Beautiful read.
People who didnt know Ruto always dismiss him but once they know Ruto - they know he isnt your usual politician type.
Initially I use to dismiss him as KANU hawk.
But I noticed - he had knack to sell even skunk KANU.
I was Kibaki guy until 2005 when I decided let me go tribal - because kibaki went tribal and made us look like fools who had supported him.
Anyway gave Ruto and Raila online support towards 2007.
My father had no time for Ruto - he use to switch TV btw 2005-2008 if he appeared or Raila.
He was Kibaki guy - he had total contempt for anything ODM - KANU or Luos.
But One day in 2008 or 2009 - they went to see Ruto over tea hawking mess in RV.
My father and others want to sell tea to multinational for better price.
They were given 6am appointment - Ruto was there - he listened - he made phone call to KTDA MD.
Have you read the Tea Act - Yes Minister - Okay stop that nonsense.
And it was done.
My father and others made money.
People in my village started driving cars!
My father was sold.
My uncle (my father bro) went to see him 3 times over KFA loan.
Ruto had reserved wednesday mornings for anyone with issue in his Kilimo house.
He gave him 3 reprieve - he'd call KFA and tell them give him time.
That uncle was an idiot never paid - eventually to spare him shame - my father forced my sister to buy his land
He has taken my sis to court for decade plus now.
One thing you will read about Ruto it the same - He is Mzungu in African body
He works hards, He listens, He keep committments, he keeps time, he see you when he gives you appointment, he follow ups, he get it done.
Unfortunately because he is misnomer he suffered greatly from PROPAGANDA
From EVY, From Jealousy, From Green Eyed Monster.
Now he is unstoppable. World already noticed. He is top Africa leader getting invites.
No more Envy. No more Jealous will stop him.
When you're intelligent, when you're serious, when you care, when you do things right in Africa - you will get lots of stick
But Ruto knew early from MOi - GET MONEY
Ruto has worked to amase a huge fortune.
Because he knows Politics in Kenya is MONEY.
Ruto 1st business was in Campus hall - with friend Simatwo - Amaco stock brokrage - now amaco insurance.
Ruto is gifted with many things - with big brain, big mouth, big heart and big ambition.
Nothing will stop him. Maybe death.
Say what you want to say about Dr WSR Karnet, hasora, sibuor mbrrrrrrr but let's be sober for a moment and evaluate his rule dispassionately
1. The man is brilliant and this is undeniable. Compared even to all the prior presidents. Perhaps only with the exception of Kibaki who was also brilliant, but let's face it. General Keguoya was more of a softie technocrat than a real leader. John Keen famously said that Keguoya never met a fence he didn't sit on. He also lacked energy due to age. Even how he (Baba Jimmy) got to power was a pure accident of fate, unlike WSR who worked his butt off to get to where he is, despite the entire state machinery + a sitting president being against him. You have to be energetic and brilliant to take the top seat. I'm not talking book intelligence but - the infinitely more important - practical and practicable intelligence. There's a huge difference between the two. This is why brilliant theoreticians like our Uni Dons fail miserably in practical politics (and business) almost always and will never be president even in a million years. I was shocked to hear him lay the groundwork for a Sovereign Wealth Fund some weeks back. These are things some of us recommended over 20 years ago along the lines of TEMASEK that were shot down and laughed at to scorn. Every rapidly developing nation worth its salt has a Sovereign Wealth Fund. That a Kenyan president can not only think of it but start to implement it is nearly incredible to me. Especially since he isn't trained in high finance. This tells me two things. First, he is brilliant enough to want to find out WHAT WORKS in transforming a nation from third world to second and beyond. Second, that he has some technocrats - domestic and international - as well as political friends in the Asian Tigers that he actually listens to, as opposed to others who become know-it-alls once they perch themselves on the top seat.
2. WSR has pushed Kenyan politricks into the ISSUE BASED realm and this is again, undeniable. Wachana na peni mbili tribal politricks of cretins like Jomo and his circumcision fetish and tribal oathing administered by murderers like Wanyoike Thungu at Gatundu. In order to prevent folks like Jaramogi and others from daring to challenge him for the big seat. If that is not a peanut political brain full of simplistic tribal thinking, I don't know what is. Moi was Moi. No need to rehash hapo. Kibaki tried to be non-tribal but failed miserably when he let the Mount Kenya Mafia full of tribalist diehards from the Jomo era populate the ranks of his power structure. This alone turned an otherwise brilliant economist into a tribal politician from Othaya NDANIi with Kenyans left unable to hang nationalist credentials on his mast. Isapite. WSR on the other hand was brilliant enough to gamble that issue based politics could succeed in Kenya. Agree or disagree with the efficacy and achievements (or lack thereof,) Hasora Vs Dynasty politics is issue based : have-nots rebelling against the short shift the haves have dished to them cold without ceremony since 1963. SHA and Taxes are ISSUES. Affordable Housing and building infrastructure are ISSUES. As opposed to the empty shibboleths Kwiinyans had been accustomed to for well over 55 years prior! Like “the motorcycle outriders will never cross the Chania river,” “Siasa mbaya, maisha mbaya,” “Raira is power hungry,” “domo, domo” and similar pea-brained claptrap. Everyone - opponents inclusive - if they're honest, will admit that ISSUES now dominate the political space. This is unprecedented in Kwiinyan history. Isitoshe, WSR appears to take criticism, even of the very ad hominem variety, in stride. Insults are the order of the day nationwide, but by and large, no big numbers end up in basement torture cells and so on. I'm yet to hear of a single person claiming they have been detained without trial for having a contrary political opinion. This was the NORM for much of Kwiinyas political history. I remember reading one particular story about Jomo giving a roadside political speech. As was his custom, after making a political point, he would ask “kweli, rongo?” The unfortunate human being who dared to shout “rongo” on that particular day was hunted down and hauled to the filthy jail cells for a soft dose of torture-based re-programming. As I said, these are the sorts of insecure, simplistic types of thinking Kwiinyans suffered under lesser presidents.
3. Ties in with the 2 above. Ukavira. Tis interesting that I'm yet to hear any significant noise that WSR is a tribalist, has made purely tribal appointments or has a tribe-centred mindset that filters down into the socio-political end economic fabric of Kwiinya.Hata my Eliye people are seeing progress after being told for decades that roads will come "when funds are available." All the attacks against WSR are either squarely aimed at his POLICIES or his PERSON but not on tribal grounds. Even his worst enemies will admit to this, again, if they are honest.
Peace and stability. We are yet to hear of tribal clashes, very serious security issues and whatnot. Perhaps only the Gen-z protests came close. Even then - notice that the protests were issue based - not tribal or worse. As soon as they fizzled out, all Kwiinyans have known is sweet peace. We don't hear of Kaya Bombo, sijui Mungiki, sijui Wagalla massacres, Kwekwe, Mombasa Republican Council and so on. More peace please for another 20 years!
In any event, we can even take a look at the cons levelled against him.
1. That he fired Riggy G. That is not an ISSUE but a personal/personality based non-issue. VPs have been fired in droves since 1963, even on a whim. In fact Riggy G should be happy that WSR used due process to do the same. If this was any other president prior to 2002, he would have found himself in Kibiko forest, bones being munched by hyenas. Jameni is this progress or is this progress?
2.That he is corrupt. This is laughable. Which politician on earth isn't? Politics takes MONEY, BIG MONEY. To buy allies, buy policies.and buy citizens, who won't vote for you without it. Jomo needed money hence his legion scandals from the Settlement Trustees Fund, to the Million Acre Schemes, to driving in his limousine for one hour and declaring the land alongside which he had travelled to be his personal property. With no recourse for the suffering Kwiinyans. Moi took it to the next level. Kibaki and his Anglo Leasings wasn't doing anything he wasn't used to since his Kenren days under Jomo. Raira had a closetful of scandals that do not need rehashing. He ran his community and party like an ATM machine. Everyone had to pay taxes to the King. Ask Balala, who was told point blank that unless he coughed up a million, he wouldn't become ODM chairman. It is therefore hilarious that folks called him sijui reformer, sijui anti-corruption crusader, and so on. Islaughable. Bottom line, MONEY is the opium of politics. Presidential politics especially. No politician will ever admit it but that money has to come from somewhere. Wake me up when you find a “clean” politician who used his savings to successfully run for the presidency. Isnothappening.
3. That he is wantam. This one deserves no response beyond leaving it to grandkids in Kindergarten to chant while on the playground
Isitoshe, look at his so-called political competition.
Baba is gone forever and not coming back except maybe as a ghost.
Riggy G is good comedy in an empty cheap Moi Avenue.suit. No decent human being can consider him presidential material.
Kalonzo is not serious about anything. No vision, no loyalty, no msimamo, no track record. I think he should run for Machakos or Makueni governor. Even there, I'm not so sure he would deliver.
Matiangi, though hardworking, lacks brains. I heard him discuss why he locked Migush out of Kwiinya despite numerous court orders -including for contempt- being issued against him and just shook my head in amazement and amusement. The guy cannot even coherently defend his indefensible positions. Not smart at all. This one give him a DO post somewhere huko mashinani and he might do very well there.
The rest? Nonstarters kapsaaaaaa.
Ni hayo tu.
*Excuse the typos. Written without edits*
Caroli Omondi was very clear 3 fundamental things have happened which will make Ruto a one term President.
Genz 2024 revolution that removed Rutos Legitimacy
Mt Kenya rebelion
Railas demise .
Most of the likes of Pundit clandestinely think violence will make him retain the Power . However unlike 2007 its hard to Rig the elections and use Violence as card . Even in 2007 this tactic only managed for Raila and Ruto to get half the cabinet . Ruto later acknowledged they lost 2007 , Raila also knew the mistake he did , he tried to reconcile by using Kalonzo 2013 and 2017 and Uhuru 2022 .Beautiful read.
People who didnt know Ruto always dismiss him but once they know Ruto - they know he isnt your usual politician type.
Initially I use to dismiss him as KANU hawk.
But I noticed - he had knack to sell even skunk KANU.
I was Kibaki guy until 2005 when I decided let me go tribal - because kibaki went tribal and made us look like fools who had supported him.
Anyway gave Ruto and Raila online support towards 2007.
My father had no time for Ruto - he use to switch TV btw 2005-2008 if he appeared or Raila.
He was Kibaki guy - he had total contempt for anything ODM - KANU or Luos.
But One day in 2008 or 2009 - they went to see Ruto over tea hawking mess in RV.
My father and others want to sell tea to multinational for better price.
They were given 6am appointment - Ruto was there - he listened - he made phone call to KTDA MD.
Have you read the Tea Act - Yes Minister - Okay stop that nonsense.
And it was done.
My father and others made money.
People in my village started driving cars!
My father was sold.
My uncle (my father bro) went to see him 3 times over KFA loan.
Ruto had reserved wednesday mornings for anyone with issue in his Kilimo house.
He gave him 3 reprieve - he'd call KFA and tell them give him time.
That uncle was an idiot never paid - eventually to spare him shame - my father forced my sister to buy his land
He has taken my sis to court for decade plus now.
One thing you will read about Ruto it the same - He is Mzungu in African body
He works hards, He listens, He keep committments, he keeps time, he see you when he gives you appointment, he follow ups, he get it done.
Unfortunately because he is misnomer he suffered greatly from PROPAGANDA
From EVY, From Jealousy, From Green Eyed Monster.
Now he is unstoppable. World already noticed. He is top Africa leader getting invites.
No more Envy. No more Jealous will stop him.
When you're intelligent, when you're serious, when you care, when you do things right in Africa - you will get lots of stick
But Ruto knew early from MOi - GET MONEY
Ruto has worked to amase a huge fortune.
Because he knows Politics in Kenya is MONEY.
Ruto 1st business was in Campus hall - with friend Simatwo - Amaco stock brokrage - now amaco insurance.
Ruto is gifted with many things - with big brain, big mouth, big heart and big ambition.
Nothing will stop him. Maybe death.
Riggy G with his Kikuyu supremacy is campaigning for Ruto free of charge,
Gachagua had traction in Meru when he was fired but he has managed to lose that so fast due to his verbal diarrhoea.
Kikuyus mko pekee sorry and not all support Fala Gachagua.
| Indicator | Current (2025) | Required for "First World" |
| GDP Per Capita (Nominal) | ~$2,550 | ~$25,000 (by 2060) |
| Annual GDP Growth | 4.8% | 9% - 10% |
| Manufacturing (% of GDP) | ~8% | 20% - 25% |
| Investment Rate (% of GDP) | ~18% | 30% - 35% |
:)
The economy is growing at 4 or 5% as usual. The rest is English and PR. Where is the evidence of Ruto's "genius" except your feel? The GenZ uprising exposed him as inept worse than Kibaki and Uhuru. Having won on the populist platform, in just 2 years the man was almost evicted from office.
There is a universally accepted way to measure progress: GDP
There is a universally accepted way to measure popularity: POLLS
Both disagree with your views.
You ("."), Pundit and MaDVD are putting the cart before the horse. You already want to give Ruto a 3rd term - to implement Vision 2060. :D
Fix SHA first.
Davis Chirchir was born in Cheptigit, Kericho in 1960. He joined Kericho high school in 1974 to 1978 when he completed. He later did Form 6 in 1979 to 1980. in 1981 he joined university and pursued a course in physics and computer science.[1]
He graduated in 1985 and joined Kenya Post and Telecommunication Corporation where he worked as a tele-traffic engineer where he handled management of traffic engineering in telecommunication for nine months at Multimedia University.[1]
Chirchir holds a master's in Business Administration in International Management from the Royal Holloway School of Management, University of London. He also holds a bachelor's degree in computer science and physics from the University of Nairobi.
If you know where we have come from - you wont be saying this.
Ruto went hard on kenya to save us default.:)
The economy is growing at 4 or 5% as usual. The rest is English and PR. Where is the evidence of Ruto's "genius" except your feel? The GenZ uprising exposed him as inept worse than Kibaki and Uhuru. Having won on the populist platform, in just 2 years the man was almost evicted from office.
You ("."), Pundit and MaDVD are putting the cart before the horse. You already want to give Ruto a 3rd term - to implement Vision 2060. :D
Fix SHA first.
Its economy stupid …….
Ruto made fundamental mistakes at the beginning of his term which affected the economy
Removing fuel subsidies lead to increase in cost of production , capital flight followed there goes Singapore dream of Industrilzation
Getting Oil on credit , suspended a problem which hyperboled , when it came paying for debt - inflation period , more capital flight
More debt , more debt and more debt - So you over tax Kenyans - Immediate revolution - Historically no empire in this world has ever managed to escape an economic revolution . That was the end of Ruto period and as expected end of Raila…..If you know where we have come from - you wont be saying this.
Ruto went hard on kenya to save us default.:)
Fix SHA first.
INFOTRAK POLL: President Ruto most popular presidential candidate if elections were held today at 28pc, Fred Matiangi 13pc, Kalonzo Musyoka 12pc, Babu Owino 7pc, and Gachagua at 5pc pic.twitter.com/69kLPgXs7p
— NTV Kenya (@ntvkenya) December 28, 2025
Look for a candidate. Then we can talk
Caroli Omondi was very clear 3 fundamental things have happened which will make Ruto a one term President.
Genz 2024 revolution that removed Rutos Legitimacy
Mt Kenya rebelion
Railas demise .
Most of the likes of Pundit clandestinely think violence will make him retain the Power . However unlike 2007 its hard to Rig the elections and use Violence as card . Even in 2007 this tactic only managed for Raila and Ruto to get half the cabinet . Ruto later acknowledged they lost 2007 , Raila also knew the mistake he did , he tried to reconcile by using Kalonzo 2013 and 2017 and Uhuru 2022 .
GenZ was simply Ruto's incompetence. With NIS and entire machinery the man was taking selfies here in Silicon Valley few days to the eruption.
As a result Kenya's credit rating was downgraded from B to C. Last such downgrade was during the 2007-8 PEV.
Sasa hii Singapore Vision 2060, is just more PR. Economy is hard numbers and can't be rigged.
:)
Fix SHA first.
Kasongo and Kibaki should never be mentioned in the same sentence unless you are talking about where the next Kibaki is going to come from so they can fix Kasongo’s mess. Kasongo is a political conman and just like Moi, people around him know that he is incapable of of any visionary leadership. He has three categories of supporters, those directly benefiting from his corruption, ignorant tribalists, people with low expectations. It’s time Kenyans supported a non politician like Maraga, Matiangi etc I have heard Matiangi talk and he can explain things like the best of them. The only reason that I like Kalonzo is because he was part of a very successful Kibaki regime and in a country of tribal math nonsense, he stands the best chance in the second round. RVHH, in Muranga for example, a lot of grifters will lie to you, they will say anything for a buck. The fact is, Kasongo is done in Kikuyu Mt Kenya, he will get less votes than Raila did in the last election. I think someone like Ndidi(not because he is a kikuyu) with his record in Muranga can give us a little taste of Singapore or at least change some place like Nairobi but of course this will never happen, Kenyans are addicted to loud mouths and mediocrity.