Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: RV Pundit on March 21, 2021, 01:03:22 PM

Title: I think I have covid-19
Post by: RV Pundit on March 21, 2021, 01:03:22 PM
Flu like symptoms for more than a week that don't seem to improve. It's like mild form of Malaria that doesn't get worse or better.
Title: Re: I think I have covid-19
Post by: Kadudu on March 21, 2021, 01:15:02 PM
Pole Pundit. Chances are high that you have it. I was in Kenya recently and I was really scared of how people are taking the whole issue. Nairobi is even better than the countryside. There life is as if covid-19 does not exist. Crowds everywhere and not even one person with a mask.
Let as hope the vaccines are distributed around the country and people take it a bit serious. I now know personally a couple of people who have lost their lives. None above the age of 65.
Wish you a quick recovery.

Flu like symptoms for more than a week that don't seem to improve. It's like mild form of Malaria that doesn't get worse or better.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 21, 2021, 01:45:22 PM
I was also very cavalier..anyway now taking home based concotion..my fear is the chest...damn i hope its not covid
Post by: audacityofhope on March 21, 2021, 02:35:43 PM
concoctions will not work, they did not work for magufuli. The concoction you take via the mouth do not reach the nasal cavity. The virus hides behind the paranasal sinus before reaching the lungs. So inhaling steam is what got me through my two weeks+ flu like symptoms. That is what you must do to disable the virus before it buries itself in the lungs. Inhale steam and this flu medicine called Karvol which is also inhaled.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 21, 2021, 03:35:25 PM
Just any steam...sijui hiyo karvol iko kwinya
Post by: audacityofhope on March 21, 2021, 04:04:58 PM
Just any steam...sijui hiyo karvol iko kwinya
Steam is fine 'any' steam. Heck I was even inhaling my 'strungi'. Here is something that has been trending on WhatsApp and I believe it is on point:

PLEASE SEND THIS MSG TWICE TO ANY GROUP. ONCE TODAY AND ONCE TOMORROW.

*Important Message for all*

The hot water you 
     drink is good for your throat.

But this corona   
      virus is hidden behind the
      paranasal sinus of your nose for 3 to 4 days.

The hot water we
      drink does not reach there.

After 4 to 5 days 
    this virus that   
    was hidden behind the 
   paranasal sinus reaches your lungs.

Then you have trouble breathing.

That's why it is very important to take steam,

which reaches the 
    back of your paranasal sinus.

You have to kill this 
   virus in the nose with steam.

At 50°C, this virus becomes disabled i.e. paralyzed.

At 60°C this virus 
    becomes so weak that any
     human immunity 
     system can fight against it.

At 70°C this virus dies completely.

This is what steam does.

The entire public   
    health department knows this.

But everyone wants to take   
    advantage of this pandemic.

So they don't share this information openly.

One who stays at home should take steam once a day.

If you go to the market to buy   
    vegetables,
 take it twice a day.

Anyone who meets 
     some people or goes to office
    should take steam 3 times a day.                     

*Steam week*

According to doctors,
Covid -19 can be killed by
    inhaling steam from the nose and mouth,
   eliminating the Coronavirus. 

If all the people 
   started a steam drive campaign for a week,

the pandemic will soon end.

So here is a suggestion:

* Start the process for a week from
morning and evening, for
  just 5 minutes 
    each time,
to inhale steam. 

If we all adopt this practice for a week  the deadly

Covid-19 will be erased.

This practice has no side effects either.

So please send this message to all your relatives,
    friends and neighbours,
     so that we all can kill this
     corona virus together and live and walk freely
    in this beautiful world.

*Thank you*
Post by: RV Pundit on March 21, 2021, 06:21:08 PM
Waiting for chest test after giving out blood samples..pneumonia
Post by: RV Pundit on March 21, 2021, 06:52:28 PM
Mammogram okay but pneumonia present given antibiotics
Post by: KenyanPlato on March 21, 2021, 07:28:51 PM

Get well soon. I think Kenyans got careless after the initial waves were not as deadly as they were thought to be. I still think there some covid deaths in the rural areas of the over 60 years that are going unreported.

Stay safe out there but I am not sure how you can do that if everyone else is not observing the covid protocols.

Hopefully, you just had seasonal flu
Post by: Njuri Ncheke on March 21, 2021, 07:32:23 PM
Waiting for chest test after giving out blood samples..pneumonia
You should have been tested for covid myself have been tested twice in the last 1 month after interacting with infected people but I thank God am okay.
Post by: Pragmatic on March 21, 2021, 08:23:35 PM

Sir, take a Covid test.

As you are very well aware there is widespread reporting that some tests mistakenly reported as pneumonia when in actual sense it is Covid. And this is probably what happened to your deputy governor Susan (May my good friend Rest in Eternal Peace) initially reported as pneumonia and took things lightly, by the time she was being discovered to be Covid+, the lungs were severely damaged to make a recovery. Once you cross a certain stage, you are a goner!

Wishing you all the best & quick recovery!
Post by: RV Pundit on March 21, 2021, 08:35:34 PM
Yeah I think first thing tomorrow I go for it..took antibiotics and now I am sweating like a pig
Post by: Fairandbalanced on March 21, 2021, 08:47:06 PM
Texas Roadhouse founder Kent Taylor dies by suicide aged 65...I ate in his restaurant yesterday, Covid is no Joke. Pundit, get tested but either way , if you are relatively young and healthy, you should be fine. The guy killed himself after experiencing severe post Covid side effects.
Post by: RV Kirgit on March 22, 2021, 01:27:37 AM
concoctions will not work, they did not work for magufuli. The concoction you take via the mouth do not reach the nasal cavity. The virus hides behind the paranasal sinus before reaching the lungs. So inhaling steam is what got me through my two weeks+ flu like symptoms. That is what you must do to disable the virus before it buries itself in the lungs. Inhale steam and this flu medicine called Karvol which is also inhaled.

What's your source?

Magufuli (RIP) advocated steaming one year ago

Post by: Wa Njambi on March 22, 2021, 06:23:20 AM
Have you taken the COVID-19 Test??????? 1st things 1st Bro!
Post by: RV Pundit on March 22, 2021, 02:20:14 PM
So went to kenyatta university they are overwhelmed..not even taking test bookings anymore.Now might have to go Nairobi hospital..
Post by: Georgesoros on March 22, 2021, 03:46:34 PM
If you are running around driving to places, sharing cars, aren't you spreading it?
Since youve had it for seven days, chances are it will do no further harm. You can take antivirals or antibiotics and anti-inflammatories for pain
STAY HOME drink lotsa lemon juice
Post by: RV Pundit on March 22, 2021, 03:53:40 PM
Well I drive my car - or should I call an ambulance - the nearest covid test to me was Kenyatta university new hospital - drove there - but it overbooked.
I think antibiotics are working - at least they are making me sweat it out.
Anyway It probably not covid- seasonal flu  is on.
If you are running around driving to places, sharing cars, aren't you spreading it?
Since youve had it for seven days, chances are it will do no further harm. You can take antivirals or antibiotics and anti-inflammatories for pain
STAY HOME drink lotsa lemon juice
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on March 22, 2021, 05:16:42 PM
Alas symptoms tend to be symptoms shared by many other things.  Yes, even during covid, something else can cause these symptoms.  I would probably start with a test and go from there.
Post by: Kadudu on March 22, 2021, 05:19:54 PM
That is the right way of doing it before spreading it all around. Not all who catch it from you will be able to cope with it the same way as you.

Alas symptoms tend to be symptoms shared by many other things.  Yes, even during covid, something else can cause these symptoms.  I would probably start with a test and go from there.
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on March 22, 2021, 05:28:02 PM
That is the right way of doing it before spreading it all around. Not all who catch it from you will be able to cope with it the same way as you.

That's right.  Also you ultimately do not want to overwhelm the healthcare system and minimizing panic is important in that case.
Post by: GeeMail on March 22, 2021, 10:02:55 PM
https://nation.africa/kenya/news/media-personality-lorna-irungu-dies--3331674

I have a feeling Covid is the new scapegoat, excuse, fall guy etc for every untimely death.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 23, 2021, 09:59:36 AM
My fever now graduated to the shaking one
Post by: Kadudu on March 23, 2021, 12:59:04 PM
Pole sana.
Kindly stay at home before spreading it around. These are typical symptoms of covid infection. Drink a lot of herbal tea and take some medicine against flu.

Post by: Georgesoros on March 23, 2021, 02:59:17 PM

Just remember that it can spike one minute and then stabilize the next, That is the nature of the virus. overall it should trend downwards. I have read of a few who have had symptoms for a year.  Thye are in a brain fog.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 24, 2021, 03:33:40 PM
Antigen test came negative but still feeling terrible..oxygen levels 93
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on March 24, 2021, 06:01:41 PM
Coincidentally, I got this today from a relative in Kenya. See attachment.
Post by: mankind on March 24, 2021, 07:02:36 PM

Rv be careful especially with those tests in Kenya.  I got tested last Monday for my flight back to Boston for Thursday and got a negative result only to test positive when I arrived here on Friday.  So far am managing it but the headache is killing me.  Get an oximeter and check your oxygen concentration often.  Anything below 92% check yourself into the emergency room.  Wish you well sir.
Post by: KenyanPlato on March 24, 2021, 07:18:07 PM

Rv be careful especially with those tests in Kenya.  I got tested last Monday for my flight back to Boston for Thursday and got a negative result only to test positive when I arrived here on Friday.  So far am managing it but the headache is killing me.  Get an oximeter and check your oxygen concentration often.  Anything below 92% check yourself into the emergency room.  Wish you well sir.

How reliable are these tests? I know in the beginnimg it was 60%. Get well Mankind. I am glad I held back on my trip to Ke. I just do not want to risk it.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 24, 2021, 07:20:26 PM
Yes didn't trust their test at all, my oxygen level no good, wife was 97; and I was 93/94; anyway got injected antibiotics; feeling much better; Friday I hope to get properly tested. Fever and headache; the food tasting like nothing; loss of apetite; now am also dehydrated from sweating;
Post by: Georgesoros on March 24, 2021, 09:37:04 PM

I think you got it in between the tests. I've seen that many times.
Post by: RV Kirgit on March 24, 2021, 09:56:41 PM
covid PCR test seem not standardized. Countries and jurisdictions seem to be operating at different thureshold pcr cycle count...
Post by: RV Pundit on March 25, 2021, 06:05:05 PM
Okay no improvement. Oxygen 94.I have no appetite. This thing now serious
Post by: mankind on March 25, 2021, 08:12:47 PM
 Pundit you need to get a chest x-ray to make sure your lungs are ok. I had to go to the emergency room because of the headaches but my oxygen levels and temperature are normal.  I  was put on a strong painkiller for 5 days.  I  feel better today and even took a walk.  You might have to be on a breathing treatment of some sort. Don't take a chance on this thing sir.
Post by: veritas on March 25, 2021, 09:55:35 PM
Oh my God, pole sana my dearest RVP  :o

From what you've said it doesn't sound like Covid but pneumonia caused by cold. Pneumonia for the common cold comes gradually and takes weeks to months to recover. I recommend Tamiflu.

If it was Covid at the pneumonia stage and rarely does it get to this stage unlike the common cold, you would be in hospital on ventilators because it deteriorates rapidly however you don't fit the profile of Covid at pneumonia stage, tends to be very elderley and those with preexisting conditions.

Anyway, please eat lots, my prayers are with you even though I'm certain you're ok, please take care. x
Post by: patel on March 26, 2021, 01:09:51 AM
Thats Covid based on description. Loss of taste and smell...thats Covid. Been there. Had to check myself in Sinai medical, LA. Check yourself in ASAP before major damage to internal organs.

From what you've said it doesn't sound like Covid but pneumonia caused by cold. Pneumonia for the common cold comes gradually and takes weeks to months to recover. I recommend Tamiflu.

If it was Covid at the pneumonia stage and rarely does it get to this stage unlike the common cold, you would be in hospital on ventilators because it deteriorates rapidly however you don't fit the profile of Covid at pneumonia stage, tends to be very elderley and those with preexisting conditions.

Anyway, please eat lots, my prayers are with you even though I'm certain you're ok, please take care. x

Post by: RV Pundit on March 26, 2021, 10:00:38 AM
Okay going to Nairobi hospital..bloody international insurance are pain
Post by: RV Pundit on March 26, 2021, 10:01:48 AM

thank but how do I eat without appetite
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on March 26, 2021, 11:33:26 AM

thank but how do I eat without appetite

Do smoothies and supplements.  Not eating is counterproductive.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 26, 2021, 01:19:42 PM
Now at hospital.my oxygen at 89 and high blood pressure. Look bad
Post by: KenyanPlato on March 26, 2021, 03:43:25 PM
Quick recovery Pundit.
Post by: Georgesoros on March 26, 2021, 03:50:19 PM
WHat?
Thats kinda low. Your lungs are struggling due to inflammation. I dont know protocol, but Prednisone will help tone down the inflammation. Should be ADMINISTERED ASAP.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 26, 2021, 04:26:36 PM
They put me on oxygen n felt alive again...now running all blood n chest tests..I shed real tears when I saw my oxygen that bad..
Post by: GeeMail on March 26, 2021, 04:45:39 PM
Get well soon, Pundit. Are you able to describe your surroundings? They say all ICUs are full.
Post by: KenyanPlato on March 26, 2021, 05:02:59 PM
They put me on oxygen n felt alive again...now running all blood n chest tests..I shed real tears when I saw my oxygen that bad..

Did they rule out covid?
Post by: Nowayhaha on March 26, 2021, 05:06:03 PM
Quick Recovery Pundit, ensure you take alot of fluids.
Post by: Georgesoros on March 26, 2021, 05:38:23 PM
[/qunle

Yes Oxygen is good but you need to take care of the inflammation. You have what we call an inflammation storm and your lungs are barely functioning at capacity. Slowing the storm will give lungs a chance to heal
Post by: RV Pundit on March 26, 2021, 05:46:07 PM
Taken blood test..now waiting for chest...having international insurance in Kenya is scam..I  have to write emails n calls..and all I get is everything is sorted..only to be told we have never heard of such insurance ..the long explanation of my insurance, the third parties and the works
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on March 26, 2021, 07:01:59 PM

Hang in there!
Post by: KenyanPlato on March 26, 2021, 07:14:35 PM
Taken blood test..now waiting for chest...having international insurance in Kenya is scam..I  have to write emails n calls..and all I get is everything is sorted..only to be told we have never heard of such insurance ..the long explanation of my insurance, the third parties and the works

Insurance is a headache. Hopefully this will be sorted out soon for you. You can ask your insurance if you can pay out of pocket and be reimbursed by them for it. That is if the hospital wont take your insurance plan. I think most insurance companies do offer this if you are travelling internationally.
Post by: veritas on March 26, 2021, 08:09:39 PM
RVP, I know it must be terrifying but it's gonna be ok.

Ask for tamiflu - it does wonders for pneumonia.

Try breathing slow long breaths which should improve oxygen levels. It's normal to dip below 90 with pneumonia.

Just don't google about Covid & oxygen levels below 90 because that's actually rubbish.

Ensure there's a humidifer in the room or just breathe in some steam once an hour to help with breathing.

Most of all you just need to relax and let your lungs recover. Don't think about the pneumonia, long deep breathes, eat even if you're not hungry- brasil nuts in partcular. Anything with selenium can help repair damaged tissue quicker.

Relax, sleep, eat, think of this as a forced holiday.
Post by: RV Kirgit on March 26, 2021, 10:19:15 PM
Get well soon RVP
Post by: RV Pundit on March 26, 2021, 10:34:46 PM
Still at triage area..look like delaying area..my neighbour with diabetes was here yesterday n today again..it appears to be full.Will try to transfer to un COVID facility at nbo if positive results but praying its pneumonia only.this nightmare
Post by: RV Pundit on March 26, 2021, 10:35:42 PM
RVP, I know it must be terrifying but it's gonna be ok.

Ask for tamiflu - it does wonders for pneumonia.

Try breathing slow long breaths which should improve oxygen levels. It's normal to dip below 90 with pneumonia.

Just don't google about Covid & oxygen levels below 90 because that's actually rubbish.

Ensure there's a humidifer in the room or just breathe in some steam once an hour to help with breathing.

Most of all you just need to relax and let your lungs recover. Don't think about the pneumonia, long deep breathes, eat even if you're not hungry- brasil nuts in partcular. Anything with selenium can help repair damaged tissue quicker.

Relax, sleep, eat, think of this as a forced holiday.

thank veri
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on March 27, 2021, 12:35:24 AM
We are keeping you in our thoughts and prayers.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 27, 2021, 09:23:09 AM
Finally got bed early morning and got drugged..feeling better already...slightly high blood pressure..don't know where that is from
Post by: Njuri Ncheke on March 27, 2021, 09:46:56 AM
Finally got bed early morning and got drugged..feeling better already...slightly high blood pressure..don't know where that is from
Be sleeping on your stomach and always say this x5 a day"Covid wewe ni kahii,I will defeat and conquer you.God is the Greatest!"
Post by: RV Pundit on March 27, 2021, 10:37:32 AM
Pressure gone..now feeling indeed normal..the headache was killing me..now if I slowly get my appetite..I can beat this.They will take pcr test today
Post by: RV Pundit on March 27, 2021, 10:56:03 AM
Be sleeping on your stomach and always say this x5 a day"Covid wewe ni kahii,I will defeat and conquer you.God is the Greatest!"
shida I became non religious like 30yrs ago
Post by: Njuri Ncheke on March 27, 2021, 12:54:42 PM
shida I became non religious like 30yrs ago
Kwani how old are you bana.ancestor?
Post by: RV Pundit on March 27, 2021, 03:08:58 PM
Exactly 40 n by std 6 I knew god didn't exist and by std8 I told anyone as much...entire high school and campus I was an atheist . I found bible stories really child like folklore of stone age era
Post by: Kadudu on March 27, 2021, 09:08:58 PM
Kumbe wewe bado kijana. Your politics is like that of a 70 year old. :D :D :D

Exactly 40 n by std 6 I knew god didn't exist and by std8 I told anyone as much...entire high school and campus I was an atheist . I found bible stories really child like folklore of stone age era
Post by: RV Pundit on March 27, 2021, 10:32:07 PM
Due space constraint moved now to general ward despite the COVID tests not being out...no problem..they save my life already so someone else turn
Post by: Nowayhaha on March 28, 2021, 06:04:47 AM
Rv if you dont believe in Faith programme u r mind to belive in hope.
You will be okei
Post by: RV Pundit on March 28, 2021, 06:43:50 AM
Ward men..snoring and coughing..many seem 50yrs plus with diabetic issues..otherwise I am back to tasting and smelling things and crucially eating again.Sleeping still hard.still got be on oxygen.HBP gone..not sure where it had come from.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 28, 2021, 06:48:48 AM
You will be okei
I am natural optimistic n hopefully...I always look at positive sides until there is no more..I quickly accept that new reality..and deal with it.Yes when things had gone little scary my prayers were to have time to fix a will like my father and hope life insurance cover my kids education when I am not around
Post by: RV Pundit on March 28, 2021, 03:47:18 PM
Hospital day 3..feeling recovered..covid results not yet out.Oxygen intake reduce to 10 something...so should be out soon
Post by: KenyanPlato on March 28, 2021, 06:10:12 PM
Hospital day 3..feeling recovered..covid results not yet out.Oxygen intake reduce to 10 something...so should be out soon

Great. Why are the results taking that long?
Post by: Nowayhaha on March 28, 2021, 06:29:34 PM
Good , you note you use the word prayers -
You need to mend your relationship with God .

You will be okei
I am natural optimistic n hopefully...I always look at positive sides until there is no more..I quickly accept that new reality..and deal with it.Yes when things had gone little scary my prayers were to have time to fix a will like my father and hope life insurance cover my kids education when I am not around
Post by: Pragmatic on March 28, 2021, 09:01:11 PM

Did they by any chance already inform you that you are positive to Covid and your foggy mind can’t seem to remember 😂? Normally those results (PCR test) should be out within 6hrs maximum.

Pundito, the international insurance covers Bupa, Aetna and the like would normally insist on you first getting approval before they confirm admission or even treatment; how they expect you to honestly survive this stage if you are in a critical life threatening situation is beyond comprehension? And yet once you flash your card they should automatically authenticate you and admit. Good that you were not in this state by the time you were receiving treatment. The attitude is to be well prepared to cover the bills until that approval comes through.....

No, need to be “praying” (very strange for a purported, self-confessed atheist😂) to the Almighty to allow you time to put your things in order!! Make peace and reconcile with the greater being, at least we have no argument on that.

Get well mureny...
Post by: RV Pundit on March 28, 2021, 09:36:53 PM
Test results depends on traffic jam huko...must be crazy...coz Monday I went to Kenya university new thing..they had stopped booking test..I live nearby in Tatu mavoko. Now my insurance uses third parties Henner Intl and Global Excel for emergency.Henner has some agent Ronoh who fixes things..Global excel in Kenya has Nairobi hospital with some unresponsive staff..I have been on Aetna..never got sick so not tested..and another us one that I had co pay 6k dollars before they start...never exhausted my primary care for 3yrs so dump it.Kenya I think I just need get Kenya insurance again..but I pay like 500 a month plus employee 1000 that nearly 15k usd per annum..plus I pay 100 dollars for like primary insurance abroad..in Kenya.then wife has nhif..mine long expired..korona kept me here longer
Post by: Pragmatic on March 28, 2021, 10:31:14 PM
Test results depends on traffic jam huko...must be crazy...coz Monday I went to Kenya university new thing..they had stopped booking test..I live nearby in Tatu mavoko. Now my insurance uses third parties Henner Intl and Global Excel for emergency.Henner has some agent Ronoh who fixes things..Global excel in Kenya has Nairobi hospital with some unresponsive staff..I have been on Aetna..never got sick so not tested..and another us one that I had co pay 6k dollars before they start...never exhausted my primary care for 3yrs so dump it.Kenya I think I just need get Kenya insurance again..but I pay like 500 a month plus employee 1000 that nearly 15k usd per annum..plus I pay 100 dollars for like primary insurance abroad..in Kenya.then wife has nhif..mine long expired..korona kept me here longer

$15k pa is a bit on the higher side, unless it is household cover including your entire brood. Am on Aetna worldwide inclusive USA cover at $6k pa and no need for Pre-authorisation to access service. Has been working like a breeze for me. I took this cover out through a Singapore service provider.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 28, 2021, 10:58:41 PM
Yes family 5.3 kids.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 30, 2021, 04:51:37 AM
COVID results came positive so in isolation ward treated like pariah with nurses on full ppe kit.My laptop not allowed.
Post by: KenyanPlato on March 30, 2021, 05:24:36 AM
COVID results came positive so in isolation ward treated like pariah with nurses on full ppe kit.My laptop not allowed.

So all those days you were in a general ward while positive. That is crazy. Did they have you isolated before the results?
Post by: Nowayhaha on March 30, 2021, 07:07:00 AM
Its how many days since the test ? By day 5 you should test again .Possibility you will be negative.

Post by: Njuri Ncheke on March 30, 2021, 07:33:27 AM
Thats the problem of covid testing in Kenya. I was tested by lancet and after 4 days no feedback I had to literally call them severaly to give me the results. It appears they had mixed up my results and sent to a different email. Thats how chaotic Covid testing is in Kenya. Imagine if I was positive? But its really responsible once you are tested to isolate till results come out.
Post by: Kadudu on March 30, 2021, 09:26:32 AM
Lancet bure sana. Just a name, but service is loosy.
Try MediTest at Upper Hill next to Nairobi Hospital. Very good and professional personel. No queues and you receive the results within 24 hours.

Thats the problem of covid testing in Kenya. I was tested by lancet and after 4 days no feedback I had to literally call them severaly to give me the results. It appears they had mixed up my results and sent to a different email. Thats how chaotic Covid testing is in Kenya. Imagine if I was positive? But its really responsible once you are tested to isolate till results come out.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 30, 2021, 10:20:18 AM
There is holding area as you wait for test results..2 days wait..negative go general..positive to isolation ward...critical folks I guess icu
Post by: RV Pundit on March 30, 2021, 10:24:11 AM
Its how many days since the test ? By day 5 you should test again .Possibility you will be negative.

they tested on Saturday or Sunday now confused
Post by: gout on March 31, 2021, 03:46:59 PM
Sorry Pundit! This virus is having a crazy learning and mutation curve.

As broke beggars with autopilot leadership bent on stealing and protecting the loot, we can only hope that once mzungu fully immunises will treat us with kid gloves and extend charity to enable mass vaccination in next 15 months.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 31, 2021, 03:50:08 PM
I will be discharged tomorrow so looking forward. Take care folks
Post by: audacityofhope on March 31, 2021, 05:33:37 PM
Sorry Pundit! This virus is having a crazy learning and mutation curve.

As broke beggars with autopilot leadership bent on stealing and protecting the loot, we can only hope that once mzungu fully immunises will treat us with kid gloves and extend charity to enable mass vaccination in next 15 months.

Basically asking where is 207B?
Post by: Kadudu on March 31, 2021, 05:41:30 PM
Kilig Ltd has to be paid.

Basically asking where is 207B?
Post by: audacityofhope on March 31, 2021, 08:27:05 PM
Post by: RV Pundit on March 31, 2021, 08:35:48 PM
Yes next 3 or 4 years will be economic recovery..painful
Post by: RV Kirgit on April 01, 2021, 12:59:59 AM
Some oligarchs have hoarded money over the last decade and at same time indebted Kenyans massively...

This makes it highly likely that government assets like ports, kq, kplc, safcom will be sold as recovery measure

The oligarchs then use their financial position to acquire more gov assets Russia style
Post by: RV Pundit on April 01, 2021, 05:10:56 AM
Some oligarchs have hoarded money over the last decade and at same time indebted Kenyans massively...

This makes it highly likely that government assets like ports, kq, kplc, safcom will be sold as recovery measure

The oligarchs then use their financial position to acquire more gov assets Russia style
yes very likely gov has to sell its stakes and assets to finance the budget coz leveraging has hit the limits
Post by: RV Pundit on April 01, 2021, 03:18:16 PM
Discharged.Man being treated like a leper.Not easy.But glad I am feeling okay except for wierd mid head pressure..hope too much lying on these beds.I really need to wake up and change my life from now on.
Post by: Nowayhaha on April 01, 2021, 03:52:19 PM

Its time you became a believer again. Thats perhaps the reason you had to go through that experience.
Now that you have seen how it is on the other side of life , go and get it and in doing so try to use soft skills more oftenly.

Discharged.Man being treated like a leper.Not easy.But glad I am feeling okay except for wierd mid head pressure..hope too much lying on these beds.I really need to wake up and change my life from now on.
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on April 01, 2021, 04:33:58 PM
While this thread has been sad and worrying because it relates to RV Pundit's health, it has nevertheless brought up good discussion about international insurance. I think it would be really helpful, for those of us who are overseas and have never used this type of insurance in Kenya, to learn more.

1) Do you apply for it in America or whatever country you are in when you're about to travel to Kenya? Or is it part of the insurance you already have?

2) How much has it cost you in the past?

3) Any insurance companies you can recommend?

These questions are directed at anyone who wants to educate us. Alternatively, we can start a separate thread, if this is better for RV Pundit's purposes.
Post by: KenyanPlato on April 01, 2021, 04:42:35 PM

All the best.  Make sure to move around when you get home. This will help with blood circulation and minimize chances of blood clots.
Post by: KenyanPlato on April 01, 2021, 05:09:58 PM
While this thread has been sad and worrying because it relates to RV Pundit's health, it has nevertheless brought up good discussion about international insurance. I think it would be really helpful, for those of us who are overseas and have never used this type of insurance in Kenya, to learn more.

1) Do you apply for it in America or whatever country you are in when you're about to travel to Kenya? Or is it part of the insurance you already have?

These questions are directed at anyone who wants to educate us. Alternatively, we can start a separate thread, if this is better for RV Pundit's purposes.

Travel insurance with a medical option. You should get travel insurance even for people visiting you from Kenya. There are all sorts of options on travel insurance. Also, you can find out if your US insurance can cover you when abroad. I think in a pandemic situation you want an option where you can be evacuated if no beds are available.
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on April 01, 2021, 07:39:05 PM
Does travel insurance cover the expenses of flying a body to Kenya for a relative if, God forbid, the person died while visiting you? I think I once heard that.

Travel insurance with a medical option. You should get travel insurance even for people visiting you from Kenya. There are all sorts of options on travel insurance. Also, you can find out if your US insurance can cover you when abroad. I think in a pandemic situation you want an option where you can be evacuated if no beds are available.
Post by: gout on April 01, 2021, 08:24:49 PM
Very courageous! All the best. Too bad this had to be the moment of truth.

The message on weight, BMI, and consequent lifestyle diseases remains a hot political potato which has been overtaken by vaccine option. This must be because most politicians, technocrats and all influencers are averagely overweight.

The profile of majority succumbing is largely similar - overweight. It must be scary. I gained a few kilos during lockdown and it was crazy losing them even for a 6 taller.

Discharged.Man being treated like a leper.Not easy.But glad I am feeling okay except for wierd mid head pressure..hope too much lying on these beds. I really need to wake up and change my life from now on.
Post by: RV Pundit on April 01, 2021, 09:05:22 PM
Yes that to me is key take away - stay healthy - I was healthiest I bet in that ward - everyone had issues with diabetes - high blood pressure - I don't know what - and I was also youngest. I think the biggest struggle for me is going to be alcohol - I love my alcohol. I will give up sugar. I will try to exercise.

The message on weight, BMI, and consequent lifestyle diseases remains a hot political potato which has been overtaken by vaccine option. This must be because most politicians, technocrats and all influencers are averagely overweight.

The profile of majority succumbing is largely similar - overweight. It must be scary. I gained a few kilos during lockdown and it was crazy losing them even for a 6 taller.

Discharged.Man being treated like a leper.Not easy.But glad I am feeling okay except for wierd mid head pressure..hope too much lying on these beds. I really need to wake up and change my life from now on.
Post by: RV Pundit on April 01, 2021, 09:43:41 PM
Interesting. Mine is not really travel insurance but my secondary insurance abroad. If you work for international org; they will give you such options;

Post by: gout on April 01, 2021, 09:53:12 PM
The restrictions are helping with my alcohol intake. No way I am going to spend my money with all that tension ati am seeking fun. I have never had alcohol in the house even in college so this has helped a lot. Once I take choma with beer, no more meals in the house.

For sugar, I prepare my coffee, black. Was very hard initially resisting the tea culture in the mornings- hangovers helped :D :D :D. Now everybody knows I don't take tea which cuts out the sugar shit except when I don't have energy to keep explaining to some family members. No harm for an occasional cup in a year.

Yes that to me is key take away - stay healthy - I was healthiest I bet in that ward - everyone had issues with diabetes - high blood pressure - I don't know what - and I was also youngest. I think the biggest struggle for me is going to be alcohol - I love my alcohol. I will give up sugar. I will try to exercise.

Post by: KenyanPlato on April 02, 2021, 02:31:09 AM
Does travel insurance cover the expenses of flying a body to Kenya for a relative if, God forbid, the person died while visiting you? I think I once heard that.

I think it would cover that. 
Post by: KenyanPlato on April 02, 2021, 02:50:00 AM
Found an article on travel insurance
https://www.outsideonline.com/2410034/coronavirus-travel-insurance#close
Post by: audacityofhope on April 02, 2021, 05:13:38 AM
Sanitizer with 70% alcohol is an enemy of the virus. So don't blame alcohol per se. Blame your judgement after the alcohol. Chances are you got your covid from a mpango. I admonished you on this column when you said you wanted to travel the world sampling ndogo ndogos. Seems you didn't immediately take my advice . Don't cheat yourself about being "youngest".  At your age you are past that. Be faithful to your wife and family. There is more to life than its earthly misguided pleasures. I bet it is only your family that showed concern when you were hospitalized. You have been on the other side, now post stories of wisdom and what will save this country and its future generations.

Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on April 02, 2021, 05:19:37 PM

Health is seriously underrated.  At a certain age(differs from person to person), it becomes important to actually monitor what you are putting in your body, because you are no longer able to count on the metabolism of youth.  Food can kill - even worse than alcohol, because it happens right under our noses totally oblivious.
Post by: patel on April 02, 2021, 07:31:04 PM
Mind to share the kind of treatment received...might help someone who cannot afford high medical bill. Update on medical bill to....help to know what Kenyans are up against.
Post by: RV Pundit on April 02, 2021, 07:35:55 PM
The medical bill was "cheap"..about 2K dollars so didn't need insurance (will claim)...and they gave me antibiotics, multivitamins and pretty much what they were doing is regularly monitoring of my vitals.
Mind to share the kind of treatment received...might help someone who cannot afford high medical bill. Update on medical bill to....help to know what Kenyans are up against.
Post by: KenyanPlato on April 02, 2021, 07:38:27 PM
The medical bill was "cheap"..about 2K dollars so didn't need insurance (will claim)...and they gave me antibiotics, multivitamins and pretty much what they were doing is regularly monitoring of my vitals.

Wow $2k dollars that is cheap. Which hospital?
Post by: KenyanPlato on April 02, 2021, 07:40:48 PM

Health is seriously underrated.  At a certain age(differs from person to person), it becomes important to actually monitor what you are putting in your body, because you are no longer able to count on the metabolism of youth.  Food can kill - even worse than alcohol, because it happens right under our noses totally oblivious.

This right there is the best advice. After 35 your should calibrate your eating habits to fit the slowing metabolism. I used to do junk foods every day in my 20s. Now I can't have to be extremely careful on what I eat. It is a battle but it can be won by changing lifestyle.
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on April 03, 2021, 01:05:42 AM

This right there is the best advice. After 35 your should calibrate your eating habits to fit the slowing metabolism. I used to do junk foods every day in my 20s. Now I can't have to be extremely careful on what I eat. It is a battle but it can be won by changing lifestyle.

Yeppers.  Eating food, unlike liquor, doesn’t give you immediate warning signs like altered mind state, pounding headaches etc.   By the time you get those signs from food, it’s usually too late.