I think watchmen definitely Kalenjin/kispigis have taken over the sector.
There are few boda bodas - my cousin started a watchman then he got given a bike to transport letters - and dabbled in boda boda partime
Eventually became fulltime
That was many years ago.
Majority Kalenjin still prefer to work from home
Even those that come to Nairobi - rarely bring their family to Nairobi.
Maybe when wife is "new" but after one or two kids they sent them home.
If Ruto fix agriculture - making it profitable - and rural economy thrives - Kalenjin will be happy to stay at home forever - and drink milk.
I think Ruto will prioritize agricluture - coffee growing in western highlands of kalenjin can do well - dairy - avacados and horticutlure.
That should absorb many kalenjin youths - providing incomes to support a decent life in rural kenya.
Those with degrees and diplomas can come to Nairobi - and find white collar jobs.
It's not nice to come and dominate the slums of Nairobi - living like sewers rats - when you can live a decent life in rural kenya.
Never seen Kalenjin boda boda in Nairobi bit now with Kalenjin elite on decadence after Moi Era I assume we will See more kalenjin in informal jobs like house helps, commercial street work and bodaboda on top of watchmen that have replaced Luhya.