Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: Kadudu on October 28, 2016, 01:03:28 PM
-
Owners of the companies that have been said to have fleeced Health Ministry of billion:
1. Kathleen Kihanya is Uhuru's first cousin
2. Nyokabi Muthama - Uhuru's sister married to Senator Muthama's son
3. Richard Ngatia and 4. Paul Ndung’u who are Uhuru's friends.
No wonder the AG cannot find the files of the companies in his office.
-
Yesterday it was Ruto and today it's Uhuru family.why can' the list of directors be digitized. This keeping of physical files is part of corruption.
-
Turns out to be propaganda by the usual suspects.
The Attorney General’s office has released names of directorsof three companies involved in the 5billion ministry of health scandal.
The Justice department in the office of the AG said all of the three companies’ records, both physical and digital, were available at the Companies Registry and that their details were open for public scrutiny.
1. Private company Estama Investments has not filed annual returns since its incorporation on June 19, 2008.
Its directors/ shareholders were listed as Ambrose Makanga and Esther Wahito who each have 500 shares.
2. Life Care Medics last filed annual returns on December 31, 2015. It is also a private company limited by shares that was incorporated on September 5, 2007.
It shareholders are Richard Ngatia and Paul Wanderi , who each hold 500 shares.
3. Private company Medafrica has never filed returns since incorporation on August 12, 2013.
Njage Makanga (400 shares) and Naomi Wanjiku (100 shares) were named as the shareholders.
-
--Ambrose Makanga and Njage Mukanga --- there is some nexus there.
-
The most detrimental form of corruption is at the top of the government. Only people as high as the president and the Deputy president can get away with this amount of stealing. Its also the easiest corruption to eliminate. All you need is an honest leader at the presidency like John Magufuli and this corruption is gone, then you can focus on the 2nd tier and third tier corruption. Change of leadership in 2017 is the only realistic cure for this level of corruption.
Yesterday it was Ruto and today it's Uhuru family.why can' the list of directors be digitized. This keeping of physical files is part of corruption.
-
These are the decoys like the hairstylist Kabura and that KBC driver John Kago. How the hell do you expect these non-entities to enter into MAfya House and get paid billions without any connection to the top guys in the country?
Pundit, I have personal friends who have done business with MOH and KEMSA for many years and they tell me things have never been as bad as today. Even Moi days were better. People with no experience at all in the health sector are getting tenders worth hundreds of millions. All you need is a direct connection to State House and you have the deal in the pocket.
--Ambrose Makanga and Njage Mukanga --- there is some nexus there.
-
There you have it.
The most detrimental form of corruption is at the top of the government. Only people as high as the president and the Deputy president can get away with this amount of stealing. Its also the easiest corruption to eliminate. All you need is an honest leader at the presidency like John Magufuli and this corruption is gone, then you can focus on the 2nd tier and third tier corruption. Change of leadership in 2017 is the only realistic cure for this level of corruption.
-
Quite a little circus. I wonder if it is really that complicated for Kenya (supposedly an IT powerhouse in Africa) to have a system like what the UK has, which system allows anyone, anywhere to look up relevant information on a company. For example, here is a search on a randomly selected company:
https://beta.companieshouse.gov.uk/company/07886305
-
Yeah this need to be implemented - I don't see why ownership of a company should be private info.
Quite a little circus. I wonder if it is really that complicated for Kenya (supposedly an IT powerhouse in Africa) to have a system like what the UK has, which system allows anyone, anywhere to look up relevant information on a company. For example, here is a search on a randomly selected company:
https://beta.companieshouse.gov.uk/company/07886305
-
Or people with a nod from those two. It is indeed the simplest to eliminate, if the will the will is there. It's tougher to eliminate the petty corruption where people steal to survive.
-
we are now into conspiracy without any evidence - that stealing is sijui from the top. Corruption will happen as long as we have weak controls, weak investigation and prosecution - and even weaker judiciary. The only way to sustainably fight corruption is through institutions. Not through Magufuli.
-
we are now into conspiracy without any evidence - that stealing is sijui from the top. Corruption will happen as long as we have weak controls, weak investigation and prosecution - and even weaker judiciary. The only way to sustainably fight corruption is through institutions. Not through Magufuli.
We want institutions. Ultimately. But without a direction from the top, the institutions themselves become part of the problem. They become new avenues for corruption. This is not in dispute.
-
So you think Obama is giving direction to US institutions? Institution do not need direction. And there is nothing like top and bottom if you have independent institution doing their job. You don't want the top. You want truly independent institution doing their job. I know this idea of "setting an example" is very alluring but it doesn't work in any sustainable way. What works is strengthening institution. We have a problem with file supposedly disappearing - how can we strengthen the State Law office or Company Registar so this never happens? Moonki has good idea - digitize everything. How do we strengthen the assest recovery and criminal proceedings institution so they can seize and freeze stolen property - which is disincentive to those who steal.
We may not appear to be making progress in corruption as compared to rwanda or magufuli - but over the long time we will be far ahead - coz our institution will be stronger and tested - while mangufuli will tie the fate of his country with his own - so next time a corrupt dude come in - all that goes through the window.
We have worked hard to build our democratic institutions - and we know - we cannot say go to dictatorship like in moi era - and that is long term progress - as compared to benevolent dictator. Now every president who comes to kenya know he'll be just pork - not a dictator.
We want institutions. Ultimately. But without a direction from the top, the institutions themselves become part of the problem. They become new avenues for corruption. This is not in dispute.
-
So you think Obama is giving direction to US institutions? Institution do not need direction. And there is nothing like top and bottom if you have independent institution doing their job. You don't want the top. You want truly independent institution doing their job. I know this idea of "setting an example" is very alluring but it doesn't work in any sustainable way. What works is strengthening institution. We have a problem with file supposedly disappearing - how can we strengthen the State Law office or Company Registar so this never happens? Moonki has good idea - digitize everything. How do we strengthen the assest recovery and criminal proceedings institution so they can seize and freeze stolen property - which is disincentive to those who steal.
We may not appear to be making progress in corruption as compared to rwanda or magufuli - but over the long time we will be far ahead - coz our institution will be stronger and tested - while mangufuli will tie the fate of his country with his own - so next time a corrupt dude come in - all that goes through the window.
Obama doesn't have to because he inherited mature institutions. Even then, the US is not immune to institutional collapse as is evidenced by police corruption. They require actual people to breath life into them. It takes actual work...there never comes a time when effort is not needed.
Kenya, on paper, is better protected against grand corruption than pretty much most of the US...EACC, DPP, DCI, Auditor General, etc. Why don't they work? Why are they weak? How do you discourage a Waiguru? Take them to court? They will happily take that route...a small price...ask Sam Gichuru.
That is where umagufuli comes in. kamwana can lay their entrails bare for public scrutiny and make their lives hard, if he wants. But he does not.
-
From Robert Alai:
(http://i.imgur.com/saNUC7h.jpg)
-
Institution do not need direction.
That's an interesting view. So what do their leaders do?
And there is nothing like top and bottom if you have independent institution doing their job. You don't want the top. You want truly independent institution doing their job.
Every institution has a head, and "head" = "top". And above that, there is a "top" of "tops".
Outside the "independent institutions", the Constitution of Kenya states that:
The President is the Head of State and Government.
On "giving direction", the Constitution of Kenya states that:
The President shall direct and co-ordinate the functions of ministries and government departments
That includes things like the State Law Office and the Department of Justice, whose functions include "Anti-corruption strategies, integrity, and ethics".
Uhuru "directing" in early 2015:
PRESIDENT Uhuru Kenyatta has acknowledged that mega corruption threatens to paralyse service delivery in his administration.
Consequently, he has ordered all State corporations to furnish his office with details of their anti-graft strategy – within two weeks
“The action plan must contain: express timelines, identified responsible officers and means of measurement and delivery, against which the extent of compliance and implementation shall be gauged,” he ordered.
Part of the directive is that all State corporations must within two weeks furnish his office with details of all procurement deals sealed since his administration took over in 2013 – complete with contract value and awardees.
http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2015/03/12/uhuru-gives-state-organs-two-week-ultimatum-on-corruption_c1099639#sthash.c0P84d6K.dpuf
Somewhat surprisingly, some people though there would be more than talk. Instead, the matter was quickly forgotten, and there has been corruption scandal after corruption scandal.
As Terminator has pointed out, if Uhuru wants to know what is going on, a good place to start with be the Auditor-General's reports. He can then "direct and coordinate", as the constitution requires him to ... if he is serious.
-
It all starts with strong moral leadership. You cannot brag about ouru and Ruto having "real power" when convenient and then when we try to hold them accountable then all of a sudden they do not have the power to do anything. Corruption is the number one issue ailing Kenya today and any candidate who do not have an articulable plan should not run for that office. Ouru should not only tell us the problems but he should also have a solution or step aside.
-
The stealing starts with Budget and allocation, then IFMIS. Its very easy it seems to create a company in the IFMIS and approve payment if one has the right passwords. You don't need to know the President, deputy or cabinet secretary. The head of departments can easily do this with the PS. This is what should be looked into.
What was the purpose of trying to link uhuru cousins with companies that received the money other than smear campaign. What I find outrageous is that Former EACC chairman Kinisu company is one of the recipient, that shows the level of collusion.
-
The stealing starts with Budget and allocation, then IFMIS. Its very easy it seems to create a company in the IFMIS and approve payment if one has the right passwords. You don't need to know the President, deputy or cabinet secretary. The head of departments can easily do this with the PS. This is what should be looked into.
. What I find outrageous is that Former EACC chairman Kinisu company is one of the recipient, that shows the level of collusion.
-
Hk right.i thought any procurement that is more 1 million shs should be tendered but seem most of these multi millions deals are single sourced.We need to re-look ifmis and whole gov tendering.Corruption is big problem even in our private firms and the solution is to tighten controls..in our company we have anti graft investigators in addition to internal auditors..given corruption is as rampant as in GoK.We need to go beyond the blame game and ensure we strengthen our institution. First we need to ensure no single source contract of 1m is allowed say without IPOA, EACC and CS reviewing it.There is also need to involve the Auditor General and EACC way before...for instance any ifmis transaction of more than 100m...EACC should be alerted.
This battle will be long drawn because our level of economy is great incentive to be corrupt...whether in gov or private firms or in our families budget...however as the economy grows and we improve our institution..it will become manageable like in most of developed country.
Right now Uhuru should prioritize this fight...everything else he has done really well.
-
More details. Uhuru sister and cousin should be content with Kenyatta jomo already looted wealth. This greed is no good. Now Eacc and such agencies should immediately seize and freeze the properties of all those named..until the investigation is completed.
http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2016/10/29/uhuru-sister-cousin-were-paid-sh200m-health-cash_c1446057
-
More details. Uhuru sister and cousin should be content with Kenyatta jomo already looted wealth. This greed is no good. Now Eacc and such agencies should immediately seize and freeze the properties of all those named..until the investigation is completed.
http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2016/10/29/uhuru-sister-cousin-were-paid-sh200m-health-cash_c1446057
Some things to ponder:
1. The "investigations" will never be concluded.
2. No one senior will come even close to being convicted.
3. We'll quickly forget this one when the inevitable long drawn out circus gets underway.
4. Next yuge tremendous corruption scandal.
5. Goto 1
That's pragmatism.
-
What's most obnoxious is uhuru kin angling to deal with government when they've enough money to last 100yrs. Furthermore its clear this companies were created purposely to work with government. None of this companies do private work. The likes of Ndungu wanderi are filthy rich with their mobicom and even sportpesa. Maybe we need to reduce the scope of government, starve the beast. For infrastructure and other things the government to create a ring fence around those projects.
If uhuru doesn't deal with this head on he'll have to contend with voter apathy in his backyard and RV.
-
Precisely. The only way is to make it painful for wanderi and uhuru sister by seizing and freezing their properties until these cases are heard. That way they'll keep off gov procurement and do honest business. I am surprised the PS Muranguri dude has not tendered his resignation yet.
Uhuru has accomplished a lot in 3yrs (the most I have seen a gov do) and this may yet be undone by rampant corruption. He need to secure his legacy by ruthlessly cracking down on corruption. I think he the guys like head of civil service kinyua who are not corrupt and can deliver on this.
Uhuru should make this his only work going forward.
What's most obnoxious is uhuru kin angling to deal with government when they've enough money to last 100yrs. Furthermore its clear this companies were created purposely to work with government. None of this companies do private work. The likes of Ndungu wanderi are filthy rich with their mobicom and even sportpesa. Maybe we need to reduce the scope of government, starve the beast. For infrastructure and other things the government to create a ring fence around those projects.
If uhuru doesn't deal with this head on he'll have to contend with voter apathy in his backyard and RV.
-
Precisely. The only way is to make it painful for wanderi and uhuru sister by seizing and freezing their properties until these cases are heard. That way they'll keep off gov procurement and do honest business. I am surprised the PS Muranguri dude has not tendered his resignation yet.
Uhuru has accomplished a lot in 3yrs (the most I have seen a gov do) and this may yet be undone by rampant corruption. He need to secure his legacy by ruthlessly cracking down on corruption. I think he the guys like head of civil service kinyua who are not corrupt and can deliver on this.
I agree. Muraguri should've resigned like yesterday. All the assets and proceeds of the company involved should be frozen immediately. All the IFMIS payment of 50m and above need to be audited. What happened to budget officehttp://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Treasury-loses-Budget-role-as-Uhuru-names-new-economics-chief/539546-3117126-10799m8z/index.html ? Was it even created? Kinyua and Nzoika waita I think can deliver but they need to hire other people.
-
http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2016/10/29/uhuru-sister-cousin-were-paid-sh200m-health-cash_c1446057 (http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2016/10/29/uhuru-sister-cousin-were-paid-sh200m-health-cash_c1446057)
Some things to ponder:
1. The "investigations" will never be concluded.
2. No one senior will come even close to being convicted.
3. We'll quickly forget this one when the inevitable long drawn out circus gets underway.
4. Next yuge tremendous corruption scandal.
5. Goto 1
That's pragmatism.
A winning formula. Don't forget to get the humongous loans on the back of a fawning wanjiku to plug the resultant holes.
-
This is not corruption. This is looting. Ouru and Ruto cannot stop this monster because they are part and parcel of this monster. If they slay it they also kill themselves. Wanaichi have to solve this problem by kicking them out of power. One can nolonger make a credible argument that they like ouru and ruto but hate the blatant looting of the government coffers. The looting is happening because of them and not despite of them. Ideally, Ouru should have resigned after confessing that there is nothing he can do to stop the looting, however, since we know that he does not have the moral rectitude to do such a honorable act of ushujaa, wanaichi have to get rid of the corrupt duo next year. That is the only plausible solution. The rest is like putting a band aid on a gunshot wound.
-
"Anti-Corruption" Uhuru's comments so far: Ngai!
-
This is not corruption. This is looting. Ouru and Ruto cannot stop this monster because they are part and parcel of this monster. If they slay it they also kill themselves. Wanaichi have to solve this problem by kicking them out of power. One can nolonger make a credible argument that they like ouru and ruto but hate the blatant looting of the government coffers. The looting is happening because of them and not despite of them. Ideally, Ouru should have resigned after confessing that there is nothing he can do to stop the looting, however, since we know that he does not have the moral rectitude to do such a honorable act of ushujaa, wanaichi have to get rid of the corrupt duo next year. That is the only plausible solution. The rest is like putting a band aid on a gunshot wound.
I regret to be the one to inform you that wananchi will do no such thing
In fact not only will they re elect the criminal duo, but also add more thieves like Waiguru (Kirinyaga GOV) and now probably Muraguri
has the money to run for and get some public office.
Even with all the frustration brought on by the blatant looting of our money,
Its important to remember that the biggest culprit is the stupidity of the masses aka ignorance
Democracy = people get the leaders they deserve.
Respectfully;
-
In fact not only will they re elect the criminal duo, but also add more thieves like Waiguru (Kirinyaga GOV) and now probably Muraguri
Its important to remember that the biggest culprit is the stupidity of the masses aka ignorance
Respectfully;
I'd put this video up for RVPundit to have a suss.
Explains what's going on and why just replacing Uhuruto simply won't work.
-
Gumzo, Believe me, I am not naïve. I know how tribalism works in Kenya-however, I also know that you cannot give up on democracy no matter how long it takes. The 2nd liberation has come a long way but it has achieved a lot in a relatively very short time in historically context. Multi-party, Presidential term limits, CDF, not political detainees, free speech, devolution all codified in the new Katiba are huge achievements. The stealing of the 2007 and 2013 elections mask the successes of the progressive movement because of the obsession we have had with the presidency for 50 years as the source "real power"- but that is also shifting and people are starting to realize that the presidency does not have "real power" especially when it comes to matters that affect their lives in "real ways". Ouru's remarks about "tuna kula nyama", or his "my hands are tied" are examples of the fact that the presidency is not what its purported to be. The paradigm is therefore shifting underneath like the tectonic plates and sooner or later we will find ourselves staring at new sets of reality which are different from the conventional reality that politics is all tribal. Its already influencing the 2017 elections but I do not know how significantly. 2017 will not be anything like 2013 and 2022 will be very very different, almost as different as 2002 and 2007 were.
Respectfully;
-
Unhelpful defeatist cynical comments won't move this country.Engage your brains and suggest what can work all constraints considered.I am glad the Register of Companies has confirmed records can no longer disappear and we are dealing with real people..not shadowy figures registered abroad.I see lots of progress.Kenya is making progress..all the accused want due process..give them the chance.we have to keep moving forward..secure the bolts.We should never give up or think changing leadership nothing.This is an opportunity to move forward...find the loopholes and seal them.The time to vote will come but for now our focus should be identifying how we can improve gov tendering and procurement.T
-
The wananchi have very hard and thick skills, and it requires a lot of hard drilling to get to where the soft material is. In 53 years, that's happened only twice:
One was when Moi beat the crap out of people and really pooped and pissed on the heads ... for 24 years! It was then decided that there might be something to this thing called democracy and that it ought to be given a shot.
The other was when some guys started with the burning of women and children---in a church!---and before one could count to 10, others were contributing their bits mayhem, and the abyss beckoned. Time to pass a new constitution and re-organize things, it was decided.
In a "steady state", mwananchi admires the super-thief, envies him, and wishes to be in his place; is grateful when a few crumbs from the loot is thrown his way, in a little circus known as a "harambee"; and will object to any attempt at corrective actions, with loud howls of "money has been poured to finish our man!".
The mwananchi has come to believe that all that is required is to "get our man in" and then it will truly be "our turn to eat". That this never actually happens doesn't matter; faith and hope are go beyond mere reality. But it explains why, no matter what, people will never a more muscular approach to determining their fate (c.f Arab Spring, etc.).
Huge corruption scandal after huge corruption scandal, on a regular basis and with alarming frequency, but one will hear that things are getting better, Kenya is making progress, no one has ever fought corruption the way Uhuru has, just fix the computer system, ... There is only a one-word response for such a determined head-in-the-sand approach: ngai!
I note that some wag has just coined a very apt slogan for Kenya and Kenyans: Alooter Continua!
-
Shame shit every time, but this time it's not Waiguru. EACC goes in, that's the last you'll hear about it
-
Rules for Rulers video @ 9:38
Corruption is not some kind of petty crime but rather
a tool for power in democracies and dictatorships
-
Unhelpful defeatist cynical comments won't move this country.Engage your brains and suggest what can work all constraints considered.I am glad the Register of Companies has confirmed records can no longer disappear and we are dealing with real people..not shadowy figures registered abroad.I see lots of progress.Kenya is making progress..all the accused want due process..give them the chance.we have to keep moving forward..secure the bolts.We should never give up or think changing leadership nothing.This is an opportunity to move forward...find the loopholes and seal them.The time to vote will come but for now our focus should be identifying how we can improve gov tendering and procurement.T
I see you are still stuck on the how. Kenya's problem with corruption has never been mechanics. But rather why. If the why is not sorted out, no amount of padlocks at central bank will protect the loot.
Last I checked, there is a guy being paid big bucks in State House to engage his brain. He has thrown his hands up feigning helplessness. Direct your venom there.
-
so we want the return of moi or kagame or museveni or magufuli or worse salva or Ethiopia.I had rather pork who says he is helpless...and now tell him what he can do within the law.For instance let us pass a law disallowing close relatives from tendering..small step..of course they will circumvent through proxies..but we are aheard.I mean Bernie conned folks 50billion usd in new York...so this a never ending war..keep moving..never give up.
-
so we want the return of moi or kagame or museveni or magufuli or worse salva or Ethiopia.I had rather pork who says he is helpless...and now tell him what he can do within the law.
I have already given you an example above of where he had a brief moment of lucidity, probably at someone's suggestion and then promptly forgot about it. He could have followed through in numerous ways, under hs constitutional job-description that gives both obligations and control of most of the govenment.
Let me now give you another example:
Around the end of 2015, Uhuru was given a "Review of the Legal, Policy and Institutional Framework for Fighting Corruption in Kenya". The people who prepared the report include Att-G Muigai, DPP, DCI, Aud-G Ouko, COB, EACC types, NSIS, Procurement Authority types, and so on and so forth. All Kenyans, of course.
http://www.statelaw.go.ke/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/Republic-of-Kenya-Report-of-the-Task-Force-on-the-Review-of-the-Legal-Policy-and-Institutional-Framework-for-Fighting-Corruption-in-Kenya-2015.pdf
In that report, I refer you to Section 3.2, on the "role of the Presidency". In section 3.2.1, you will find a statement on securing the implementation---by ministries, departments, etc.---of certain things. (See my first point above.)
I also refer to to the recommendations given for the President (Section 3.2.2). The first item under the "general recommendations" is that he provide the requisite political will and leadership, and the most detailed of the "general recommendations" is that he learn from "the clean-government of the first Prime Minister of Singapore, Lew Kwan Yew".
The "specific recommendations" are more numerous and more detailed. They include such things as the sorts of enquiries and actions that could be taken independently of the EACC etc.
What happened about the report once Uhuru got it last year? I think that was the last we heard of it. Instead of Uhuru vigorously working on its recommendations, here he is giving us Wah! Wah! Aieee! Ngai! Nitafanya nini ?!?
That report is one place where Uhuru is free to start whenever he is ready. All within the law.
-
Uhuru would rather wanjiku keep crying about corruption because he knows she can do nothing
and can still be fooled and manipulated along tribal lines to re elect him and Ruto
Uhuru would rather protect the corrupt thieves because he knows any threat to them is also
a threat to his position as PORK and ultimately to the entire Jomo Kenyatta ill gotten wealth
if the corrupt thieves believed Uhuru is truly out to get them, Uhurus life would be in danger
So in conclusion,
Uhuru would rather have Wanjiku crying Rather then endanger his life
and the Jomo Kenyatta loot by taking serious actions against the corrupt thieves.
Respectfully;
-
Interesting. If we could only get the response from Uhuru on this. very solid report. This is where Dr Ndii and Githongo would have been helpful in the conference where Uhuru called all key guys for chat. I think Uhuru has shown the political will to nail corruption - he just need to focus on this.
I have already given you an example above of where he had a brief moment of lucidity, probably at someone's suggestion and then promptly forgot about it. He could have followed through in numerous ways, under hs constitutional job-description that gives both obligations and control of most of the govenment.
Let me now give you another example:
Around the end of 2015, Uhuru was given a "Review of the Legal, Policy and Institutional Framework for Fighting Corruption in Kenya". The people who prepared the report include Att-G Muigai, DPP, DCI, Aud-G Ouko, COB, EACC types, NSIS, Procurement Authority types, and so on and so forth. All Kenyans, of course.
http://www.statelaw.go.ke/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/Republic-of-Kenya-Report-of-the-Task-Force-on-the-Review-of-the-Legal-Policy-and-Institutional-Framework-for-Fighting-Corruption-in-Kenya-2015.pdf
In that report, I refer you to Section 3.2, on the "role of the Presidency". In section 3.2.1, you will find a statement on securing the implementation---by ministries, departments, etc.---of certain things. (See my first point above.)
I also refer to to the recommendations given for the President (Section 3.2.2). The first item under the "general recommendations" is that he provide the requisite political will and leadership, and the most detailed of the "general recommendations" is that he learn from "the clean-government of the first Prime Minister of Singapore, Lew Kwan Yew".
The "specific recommendations" are more numerous and more detailed. They include such things as the sorts of enquiries and actions that could be taken independently of the EACC etc.
What happened about the report once Uhuru got it last year? I think that was the last we heard of it. Instead of Uhuru vigorously working on its recommendations, here he is giving us Wah! Wah! Aieee! Ngai! Nitafanya nini ?!?
That report is one place where Uhuru is free to start whenever he is ready. All within the law.
-
Interesting. If we could only get the response from Uhuru on this. very solid report. This is where Dr Ndii and Githongo would have been helpful in the conference where Uhuru called all key guys for chat. I think Uhuru has shown the political will to nail corruption - he just need to focus on this.
What an utter fallacy!
Uhuru is in absolutely no way interested in reining down on corruption. For Uhuru to try and stop corruption would mean a quick and painful end to his presidency, which is 100% based on eating.
Backed by precedents firmly established by his father followed by Moi and Kibaki, what we can will expect, at the very most, from Uhuru is the demand to the perpetrators to "step aside" while the obligatory sham "investigations" are conducted. A couple of court appearances here, a couple of court appearances there. We know the playbook by heart.
To think otherwise is to think Uhuru is an idiot.
-
Everything starts with funds allocation, money can only be stolen if the ministry or institution has excess cash by either not spending on priorities or over-allocation of funds. To this end Uhuru was suppose to setup a budget office independent of treasury. That hasn't happened, and its Uhuru fault. When he prioritises he can fight corruption, case in point is the streamlining of the port where corruption has been greatly reduced.
Even more ridiculous uhuru sister company is part of special marginalised group because she's a woman http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Uhuru-sister-firm-listed-in-disadvantaged-group/1056-3434656-5st40t/index.html . This is why I hate affirmative action cause of how easy it is to abuse. Now we have road contractors who have no business being road contractors all because of this affirmative action. Doing shady job because their biggest qualification is they're either women,youth or disabled.
-
HK,
Yeah it all starts with suplimentary budget...meaning the stealing is planned long before the tenders are out.
-
A serious war on corruption will only begin post ouruto. Its up to Kenyans or fate when that will be. Either in 2017 or 2022 through elections or whenever through fate.
Everything starts with funds allocation, money can only be stolen if the ministry or institution has excess cash by either not spending on priorities or over-allocation of funds. To this end Uhuru was suppose to setup a budget office independent of treasury. That hasn't happened, and its Uhuru fault. When he prioritises he can fight corruption, case in point is the streamlining of the port where corruption has been greatly reduced.
Even more ridiculous uhuru sister company is part of special marginalised group because she's a woman http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Uhuru-sister-firm-listed-in-disadvantaged-group/1056-3434656-5st40t/index.html . This is why I hate affirmative action cause of how easy it is to abuse. Now we have road contractors who have no business being road contractors all because of this affirmative action. Doing shady job because their biggest qualification is they're either women,youth or disabled.
-
The CS and PS in Health have strongly defended the various companies---that they supplied the gods they were paid to supply. For example, Estama Investments has supposedly supplied, at great cost to Kenyans, a large number of mobile clinics. Months ago, we are told. Not a one has actually been delivered to any end-user---perhaps with good reason :D---but a few of these advanced mobile clinics have now been shown, for the benefit of Enquiring Minds:
(http://www.nation.co.ke/image/view/-/3436776/highRes/1477334/-/maxw/600/-/mfmiwrz/-/MOBILE+CLINIC.jpg)
No comment.
-
Now I know a new expression for mobile. Without wheels and static. We Kenyans are being taken for granted.
The CS and PS in Health have strongly defended the various companies---that they supplied the gods they were paid to supply. For example, Estama Investments has supposedly supplied, at great cost to Kenyans, a large number of mobile clinics. Months ago, we are told. Not a one has actually been delivered to any end-user---perhaps with good reason :D---but a few of these advanced mobile clinics have now been shown, for the benefit of Enquiring Minds:
No comment.
(http://img.youtube.com/vi/1wC2lXDTEpU/mqdefault.jpg)
-
Yeah doesn't make any sense if you consider this function was devolved. Mafyia crooks are shameless. If they wanted to do something - they would have re-painted KNH - which looks quite depressing - and is national function.We need to keep pressure until that crooked Ps Muraguru goes home and possibly jail together with the fellow crooks.
Now I know a new expression for mobile. Without wheels and static. We Kenyans are being taken for granted.
-
Yeah doesn't make any sense if you consider this function was devolved. Mafyia crooks are shameless. If they wanted to do something - they would have re-painted KNH - which looks quite depressing - and is national function.We need to keep pressure until that crooked Ps Muraguru goes home and possibly jail together with the fellow crooks.
:85:
-
Yeah doesn't make any sense if you consider this function was devolved. Mafyia crooks are shameless. If they wanted to do something - they would have re-painted KNH - which looks quite depressing - and is national function.We need to keep
I think they did a pretty good job repainting those shipping containers, don't you?
-
To the contrary, patronizing and attempting to shield a corrupt and inept leadership from total excoriation is what is unhelpful. Outing and criticizing them is part of the brainstorming you are referring to. If they should not be criticized at the moment when their hand is caught in the cookie jar, then when? Also, getting rid of them is as good a suggested solution as any to my mind. In fact, it's the precise sort of solution democracy suggests. I remember you used to called Uhuru 'screwball', but I see much has changed in a year. Must be the election fever kicking in.
-
To the contrary, patronizing and attempting to shield a corrupt and inept leadership from total excoriation is what is unhelpful. Outing and criticizing them is part of the brainstorming you are referring to. If they should not be criticized at the moment when their hand is caught in the cookie jar, then when? Also, getting rid of them is as good a suggested solution as any to my mind. In fact, it's the precise sort of solution democracy suggests. I remember you used to called Uhuru 'screwball', but I see much has changed in a year. Must be the election fever kicking in.
This!
Too bad most of us are wholly blind to any transgressions by our preferred candidates.
-
Amusing small development:
Nation Media company received Mafia House cash, CS Mucheru says in letter to Media Council (http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2016/11/02/nation-media-company-received-mafia-house-cash-cs-mucheru-says-in_c1448771)
ICT CS Joe Mucheru has torn into Nation Media Group over its reportage of the Sh5.3 billion HealthGate affair, saying a company it owns received Sh2.3 million.
Mucheru, in a complaint letter to Media Council of Kenya, said the leaked 'internal audit report' that the media house used for its expose mentioned the company known as Gazeti Limited.
He said Nation purposely failed to quote the company in the expose carried by the Business Daily.
“If Business Daily, and by extension NMG, believes the payment made to Gazeti Limited, which was also listed in the report, was proper and done within the course of doing regular business, why would they accuse everyone else listed in the same report as having engaged in theft or fraud?” he asked.
Mucheru further said it was wrong for the newspaper to carry the story based on a leaked interim audit report.
More: http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2016/11/02/nation-media-company-received-mafia-house-cash-cs-mucheru-says-in_c1448771
Late edit:
NMG's statement on its alleged ownership of Gazeti Limited (http://www.nation.co.ke/news/statement-on-nmg-alleged-ownership-of-gazeti-ltd/1056-3439042-w43o1h/index.html)
It has come to our attention that a company called Gazeti Ltd which allegedly received payment under the interim audit report from Afya House, has been linked to Nation Media Group as one of its associate companies. We wish to clarify that Gazeti Ltd or its associate entities is not and has never been part of the NMG subsidiaries. It is a contracted third party.
We wish to clarify that NMG has not received any cash payments under the interim audit report from Ministry of Health currently under discussion. Any payments that NMG may have received from the Ministry of Health were for services properly procured and invoiced. As a publicly listed company, all our associate companies are declared in our annual reports which is a public document and everyone is welcomed to confirm.
Game on.