Author Topic: Logging Bans Are Primitive  (Read 2379 times)

Logging Bans Are Primitive
« on: July 02, 2023, 10:50:51 PM »
I applaud the lifting of the logging ban. Modern states do not engage in that sort of thing.

Fund the KFS to plant more trees. Make it autonomous so that it can cut and sell mature trees. It has the potential of beating the Kikuyu Run Safaricom (before it is killed by you-know-who).

Forests are preserved not by assigning a policeman per tree - which is the stupid policy pursued by successive governments - but by robust measures to make it less attractive to the market. Such measures include:
-Lowering the prices of steel & other metals
- removing duty on imported timber (to screw up neighbors forests that are still assigned a guard each! The idiocy of it)
Encouraging the construction industry to use metals in place of timber.
Sensitize people to use the now cheaper & better steel for construction including replacing timber with steel bars

I note that the steel industry has been quite competitive. Cheaper energy might just tip the balance against timber.

Otherwise my people depend on firewood. So until you remove all taxes on cooking gas & make it easily available I'll continue to personally bribe the KFS & Police roadblocks to bring them firewood. So it's clear I bought my community a truck which has been busy smuggling firewood. I pay the gasoline and bribes.

Why?

Because I got disgusted with women being raped in the bus and snake bites! I decided to fuck the system good. I'll be in kenya in March to see how this civil disobedience can be extended to other nonsensical bans. Thank God today the logging ban is gone. There are still bans on transportation of cattle and charcoal. But for charcoal iko sawa. As long as logging is allowed we will encourage people to make own charcoal.

I sincerely hope one of them armchair activists can challenge my reasons. The Developing World will never play fair until they see we are playing really unfairly

Re: Logging Bans Are Primitive
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2023, 08:30:41 AM »
Totally agree.

« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2023, 09:54:30 AM »

« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2023, 10:11:10 AM »
Githunguri sometimes be respectful. Omollo has raised some very valid points na wewe unaleta mambo ya ceiling inspector hapa.

« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2023, 11:47:53 AM »
Logging has always been a way for life for mankind since time immemorial.

The banning of logging in 2018 was a result of the misuse of the rules that were in application then. Going by the records, even Ruto then DP is on recored defending the banning of logging. Today he calls the then Enviroment CS Keriako Tobiko, "ile CS mjinga".

The government gave the loggers the finger and the loggers took the whole arm with dire consequences for the enviroment in the affected areas. The corruption in KFS is the problem and not the logging. If loggers are allocated an area of let us say 10 hectares and end up logging 100 hectares, this has consequences for everyone.

« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2023, 12:10:28 PM »
Githunguri sometimes be respectful. Omollo has raised some very valid points na wewe unaleta mambo ya ceiling inspector hapa.

LISTEN TO WILLIAM RUTO  YEARS AGO

« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2023, 12:41:50 PM »
Githunguri's point is very simple. You can't start calling others mjinga when at one time you held the same opinion. @Mhindi you yourself made a post not long ago that by definition "facts" are facts and they are not immutable unless they were not facts in the first place. A member cannot be living under a rock and in hindsighf, emerge from it, and start posting long inshas. Why espouse those points now and not when DP & CS Tobiko & govt of the day held a contrary view? The KK government is distinguishing itself in making major policy changes without public participation and some armchair activists here are content being cheerleaders.

« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2023, 03:11:42 PM »

« Reply #8 on: July 03, 2023, 03:13:40 PM »
Friends.

I better be a drunkard and a bhang smoker.Watch those videos and be the judge.

« Reply #9 on: July 04, 2023, 02:53:52 PM »

LISTEN TO WILLIAM RUTO  YEARS AGO

I hear the ban was lifted???

« Reply #10 on: July 04, 2023, 02:55:33 PM »
Logging has always been a way for life for mankind since time immemorial.

The banning of logging in 2018 was a result of the misuse of the rules that were in application then. Going by the records, even Ruto then DP is on recored defending the banning of logging. Today he calls the then Enviroment CS Keriako Tobiko, "ile CS mjinga".

The government gave the loggers the finger and the loggers took the whole arm with dire consequences for the enviroment in the affected areas. The corruption in KFS is the problem and not the logging. If loggers are allocated an area of let us say 10 hectares and end up logging 100 hectares, this has consequences for everyone.

Called CS mjinga??
What an unethical thing to do.