Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: gout on May 25, 2015, 11:42:54 AM
-
Does he understand what he is up to? is he just naive??
Have they started giving this wariah CIA security or the thugs have found easy to bribe guys in Tobiko and his office
http://www.eacc.go.ke/WHATSNEW.ASP?ID=425&day=1/29/201
Can we start a countdown to his downfall? should he avoid the media?? Is he up to the task?
-
They are doing really great. If Uhuru can sustain this fight and he has all the reason to do so; we can turn the page slowly against high level graft. I think they've done a decent job. 189 officials suspended and under investigation.
If they go the whole hog; they will embolden more whistle blowers to come forward and report corruption.
So far so goods. At least Uhuru and EACC are starting to address on of our serious challenge. CORRUPTION.
-
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Two-Cabinet-ministers-to-face-abuse-of-office-charges/-/539546/2728874/-/12s1ay4/-/index.html
-
I do hope Uhuru will appoint a mzungu either from kenya or commonwealth as chairman of EACC. Somebody truly incorruptible.
-
As long as the big ones of Anglo leasing and Goldenberg remain untouched, let alone jailed and locked up, I remain skeptical. Too many vested interests among the current protagonists for it to be anything more than a charade.
-
As long as the big ones of Anglo leasing and Goldenberg remain untouched, let alone jailed and locked up, I remain skeptical. Too many vested interests among the current protagonists for it to be anything more than a charade.
All that has happened is that list of names has been handed out, and there has been a lot of subsequent noise. So far there are no "results", nor will there be any. That is "standard" practice. One only need count the number of past corruption cases that have gone anywhere, regardless of all the noise.
Kenyans should get excited only when there are trials and people go to jail. That's not going to happen to anyone "big" and especially not the people behind Anglo Leasing, Goldenburg, etc.
The will to tackle corruption just doesn't exist in Kenya, and it will not change as long integrity and character are not included in the criteria for leadership and for its part the public thinks highly of even ill-gotten wealth. Kenya is largely a country led by thieves (and other criminals) and populated with aspiring thieves.
-
All that has happened is that list of names has been handed out, and there has been a lot of subsequent noise. So far there are no "results", nor will there be any. That is "standard" practice. One only need count the number of past corruption cases that have gone anywhere, regardless of all the noise.
Kenyans should get excited only when there are trials and people go to jail. That's not going to happen to anyone "big" and especially not the people behind Anglo Leasing, Goldenburg, etc.
The will to tackle corruption just doesn't exist in Kenya, and it will not change as long integrity and character are not included in the criteria for leadership and for its part the public thinks highly of even ill-gotten wealth. Kenya is largely a country led by thieves (and other criminals) and populated with aspiring thieves.
In fact it would seem that the institutions that have been created to deal with corruption are now used to sanitize and give a clean bill of health to the crooks. They have become just another tool in the political arsenal of those in power.
I have lately lost track of where the chicken-gate investigation is at. It is such a low hanging fruit, it is mind-boggling some people are not already in jail.
-
In fact it would seem that the institutions that have been created to deal with corruption are now used to sanitize and give a clean bill of health to the crooks.
It's cheeky, but, given the way things work in Kenya, one has to admit that it's a neat little trick. And the mess at the top of the EACC is also very timely: it will be very handy for any lawyer faced with clear evidence that his/her client did it.
I have lately lost track of where the chicken-gate investigation is at. It is such a low hanging fruit, it is mind-boggling some people are not already in jail.
Which one is that? If it's the elections thing, you must be the only one who remembers it. Most of us accepted and moved on to await the new, weekly eating story. Besides, who's going to squeeze folks like those? They know things they might talk about if it comes to the worst.
-
procurement reforms; Uhuru seem to be finally on the right track;
http://standardmedia.co.ke/article/2000163495/uhuru-begins-process-to-lay-off-lazy-pss
-
That too cynical. Any effort against graft in kenya however minimal should be praised. Uhuru has suspended 185 officials including several ministers and PS. That in my view is huge and unprecedented in all the 4 regimes we've had.
If he sustains this...then more and more folks will be embolden to come out and report graft. The ball is squarely on EACC, DPP and Judiciary.
Uhuru I doubt has any need to steal and doesn't seem embolden to any politician (san Ruto); so we can say Uhuru will act tough on graft except where WSR is directly involved;
Uhuru has also gotten rid of the dead woods at EACC (Mumo,Keino, Asanyo] and one can hope he'll replace them with folks really committed to fighting graft; his bring back of someone like Leakey to KWS gives me hope.
All we need is a Leakey at EACC and DPP...and all these nonsense get sorted out.
-
And Uhuru suspends 288B worth of tenders for floating rules
http://www.nation.co.ke/news/politics/Uhuru-Kenyatta-E-Procurement-System-Tenders/-/1064/2729518/-/2o3gmfz/-/index.html
-
Why have you left out SGR. Guys pocketed nearly 40B Ksh or is that peanuts?
-
Stop being naive. It is as if presidential campaign costs him nothing. His family and his business associates invested billions. They want their returns back with interest and also need war chest for 2017.
That too cynical. Any effort against graft in kenya however minimal should be praised. Uhuru has suspended 185 officials including several ministers and PS. That in my view is huge and unprecedented in all the 4 regimes we've had.
If he sustains this...then more and more folks will be embolden to come out and report graft. The ball is squarely on EACC, DPP and Judiciary.
Uhuru I doubt has any need to steal and doesn't seem embolden to any politician (san Ruto); so we can say Uhuru will act tough on graft except where WSR is directly involved;
Uhuru has also gotten rid of the dead woods at EACC (Mumo,Keino, Asanyo] and one can hope he'll replace them with folks really committed to fighting graft; his bring back of someone like Leakey to KWS gives me hope.
All we need is a Leakey at EACC and DPP...and all these nonsense get sorted out.
-
Maybe I should stop being hopeful.Uhuru has shown some belatedly resolve to fight graft. As far as I know Radisson Kamau of SGR is in the ropes. And so are AngoLeasing Kimanis. Uhuru has suspended 183 officials and that surely deserve some praises. The cases are moving to court. There has been no attempt to shield any sacred cow.
Uhuru has to do a lot more ..but I like what am seeing.
I'm not expecting diehard CORD folks like you to see any positive in this regime...but I remain ever objective...and will criticize when there is need and praise when it's praiseworthy.
Uhuru is on the right track...better late than never.
Stop being naive. It is as if presidential campaign costs him nothing. His family and his business associates invested billions. They want their returns back with interest and also need war chest for 2017.
-
The bitter truth is Radisson Kamau did pocket the SGR loot but he was a minority shareholder. Major shareholders were Jimmy Wanjigi alias James Bond and one Uhuru Kenyatta.
Maybe I should stop being hopeful.Uhuru has shown some belatedly resolve to fight graft. As far as I know Radisson Kamau of SGR is in the ropes. And so are AngoLeasing Kimanis. Uhuru has suspended 183 officials and that surely deserve some praises. The cases are moving to court. There has been no attempt to shield any sacred cow.
Uhuru has to do a lot more ..but I like what am seeing.
I'm not expecting diehard CORD folks like you to see any positive in this regime...but I remain ever objective...and will criticize when there is need and praise when it's praiseworthy.
Uhuru is on the right track...better late than never.
-
I agree that it would be commendable. If there is in fact such an effort. Given Kenya's history, it's premature to assume that this is the case.
It might just as well be an effort to sanitize and protect the same rot. One might notice something different if kamwana fires Kamau for instance. But even that has to be looked at in the context of "sacrificing" a pawn to protect the whole.
Remember Biwott and Oyugi were once "arrested" for Ouko's murder. Kamwana spends a lot of time sitting at nyayo's knee.
-
The 185 was a fair list and Uhuru didn't have any sacred cows. Whoever was mentioned including Ruto's own Chief of Staff is home; Ngilu (despite the political undercurrents),Kimemia, Kamau and name.
This is good step forward.
The next step is to really appoint a serious (again preferably mzungu) anti-craft czar in the mould of Leakey or someone that cannot be intimidated or give in to tribal or political pressure.
Once that is done...i think more and more people will step forward to report craft...
As of now...folks have given up whistle blowing about graft..it become part of our life..and that is worse than even in 90s.
I doubt Uhuru is motivated to be PORK for corruption sake (unlike Ruto)...and I'm hopefully that if he deals with his lethargy...he can deal with graft. The man doesn't have to steal to win any election. His parents has stolen enough for many many generations.
Heck they financed him in 02 and 13.
I agree that it would be commendable. If there is in fact such an effort. Given Kenya's history, it's premature to assume that this is the case.
It might just as well be an effort to sanitize and protect the same rot. One might notice something different if kamwana fires Kamau for instance. But even that has to be looked at in the context of "sacrificing" a pawn to protect the whole.
Remember Biwott and Oyugi were once "arrested" for Ouko's murder. Kamwana spends a lot of time sitting at nyayo's knee.
-
I doubt Uhuru is motivated to be PORK for corruption sake (unlike Ruto)...and I'm hopefully that if he deals with his lethargy...he can deal with graft. The man doesn't have to steal to win any election. His parents has stolen enough for many many generations.
I too doubt that he is. The question is whether or not he is really independent of those who are inclined to the vice. "Our people" mentality is very strong in Kenya, and at the end of the day I don't see him having his "our people" suffer or "interfering" with other people who know things (ICC, Chicken-Gate, etc.) or who might influence votes in certain areas. A really serious person would have had more sense than to offer Okemo a cushy job.
Remember that the guy once got up in public and stated that the head of the corruption snake was in his own office. And then?
-
If I pocket 300million and get suspended i will laugh all the way to t the bank!!
Hoever, If I get charged and go to jail for 5yrs am still good.
If I go to jail for 7, then I will shiver.
-
I don't see kamwana as immune from the culture he was raised in. Like Parkerpen says, if the worst that can happen is being named and shamed or suspended or brought before a malleable court after pocketing wanjiku's millions, that is ridiculous. I think we wait and see whether this one does not fizzle out after the PR purposes are achieved.
-
Yes it a waiting game. Of course the best anti-corruption measures are those geared at putting controls and measures to actually prevent corruption from happening.. like the breaks applied to the laptop project..that was inflated by 2 or 10b. And Uhuru by enforcing computerization..thro IFMIS...means all tenders will now be on the systems..and there is more accountability there. There a lot more that can be done to improve the tender appeal process. The so called IPOA or public procurement appeals board...seem to do an haphazard job.
The punishment part...i think we have all the laws..including those that allow gov to seize proceed from corruptions and illegal activities..
They just need to apply. Uhuru job as far as fighting graft in my view is to just set the ball rolling by demonstrating he has zero tolerance against graft. This wil embolden whistle blowers and institutions charged with the task to do their job.
So far he has done his job..just make it a rule..whoever is mentioned by EACC goes home....now he needs to complete it by hiring a good EACC leadership...and for me he will have done his part in the fight.
Then my last problem with him will only be INSECURITY. Otherwise kenya is marwa.
I don't see kamwana as immune from the culture he was raised in. Like Parkerpen says, if the worst that can happen is being named and shamed or suspended or brought before a malleable court after pocketing wanjiku's millions, that is ridiculous. I think we wait and see whether this one does not fizzle out after the PR purposes are achieved.
-
One by one they are cleared http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2000163166/director-of-public-prosecution-keriako-tobiko-clears-siaya-senator-james-orengo-former-secretary-to-the-cabinet-francis-kimemia-of-corruption-allegations (http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2000163166/director-of-public-prosecution-keriako-tobiko-clears-siaya-senator-james-orengo-former-secretary-to-the-cabinet-francis-kimemia-of-corruption-allegations). No evidence of corruption. Files closing.
-
One by one they are cleared http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2000163166/director-of-public-prosecution-keriako-tobiko-clears-siaya-senator-james-orengo-former-secretary-to-the-cabinet-francis-kimemia-of-corruption-allegations (http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2000163166/director-of-public-prosecution-keriako-tobiko-clears-siaya-senator-james-orengo-former-secretary-to-the-cabinet-francis-kimemia-of-corruption-allegations). No evidence of corruption. Files closing.
Linked to stolen billions, the money unrecovered and already forgotten in the midst of the little circus, and now cleared. Safi kama pamba.
A person like Kimemia came into that list already "pre-cleared". Uhuru knows just how far he can joke around with guys like that---to the same extent that the Total Man was willing to indulge Moi in a bit of foolery and side-shows for the public.
People like Orengo were, of course, necessary to have some "smoke" for "balance". Now, its CORD-1, JAP-1. Who's going to complain? And the celebrations of "our man" getting cleared will detract from the real question: "who stole or was behind the theft of this public land, public money, or whatever".
There are people like Kamau who still supposedly have "problems". I'll take 5-to-1 wagers against anybody who believes that Kamau has any real problems. I give those odds on the basis of a consideration of (a) whether he could have eaten that much in such a project without some serious people behind him, and (b) far from quietly disappearing, a guy like Pattni has recently been suing and apparently winning money from GoK. (Looks like he had a "recovery" plan when he handed over that hotel.)
Those who are praising Uhuru for his "bold action" should consider a few things:
* giving what is supposedly an independent agency a short period in which to "clear" or whatever;
* the leadership of said agency collapsing at this supposedly very critical time.
-
this halakhe waqo guys seems to got balls or he is really indepndent ....his cv shows he is not worried about losing the job ....
his insistence that DPP office has not cleared anybody and that it shouldreturn the files with recommendations on how to make the charges watertight shows he understands his job...he is not dramatic thus not attracting unnecessary vibes
Tobiko or his guys seem to be taking bribes to 'cleanse' some of these files
Next step Uhuru takes now that 60 days are over will be telling on political will to protect little public funds
Does the mean upringing of Uhuru by Mama Ngina determine his affinity for corrupt deals?
-
this halakhe waqo guys seems to got balls or he is really indepndent ....his cv shows he is not worried about losing the job ....
his insistence that DPP office has not cleared anybody and that it shouldreturn the files with recommendations on how to make the charges watertight shows he understands his job...he is not dramatic thus not attracting unnecessary vibes
Tobiko or his guys seem to be taking bribes to 'cleanse' some of these files
Next step Uhuru takes now that 60 days are over will be telling on political will to protect little public funds
Does the mean upringing of Uhuru by Mama Ngina determine his affinity for corrupt deals?
The pushback is commendable. However he should go one step further and tell Kenyanss what they(EACC) have done and unearthed, and why they believe these are the culprits.
They can't just sit and wait for witnesses and whistleblowers. I am not saying they do that, but I would not be surprised. Otherwise Tobiko will eat his chicken and ignore him.
-
Some progress from KMC
http://www.nation.co.ke/news/KMC-boss-Ibrahim-Haji-Issak-graft-list-court/-/1056/2732118/-/qlm9bhz/-/index.html
-
Some progress from KMC
http://www.nation.co.ke/news/KMC-boss-Ibrahim-Haji-Issak-graft-list-court/-/1056/2732118/-/qlm9bhz/-/index.html
Tobiko goes after small fish after "clearing" the big fish and falsely claiming that they were cleared by EACC. Why would EACC send a recommendation to clear toTobiko?
-
Tobiko clears Kambi and nails Raddisson Blue kamau. That good news considering Kamau has been eat from chinese for nearly 10yrs now.He can concentrate on running his business.
http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Kambi-let-off-the-hook/-/1056/2732636/-/emtd0e/-/index.html
-
Big fish Raddison Blue Kamau to be charged.
EACC should go beyond charging these guys and reposses proceeds from crimes like this hotel that likes of CS have over the year scam from contracts in road ministry.
(http://www.radissonblu.com/images/hotel-nairobi/1369350364433.jpg)
http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Suspended-CS-Michael-Kamau-summoned-to-court-to-face-charges/-/1056/2737326/-/vac939z/-/index.html
-
Transport & Infrastructure secretary Michael Kamau is the chairman of the Elgon Road Developments board. That owns this hotel set to open this month. This is proceeds most likely from chinese and other tenders that Engineer Kamau has engineered during his long tenure at road ministry.
(http://i.imgur.com/jhe8RHT.jpg)
(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8641/15867859200_4bb8d898a4_b.jpg)
-
Kamau is in good company. He will soon be a free man although without new income :D :D
As Moon ki emntioned here Kamau stole with others much senior to him. Alone with SGR he has made the current leadership billionaires with enough war chest for 2017. He need not worry as they cannot afford to nail him without nailing themselves.
Transport & Infrastructure secretary Michael Kamau is the chairman of the Elgon Road Developments board. That owns this hotel set to open this month. This is proceeds most likely from chinese and other tenders that Engineer Kamau has engineered during his long tenure at road ministry.
-
That is probably true. I guess we can only celebrate that he is probably never coming back to cabinet...to steal some more..and we will get a new thief.
Kamau is in good company. He will soon be a free man although without new income :D :D
As Moon ki emntioned here Kamau stole with others much senior to him. Alone with SGR he has made the current leadership billionaires with enough war chest for 2017. He need not worry as they cannot afford to nail him without nailing themselves.
-
He most definitely will walk. With his proceeds intact. With people like Okemo sitting pretty even as speeches are made against the vice, there clearly is no will to sort the corruption in Kenya. The kind of charade that by now nobody should fall for.
-
The rot of corruption in Kenya has set in to such an extent that really tackling it will require a national leader that is not beholden to the usual "mafias". But the maths of tribe-based elections mean that it is unlikely that such a leader will appear in Kenya in, say, the next 50 years. So the sort of top-down leadership that one would normally expect in such cases is out of the question for quite a long time.
As things stand, devolution offers the best chance, given that people get to see the eaters right there, on their doorsteps, and will, one hopes, get more worked up and demand changes. Nevertheless, even devolution will take a long time to work because at the first cut, corruption itself gets devolved and the tribal maths gets devolved into clan (or sub-tribe) maths. Kisumu County is an instructive example here.
Kenyans should simply resign themselves to their country becoming another Nigeria and worse. The only hope one can see on the horizon is that the populace will evolve to the point where character and integrity are considered when choosing leaders, the biggest thieves are not the most admired people, etc.
-
Windy, why only mention Okemo who is small fish in comparison to companion in crime former Kenya Power boss Samuel Gichuru.
He most definitely will walk. With his proceeds intact. With people like Okemo sitting pretty even as speeches are made against the vice, there clearly is no will to sort the corruption in Kenya. The kind of charade that by now nobody should fall for.
-
Windy, why only mention Okemo who is small fish in comparison to companion in crime former Kenya Power boss Samuel Gichuru.
Because Okemo was recently given a cushy job by kamwana before he embarked on his phony crusade against the vice.
-
whose goat has Kamau eaten??..kwani alikataa kushare loot as agreed ...anawakulei madons ama?
-
How about he became reckless...and started leaving his footprints and fingerprints all over the crime scene like that tiny road in Kitale.That normally is called the proverbial 40 days of a thief. I hope he get nabbed for SGR sub-contracts. That would be one less thief to worry about.
whose goat has Kamau eaten??..kwani alikataa kushare loot as agreed ...anawakulei madons ama?
-
Kamau is guilty of eating with his mouth open. Like a caveman.
The President seems to be seems to be super agitated about corruption. Why can't he fire him?
-
The light bulb goes on:
President Uhuru Kenyatta’s announcement in his State of the Nation address that he would suspend five ministers and a host of senior public officials over suspicions of involvement in corruption was greeted with understandable acclaim by Kenyans.
Two months on, it has emerged that only one minister and a few officials will face court out of the numerous investigation files opened. This is a profoundly disturbing development.
http://www.nation.co.ke/oped/Editorial/Public-goodwill-for-graft-war-has-been-squandered/-/440804/2742696/-/irhnxgz/-/index.html
-
Looks EACC is kaput with draft bill clauses to effect that once proposed ammendment bill Halakhe Waqo and his deputy will be gone being processed chap chap ........ secretariat gone..commissioners gone....
-
Halakhe forgot the old lesson of being sent to fire your colleagues. The moment you come back and announce its over, you get your own dismissal.
-
I agree with MPs on starting afresh. Mubea especially had lots of skeleton and the secretariat & commission have been fighting. This shouldn't affect what is going on now.
-
I agree with MPs on starting afresh. Mubea especially had lots of skeleton and the secretariat & commission have been fighting. This shouldn't affect what is going on now.
I disagree with you. Its the same scenario we've seen since the body's creation. We never gotten anything for our money. And we keep accepting it over and over. No serious investigation has ever gone thru. They start it, then hullabaloo, then the body changes, and VOILA, investigation is never heard of again.
-
To make it worse, no serious hearing ever takes. The pigs vote and we accept it. What a crappy system.
anybody ever watch the movie Groundhog Day??
-
Well, it doesn't have to end that way. But this EACC has been underwhelming in all ways. If we are serious we need to put mzungu there. I am glad Mumia sugar has put a mzungu to fix things. Somebody who is beyond tribalism and corruption.
I disagree with you. Its the same scenario we've seen since the body's creation. We never gotten anything for our money. And we keep accepting it over and over. No serious investigation has ever gone thru. They start it, then hullabaloo, then the body changes, and VOILA, investigation is never heard of again.
-
Anything that works is OK.
Well, it doesn't have to end that way. But this EACC has been underwhelming in all ways. If we are serious we need to put mzungu there. I am glad Mumia sugar has put a mzungu to fix things. Somebody who is beyond tribalism and corruption.
-
There is little reason to shed tears over the demise of this useless money-pit. And the quality of its leaders seems to be going down: PLO at least taught Kenyans some fancy words (in Kiswahili and English) as well as the finer points of speech-making (or running one's mouth, depending on the view).
If it continues to exist, then its leaders should consider the wisdom of exciting the public with half-done investigations that then get nipped in the bud. Consider something like this: the EACC does a complete and thorough investigation of some big-wig; but instead of rushing to Tobiko, Uhuru, etc., it leaks (via the media etc.) the full report to the public. Such a scenario would make it more difficult to mess with things, "clear" people, etc.
-
Wont happen.
In a normal case, the suspect doesn't even know they are being investigated, but in Kenya the investigators sleep with everyone so the case is compromised before it even begins. So they bring a case to court which they know is useless.
It happens over and over again and again....
Groundhog Day
There is little reason to shed tears over the demise of this useless money-pit. And the quality of its leaders seems to be going down: PLO at least taught Kenyans some fancy words (in Kiswahili and English) as well as the finer points of speech-making (or running one's mouth, depending on the view).
If it continues to exist, then its leaders should consider the wisdom of exciting the public with half-done investigations that then get nipped in the bud. Consider something like this: the EACC does a complete and thorough investigation of some big-wig; but instead of rushing to Tobiko, Uhuru, etc., it leaks (via the media etc.) the full report to the public. Such a scenario would make it more difficult to mess with things, "clear" people, etc.
-
Wont happen.
In a normal case, the suspect doesn't even know they are being investigated, but in Kenya the investigators sleep with everyone so the case is compromised before it even begins. So they bring a case to court which they know is useless.
It happens over and over again and again....
Groundhog Day
Interesting insight. Instead we have EACC handing over lists to kamwana, himself a potential accessory to these crimes.
MOON Ki is right there is nothing to mourn about EACC. I rather they abolish the whole enterprise.
When Kenya is ready to fight corruption, it can be done with the institutions already in place.
-
Did Uhuru and his advisors hand MPs a blackmail tool in this vetting?
https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2000173637/eacc-bosses-get-one-more-year-pending-vetting
No way we are going to fight corruption even with war ...only way out is expand economic opportunities
-
Waqo, Mubea and crew roll on ..... you have to give it to them with the organisational politics ....survivors or they have have serious godfathers