Author Topic: Coastal Tourism will NEVER recover .... Machakos and Naivasha ...any takers  (Read 4118 times)

as a prophet of doom I predict that foreigners based coastal tourism will NEVER recover at the coast... north coast, mombasa and north coast economy on its knees ..

the young mzungus seem too broke to afford staying in any hotel charging over  $50 ..they are starting companies like airbnb to get cheap travel arrangements where they can share rooms..... the old folks are worried about prospects of their kids and grandkids .... with perfect excuses of terrorism and ebola ....mzungu tourism is kaput

domestic based tourism will never pick ...very few africans can set aside 50-200k for tour ..we all look for guest houses charging 1-2k and go to public beaches and then Lambada, Bobs, Shakatak, Tandoori ...the distance to mombasa is also a factor that deters domestic tourism .... this is naivasha and machakos come in..... if mutua and kinuthia import white sand the two counties will really kick ass ..rail is free ....given mutua's simplistic peoples park is really pulling crowds ....

Foreign tourist will still come...kenya is long haul destination for the rich.

Expect tourism from Asia to fill the gap that western tourism will leave. China are already the world biggest source of tourist.  In the future..you'll see more indians, more chineses, more koreans, more eastern europeans, more arabs and such visiting kenya and other destination.

European tourist prefer beaches/wildlife/sun/sex/....we need to find out what chinese or indians prefer...i suspect wildlife..casinos..and some sun too.

Domestic tourist from Nairobi..will like you said...go for short vacations in surrounding counties.

Domestic tourist in US or EU will do the same..touring short haul destination.

With Ebola expect less. Most Asians have no idea where West and East Africa is. Asians are more prejudiced than whites when it comes to other races.

Tourism in Kenya has survived worse to rebound. So this is a mere hiccup. However the stakeholders could use this as an opportunity to review pricing and change some of their attitudes especially to domestic tourists.

While it is common to find under USD 50 high quality accommodation in Accra, Ghana, it is impossible to find such a place in Nairobi. And when you do the quality is punishing enough to force you to part with more to get to the high end. Car rental in Kenya is at all time high compared to other destinations. I have never understood why some of the hotels don't have their own pool of rental cars. They believe in vans that look like matatus - absolutely no taste of imagination. The idea is to use anything to separate tourists from their money.

Visiting the night clubs in Diani for example is beyond words to describe. One beer costs ten USD. That is plain thievery. I took some visitors to a "cheap" one and by the time we left, we had spent 120K. Whatever services they offered could have cost us less than 12K at The Hilton.

While in Italy and Spain they try to knock down prices, in Kenya they try to hike them.

Strange considering there is no barrier to entry for all sort of hotels and lodges offering all sort of services in all sort of prices. I can understand those in exclusive beaches or national parks....but outside..you should be able to find an hotel of your liking.
Tourism in Kenya has survived worse to rebound. So this is a mere hiccup. However the stakeholders could use this as an opportunity to review pricing and change some of their attitudes especially to domestic tourists.

While it is common to find under USD 50 high quality accommodation in Accra, Ghana, it is impossible to find such a place in Nairobi. And when you do the quality is punishing enough to force you to part with more to get to the high end. Car rental in Kenya is at all time high compared to other destinations. I have never understood why some of the hotels don't have their own pool of rental cars. They believe in vans that look like matatus - absolutely no taste of imagination. The idea is to use anything to separate tourists from their money.

Visiting the night clubs in Diani for example is beyond words to describe. One beer costs ten USD. That is plain thievery. I took some visitors to a "cheap" one and by the time we left, we had spent 120K. Whatever services they offered could have cost us less than 12K at The Hilton.

While in Italy and Spain they try to knock down prices, in Kenya they try to hike them.

Pundit

You have obviously not been to Diani. The sick prices is the reason Ukunda rose. The negroes working in Diani could not afford the crazy prices and set up their own shanty on the Lunga Lunga Road
Strange considering there is no barrier to entry for all sort of hotels and lodges offering all sort of services in all sort of prices. I can understand those in exclusive beaches or national parks....but outside..you should be able to find an hotel of your liking.