Author Topic: When will kenya introduce instant fines for traffic offense  (Read 1004 times)

When will kenya introduce instant fines for traffic offense
« on: December 28, 2022, 05:24:15 PM »

Re: When will kenya introduce instant fines for traffic offense
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2022, 08:19:54 PM »
https://victormatara.com/list-of-instant-fines-for-minor-traffic-offences-in-kenya/

I think the solution is reduce these fines between 500-1000 and digitise them...Many times when you commit a traffic offense..the officer mentions your offences and sometimes the amount of fines exceeds 10,000 so you bargain between 1-2K...the normal police bribe is between 100 Bob for matatus to 2000 for private cars...so why not set fines between that 2000 and pay via M-pesa?That way you won't see any officer on the roads.

« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2022, 08:40:02 PM »
Exactly set fine at price enough to make people pay without bribing yet it's deterrent..2k or 1k..with mpesa should be easy to pay n get confrontation message

« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2022, 10:45:13 PM »
dept of Transport can make it possible thru policy. If it is challenged in court, then its easier to pass it thru parliament. Waiting for politicians and like waiting for a snail.