Author Topic: GMO science  (Read 3047 times)

Offline RV Kirgit

GMO science
« on: April 17, 2020, 06:53:48 PM »

Re: GMO science
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2020, 07:48:39 AM »

« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2020, 08:13:09 AM »
I think Bt-cotton was approved for Kenya. GMO for non-food should already have been approved. GMO is safe but ignorant will spread conspiracies.

« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2020, 12:55:38 AM »
I think Bt-cotton was approved for Kenya. GMO for non-food should already have been approved. GMO is safe but ignorant will spread conspiracies.

YOU ARE WRONG!

For someone whose lost two close relatives to cancer you are very glib about the dangers GMO.

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2020, 09:50:14 AM »
Very wrong.
GMO apart from health issues is a con especially to the small scale farmers. They cannot use their own seeds to plant for the next season. It means going back to the GMO supplier every planting season. Many small scale farmers in India have ended up in ruins having no cash to buy seeds for the next season.
Btw, once a country like Kenya uses GMO maize we will not be allowed to even export things like meat to many countries like the EU.

YOU ARE WRONG!

For someone whose lost two close relatives to cancer you are very glib about the dangers GMO.

« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2020, 10:16:24 AM »
Very wrong.
GMO apart from health issues is a con especially to the small scale farmers. They cannot use their own seeds to plant for the next season. It means going back to the GMO supplier every planting season. Many small scale farmers in India have ended up in ruins having no cash to buy seeds for the next season.
Btw, once a country like Kenya uses GMO maize we will not be allowed to even export things like meat to many countries like the EU.

YOU ARE WRONG!

what prevents small scale farmer from keeping their seeds?

I think we should embrace science and abandon it if we know for sure it will harm the ecosystem in the long run

Do  not be like Mau Mau or Mungiki. They are like American Nationalists who hold on the believe that them good old days will return

Do you know even today 45% of kikuyus circumcise their girls

« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2020, 01:09:26 PM »
You do not get it. The seeds from the plants are not plantable. For example, GMO maize plants give grains that cannot be planted. As simple as that.

I think we should embrace science and abandon it if we know for sure it will harm the ecosystem in the long run

Do  not be like Mau Mau or Mungiki. They are like American Nationalists who hold on the believe that them good old days will return

« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2020, 02:24:01 AM »
You do not get it. The seeds from the plants are not plantable. For example, GMO maize plants give grains that cannot be planted. As simple as that.

Facepalm. Kadudu these are sort of people in charge of agricultural policy back home; shallow, intellectually peons who can't even recognize Western big Ag marketing falsehoods. It should be a crime to be that stupid. Indian farmers who embraced GMO are killing themselves in large numbers.

« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2020, 04:59:36 AM »
I am asking who is forcing a farner to adopt gmo? A farmer can store seeds of non gmo and plant them once gmo seeds become too expensive.

« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2020, 10:35:11 AM »
You are very ignorant when it comes to the issues of small scale farmers. These people live from hand to mouth. How do you expect such a farmer to store maize for years?

I am asking who is forcing a farner to adopt gmo? A farmer can store seeds of non gmo and plant them once gmo seeds become too expensive.

Online gout

« Reply #10 on: April 23, 2020, 02:35:49 PM »
We are yet to scratch basic agricultural surface - access to arable land; quality affordable seeds; quality affordable fertilizer and  disbandment of marketing cartels. All other solutions- irrigation, GMOs, ICT are as usual elitist ideas lifted from mzungu trips. 

Online gout

« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2020, 02:39:05 PM »
Most farmers have kept seeds for generations. I would say less than half of all farmers across all crops use expensive certified seeds- the figures are negligible looking at financials of SImlaws/Kenya Seeds.

You are very ignorant when it comes to the issues of small scale farmers. These people live from hand to mouth. How do you expect such a farmer to store maize for years?

« Reply #12 on: April 24, 2020, 12:05:29 AM »

Lol so if Macotieno buys 1/4 a kilo of GMO tomatoes and then he is unable to afford the seeds  next season. You are saying he has no where to go to get a tomato he can dry and use the seeds. All Farmers in Nyakatch are under BIG EVIL monstanto. Ooh big Ngirigacha, big monster, kanspirancy to make 100 tomatoes vines peasant Macotieno poor.

Wewe ni siasa unapenda. Some of us farm and have farmed for years and know what you are saying is  a bunch of baloney, Malarkey

« Reply #13 on: April 24, 2020, 09:39:44 AM »
I have tried to get this into your thick head, not all people in Kenya who are not Kikuyus are Luos. Such a basic thing you should have learnt in kindergarten.
Arcadian_Dreamer mentioned the case of India here with small scale farmers who landed in the hands of Monsanto and co. and lived to regret it. Do some basic research before commenting on some issues and also learn to have some empathy with the less blessed in the society.

Lol so if Macotieno buys 1/4 a kilo of GMO tomatoes and then he is unable to afford the seeds  next season. You are saying he has no where to go to get a tomato he can dry and use the seeds. All Farmers in Nyakatch are under BIG EVIL monstanto. Ooh big Ngirigacha, big monster, kanspirancy to make 100 tomatoes vines peasant Macotieno poor.

Wewe ni siasa unapenda. Some of us farm and have farmed for years and know what you are saying is  a bunch of baloney, Malarkey

« Reply #14 on: April 25, 2020, 09:04:55 AM »
Indian farmers are fucked by their own govt. Suicides by indian farmers is very common method of protest. I am asking about wanjiru, oletioyot, kimsop. How has the evil monjanto impacted them. Mordi robots are a different kettle of fish

What is the price difference between motanto and local seeds in kwiinya? I do not want to hear about kansa?