Author Topic: Google pay now enable M-PESA  (Read 2657 times)

Google pay now enable M-PESA
« on: February 22, 2018, 08:00:31 PM »
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/corporate/tech/Google-enables-M-Pesa-payments-on-its-app-store/4258474-4315886-4s85ya/index.html

Re: Google pay now enable M-PESA
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2018, 12:00:25 AM »
I am not sure what this really means. Anyone savvy enough to sell or buy apps online does not need M-Pesa. I would be eager to know if M-Pesa is accepted by YouTube, E-Bay, Amazon and locals like VIUSASA and Showmax.

The merchant account story is also key. Allow that first.

Lack of payment options has remained one of the barrier for Kenyans looking to buy goods and services from international e-commerce firms that only accept card payments.

While only about six per cent of applications on the Google Play store are paid apps, the integration of M-Pesa is a key milestone.

However, while Kenyans are now able to make purchases through M-Pesa, there remains a gap for locals that want to sell their applications on the platform.

Google does not allow for registration of merchant accounts from Kenya, which necessary if you want to sell on its platform.

« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2018, 08:24:35 AM »

« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2018, 10:00:20 AM »
I am not sure what this really means. Anyone savvy enough to sell or buy apps online does not need M-Pesa. I would be eager to know if M-Pesa is accepted by YouTube, E-Bay, Amazon and locals like VIUSASA and Showmax.

Does it mean currently no one can sell apps charging credit cards based in kenya since google play doesn't allow merchants accounts in kenya ? This would be a major limitation to apps owners who target global market.

« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2018, 04:49:26 PM »

Does it mean currently no one can sell apps charging credit cards based in kenya since google play doesn't allow merchants accounts in kenya ? This would be a major limitation to apps owners who target global market.

Imagine it's possible noone can sell apps on Google Play Store in Kenya - or even Sub Sahara - yes. Only monetized apps using credit card. Paypal probably works so no biggie. Pundit and Pastor can you confirm this?

On Apple's App Store it's possible - I've done it some years back.

Most apps - Uber, Small Cab, VIUSASA - are free downloads. Very few apps charge for downloads. They sell ads on the go as usage grows. Others are simply digital channels for services.

« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2018, 08:44:04 PM »

Imagine it's possible noone can sell apps on Google Play Store in Kenya - or even Sub Sahara - yes. Only monetized apps using credit card. Paypal probably works so no biggie. Pundit and Pastor can you confirm this?

On Apple's App Store it's possible - I've done it some years back.

Most apps - Uber, Small Cab, VIUSASA - are free downloads. Very few apps charge for downloads. They sell ads on the go as usage grows. Others are simply digital channels for services.

Robina,
I think you got something wrong.
We can buy apps from Playstore. In fact it is customized to KSh which makes it friendly. I have bought a few.

It's only that you had to have a card to buy. Now you can buy right off your MPesa wallet.

« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2018, 10:02:58 PM »
Pastor can you sell apps on Playstore using your credit card to receive the pay directly?

« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2018, 10:39:26 PM »
Pastor can you sell apps on Playstore using your credit card to receive the pay directly?

« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2018, 10:38:37 AM »

I mean can Google credit your card directly after their cut? Without Paypal or such. The businessdaily story suggests they cannot.

« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2018, 12:16:23 PM »
If there was any talent in the Silicon Savannah, and Bob Collymore was not a hopeless joke, there would be a SafStore to fill this glaring loophole.

« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2018, 12:05:40 PM »
If you look at a big bank like KCB, they have finally decided on some investment in research & innovation - by hiring a few programmers or data scientists to work on "omnichannel" - which means post some chatbots on Telegram and FB Messenger 8) Then go back to snoring... and remain worth $3b as "biggest bank".

Instead they should try Equity strategy of rapid expansion - except they should do it by building real products. Hire proper scientists and engineers to build things. Not the nonsense on every job ad on their website ati "MBA preferred". Why would an IT staff need an MBA?  :o

If I was on the KCB Board I would make Oigara's job quite simple: BIG autonomy & budget to hire & fire. Big R&D autonomy & budget. B-I-G targets. Something like 250m customers, $50b market cap. Now he can go global, hire expats, do miracles or quit!

Ditto for Safcom. "Top company" compared to Telkom or Yu is a very silly joke.

« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2018, 01:02:28 PM »
Most kenyans think small. Thank goodness for likes of Equity.
If you look at a big bank like KCB, they have finally decided on some investment in research & innovation - by hiring a few programmers or data scientists to work on "omnichannel" - which means post some chatbots on Telegram and FB Messenger 8) Then go back to snoring... and remain worth $3b as "biggest bank".

Instead they should try Equity strategy of rapid expansion - except they should do it by building real products. Hire proper scientists and engineers to build things. Not the nonsense on every job ad on their website ati "MBA preferred". Why would an IT staff need an MBA?  :o

If I was on the KCB Board I would make Oigara's job quite simple: BIG autonomy & budget to hire & fire. Big R&D autonomy & budget. B-I-G targets. Something like 250m customers, $50b market cap. Now he can go global, hire expats, do miracles or quit!

« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2018, 01:46:39 PM »
Yup no wonder Google or AppStore can ignore the entire Sub Sahara - noone can sign up as a merchant without a third party escrow  8) Because there is no serious App vendor in the place anyway. And Pastor vooke and hk here are amazed. Is there even a church or farming app.

Most kenyans think small. Thank goodness for likes of Equity.