Great insight but I think it's a bit of a stretch to imagine Ndii life is about his inlaws or wife.
I have met Ndii once - my former british boss/partner and him were classmate at Oxford university - Africa economics.
Under the tutelage of the great Prof Paul Colier.
My boss was brilliant and he spoke highly of Ndii.
This was in 2006 or about - so it's old story.
Ndii is brilliant no doubt - but he is not visionary - he strikes me as pessimist
Someone who is risk averse - someone who sees negatives instead of positives.
He is also emotionally unhinged - and so Ruto has to get him specific intellectual assignments - and leave him out of operations.
I think his best position is to head economic planning as PS or CS.
He can be in charge of KNBS, KIPRRA, economic councils and all these think tanks.
Then operational matters are left for Ichungwa, Gachaguas, Nyoros and Ruto - people who can translate plans into actions.
Ndii is busy campaigning got his wife in kiambu using independent party. Ndii has been bamboozled by gatabakis radicalism. During the fight for independence gatabaki dad was a mau mau supporter. He was a wealthy man and very vocal in support for independence. A young BRITISH DO was posted in githunguri. This DO was very liberal for a colonial administrator. So he used to host barazas that he would convert to debates between him and local mau mau leaders. One time he asked senior gatabaki "Sasa wewe gatabaki kila siku wewe unalia ATI unataka mzungu arudishe Shambala. Ile Shamba uko Nayo wewe apana lima imenjaa "ruthiru" those ferns that grow in highlands. Everyone at the baraza laughed. It is this kind of radicalism that ndii has been fed by gatabakis. We had Njehu gatabaki as mp, he was a radical without cause. Always starting vurugu for no reason. The only fan gatabaki is the one that is a mathematics lecturer..he loves his beer and women. I used to see him here always hustling women in Bmore..bottom up in ushenzi it a radical rhetoricxthat is not practical. Ndii village is the poorest in lari. All his 40 years since he graduated he could started his agricultu productivity nonsense he advocates there. He is from kijabe just above view point on his way to soko mjinga..the dumbest thing i saw him advocating the other day is for people to grow blue gum trees for timber..guy is out of touch a theorist