/kenya/business/kenya-airways-to-airlift-bodies-for-sh25-000-1049564?view=htmlamp

Can Kenyans in the Diaspora negotiate something with the national carrier? After all, the Diaspora has been sending so much money to Kenya lately. Surely, this is an issue of great importance to the Kenya Diaspora.

You are a moron. Cargo get charged the market rates. You send the cadaver using sea it is cheaper. Wewe ni mtu bloodyfacking sana

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #17 on: July 23, 2021, 11:31:48 PM »
Are you having a bad day? Or have you run out of your medication? Pole! I would hate to be in your shoes at the moment. :D

You are a moron. Cargo get charged the market rates. You send the cadaver using sea it is cheaper. Wewe ni mtu bloodyfacking sana

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #18 on: July 23, 2021, 11:37:15 PM »
Back to the discussion. Kenya Airways needs passenger business. Diaspora passengers sometimes need to ship dead bodies. Is there room for a deal of sorts?  :D

UPDATE 2-Kenya Airways bets on cargo as pandemic wipes out travel
https://www.reuters.com/article/kenya-airways-results/update-2-kenya-airways-bets-on-cargo-as-pandemic-wipes-out-travel-idUSL1N2LL0BO

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #19 on: July 24, 2021, 01:17:18 AM »
The Kenya Government owes almost half of Kenya Airways. What if each flight could only take a maximum of 2 dead bodies to Kenya at $5000 each? What would this mean financially to Kenya Airways? And what if the Kenyans flying to Kenya for the funeral had to take Kenya Airways? I would love to know from someone familiar with airline cargo. In other words, how much would it be losing?

Politically, it would be a win for the Government. Which Kenyan in the Diaspora would complain?

However, I suspect that the demand would outstrip the supply. There would have to be a waiting list. This in turn would bring in the issue of where to store the body while waiting for your turn to have your relative's remains flown to Kenya.

Anyway, Kenyans created Mpesa. Maybe we can create an economic system for shipping dead bodies to Kenya.  :D