M-pesa is owned and MANAGED by mzungu. Any stupidness to localize Safcom management - by replacing Collymore with a Kikuyu or Kalenjin - utaona KQ nyingine. Hatujafika hapo - we have a one-off outlier Dr Mwangi - nothing consistent of MJ caliber. Plain reality.
If you doubt - the most innovative startups are mzungu- owned and run. These are the Safcoms or Googles in the horizon. One Acre Fund, M-kopa, Sun Culture, name it.
See this 2 startups named "Genius Companies" 2018 by Time Magazine. For being super innovative. Ona (medtech) and BRCK (internet hardware). Of course they are mzungu companies.
We need to fix our culture along with Digischool and infrastructure. In short, Ruto needs to stop teaching the youth it's ok to steal. With his omnipresence that looting message is so loud noone can hear a thing about digital. The cultural corner - who n what we worship, who are the role models - is a very big missing ingredient in the development broth.
We differed on OUTPUTS the other day - guess we are stuck there. Face the hard truth about the ineptitude of Kenya's finest mind being a literal BIG THIEF - how would any good come of that? His Digischool or SGR is one step forward, two backwards.
Ona, BRCK among innovative companies changing the worldhttps://www.standardmedia.co.ke/business/article/2001298009/kenya-tech-firms-in-top-50-genius-listThat sounds as insane as saying your hero behind Telsa is a south african invention. M-pesa is more than simple USSD menu - it about the ecosystem, about kenyans including gov wonks embracing and about kenya innovating along it. The original M-pesa was micro-finance app - the m-pesa we have now is a whole m-commerce and payment system.