Author Topic: Mobile-cash-transfer-surpasses-Sh2-trillion-mark  (Read 4338 times)

Mobile-cash-transfer-surpasses-Sh2-trillion-mark
« on: January 13, 2015, 12:02:11 PM »
2.1 trillion kshs in 11 months and 7B daily is wired through mpesa.

The incredible story of MPESA continues

http://www.nation.co.ke/business/Mobile-cash-transfer-surpasses-Sh2-trillion-mark/-/996/2587394/-/723kbb/-/index.html

Offline Mr Mansfield.

Re: Mobile-cash-transfer-surpasses-Sh2-trillion-mark
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2015, 12:46:36 PM »
I don't think this is news anymore...move on,

Without Prejudice.

« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2015, 02:31:28 PM »
I guess the Nation should hire you as the news editor..so we can know when to move on.
I don't think this is news anymore...move on,

Without Prejudice.

« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2015, 04:10:37 PM »
How comes MPesa is a non-starter anywhere outside our borders?
Kenian Negroe are exotic

« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2015, 04:48:44 PM »
How comes MPesa is a non-starter anywhere outside our borders?
Kenian Negroe are exotic

Akin Oyebode seems to know something o.  I believe it has picked up well in Afghanistan too.
National IdentificationSecurity
The only platform that allows for end-to-end encryption is the SIM. This is the biggest shout to allow for MNO-led service providers, because since the SIM is controlled by the MNO, it means only the MNO-led solution offers full security.

To work around this, the bank-led solutions have set transaction limits to minimize fraud, but the bigger question has not been asked. Will telcos give up full control of the SIM in exchange for more participation in mobile money? On the back of this, providers must be ready to offer money back guarantees to early adopters.

In markets where mobile money has worked, it was the early adoption by urban dwellers and salary earners that drove usage. If the offering is going to work as a domestic remittance channel, the initiator of the remittance must trust the solution, otherwise money will continue to move via recharge cards and bus terminals.

Costs
I believe transaction costs in Nigeria are too high, and the system can do with a lot more free loading. One of the attractions of mobile money is the availability of cheaper cash in/cash out options. For example, it will cost me N5 to send N1,500 recharge card to my relative in Ikole-Ekiti by SMS and N25 to the same via mobile money, so no prizes for guessing what option I will go for.

The hockey stick for investment in mobile money will be steeper than normal, and investors must be ready to drop average revenues in exchange for scale. Until costs drop by at least 50%, small ticket transactions will continue to happen using airtime.

GovernmentRegulationAgent Network
http://vc4africa.biz/blog/2014/01/15/m-pesa-and-beyond-why-mobile-money-worked-in-kenya-and-struggles-in-other-markets/

« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2015, 05:42:38 PM »
There are a few lies in the article. Safaricom was not a monopoly when it started Mpesa. I have no information about any obstacles placed in the way of Safaricom's competitors when they too launched mobile money transfers.

I know banks in Kenya tried to strangle Mpesa at birth but failed. They have greater success in India and Nigeria.

« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2015, 07:51:16 PM »
Excellent article terminator. Esp the insight into 2007. That was when most people found out about Mpesa.

« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2015, 09:16:27 AM »
what is the effect of M-Pesa transactions on money supply, inflation

what does transferring 7 billion daily indicate on economy- formal, informal, dependency...