Author Topic: Kericho beauty  (Read 4487 times)

Kericho beauty
« on: September 23, 2015, 05:14:07 PM »

Re: Kericho beauty
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2015, 06:30:34 PM »
You should be on the county promotion board. Look for ways to attract people into the area so that they can spend money instead of mombasa

« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2015, 01:59:32 PM »
I drove through this area last week. More tea factories have been constructed but they still can't meet the tea capacity by small holders. There is so much disillusionment I fear some tea may have already been uprooted. The prices are way too low and the Mpesa traders basically pay the "bonus" upfront adding to poverty. There is need for a rethink of the current tea policies. GoK needs to heavily invest in the basic tea factories to up their quality and capacity. They have to be empowered to add more value to whatever they produce so that farmers can begin reaping the real benefits of tea. otherwise we may soon see what befell coffee in Western Kenya happen to tea

« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2015, 02:05:50 PM »
I think the two innovation that need to happen quickly..in addition to green tea and purple tea (ongoing ) plus hydro project plus direct sales (rainforest alliance such)...
1) Some form of mechanisation for plucking and pruning -labour to pick tea is still way too expensive-about 6-12shs which is nearly 20-30%!
2) Micro-macro factories -India are pioneering these kind of really small cottage tea factories--where someone with 10 acres--can set up his own factory and produce tea.

But generally tea seem to have got it groove back (after last 2 yrs scare)! And it one industry that has been doing extremely well for more than 20yrs now.

I drove through this area last week. More tea factories have been constructed but they still can't meet the tea capacity by small holders. There is so much disillusionment I fear some tea may have already been uprooted. The prices are way too low and the Mpesa traders basically pay the "bonus" upfront adding to poverty. There is need for a rethink of the current tea policies. GoK needs to heavily invest in the basic tea factories to up their quality and capacity. They have to be empowered to add more value to whatever they produce so that farmers can begin reaping the real benefits of tea. otherwise we may soon see what befell coffee in Western Kenya happen to tea

« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2015, 02:20:56 PM »
There are lots of things they can do to make an extra buck for the farmers. Much of the so called by products are dumped yet they could be used to make highly valuable products such as bio-diesel, generate electricity and fuel to replace firewood.

The Sugar industry is facing the same crisis of stagnation in innovation. Mumias did start producing electricity and that was commendable but you and I know they could do better. They should have started manufacturing bio-fuel eons ago. The current crisis should have been an excuse to replace sugarcane growing with Sugar beet. The propaganda about it not being suitable in Kenya has always been a bad lie:

[pdf]http://www.tum.ac.ke/assets/research/sec_sti/DAY%203/SUGAR%20BEET%20GROWING%20NYANDARUA%20FOR%20COMMERCIAL%20PURPOSES.pdf[/pdf]

« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2015, 02:23:35 PM »
... the amount of sugarcane that has been damaged after it over-matured is shocking! The thing about sugarcane is that once it passes it cut-by-date, it turns itself into a "seedling" and starts to grow using the old stem as fertiliser. The loss to the farmers is enormous.

« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2015, 03:24:31 PM »
Indeed..without innovation..the sector is forever stunted. Right now tea sector after 2 yrs of stress are really innovating..trying to get into green tea and purple tea...after realizing their traditional market of black tea (egypt, pakistani,sudan, afgan,england) are already oversupplied..and yet there lies huge market..in morocco, algeria, tunisia, iran,turkey, china and many countries who take green tea....so now what KTDA need to do..it to quickly add a green tea line.

Milk has been doing well..because of the same diversification..into UHT, milk atms, cheese, butter, ghee, youghurt and many other products.

Maize sector should long have diversified from depending on treasury announcing arbitary prices and brokers buying maize cheaply..into co-op that engage in milling and animal feeds. The same with sugar industry....they can go pretty much into everything..considering sugar is very important for so many products.

There are lots of things they can do to make an extra buck for the farmers. Much of the so called by products are dumped yet they could be used to make highly valuable products such as bio-diesel, generate electricity and fuel to replace firewood.

The Sugar industry is facing the same crisis of stagnation in innovation. Mumias did start producing electricity and that was commendable but you and I know they could do better. They should have started manufacturing bio-fuel eons ago. The current crisis should have been an excuse to replace sugarcane growing with Sugar beet. The propaganda about it not being suitable in Kenya has always been a bad lie:

[pdf]http://www.tum.ac.ke/assets/research/sec_sti/DAY%203/SUGAR%20BEET%20GROWING%20NYANDARUA%20FOR%20COMMERCIAL%20PURPOSES.pdf[/pdf]

« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2015, 04:08:00 PM »
About maize ... the middle men will one day kill the industry. It is surviving because Kenyans are slow to change. Yet one day farmers will find replacements and you know what will follow. Force of the law and chiefs did not stop the uprooting of coffee in RV and Western. Like in all serious matters other than salaries and blackmail motions (impeachment comes to mind) Parliament is still lagging behind in crucial legislation to regulate if not completely tame middlemen. In principle nobody should buy such a vital National Security Product without licence. I understand we are a free capitalist nation but Grain is not just some kondoo.

The treasury should through legislation be denied the power to fix prices. An "independent" body  composed of farmers, consumers and GoK reps should arrive at the price based on market forces and grain futures. Let the total quantity produced play a role in the price determination. Again here we see a huge gap between reality and legislation.

Note that the tea innovations you describe are limited to a few areas. There is still no widespread intervention. Most of the factories are suffering from corruption where the system of representation and ownership has created greedy directors who abuse their positions in concert with KTDA appointed managers. The reforms in the tea industry stagnated once the movers stepped back. It was for a while very promising with certain leaders from RV taking the lead. But they seem to have decided that all was done and gone to sleep. I stand to be corrected.

Have you seen the manure that is thrown away by these factories?

Indeed..without innovation..the sector is forever stunted. Right now tea sector after 2 yrs of stress are really innovating..trying to get into green tea and purple tea...after realizing their traditional market of black tea (egypt, pakistani,sudan, afgan,england) are already oversupplied..and yet there lies huge market..in morocco, algeria, tunisia, iran,turkey, china and many countries who take green tea....so now what KTDA need to do..it to quickly add a green tea line.

Milk has been doing well..because of the same diversification..into UHT, milk atms, cheese, butter, ghee, youghurt and many other products.

Maize sector should long have diversified from depending on treasury announcing arbitary prices and brokers buying maize cheaply..into co-op that engage in milling and animal feeds. The same with sugar industry....they can go pretty much into everything..considering sugar is very important for so many products.

« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2015, 05:04:06 PM »
I completely disagree on maize and middle men. Middle men are business people taking advantage of lack of organisation by maize farmers.Maize farmers should have already formed co-opeartives, establish maize and animal milling plants; and produce other maize products. As of now..maize may not be strategic crop for long..I think it's consumption and production been dropping at 10% annually..while rice and wheat are increasing at the same rate annually. A few more years....and few folks will be eating that much ugali anymore.

Regarding tea...I pity folks who have to depend on KTDA monopoly..in our area..we have so many choices...from private and big plantation factories.

Maize and Sugar should be left to real free market competition..if it cannot compete like coffee..let it die slowly..coffee died and horticulture emerged from that void. Guys who use to do coffee in central and eastern kenya...are now into avacados, macadamies, banans,peas,vegetables, french beans and such products...that are exported and bring top dollars.

Maybe if Sugar and Maize collapsed in western kenya; Soya beans will emerge; Soya beans are earning top dollars for Brazil now.

About maize ... the middle men will one day kill the industry. It is surviving because Kenyans are slow to change. Yet one day farmers will find replacements and you know what will follow. Force of the law and chiefs did not stop the uprooting of coffee in RV and Western. Like in all serious matters other than salaries and blackmail motions (impeachment comes to mind) Parliament is still lagging behind in crucial legislation to regulate if not completely tame middlemen. In principle nobody should buy such a vital National Security Product without licence. I understand we are a free capitalist nation but Grain is not just some kondoo.

The treasury should through legislation be denied the power to fix prices. An "independent" body  composed of farmers, consumers and GoK reps should arrive at the price based on market forces and grain futures. Let the total quantity produced play a role in the price determination. Again here we see a huge gap between reality and legislation.

Note that the tea innovations you describe are limited to a few areas. There is still no widespread intervention. Most of the factories are suffering from corruption where the system of representation and ownership has created greedy directors who abuse their positions in concert with KTDA appointed managers. The reforms in the tea industry stagnated once the movers stepped back. It was for a while very promising with certain leaders from RV taking the lead. But they seem to have decided that all was done and gone to sleep. I stand to be corrected.

Have you seen the manure that is thrown away by these factories?

« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2015, 05:17:31 PM »
A few more years....and few folks will be eating that much ugali anymore.

Anyone producing maize can count on Luos until they or fish become extinct.   

« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2015, 05:34:10 PM »
Pundit

Ugali is unassailable as the number one chakula for the Kenyan. I don't see it replaced in my crystal ball. Suffer a shortage of maize and you may have a revolution on your hands. It is not a pleasant situation but Africa depends on Maize (East, Central and South Africa) and Rice (West and North). Can't change despite efforts.

About middle men: I am not against them being capitalist. Its just that trade in certain commodities need to be regulated. It may not restrict their buying but would gather crucial data and give the state the leverage to intervene in time. Right now anybody can buy all the maize and smuggle it to Ethiopia or Tanzania.

« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2015, 05:34:38 PM »
A few more years....and few folks will be eating that much ugali anymore.

Anyone producing maize can count on Luos until they of fish become extinct.   
:D

« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2015, 05:50:35 PM »
It probably only in west of kenya where ugali is king; elsewhere it going down; my own daughter doesn't like ugali. You'd be suprised how many folks are eating wheat products..like chapati..including
Luos. In Nairobi I see mjengo guys...taking bread or chapati for lunch. Ugali is going down.Personally I have Ugali every 3 days. As more kenyans urbanized..Ugali goes down.

Anyone producing maize can count on Luos until they or fish become extinct.   

« Reply #13 on: September 24, 2015, 05:53:50 PM »
I can google around..but the data I have seen..10% drop in maize consumption..and 10% increase in both wheat and rice. It will be some years before Ugali stop being Ugali..but more folks are talking rice and wheat. If it were not for import duty on both white and rice...more folks would dump ugali.
Pundit

Ugali is unassailable as the number one chakula for the Kenyan. I don't see it replaced in my crystal ball. Suffer a shortage of maize and you may have a revolution on your hands. It is not a pleasant situation but Africa depends on Maize (East, Central and South Africa) and Rice (West and North). Can't change despite efforts.

About middle men: I am not against them being capitalist. Its just that trade in certain commodities need to be regulated. It may not restrict their buying but would gather crucial data and give the state the leverage to intervene in time. Right now anybody can buy all the maize and smuggle it to Ethiopia or Tanzania.