Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: Globalcitizen12 on January 15, 2016, 06:54:58 PM
-
RiP our brave men and women.
-
9lifted from facebook
4 hrs ·
So a group of over 100 fighters from Wargadud camp plan an attack using vehicle borne IED and a heavily armed infantry. They split in two groups. One takes on the Somali National Army 600 metres away then when the AMISOM base nearby responds, the other group strikes. In the confusion, it is clear that this was a twin coordinated ambush. They capture some fleeing soldiers and ransack the military base of armory, APCs, and essential gear. Air rescue teams cannot be immediately deployed in the area due to the presence of active anti aircraft missiles in the area. Locals claim over 70 soldiers dead. It is a sad day for 76 KR armored response corps. RIP fallen soldiers.
But hard questions must be asked.
1) What is the current intelligence sharing system within AMISOM?
2) Following the attacks on the Burundi and Ugandan bases, what measures were put in place to secure KDF bases?
3) Is it viable to continue contributing troops when the hemorrhage is on a steep increase?
4) What is the present constitution of military advisors who are shaping the COIN strategy in Somalia? Are they simply dragging the stabilisation effort by limiting the sharing of intelligence gathering and coordination of special missions?
5) Could there be intentional bungling and insider support by sympathizers of Al Shabaab or those who profit from their attacks?
-
Looks like the army forgot that they are fighting and let their guard loose. So sad.
-
The Kenyan side does not seem to be very forthcoming with information on what happened. Al Kebab on the other hand has provided information that can readily be denied or confirmed. E.g., the claim that they have "confiscated"---yes, that's their word---28 of 31 vehicles they found in the camp, along with all arms and ammunition. Local residents have also been supplying the international media with all sorts of information.
Meanwhile Uhuru has made the sort of statement that is straight out of a movie (or borrowed without an appreciation of the context). For example, he has referred to the Al-Shabab types as "cowards" who will be defeated by "our gallant soldiers". By all accounts, including KDF's, there was nothing cowardly about the attack. Here is how the BBC puts it:
It says a lot for the insurgents to be daring enough to strike at the heart of an African Union base and engage troops in hours of combat.
According to KDF, there is as yet no concrete information on how many KDF soldiers died and their identities. But here is Uhuru:
“I take this opportunity to express mine and the country’s deepest sympathy to the families and loved ones of the fallen. I stand with you," he said in a statement.
“Our country stands with you. We deeply appreciate the sacrifices made by your loved ones in defence of our democracy, our peace and our security.”
In the present context, that's like a "to whom it may concern" letter that has a small water-mark labelled "presidential tear-drop". Totally clueless and insulting.
The latest in the Daily Nation tells us that:
In the counter-offensive, KDF carried out airstrikes at Al-Shabaab camps where the attack was planned, using helicopter gunships and fighter jets.
They supposedly managed to determine where the attacks were planned even as the fighting was still raging. So, apparently, there are these known camps where such attacks are planned, but nobody bothers about them until the attacks are carried out?
At some point the whole KDF mission in Somalia will have to be reconsidered, and it will have to include some things that manage to keep the "gallant soldiers" busy. E.g. charcoal and sugar. In the meantime, in doesn't help that the Kenyan Commander-In-Chief is busy dishing up random/thoughtless lines while the KDF goes into "denial" mode.
The loss of life is, of course, unfortunate. But it's an "essence" of armed conflict that involves willing and trained participants. Widows, children, and other loved ones of felled Al Shabab fighters are also shedding the same sort of tears as are being shed on the Kenyan side.
-
They were definitely caught napping. I would not be surprised to find that they were ill-equipped, with poor logistics etc. Waging war while corrupt is a recipe for disaster. KDF still fields fifth-hand weapons from towards the end of world war 2. With a huge budget to boot.
Kenya won't withdraw. The reasons mostly have to do with money. Money from side gigs in the lawless country. Money from "defense partners" which mostly goes unaccounted for; a look at the stomachs of the military bosses who can barely walk might provide some clues.
-
Agreed. Kenya is there for as long as Somalia has no govt. that's gonna be a while
-
KDF should be manning our borders instead of wasting time & lives in Somali.
-
Details are emerging
9+
Comment on Joseph Ogidi's post
Kefa K. Abong'o
The camp had 120 soldiers only 3 have been rescued but some are calling for help coz they are hiding in the forest. Most casualties were killed by the villagers. It's a case of late response from Our Airforce
Like1More · 1 hour ago
Kenn Sellasie I-rerih
wat? by villagers who sympathise wit alshabaab? kenya shud pull out now completly hakuna haja sasa..
LikeMore · 1 hour ago
Adda Ochieng
God help kenya
LikeMore · 1 hour ago
Heather Wa Njuguna
What?
LikeMore · 1 hour ago
Kefa K. Abong'o
KDF was attacked from 4:00AM a distress signal was received at 5:00AM following government beurocracy the first jet fighter was released from Nanyuki at 11:00 AM at that time alshabab had left with weapons and food
LikeMore · 1 hour ago
Justo Maina
But they weren't only Kenyan soldiers coz it's an amison camp
LikeMore · 1 hour ago
Kefa K. Abong'o
Justo Maina yes it was an amison camp but it had Kenyan soldiers only.The APC's that was used to attack was snatched from Burundi soldiers earlier on
LikeMore · 1 hour ago
Kenn Sellasie I-rerih
my quiz is..villagers walifanya nn to victims instead of rescuin them??!!
LikeMore · 1 hour ago
Justo Maina
Waaaaaah kweli hiyo vita ni ngumu and again they've snatched some more weapons from Kenya as well
LikeMore · 56 minutes ago
Kefa K. Abong'o
Kenn Sellasie I-rerih the villagers did not like camp so even those who had escaped with bullet wounds where killed by villagers. Villagers looted the camp after alshabab
LikeMore · 48 minutes ago
Kefa Mose
Laxity should be addressed once and for all.
LikeMore · 21 minutes ago
Write a reply...
-
Details are emerging
Kefa K. Abong'o
KDF was attacked from 4:00AM a distress signal was received at 5:00AM following government beurocracy the first jet fighter was released from Nanyuki at 11:00 AM at that time alshabab had left with weapons and food
That is why I am convinced Kenya should abandon all things war related until corruption is under control.
They allegedly received Ksh 68 billion for modernization from eurobond, if we are to believe that the treasury can know what the money was spent on. Additionally they have been getting a billion bucks a year for quite some time now. That's a lot by regional standards. Yet neighboring countries like Ethiopia and Ug can actually field superior weaponry.
Recalling last year's attack at Garissa University, Kenya does not even have a reliable transport capacity. They cannot quickly deploy, by plane or parachute, 100 soldiers into a battle zone. The reinforcements they are sending are by road, in dilapidated trucks and APCs(minus the A), through Al shabaab infested territory.
They get oodles of money every year, but there is nothing to show for it. There is a lot of I stand with KDF going about. But there is no better way to stand with them than opening up their expenditures to the public.
-
Do you know that the Kenya Police relies on the public to transport suspects?
Never had any adequate funding since independence. Even a motorbike!
These guys were sent into war empty handed, no support..no nothing!! While MPIGS steal from fake mileage.
-
Uhuru is busy drinking in mombasa
-
9+
Muthui Mkenya
8 hrs ·
SHOCKING: 103 KDF Soldiers KILLED and President Uhuru is STILL touring Coast Region….
Apparently the number of soldiers killed in Somalia as reported by Yassin Juma, a journalist who specialises on matters Horn of Africa, stands at #103.
Yet our President is still at Coast on Political expeditions. Mind you, The Commander in Chief Of the Armed Forces is to travel to Malindi soon to drum support for a JAP candidate in Malindi by Election amidst the KDF Massacre.
In other countries, even the loss of a single officer is a serious matter. Several presidents in the past have canceled trips or meetings just because a few officers or even civilians died in the hands of a terrorists to lead the country in mourning. I am still wondering why our case is different.
The president should stop what he is doing and lead Kenyans in national mourning of our gallant soldiers who died protecting us.
Political charm offensive missions can always wait.
?#?103IsNotJustANumber?
Comment
Lynnet Mutula and 47 others like this.
Bob Omulo
The Prince romped into office while accused of masterminding the massacre of hundreds of innocent civilians, a majority of them women and children. Since then he has never denied being responsible for the deaths, he has only obstinately argued he was defending "his people". So why are Kenyans now shocked that the man doesn't flinch at the news of death of hundreds of innocent Kenyans or even 100 soldiers? After all he was elected with blood on his hands and pride in the mayhem he had caused, having been rewarded for causing carnage, why should he suddenly develop a merciful heart now?
Like14Reply · More · 8 hours ago
Musamba Maluki
Every one is wondering we saw how how France president reacted after his country fall in darkness
Like3Reply · More · 8 hours ago
Joseph Okemba
The president is enjoying his term in office and doesn't care about who is murdered where and why. He is a cool orezo who would rather launch street lights in far away counties instead of facing the monster in the room( alshabaab). This guy should simply resign instead of chest thumping as they consume Eurobond proseeds.
Like5Reply · More · 7 hours ago
Crispin Okumu
A failed leader.
Like2Reply · More · 7 hours ago
Wanjala Wekesa Sibia
sina kusema, hasira tu-- kwani huyu jamaa
Like1Reply · More · 7 hours ago
Imelda Binti Wa Estimoah
This is the right time he adorned the CIC regalia and led from the front.... What a joke of a president
Like7Reply · More · 7 hours ago
1 reply
Joshua Khaemba
Such is still a president who wants to be trusted with another 5 years!
It is very parthetic!
K.f. Oluoch
He should go to Somalia
K.f. Oluoch
Why kenyans
LikeReply · More · 7 hours ago
Sarah Sam
Kdf went to somali while kibaki was in power we never experienced these merciless killing all the tym,, something is wrong,,uhunye appoints big positions to safeguard his interests not wat they cn offer to kenyans
Musamba Maluki
I wonder wether those died are all frpm cords regions or are kenyans this kind of events is not fr minister but head of state to take in charge
Japheth Ford Kataka
This is why yhe law is sometimes very unfair. Ihuru should have parked long since
Valentine M Mutunga
Uhuru is heartless.i feel for the 103 bereaved families.please God for your kindness 2017 is here give us a president tuko peke yetu kenya.
Alexina Mudi
In all manner this is begging for a concern, what a world in kenya only!
Ach'ie Vivian
I gues Luos&Luhyas are the ones being sacrificed to reduce the voters turn up / 2017, bt do we say?
Zachary Karafuu Son
huko si Kenya ama mnataka vipi
Lydia Bob Lydianyakundi
Lord of mercy help our motherland kenya
Khasandi Phyllice
The CIC is leading the "ondoa billboards za Raila" campaigns. After that he will install some street lights. Guess to him, that's more important.
Maryangela Kamene Kimwele
2017.ndukatume
1 reply
Starlon Kiptum
2017 Uhuruto out RAILA IN.
Like6Reply · More · 7 hours ago
Ludovick Ogude VII
Powder eroded everything in that guys skull
Willard Wechuli
we must use all means to remove kamwana frm the office.huyu mtu ni bure kabisa
Susan Wambugu
U pple unless u loser ur beloved one u can know how pain it is, so stop discuss about prezzo n pray those r mourning to have courage n strength. Prezzo has reason n nt must to show everyone how he is mourning Infact you r one doing politics ,just do ur part n don't look other, God is watching
LikeReply · More · 6 hours ago
1 reply
Peter Wangira
Have you ever attended those people's funerals? You'll mistake it to a wedding photo session.
Like1Reply · More · 6 hours ago
Tenai Sam
Hii ni shida tupu!!
LikeReply · More · 6 hours ago
Isaya Raila Lwechungura
Kenya is currently running on 'autopilot mode' of political leadetship. In Jubilee camp, anybody is a president in-turns. As long as you flash a smile at Uhuru and he does the same back, that alone is more than enough to make any person in the street to usurpe his presidencial powers on anything anywhere. Sure, it is most disappointing that Kenyatta is pre-occupied with SECURING SECOND TERM than really working any harder in the existing one. Did you say 103 soldiers dead and this guy still holed in Mombasa? For that reason alone of playing around with the invaluable lives of soldiers who have put their lives on the lines for peace, freedom and economic prosperity to come a full-circle, this political lame-duck is going nowhere I can assure you!
Edited · Like1Reply · More · 6 hours ago
Emma Gladys Katana
He was in malindi today fundraising for a church as his convoy approached the venue, the only chants heard were "ODM, ODM, ODM,..... Watu wa malindi jamani...!
Like2Reply · More · 5 hours ago
Lucas Odhiambo
Hajali
LikeReply · More · 5 hours ago
Thomas Ondari Asiba
Tell him
LikeReply · More · 5 hours ago
Chege Gerald
Yaaaaawn
LikeReply · More · 4 hours ago
Write a comment...
SAD!!!
Really sad!!!
-
I just saw pictures of the scene released by Al-shabab. This was slaughter on an epic scale. Suguta was a cakewalk. Someone just cut corners, dumped those fresh recruits on the frontline and took his money. They get money for special training before being deployed; my hunch is this money is now finding better uses.
-
Mwathethe does not know of any POWs; even if any casual observer can see them in Alshabab's pictures. But he knows they killed the Alshabab commander of the attack. I have read elsewhere that he also knows that the bombs used by alshabab were 3 times as powerful as the 1998 embassy bombs in Nairobi.
If they can lie about things that can easily be observed, what else are they lying about?
-
tragic but very few care ...it is accept and move on
I just saw pictures of the scene released by Al-shabab. This was slaughter on an epic scale. Suguta was a cakewalk. Someone just cut corners, dumped those fresh recruits on the frontline and took his money. They get money for special training before being deployed; my hunch is this money is now finding better uses.
-
So how many soldiers died and how many are pows? Kdf and uhuru regime needs to answer these questions
-
So how many soldiers died and how many are pows? Kdf and uhuru regime needs to answer these questions
I think between 60 and 80 dead. I saw two POWs, one of them badly injured. Rather than answer the questions, they should withdraw from Somalia.
The level of integrity required to conduct a "clean" campaign with accountability for kurutus' lives is non-existent in Kenya. What I suspect is that KDF are now cannon fodder for sale and have been that way since joining AMISOM.
-
I am glad you've come around to appreciate we just can't hack it in Somalia....we are just a militia army for Prof Madobe in Kismayu.
I think between 60 and 80 dead. I saw two POWs, one of them badly injured. Rather than answer the questions, they should withdraw from Somalia.
The level of integrity required to conduct a "clean" campaign with accountability for kurutus' lives is non-existent in Kenya. What I suspect is that KDF are now cannon fodder for sale and have been that way since joining AMISOM.
-
I am glad you've come around to appreciate we just can't hack it in Somalia....we are just a militia army for Prof Madobe in Kismayu.
They are caught between a rock and a hard place. The big-wigs in Nairobi are enjoying AMISOM and anti-terror money. Madobe and Kismayo based Kenyan generals likely get to participate in charcoal deals.
The kurutus are sitting ducks; they die and there is more on the way; as long as Uncle Sam is paying. They are fed on patriotism and an AMISOM stipend that is probably partly eaten from above.
None of the KDF frontline warriors are from a wealthy or even well off background, even though such people are in KDF.
Kenya should have distanced itself from the US terror war and made the intervention only about security. They should be able to talk to Alshabab.
-
We need to do two things. Get a country willing to replace kenya in those sectors...and we can remain say 50Km radius into somali..if we want to eat AMISOM money. My friend told me they are paid 150k (he is private) per month for Somali mission..which is good money for those kurutus.
They are caught between a rock and a hard place. The big-wigs in Nairobi are enjoying AMISOM and anti-terror money. Madobe and Kismayo based Kenyan generals likely get to participate in charcoal deals.
The kurutus are sitting ducks; they die and there is more on the way; as long as Uncle Sam is paying. They are fed on patriotism and an AMISOM stipend that is probably partly eaten from above.
None of the KDF frontline warriors are from a wealthy or even well off background, even though such people are in KDF.
Kenya should have distanced itself from the US terror war and made the intervention only about security. They should be able to talk to Alshabab.
-
two 'memorials' with no bodies yet.... not a humane way to treat the soldiers and their families
-
Ethiopia have shown the apetite for this war..they just replaced the departing Siera Leone in Kismayu..kenya should let Ethiopians deal with Somalis..they know somali better than us. Let Prof Madobe gov in Kismayu collapse and give it to the Ethiopians.
We should retreat to our borders...and deal with Alshabaab coming in.
-
Good money but not sure how much it's worth for those in heaven or hell.
Time Kenya retreated from Somalia. There will never be peace in that country and kenya should stop playing prefect there. It's an illusion about peace making in Somalia. Only Somalians can do it themselves. The US failed, KDF will fail and AMISON will fail also.
We need to do two things. Get a country willing to replace kenya in those sectors...and we can remain say 50Km radius into somali..if we want to eat AMISOM money. My friend told me they are paid 150k (he is private) per month for Somali mission..which is good money for those kurutus.
-
I think Al Shabaab can't last long in Somali. It should be allowed to overrun that spineless foreign supported TFG led by academics. In a few months the Somalis will be up in arms against the beheading and will come up with a sustainable organic solution. Likes of IS can't govern - they are all about beheadings.