Author Topic: If dictatorship bleeds wars and inhumanity  (Read 2529 times)

Re: If dictatorship bleeds wars and inhumanity
« Reply #20 on: March 01, 2022, 05:08:54 PM »
I never contradicted the support of the Chinese to their government. Mind you China's internet is one of the most censored in the world. So trying to compare the free internet in Kenya with China's is even a joke. Access to knowledge is what makes one make a choice.
The Chinese have no choice to make and no access to any other opinion apart from what their government has to tell them. That is a fact you cannot deny.
Kadudu, here's an interesting Washington post article from someone y'all hopefully won't accuse of being a Chinese agent :D It's not blind to the CCP's faults, neither does it toe the unidimensional 'China-bad' dogma so many of you have adopted: https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/2019/12/04/michael-bloomberg-said-china-isnt-dictatorship-is-he-right/

My only request is that you entertain the notion that you may not be right in everything you believe about "the other" whoever they are. Every story is two-or-more-sided. :) Maybe . . . Just maybe, the Chinese approve of their govt, because unlike many, they actually do monitor and then respond to what their citizens want. Which is why the N. Korea comparison doesn't work for me.

« Reply #21 on: March 01, 2022, 05:21:23 PM »
Dear Mami, how did China CCP media cover Peng Shuai scandal to begin with?

« Reply #22 on: March 01, 2022, 05:28:26 PM »
The West likes throwing around words like dictator and democracy when it suits them. Even Trump was labelled a dictator but when Bush ignores UNSC resolutions he is a hero.

Putin is elected. If it was about 'dictatorship', Xi who is US greatest creditor and trading partner is the closest we may come to a definition. 

Trump functioned as an elected dictator during his time in office.  Granted he was often thwarted by the courts.  But his party's congressional caucus ensured that he was simply not accountable for his actions in office.  For the first two years, GOP Congressional majority simply didn't care what he did.  The last 2 years, he implement a blanket defiance of all Congressional oversight by the Democratic majority in the House.

Putin is indeed elected, even if his methods of getting elected are authoritarian.  It's 2022 and dictators have to keep up with the times.

« Reply #23 on: March 01, 2022, 05:34:39 PM »
Dear Mami, how did China CCP media cover Peng Shuai scandal to begin with?
Lol, how should I know? :D

I'm not here pretending China is a Western democracy. I'm saying their system works for them and I don't think a Western-style democracy would. I'm also not advocating for the West to adopt the Chinese model. :D I'm rubbishing this thread's idea about attempting to force everyone into becoming a Western clone. It won't happen and I don't believe it's a good thing to even assume and attempt to implement.

« Reply #24 on: March 01, 2022, 05:43:47 PM »
How do you know system work for them and why use Harvard study not Peking university?

« Reply #25 on: March 01, 2022, 05:47:57 PM »
Nobody is forcing another to take up his model. China has its system and if it works for them, sawa. We cannot take up that system as we are not like the Chinese. Our democracy is not stable iether, but we can work on it and maybe in 50 years we will have a true democratic state.

I do not think we have another choice apart from democracy. We have tried dictatorship aka Jomo and Arap Moi and it did not work for the country.

Lol, how should I know? :D

I'm not here pretending China is a Western democracy. I'm saying their system works for them and I don't think a Western-style democracy would. I'm also not advocating for the West to adopt the Chinese model. :D I'm rubbishing this thread's idea about attempting to force everyone into becoming a Western clone. It won't happen and I don't believe it's a good thing to even assume and attempt to implement.

« Reply #26 on: March 01, 2022, 05:55:48 PM »
How do you know system work for them and why use Harvard study not Peking university?
I'm pretty sure you'll all claim any Chinese source, including their universities, to be China's agents. :D I mean, you've done that to Harvard, sembuse Peking?
Nobody is forcing another to take up his model. China has its system and if it works for them, sawa. We cannot take up that system as we are not like the Chinese. Our democracy is not stable iether, but we can work on it and maybe in 50 years we will have a true democratic state.

I do not think we have another choice apart from democracy. We have tried dictatorship aka Jomo and Arap Moi and it did not work for the country.
But I've never advocated for Chinese authoritarian-style rule in Kenya, Kadudu! :D Only their meritocracy. I've also advocated for us to find a more African consensus-based system over Western-style competitive democracy. That would not be the Chinese system. It'd be a many-thronged democracy that relies on things like super-majorities and public participation on service delivery.

Hii Western 50% + 1 is NOT good for countries like ours: splits the country in the middle. Lets first become one nation. Otherwise . . . hii kitu itakuja leta vita siku moja.