Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: Githunguri on September 20, 2025, 01:23:57 PM

Title: Needed constitutional amendments in Kenya.
Post by: Githunguri on September 20, 2025, 01:23:57 PM
1) Inorder to reduce the powers of the president,The tools of violence must be devolved.Over the last 60 years in Kenyan politics,We have seen presidents use the police and army to kill maim rig elections and maintain political control.

To bring this to an end,The Governor should be the head of security at the county level.The national police,army and presidential security should be nominated by all the 47 counties to ensure that no president will ever use force on his opponents.

2) In the impeachment of a president or his deputy,both should be deemed to be impeached and vacate office.In the case of the national assembly,both should also be deemed to be impeached and county assembly devolved.

3) Taxes should be collected by the county government on behalf of the national government and the collected taxes should be shared on a calculated ratio between national and county governments.
Title: Re: Needed constitutional amendments in Kenya.
Post by: Githunguri on September 20, 2025, 01:27:45 PM
http://constitutionnet.org/news/review-constitutionalized-ethnic-quotas-burundi-turning-point

In this arrangement,An opposition leader with support from 20 counties is equal to the president and if a sitting president goes rogue with killings,The opposition leader has powers to order all officers under his counties to disobey orders from the sitting president and not to remit taxes.

In this arrangement,power IS THROUGH RESPECT AND MUTUAL AGREEMENT.YOU CANNOT HAVE  A PROPER DEMOCRATIC STRUCTURE in which a politically elected president in a multi ethnic state has monopoly over state power and taxes.
Post by: mankind on September 20, 2025, 04:17:28 PM
 As usual bull crap. Looks good until you realize what you are suggesting is chaos. Not even in the US can such work. There's a reason why Kibaki was allowed to reinstate the provincial administration after county governors started behaving like mini presidents.

In the states the federal government is everywhere in the various states for the very same reason. After the American civil war everyone realized how dangerous it is to have powerful states without the federal government reigning in those folks . My suggestion is you read the history of the Congo and how during independence, what you are suggesting was used to weaken the Lumumba government by making Moise Tshombe so powerful in Katanga the government in Kinshasa was rendered useless. And yes the governor of mineral rich Katanga ordered the arrest of the Prime Minister ( Lumumba). He even invited Belgian troops into the province. Now if that sounds like a good thing to you then you need your head examined.
Post by: Githunguri on September 20, 2025, 05:31:16 PM
As usual bull crap. Looks good until you realize what you are suggesting is chaos. Not even in the US can such work. There's a reason why Kibaki was allowed to reinstate the provincial administration after county governors started behaving like mini presidents.

In the states the federal government is everywhere in the various states for the very same reason. After the American civil war everyone realized how dangerous it is to have powerful states without the federal government reigning in those folks . My suggestion is you read the history of the Congo and how during independence, what you are suggesting was used to weaken the Lumumba government by making Moise Tshombe so powerful in Katanga the government in Kinshasa was rendered useless. And yes the governor of mineral rich Katanga ordered the arrest of the Prime Minister ( Lumumba). He even invited Belgian troops into the province. Now if that sounds like a good thing to you then you need your head examined.

Umbwa Malaya

(1) The police system in the USA is decentralized.You don't have a central command where a sitting president can issue stupid commands to any state or local government because everything must be approved by congress and the local police is completely independent.When trump tried such NONSENSE,No police or military office obeyed his stupid orders.This system is the same even in USA UK JAPAN that the work of the politician is to play politics and implement the manifesto BUT KEEP AWAY FROM Guns.

In fact,What I like about America is that NOT ONLY is the police force decentralized,You can buy a gun be it a pistol or sniper anywhere anytime.That means that everybody is heavily armed and in such a system,people respect each other and solve issues DEMOCRATICLLY otherwise you choose violence,You don't have that monopoly.You get violence back.2ND AMENDMENT.

(2)  The DRC/CONGO.

After the independence of African countries between 1950s-1990s.We saw political violence between in both the countries that had a centralized and decentralized police force across Africa.In 1890s,We have what we call the SYKES  PIKOT agreement that consolidate different African tribes /kingdoms and made them countries.The question before us then,In a country which has more than one tribe,Who becomes the leader of that country?It is because of the Sykes PIKOT agreement that we saw violence across Africa and even Asia because political power was attained and maintained through tribal competition for political power and if you disagreed with the Americans french and British at that time they would support rival tribes like we saw in Congo Ruandaurundi Kenya etc etc.........That's why we have DEVOLUTION IN KENYA AND 50+1 RULE to ensure that the tribes which win the presidency they don't starve their opponents public funds or use violence to dominate opposition tribes.We have attained the DEVOLUTION of money to counties,Now we need to devolve SECURITY TO ENSURE NO PRESIDENT HAS POWER TO ABDUCT KILL OR MAIM.WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT IT WILL HAPPEN.

The Kenyan mother state UNITED KINGDOM is made up of four counties/tribes.The scotts have Scotland,The Irish have Ireland,The Welsh have Wales and the English have England.Each tribe has its own state tax laws and police force why not Kenya?

The British German European experiment of creating nations made up of different ethnic groups from Yugoslavia in Eurasia,Pakistan India state and African state has failed.

Police should be decentralized and every Kenyan should own a gun freely.If the people of Uasin Ngishu can elect a governor county assembly senator and MP,They should also be given the right to determine who becomes the guarantor of their security..

POLICE TAX KRA should be IMMEDIATELY DEVOLVED.

IF the president misbehave,deny him taxes to summon and bribe teachers at state house and if he issues illegal orders,The opposition leader instructs his governors to disobey.
Post by: mankind on September 20, 2025, 07:52:18 PM
 I don't know if I should laugh at you first then attempt to reply. For a start I am educated, work and live in the US for over 30 years so I don't need to be told how things work here. Tell me what state collects taxes them remits the same to Washington DC? You do know that the national guard when called is under the command of Washington DC and not the respective state governors. Gime us an example of when a governor has ever ordered the guard to disobey orders from DC. And lastly you are very much aware that the federal government has the FBI and other enforcement agencies including Marshalls to enforce federal laws when needed. So wacha hiyo bangi unavuta my friend and be realistic with what you are suggesting because it doesn't work anywhere.

Remember Catalonia trying to go rogue a few years ago? What was the end result?
Post by: Githunguri on September 20, 2025, 11:55:39 PM
I don't know if I should laugh at you first then attempt to reply. For a start I am educated, work and live in the US for over 30 years so I don't need to be told how things work here. Tell me what state collects taxes them remits the same to Washington DC? You do know that the national guard when called is under the command of Washington DC and not the respective state governors. Gime us an example of when a governor has ever ordered the guard to disobey orders from DC. And lastly you are very much aware that the federal government has the FBI and other enforcement agencies including Marshalls to enforce federal laws when needed. So wacha hiyo bangi unavuta my friend and be realistic with what you are suggesting because it doesn't work anywhere.

Remember Catalonia trying to go rogue a few years ago? What was the end result?

(1) State governments in the USA collect Income corporate Property and Sales tax.The tax they collect is +-30% of the federal taxes collected .They don't rely on the federal government to fund their operations.

(2) Yes we have a national guard in the USA.Who recruits the guards?It's the state's which recruits the guards who are under the dual authority of the governor and national federal government.In short,every state has its own police officers controlled at local level.You don't have a president issues stupid orders from white house.Thats why in 2021,Trump could do nothing because the president cannot control any state security.And if he has to,There must be a legitimate course and if there isn't,state governors can refuse to obey stupid orders.

(3) Catalonia-Catalonia has been wanting to secede from Spain for over the last100 years.Before 1986,The police in that region was controlled at the national level.However after 1986,There are two levels of police force,The regional and national.Thats why over the last 10 years unlike pre 1986 period We have had secessionist movements in catalonia but the national government has not been able to massacre people like in the 1960s or 1970s because of a devolved security apparatus.

Lastly Catalonia even collects its own taxes,As of 2028,They will be collecting even income tax.

Should I continue........

Idiot.
Post by: Modesty Blaise on September 22, 2025, 03:44:37 PM
Kenya's budget is about that of the Los Angeles county, $47B.

You already have a proper state government complete with a national guard (KDF). What you need is a proper system in Addis Ababa. That way you can start thinking national (Kenyan) - not this granular Kikuyu or Embu level.

Bure kabisa.
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on September 22, 2025, 06:27:48 PM
They should get rid of educational requirements to run for any public office.