Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: RVtitem on July 15, 2017, 03:11:53 PM
-
Who will take over the wealth left behind? if I heard well, he didn't have male children?
-
The Canadian son in law manages it all.Charles Marshall is married to Rita ..Biwott eldest daughter who also a lawyer.Esther Koimett may also have lots of say.i don't know about Prof kamar..seem like second wife who might just get crumps..lke huge landholdings...Biwott is of course a billion dollar plus rich.
-
All that money stolen from Kenya most of it will end up in Europe or offshore. How did he end up with a mzungu? Is the same mafia like jungus profiled on kroll report that moi sons and other moi era oligarchs used to move funds offshore.. I will
-
All that money stolen from Kenya most of it will end up in Europe or offshore. How did he end up with a mzungu? Is the same mafia like jungus profiled on kroll report that moi sons and other moi era oligarchs used to move funds offshore.. I will
Biwott sired Esther Koimett the indefatigable investment sec for years before leaving for Australia n returning with Hannie..the Jewish Australian..to find Esther mother married. Hannie got two daughters who ended marrying fellow upper class wazungu while in college abroad.Then Biwot married a TZ woman lessie n got 3 kids. Then finally Prof kamar with1 kid.All of Biwott ..7 are girls.Most of the money will end up with the Canadian but Esther n others have a stake.Biwott never allowed his wealth to spoil so his kids are well grounded professionals.. best exemplified by Esther Koimett
-
If he wrote a will and even better if he distributed the wealth while alive that might be true (highlighted below). Otherwise should the matter go for probate the Law of Succession is brutal in its demands for equity in the distribution.
If he made a will but was unfair, that will may be set aside and Justice Kimaru will dish out the wealth - Kirima style. However if the family sits down and agrees amicably they can avoid a session of dirty linen washing.
In most Kenyan polygamist families, there is usually no peace during the man's life and small fissures rise to the surface and grow in to heated valleys of hostility and recriminations. Frankly I do not see how this will end peacefully. Perhaps the light in the tunnel is the Mzungu (jew) who might bring the sons who control most of the wealth (according to Pundit) to exercise magnanimity.
The catch is that if they have been running the big money, they have probably now already made a lot of their own money. In the eyes of the family, that is their father's money and that brings even more tears.
Njenga Karume distributed everything and made what he thought to be airtight provisions. See what good that did! They are still in courts to the best of my knowledge with the tone getting sharper. Even more distressing is the fact that the lawyers or persons he named to execute the will appear to have carried a bit of their own greed along, complicating the mix. Thus one sees temporary alliances formed against them before they allies return to fighting each other.
Kenya is one nasty place. I met one Family Court judge who told me he would gladly exchange places with Mumbi Ngugi (now Odunga). When people come to court with charms and in the company of highly paid witchdoctors and the other party protests being intimidated....
Biwott sired Esther Koimett the indefatigable investment sec for years before leaving for Australia n returning with Hannie..the Jewish Australian..to find Esther mother married. Hannie got two daughters who ended marrying fellow upper class wazungu while in college abroad.Then Biwot married a TZ woman lessie n got 3 kids. Then finally Prof kamar with1 kid.All of Biwott ..7 are girls.Most of the money will end up with the Canadian but Esther n others have a stake.Biwott never allowed his wealth to spoil so his kids are well grounded professionals.. best exemplified by Esther Koimett
-
Declaration: I knew Biwott through my Dad. They remained friends until my dad passed away. He would come in one car. No security except one guy and a driver. Then they would sit and talk and laugh. They knew each other when my father worked huko kwao many years before and Biwott was a young man or so.
That is why I have not said much against the man - for those who can recall. I asked my dad if he he ever asked about who killed Ouko and he said yes, Nicholas did not kill Ouko. Whether Moi did. He said the same: No!
For me I have always believed it was Oyugi and Timothy Maloba. But that is a story for another day. I found him very polite and loyal to his friends. All that security hullabaloo I read about is very strange to me.
Later after my Dad died he came unannounced to visit the grave the day I was leaving for work so I excused myself.
Biwott came alone sat and was served tea - which he drunk without hesitation or worries. He condoled my mum and left some cash behind and went.
I met him in the lands ministry one time and I thought he wouldn't remember me. I was wrong. Not only did he remember me but he asked about my wife and kid by name! ( wondered, I had just been married two years). He Wondered what I was doing abroad instead of coming to work for Kenya or "me".
So on a human level I think he was a good man (and I am not a lion).
But I knew he had brought down a whole bank just because the MD of the bank bothered him. He also had some power over Moi that nobody understood. In 2002 he put down his foot about appointing Mudavadi VP saying its not yet time. He wanted it a month to elections and he got it. He did tell Moi Uhuru would lose but when Moi told him to mind his business and campaign, he fell in line and never questioned. His loyalty to Moi was 100% and unquestioning.
He was a gifted political analyst with contacts around the country. Armed with a photographic memory, he could call some obscure person in North Eastern or approach a politician and after a few minutes get him to work for and with KANU. I think he decimated the opposition by targeted bribes. I wondered about that and realized he had a simple approach: Showed great respect for the person. Thus if he was bribing someone to sell his principles, he would do it in a way that the person did not feel like a prostitute receiving her dues. He just had a way with people. I think before he approached someone he learned about the person. May be he did beforehand knowing he would need that person in future.
When he softened Makau of SDP to drop his bid, however, Makau broke the agreement by announcing it. He would not see the 200K promised until he had been humiliated.
Yes stories of him changing cars mid-lane in Nairobi abound. I think there are far too many stories around this man - most untrue.
When Mao's wife was charged in China for her role in the cultural revolution, she made some startling statements in her own defence. She got so exasperated at one time and said: "I was Mao's dog. I did everything he commanded me to. If he said that person must die, I arranged it. If he said that politican must fall, he fell by my hand..." (Dont have the exact quote but one can google).
I am saying Biwott simply did whatever Moi wanted. Even more we can say he did what he thought Moi wanted. Here is what Bertolt Brecht wrote about the loyalty of a private to his senior officer: He lets himself be torn to bits for his superior officer, and as he lies dying he takes note that his corporal is nodding approval, and that is reward enough for him. That's all he wants :D
-
Owaah nailed it...'sex pest' was a villain and Kenya is better off without him
Nicholas Biwott Was Not A Good Man
And death should not be allowed to cleanse him.
Nicholas Kipyator Kiprono Biwott was not a good man. He was not just bad, he was crooked. He was a thief, a manipulator, a rapist, and probably a murderer. He loved Kenya only to the extent that she let him loot her, and loot her he did [Kroll Report Link p.39]. He spent his adult life in public service putting public money into his private pockets, and then tried to legitimize this ill-gotten wealth. The only person he ever served, truly and wholeheartedly, was himself, not the public that paid his meagre salary but funded his vast wealth through the nose.
Nicholas Biwott stood, with the other man the Grim Reaper claimed before him, GG Kariuki, and told the survivors of Bulla Karatasi (Nov 1980) they would die some more; 3000 bodies were already rotting in the backdrop, too many to bury, too many to forget. And the people of Bulla Karatasi never forgot GG Kariuki and Biwott, even now, 37 years later, because you never forget people who tell you that it was okay for the police to rape and kill you because ‘in a situation like that, a bullet doesn’t have a target.’
Source, TJRC Report Volume IIA [Link]
Nicholas Biwott, young and buoyant in power, told a grieving and traumatized crowd that day that “if we find that the peace our president has so firmly blended in our midst is threatened by a person or persons, we shall move in full swing and crush that element wherever it may be” as if his audience was not already crushed, and yet they were innocent of the murder of the four civil servants which had triggered the raid.
Nicholas Biwott was not a good man. In 1995, he tried to rape a housekeeper in a hotel room in Auckland, then pulled power moves when she reported him to the manager and the police. Then on cue, the entire government demanded he be forgiven and deported instead or they would start a shitstorm. They, in no less words, threatened to walk out of an international event if their man was publicly accused of attempted rape, the victim be damned. He was the man, he said later, because a politician needs to be ‘a total man’, and there was no politician as total as he was. That’s why he became the ‘Bull’, not the ‘sex pest’ or the ‘rapist’ of Auckland.
Nicholas Biwott was always the victim, even when the actual victim was traumatised or lay in a coffin. He was targeted by authors who conjured stories of his involvement in corruption, extortion and murder, by book sellers who stocked those books, and by newspapers which repeated those stories. He was a victim in Auckland, and a victim of Troon, who for some odd reason chose him as his main suspect in the brutal murder of Dr. Robert Ouko. He had teams of lawyers whose entire brief was to fight the many allegations by any means necessary, sometimes bordering on the absurd. Any book or report that mentioned him, even as a suspect, he went after. He was a victim of whoever mentioned his involvement in any form in the 1992 ethnic clashes, even when it was two government commissions.
So Nicholas Kipyator Biwott sued all of them, and those he couldn’t, he hired expensive private investigators to distort the claimed facts, like a good politician+lawyer combo. Others he simply visited and calmly pointed at the book saying “I demand you stop selling this book”, as if it was a request. Others he called in the middle of their day and demanded answers about stories they had written. Then he realised they were nothing to him, Bure Kabisa, and hang up laughing.
Nicholas Biwott enriched himself through manipulation and extortion, and outright corruption. His name was missing from corruption stories in Kenya because what he didn’t own he could intimidate, bribe or sue. He leashed the banking system to himself, forcing ‘political banks’ to loan his companies money and then using his power as a minister and Moi’s confidante to ‘block all attempts to secure repayment.’ The only way they got their money back was to tell his boss that they would leave and stop investing if he was not forced to repay. Yet foreigners repeatedly fought his grabby fingers, even once refusing to give any money to projects within the ministries he led. That was after millions of dollars walked itself out of the Turkwell hydroelectric project, and Biwott knew nothing about it. And he sued to have the next book that claimed he did removed from bookshelves.
Source “Multiparty Politics in Kenya: The Kenyatta and Moi States and the Triumph of the 1992 Elections.” By David Throup and Charles Hornsby. [Link]
Same source as above, p. 84.
Nicholas Biwott, a short man with a soft accented voice, sued them so hard that no one before or after him has ever won as much money as he did in defamation suits. But it was all legitimate of course, not because he intimidated or owned the judges in those cases that gave him over 60 million in just four cases. That was a lot of money, but it found Nicholas Biwott already a rich man. Of course from sheer hard work toiling the public sector for tenders, forcing banks not to recall loans to him, and demanding commissions for international projects. He was Moi’s confidante and his bagman, but he was also a hardworking Kenyan for himself, within public coffers and lands. He got land illegally from Kaptagat Forest, and owned so much more that whenever anti-corruption or government agencies went after him, they discovered they were his tenants.
Nicholas Biwott was to be feared and loathed even when he left power. Death is the only reason this obituary can be written. He owned the system so it could never turn back on him, so everything remained a mere allegation, and there were many. In life, his name was to be whispered, and books read and re-read to ensure they did not mention his name, even in good light. He was suspicious and paranoid, because he was bad, and he was haunted. His own boss, business partner, and fellow looter, Moi, didn’t know where he lived. He never ate his own food for fear someone would poison him, and refused to own a phone, borrowing them instead from random strangers. He never told his drivers where they were going, and chose to treat everyone around him like a potential traitor. These were not just eccentricities, this was sheer paranoia borne of a lifetime of screwing people over and demanding their fear, not their loyalty. He was a man on edge, day in and day out. He lived like a hunted drug lord, not a career public servant and one of the richest people in Kenya.
When Nicholas Biwott was Nicholas Biwott, his word was law. He was everything that was bad about the Moi regime. Second to the man with an ivory stick himself, Biwott epitomized the rot that drove Kenya to its knees, and even further. In life he fought harder than anyone else to wipe out the fact that he was not a good man. That his legacy was already stained and broken. In death, he must not be allowed to continue doing that. Or perhaps he should get exactly what he wanted in life, to be forgotten.
-
Me? I think he was definitely behind the murder of Ouko. May he RIP for those who believe in such things.
-
He killed Ouko that was very clear.
-
He killed Ouko that was very clear.
And likely a few others take care of any loose ends. Ouko's wife and children went through hell.
-
I asked Raila in 1992 and though he defended Oyugi he said that "when they called state house that Ouko was dead, Moi refused to take the call instead Biwott answered and gave directions on how to get rid of the body".
I think it was above Biwott's pay grade to order the death of a minister.
The man who knows more is Dr. Ongeri who I was told pronounced him dead. He found him beyond repair.
I think the focus is being moved away from the real killers. Still one person told me if it were Biwott he would have poisoned Ouko with a heart attack provoking substance. I treated it as a rumor that he possessed a toxin he got from Israel with such a capacity and totally untraceable.
My money is on Oyugi trying to please Moi like Marcos' chief bodyguard or Kenyatta's driver with J.M
-
Interesting inquiry this is
-
I asked Raila in 1992 and though he defended Oyugi he said that "when they called state house that Ouko was dead, Moi refused to take the call instead Biwott answered and gave directions on how to get rid of the body".
I think it was above Biwott's pay grade to order the death of a minister.
The man who knows more is Dr. Ongeri who I was told pronounced him dead. He found him beyond repair.
I think the focus is being moved away from the real killers. Still one person told me if it were Biwott he would have poisoned Ouko with a heart attack provoking substance. I treated it as a rumor that he possessed a toxin he got from Israel with such a capacity and totally untraceable.
My money is on Oyugi trying to please Moi like Marcos' chief bodyguard or Kenyatta's driver with J.M
I just go by the Troon report. It's the only credible official statement.
-
There is no shred of credible evidence that Biwott or Oyugi killed Ouko. Jonah Anguka the Nakuru DC killed Ouko. The evidence against Anguka is overwhelming and what saved him during his murder trial was his alibi that he had supper with Bometts of Nakuru that day or was being massaged by his nephew during the night. Otherwise all the facts indicate Ouko went to bed - changed into pajamas - was called outside by someone - via the cow shed - and was later shot/killed - and his body disfigured with acid. The man who did this was Anguka - who on the same day made 200kms (based on the fuel gauge) trip from Nakuru to Koru - using his GoK car and woke up late the following morning. Anguka was former AP (trained soldier) who rose to ranks thanks to Oyugi. I believe Anguka had argument with Ouko about him screwing his wife, shot Ouko and quickly hid his body - ran back to Nakuru and returned later to disfigure his body.
Why did Anguka kill Ouko - Ouko was screwing his wife who also doubled up as Ouko secretary-- and despite all attempts by Anguka to transfer her abroad (via PS Kiplagat & Oyugi) that didn't work. Anguka and Ouko were neigbours in Koru. Ouko had it coming for screwing someone like Anguka wife - when he was able to get any woman he wanted.
And that is why Anguka is still in exile. As soon as the high court judge made mistake of believing his alibi and he ran to the US.
I don't see any reason why in 90s - Moi or Biwott - would see Ouko as such a threat - If Moi or Biwott wanted to assisinate people - there were a dime a dozen more dangerous folks (to their careers) like Matiba or Jaramogi or Kibaki.
-
The evidence against Anguka
At the time the Kenya police completed their ‘Further Investigations’ Report into the death of Dr Ouko, Anguka was awaiting the decision of committal proceedings as to whether he would be sent to trial in the High Court. Although restricted by the legal process of possible pending action, The Kenya’ police Report set out fourteen points of its ‘evidence gathered against’ Anguka: [KPFI 7:2 pages 23-29]
(i) Anguka’s official car had covered 270 kilometres on the 12th/13th February, 1990 ‘with excess fuel he was unable to account for’. Anguka’s claim that his driver ‘might have made a mistake when writing the workticket’ was not found convincing by the Kenya police as it would have required a mistake both in recording the number of kilometres covered and in the record of excess fuel.
(ii) Anguka’s driver had gone to collect him for duty at 7.30am on the morning of the 13th February but he was asleep and didn’t wake up until ‘around 9.00am’ when he went on duty. ‘It was abnormal for Mr. Anguka to go on duty late’, the report noted.
(iii) ‘On or about 13th February, 1990, the Administration Police Constables who were on duty’ stated that Anguka had ‘returned home at about 5.00am’. Anguka had said he had been at home all night.
(iv) On the 13th February, 1990, Anguka had asked a Mr Haji, the Provincial Commissioner, Rift Valley Province, for permission to go to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Nairobi to ‘sort out urgent matters with the Permanent Secretary [Bethuel Kiplagat]’. He was granted permission but did not say why the matter was urgent.
(v) Anguka went to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs on the 14th February, met Bethuel Kiplagat and requested that his wife Mrs Susan Ngeso Anguka, Dr Ouko’s Personal Assistant, be transferred to Kenya’s Foreign Office in Bonn, West Germany. Anguka claimed that he was suffering from a bad back and ‘wanted to take the opportunity of his wife’s stay in Germany so he could get free travel documents and accommodation’ (and whilst there seek treatment).
(vi) On the 14th February Anguka telephoned Oyugi and reported the disappearance of Dr Ouko. He claimed he had been told of the disappearance by his wife. The Kenya police noted, ‘Dr Ouko did not come from his [Anguka’s] District or from Provincial Administration to necessitate him to ring Mr Oyugi at that hour’.
(vii) Anguka was ‘said to have travelled from Nakuru to Nyanza’ on the 15th February but it was ‘not clear as to where he was going and for what purpose’.
(viii) On the 16th February, Anguka travelled to Koru before Dr Ouko’s body was found by the police. He appeared to have no permission to leave his District, ‘no business in going to Koru’, and according to the Kenya police, gave no ‘reasonable explanation as to why he went there’.
(ix) On the 16th February, Anguka was at Dr Ouko’s Koru home when his wife Susan telephoned him and told him that Ouko’s body had been found. ‘Mr. Anguka burst into the room where Mrs. Christabel Ouko was being interviewed by Mr. Okoko, DCP who was leading the investigation’. Anguka broke the news that the body had been found whereupon Mrs Ouko collapsed screaming. Okoko quarrelled with Anguka for the manner in which he had broken the news. Again the Kenya police asked, why had Anguka gone to Koru? They surmised, ‘It is possible that he came to find out how much the family of Dr. Ouko and their workers knew about the disappearance of Dr. Ouko’.
(x) When Troon and his Scotland Yard team arrived at Jomo Kenyatta International Airport on 21st February, 1990, Anguka met them and accompanied them to Kisumu. Thereafter he assigned himself the task of acting as an interpreter when a Mr. Maggero, SP had been assigned to do it. The Kenya police said Anguka offered no explanation as to why he had done so. They speculated that he wanted to know how much Troon knew about the murder.
(xi) Troon was assisted by Provincial C.I.D. Officer (Nyanza) Mr. Timbwa of the S/ACP and CI Lutubula but they felt Anguka was interfering in their work. Timbwa quarrelled with Anguka, reported him to Okoko who in turn reported him to the Director of Criminal Investigation Department. Eventually Oyugi, as Provincial Commissioner, Nyanza Province, ordered Anguka to return to his station in Nakuru. Again the Kenya police asked, why was he involving himself in the investigation?
(xii) According to the Kenya police, whilst the Judicial Commission was sitting, Anguka ‘summoned the Administrative Police Officers who were guarding his residence in Nakuru’ and asked them to say that he had been home on all evenings of the week running up to the day Dr Ouko was murdered.
(xiii) The two Administrative Police Officers who were guarding Anguka’s residence gave statements that on the morning of the 13th February, 1990, he did not return until 5.00am.
-
Unfortunately the Kenya Police were not independent. I am sure Troon released similar notes when he concluded Biwott and Oyugi were the chief suspects.
At the time the Kenya police completed their ‘Further Investigations’ Report into the death of Dr Ouko, Anguka was awaiting the decision of committal proceedings as to whether he would be sent to trial in the High Court. Although restricted by the legal process of possible pending action, The Kenya’ police Report set out fourteen points of its ‘evidence gathered against’ Anguka: [KPFI 7:2 pages 23-29]
(i) Anguka’s official car had covered 270 kilometres on the 12th/13th February, 1990 ‘with excess fuel he was unable to account for’. Anguka’s claim that his driver ‘might have made a mistake when writing the workticket’ was not found convincing by the Kenya police as it would have required a mistake both in recording the number of kilometres covered and in the record of excess fuel.
(ii) Anguka’s driver had gone to collect him for duty at 7.30am on the morning of the 13th February but he was asleep and didn’t wake up until ‘around 9.00am’ when he went on duty. ‘It was abnormal for Mr. Anguka to go on duty late’, the report noted.
(iii) ‘On or about 13th February, 1990, the Administration Police Constables who were on duty’ stated that Anguka had ‘returned home at about 5.00am’. Anguka had said he had been at home all night.
(iv) On the 13th February, 1990, Anguka had asked a Mr Haji, the Provincial Commissioner, Rift Valley Province, for permission to go to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Nairobi to ‘sort out urgent matters with the Permanent Secretary [Bethuel Kiplagat]’. He was granted permission but did not say why the matter was urgent.
(v) Anguka went to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs on the 14th February, met Bethuel Kiplagat and requested that his wife Mrs Susan Ngeso Anguka, Dr Ouko’s Personal Assistant, be transferred to Kenya’s Foreign Office in Bonn, West Germany. Anguka claimed that he was suffering from a bad back and ‘wanted to take the opportunity of his wife’s stay in Germany so he could get free travel documents and accommodation’ (and whilst there seek treatment).
(vi) On the 14th February Anguka telephoned Oyugi and reported the disappearance of Dr Ouko. He claimed he had been told of the disappearance by his wife. The Kenya police noted, ‘Dr Ouko did not come from his [Anguka’s] District or from Provincial Administration to necessitate him to ring Mr Oyugi at that hour’.
(vii) Anguka was ‘said to have travelled from Nakuru to Nyanza’ on the 15th February but it was ‘not clear as to where he was going and for what purpose’.
(viii) On the 16th February, Anguka travelled to Koru before Dr Ouko’s body was found by the police. He appeared to have no permission to leave his District, ‘no business in going to Koru’, and according to the Kenya police, gave no ‘reasonable explanation as to why he went there’.
(ix) On the 16th February, Anguka was at Dr Ouko’s Koru home when his wife Susan telephoned him and told him that Ouko’s body had been found. ‘Mr. Anguka burst into the room where Mrs. Christabel Ouko was being interviewed by Mr. Okoko, DCP who was leading the investigation’. Anguka broke the news that the body had been found whereupon Mrs Ouko collapsed screaming. Okoko quarrelled with Anguka for the manner in which he had broken the news. Again the Kenya police asked, why had Anguka gone to Koru? They surmised, ‘It is possible that he came to find out how much the family of Dr. Ouko and their workers knew about the disappearance of Dr. Ouko’.
(x) When Troon and his Scotland Yard team arrived at Jomo Kenyatta International Airport on 21st February, 1990, Anguka met them and accompanied them to Kisumu. Thereafter he assigned himself the task of acting as an interpreter when a Mr. Maggero, SP had been assigned to do it. The Kenya police said Anguka offered no explanation as to why he had done so. They speculated that he wanted to know how much Troon knew about the murder.
(xi) Troon was assisted by Provincial C.I.D. Officer (Nyanza) Mr. Timbwa of the S/ACP and CI Lutubula but they felt Anguka was interfering in their work. Timbwa quarrelled with Anguka, reported him to Okoko who in turn reported him to the Director of Criminal Investigation Department. Eventually Oyugi, as Provincial Commissioner, Nyanza Province, ordered Anguka to return to his station in Nakuru. Again the Kenya police asked, why was he involving himself in the investigation?
(xii) According to the Kenya police, whilst the Judicial Commission was sitting, Anguka ‘summoned the Administrative Police Officers who were guarding his residence in Nakuru’ and asked them to say that he had been home on all evenings of the week running up to the day Dr Ouko was murdered.
(xiii) The two Administrative Police Officers who were guarding Anguka’s residence gave statements that on the morning of the 13th February, 1990, he did not return until 5.00am.
-
Troon took international con-woman evidence and denied Ouko family justice. Kenya CID in 90s was one of Africa's best. They nailed Anguka. The judges decided to believe Anguka alibi that he was being massaged by his nephew.
Unfortunately the Kenya Police were not independent. I am sure Troon released similar notes when he concluded Biwott and Oyugi were the chief suspects.
-
Alright Pundit. What happened to Ouko's wife - Christabel? She was ever in the news in the 90s.
-
I think she was in news recently during Ouko anniversary or something like that. The Oyugi, Anguka and Ouko were engaged in a wierd love-triangle. OUko was screwing Anguka wife who acted as his PA. Christabel Ouko was screwing Oyugi. Anguka definitely one of the killer(s). Oyugi was also probably involved - he was spotted in Kisumu that night and denied he was there. Both Oyugi & Anguka kept frustrating Troon. Biwott was brought in thro the Marriane italian con-woman whom Biwott had kicked out in 80s.
Alright Pundit. What happened to Ouko's wife - Christabel? She was ever in the news in the 90s.
-
I believe you. I think Nicholas is being blamed unfairly.
However tell me one thing, did serikali get a bloody nose because of its penchant for controlling news and therefore appeared guilty?
I think Moi for once panicked.
Troon took international con-woman evidence and denied Ouko family justice. Kenya CID in 90s was one of Africa's best. They nailed Anguka. The judges decided to believe Anguka alibi that he was being massaged by his nephew.
-
Moi at time was facing serious accusation of human rights abuses - post 1982 coup -as he brought the hammer down - which was inevitable. That brought bad press. If Moi or Biwott wanted to kill anybody - they would not have given the job to Luos - leave alone killing a Luo while involving fellow Luo men. I don't think they would have trusted them to do a clean job and remain silent. They would have given the job to proffesional who'd have done a clean job. The murder of Ouko was amateurish and certainly was done by somebody close to him. The man left on his pajamas to go see someone in the cowshed and he was later found dumped 3kms from his home.
I believe you. I think Nicholas is being blamed unfairly.
However tell me one thing, did serikali get a bloody nose because of its penchant for controlling news and therefore appeared guilty?
I think Moi for once panicked.
-
Troon was the only independent nexus in the investigation. An experienced detective for Scotland Yard.
Put another way, no Kenyan police investigator, would in their right state of mind point at Biwott. Anybody old enough then knew it was suicidal.
That is why they had to come up with a ridiculous suicide theory.
-
Was it only Biwott who was feared? Oyugi at that time was more feared than Biwott. Oyugi & Anguka definitely made police work hard - after Troon came - tried the same tricks. Oyugi at the time of murder was powerful PS of Internal Security - directly in charge of police & security forces.
Troon was the only independent nexus in the investigation. An experienced detective for Scotland Yard.
Put another way, no Kenyan police investigator, would in their right state of mind point at Biwott. Anybody old enough then knew it was suicidal.
-
Was it only Biwott who was feared? Oyugi at that time was more feared than Biwott. Oyugi & Anguka definitely made police work hard - after Troon came - tried the same tricks. Oyugi at the time of murder was powerful PS of Internal Security - directly in charge of police & security forces.
Oyugi was also very powerful no doubt. And he was also fingered by Troon. At the point that Troon leaves the rest in Kenyan hands, is where the independent investigation ends and the only thing that goes is what will not step on either Biwott's or Oyugi's toes. Anguka was a harmless pawn in comparison.
-
You are such an apologist of Kalenjin Mafia. You think Oyugi had the balls to go and Kill a Minister without the state sanctioning him to do so? Biwott had political tussle with Dr Ouko so he is the only one and Moi who had the motive to kill Ouko
-
That nonsense. only Biwott is mentioned but we have more than 10 luos who wanted ouko dead...all action was in Kisumu.Biwott angle was brought by Marriane n lies about US meetings that never happened.
-
Biwott was meticulous...with Jews backing.He never did half the job.
-
Pundit
Correction:
1. Oyugi had since gotten promoted to the PS Internal Security
2. The Nyanza PC was that Meru/ Embu drunkard Kobia
-
Professor Kamar declares she's Biwott's wife... I hope a catfight doesn't start among his 4 families. They seem united for now but it looks like a show.
http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Prof-Margaret-Kamar-and-Nicholas-Biwott/1056-4022478-s90pw2/index.html
(http://www.nation.co.ke/image/view/-/4022488/highRes/1707776/-/maxw/600/-/lulrkv/-/kama.gif)
-
Pundit said that Biwott has all daughters but I read that he had one son.
Professor Kamar declares she's Biwott's wife... I hope a catfight doesn't start among his 4 families. They seem united for now but it looks like a show.
http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Prof-Margaret-Kamar-and-Nicholas-Biwott/1056-4022478-s90pw2/index.html
(http://www.nation.co.ke/image/view/-/4022488/highRes/1707776/-/maxw/600/-/lulrkv/-/kama.gif)
-
Yeap so the tz woman bore a son.. Emmanuel Biwott
-
One too many key witnesses were taken out. Who was this powerful to silence witnesses, as well as advance an asinine suicide theory?
I also don't buy how a Keiyo close confidante of Moi could have been terrified by a Luo PC
Then again, Moi era assasinations were not exactly professional. Look at Kaiser and Muge
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/expat/expatfeedback/4195377/Kenyan-agent-tried-to-kill-British-detective.html
-
And what about Julie Ward? Her dad seemed convinced that the total man did it. Dont know what happened with that case.
-
Thought Julie ward was Jonathan Moi.
And what about Julie Ward? Her dad seemed convinced that the total man did it. Dont know what happened with that case.
-
This was the most barbaric thing I ever read - Jonathan met her in Maasai Mara - his advances were rebuffed so the buffoon raped her - then killed her to cover the act.
Thought Julie ward was Jonathan Moi.
-
Those days there were many omollo type creative stories - so you have to be careful. What we know for a fact is that Julie ward boyfriend left on the plane to Nairobi. Julie ward drove alone from Mara camp to Nairobi using a Suzuki 4WD and probably got lost in the wilderness of mara. She set up a tent in the forest and was later killed & eaten by hyenas.
The so called Valentine Ohuru Kodipo who was WARD key witnesses was a mere tea plucker in my home area - Kaptien estate - who lied to ward.
This was the most barbaric thing I ever read - Jonathan met her in Maasai Mara - his advances were rebuffed so the buffoon raped her - then killed her to cover the act.
-
That would have come out immediately. Instead we had many obstructions from government.... why would anyone cover up the killing of a tourist by wild animals? Cover up indicates a powerful culprit was involved.
Those days there were many omollo type creative stories - so you have to be careful. What we know for a fact is that Julie ward boyfriend left on the plane to Nairobi. Julie ward drove alone from Mara camp to Nairobi using a Suzuki 4WD and probably got lost in the wilderness of mara. She set up a tent in the forest and was later killed & eaten by hyenas.
The so called Valentine Ohuru Kodipo who was WARD key witnesses was a mere tea plucker in my home area - Kaptien estate - who lied to ward.
-
It's a macabre debate but for academic purposes may I ask who was caught in the two cases?
The FBI was totally and comprehensively played by the Moi CID. Do you recall the FBIs findings?
In the case of Muge: a normal road accident turned political.
Btw I knew the Bishop. He was one of the fastest drivers I have ever seen. I drove behind him from Nairobi upto Eldoret as I continued to lodwar. He drove a Peugeot 505. I had a land cruiser hardtop loaded to high heaven. I was doing my share of driving and the bishop helped me cut two hours from the schedule.
I really doubt he was killed. It was just a set of unfortunate coincidences. Okondo making Duale like threats and him kissing a truck head on
One too many key witnesses were taken out. Who was this powerful to silence witnesses, as well as advance an asinine suicide theory?
I also don't buy how a Keiyo close confidante of Moi could have been terrified by a Luo PC
Then again, Moi era assasinations were not exactly professional. Look at Kaiser and Muge
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/expat/expatfeedback/4195377/Kenyan-agent-tried-to-kill-British-detective.html
-
Exactly. Any dead in 90s was wrongly attributed to Moi or Biwott.
It's a macabre debate but for academic purposes may I ask who was caught in the two cases?
The FBI was totally and comprehensively played by the Moi CID. Do you recall the FBIs findings?
In the case of Muge: a normal road accident turned political.
Btw I knew the Bishop. He was one of the fastest drivers I have ever seen. I drove behind him from Nairobi upto Eldoret as I continued to lodwar. He drove a Peugeot 505. I had a land cruiser hardtop loaded to high heaven. I was doing my share of driving and the bishop helped me cut two hours from the schedule.
I really doubt he was killed. It was just a set of unfortunate coincidences. Okondo making Duale like threats and him kissing a truck head on