Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: . on September 14, 2025, 08:13:41 AM

Title: RCBowen Nostalgia
Post by: . on September 14, 2025, 08:13:41 AM
For grown folks only.Gen-z's and millenials please keep off this thread!

(https://i.postimg.cc/Kzm5zLY9/Screenshot-2025-09-14-at-07-24-45-RCBowen-com.png)

It's shocking to me just how much Rich has aged (just like we all have). He used to be this almost comically young and meek-looking tech-geek in Kentucky!

Time is something else.

The golden years of RCB were undoubtedly 1999 to 2010 or so in my humble view.

Once you aged out of the mashadas and Kenyaniyetus and Kenyawebs of this world (which were a mess of matope posts from teens and colle students fresh off the boat from home) you were ready to join the decent citizens of RCB. Double O's Jukwee (Jukwaa) was joined by the more politically inclined. Run by former Moi-error political detainee-exiles like Oloo himself and - reportedly - Willy Mutunga, Ngugi Wa Thiongo and of course Migush, among many others.

RCB was like the bar in Cheers. The safe place you visited to commune with friends, in a friendless world for Kenyans abroad seeking solace outside the mzungu and/or akataa foreign circles they moved in at school, at work and beyond. A safe place to batten on one's Kenyan-ness and connect with Kenyans at home and around the word.

Then came the two nipates. Correct me if I'm wrong but this was around the 2007 election cycle in Kenya. That's when the multiple RV's appeared. like 6-7 of them including my good friend Pundito. By the way other than Hitter and Pundito, what happened to the rest of them? They defected en-masse and disparagingly referred to RCB as TOP (that other place.) I believe because the mods on RCB kept everyone on a tight leash on most political issues and they wanted more freedom. I could be wrong though. The difference between RCB and nipate to this day, IMHO is that RCB was more balanced - between politics and social life - while the two nipates were overwhelmingly political. In this way, they were very much like Jukwee.

Speaking of which, remember how Oloo would always conclude his hefty tichitals (on RCB and later on Jukwee when he realised most of us had grown weary of them) with a tribute to "the Kamoji Wachiras. the Makhan Singhs, the Willy Mutungas, the....." He was an interesting chap. I remember his return to Kenya and new lease on life. Even finding a new bride. We were all very happy for him. But the political climate in Kenya had 100% changed  under Kibaki. Being a  die-hard cold-war revolutionary Marxist-Leninist ready to fight dictatorship to the hilt became anachronistic. But this is what happens to most exiles, they take the Kenya they left decades ago with them, and in many ways still long for it, as terrible as times were back then for them when they were being persecuted. With all due respect, Oloo's impact was next to none. The enduring memory I have of him was during Migush's book launch in Mombasa where the mysterious "men in black" stormed the hall and frogmarched Migush out of the venue as Oloo stood frozen in shocked disbelief. A very distraught and different-looking Migush was left shoe-less and kofia-less on the Mombasa street, after being roughed up by those goons. Oloo was also very open about having contracted the big mdudu, yaani  the Hi-Five(V), yaani Ukedi, yaani the deadliest catch. He was even more open about his new bride having it too. I admired him for his honesty. Sadly, a few years later he (Oloo) was gone - RIP to him.

Then there was Njamlik (RIP) who - to me - was by far the most interesting RCB'r in history. Hostile beyond measure yet wore his heart on his sleeve, hypersensitive to any difference in opinion. Not a good combination! The rest of us young'uns had a field day making mince meat of him. When I look back I now laugh at it all. We were all young and hot-blooded. These days I look at some of the exchanges between youngsters online and realize we all go through that phase. Most of us age out of it. Some don't!

As we age, just how brief our lives are on this planet becomes very salient. The golden era of RCB we will never get back.

I remember the 2002 NARC wave when Baba Jimmy romped into office. It heralded a new era in Kenya, which in many ways, we are still enjoying to this day. Most of us in diaspora were shocked beyond belief that DT Moi let the big seat go to a person not of his choosing. I honestly didn't expect that. I expected the usual rigging that Kenya had experienced since 1963. The victory was truly a game-changer for Kenya, but I digress.

Bottom line, is it RCB I miss or the seemingly halcyon era it represents. Just like Rich has aged and so have we, the world has done so too in so many ways.

But life moves on!

RIP to the RCB Hall of Fame veterans

-- OO
- Stocko Exchange (formerly Nyumba). RIP my friend
- Frank Mwaniki (former KCA Chairman) by the way does KCA (Kenyan Community Abroad) still exist?They fought hard for Dual Citizenship and it came to pass! Asante to them! Which shows that these forums aren't entirely useless!
- Martin Ngatia wa Sweden (of "Zokwe kazolo mkia" fame). He was an air-force cadet during the coup and fled into exile in Sweden when the crackdown on rebels begun.
-  Njamlik

add yours here..........!!

I also thank RCB for introducing me to valuable perspectives (and people) that I still cherish to this day!

Those very enjoyable days of the RCB era are gone forever but we still cherish the memories always!

Ni hayo tu.

Meezy
Title: Re: RCBowen Nostalgia
Post by: RV Pundit on September 14, 2025, 09:14:17 AM
Oldun,
RCB was great. I was mostly in read-mode from around 2000 to 2005, until I finally gathered the courage to start writing. Back then, the kind of English I used to read there was far beyond my level—but it pushed me to improve both my English and my argumentation. In terms of folks I remember - two stand out - Oldun - for obvious reason - sense of humor & brilliant investor - and Njamlik for being the nastiest mtfkcer. That guy was chief troller and had a way with words.

As for RVs - I have only ever met two RCB guys - true RV and that woman of his - meru forget the name - Kendi - we met in Langata - and we drank so much beer - True RV must now be 65yrs - the crazy mtfker drinks and fckers like a teenager.

Most folks here are like 60-70yrs now. I amongst the younger one at mid 40s.

Btw how did I find RCB - I think it was in Nation or BBC article around 2002 elections - when they were featuring how diaspora were engaged in kenya elections - those were dark days of Moi. I used to read newspaprer a lot as I was political and when I found RCB - I knew I'd stick there. It was only political forum then - before Mashada - which was full of more 'normal' diaspora low IQ nutcases.

When I tried to log in - I found the hate for anything Moi or kalenjin at it fever pitch - there was just one or two kalenjin - a Kulei and one chepsomething - and they were being attacked as Mogotio goat herder or something.

2005 - the LDP/NAK fallout - Luo & related gangs went for kikuyus online - and now I started posting. This wensex bett or the is sister guy whom I think I know - now joined with most virulent anti-kikuyu hatred.

2005- 2008 RCB was WAR ZONE. Then 2008 - 2010 - it was blame game of who had caused PEV and all related mess.

2010 is when big split happened - and we followed Veritas - hounded by NJamlik. RVHH I think joined hapo  ICC mess when we exposed the fake witnesses and all over sudden, we were in the news.

Anyway it been a long ride - 25yrs for me.

Post by: RV Heavy Hitter! on September 14, 2025, 04:56:35 PM
As time flies, new people come online, and the old fade slowly and wither into oblivion. It is called life.  I wasn't in RCB but joined the conversation when nipate was formed. Bowen is a strong Kalenjin name common with the Keiyo subtribe, but I guess Europeans, too, have it. With ageing, don't compare wazungus with us; they age like sukuma wiki. If you meet them at 20 and see them in their 40s, that is when you will appreciate the melanin. That is why I recommend folks dating older melanated people to check on the ID because some Grandmas at 68 look like they are in their 30s, especially AAs here in America. Wazungus at 68 are something else; that is why Rich looks way old.

I think the only thing I would refute on your chronology of events was (TOP); I think TOP was used by those who had onboarded to this new nipate to refer to the old nipate. Sometimes they'd refer to it as Choo.com interchangeably! But also, maybe there were those that called RCB TOP.

It took me a while to onboard from old nipate to this because I was in grad school and was busy churning out those 50-80 page papers due at 11:59. All in all, these analogue Kenyan forums are better than social media on so many levels. Best way is to never meet anyone or try to cultivate friendship. Mya88 is my distant  Raila-damu friend, and I miss you wherever you are if you can read this lol. I have been planning to see her baby for 7 years (Imma bad friend). Pundit knows me better than I know him because of family friendship but may try to link up this tumin emet christmas in Eltret!
Post by: RV Pundit on September 14, 2025, 08:17:35 PM
RVhh, I must admit you have truly remarkable way with words and truly remarkable personality, never losing your cool, never saying anything nasty, and for science/IT kind of guy, I have always admired your beautiful prose. You have remained the guy who loves his family, wife and kids - who works hard, who studies for phd while acing the market. At one point I thought you knew each other with Ngina or some women in California.

You use to write like AI in 2010 :).

Anyway hopefully one day we shall meet - as people meet - mountains dont.

As time flies, new people come online, and the old fade slowly and wither into oblivion. It is called life.  I wasn't in RCB but joined the conversation when nipate was formed. Bowen is a strong Kalenjin name common with the Keiyo subtribe, but I guess Europeans, too, have it. With ageing, don't compare wazungus with us; they age like sukuma wiki. If you meet them at 20 and see them in their 40s, that is when you will appreciate the melanin. That is why I recommend folks dating older melanated people to check on the ID because some Grandmas at 68 look like they are in their 30s, especially AAs here in America. Wazungus at 68 are something else; that is why Rich looks way old.

I think the only thing I would refute on your chronology of events was (TOP); I think TOP was used by those who had onboarded to this new nipate to refer to the old nipate. Sometimes they'd refer to it as Choo.com interchangeably! But also, maybe there were those that called RCB TOP.

It took me a while to onboard from old nipate to this because I was in grad school and was busy churning out those 50-80 page papers due at 11:59. All in all, these analogue Kenyan forums are better than social media on so many levels. Best way is to never meet anyone or try to cultivate friendship. Mya88 is my distant  Raila-damu friend, and I miss you wherever you are if you can read this lol. I have been planning to see her baby for 7 years (Imma bad friend). Pundit knows me better than I know him because of family friendship but may try to link up this tumin emet christmas in Eltret!
Post by: RV Heavy Hitter! on September 14, 2025, 09:47:14 PM
RVhh, I must admit you have truly remarkable way with words and truly remarkable personality, never losing your cool, never saying anything nasty, and for science/IT kind of guy, I have always admired your beautiful prose. You have remained the guy who loves his family, wife and kids - who works hard, who studies for phd while acing the market. At one point I thought you knew each other with Ngina or some women in California.

You use to write like AI in 2010 :).

Anyway hopefully one day we shall meet - as people meet - mountains dont.

Thanks for the kind words. Time, indeed, flies like nobody's business. I remember back in the day writing when my son was a year old, and now he is a beast in high school and a city celebrity during football nights. Reminds me I'm ageing, but I don't feel that way. Ngina I interacted online shortly, and I think she was a Kale woman married to kyuk, or a Kyuk woman who had divorced a kale guy because she was obsessed with Kales in a negative way pertaining to relationships. She also knew the President, or folks around the president used to hit her, and then she was left. My wife interacted more, though it was the same RVHH handle on the other nipate. For some reason she was just a bitter lady, or it could be she was ageing but not finding someone. There are many single Kenyan women in the us that are lethal; most end up marrying very old wazungus and remain bitter for the rest of their lives. Writing as AI lol, like I said, we share the same handle with my wife; that is why it seems I write a lot. Even whatsapp, social media – we use one handle. I would say she writes 60% more than me here. Now that our kids are teenagers, we will be spending more summers and Christmases in Kenya-chance to meet. Nothing beats Mum and dad raising kids in one household free of vices...something my dad told me when I was a teenager. I have been loyal to family and will be till 100.  Hopefully after 100, death will be a thing of the past because technological and medical advances seem to be solving the dying issue in the next 50+ years if we can reach there. It would be an honour for me to live 1000 years with my mlima wife.
Post by: . on September 14, 2025, 10:21:53 PM
Oldun,
RCB was great. I was mostly in read-mode from around 2000 to 2005, until I finally gathered the courage to start writing. Back then, the kind of English I used to read there was far beyond my level—but it pushed me to improve both my English and my argumentation. In terms of folks I remember - two stand out - Oldun - for obvious reason - sense of humor & brilliant investor - and Njamlik for being the nastiest mtfkcer. That guy was chief troller and had a way with words.

As for RVs - I have only ever met two RCB guys - true RV and that woman of his - meru forget the name - Kendi - we met in Langata - and we drank so much beer - True RV must now be 65yrs - the crazy mtfker drinks and fckers like a teenager.

Most folks here are like 60-70yrs now. I amongst the younger one at mid 40s.

Btw how did I find RCB - I think it was in Nation or BBC article around 2002 elections - when they were featuring how diaspora were engaged in kenya elections - those were dark days of Moi. I used to read newspaprer a lot as I was political and when I found RCB - I knew I'd stick there. It was only political forum then - before Mashada - which was full of more 'normal' diaspora low IQ nutcases.

When I tried to log in - I found the hate for anything Moi or kalenjin at it fever pitch - there was just one or two kalenjin - a Kulei and one chepsomething - and they were being attacked as Mogotio goat herder or something.

2005 - the LDP/NAK fallout - Luo & related gangs went for kikuyus online - and now I started posting. This wensex bett or the is sister guy whom I think I know - now joined with most virulent anti-kikuyu hatred.

2005- 2008 RCB was WAR ZONE. Then 2008 - 2010 - it was blame game of who had caused PEV and all related mess.

2010 is when big split happened - and we followed Veritas - hounded by NJamlik. RVHH I think joined hapo  ICC mess when we exposed the fake witnesses and all over sudden, we were in the news.

Anyway it been a long ride - 25yrs for me.

@Pundito, very interesting how you found RCB. I can't remember how I found it. Back then the internet was still new-ish so Kenyan sites - and Kenyan forums to be specific - were still very few.  Most people don't remember Yahoo directory listings. Back then Netscape Navigator and Yahoo were the main search engines. I believe that's how I found RCB. Listed on the yahoo directory. And back then it was more of a Kenyan cowboy (msungu Kenyans abroad) meeting point with just a few bleks there.  Of course that changed over the years. You are right about most of the folks being 60-70 (if not older). Notice that very few *new* members join nipate, an analogue forum (nicely put @RVHH), any more. These types of forums have been overtaken by events in the age of TikTok, AI, Whatsapp groups and so on where everything is more real time yet superficial. Even Facebook with its tonnes of useless ads, less interactivity between users, shadow bans, censoring/hiding of posts and so on will soon be analogue as well. However, I will still take an analogue forum over TikTok any day.

If back then wakina Dengu (another crazy character in her own right who some said was Martha Karua or her sister/relative) were in their early 50s, they are now in their 70s or have gone south. Others who were in their late 40s and 50s or older back then;

Papa F
Mwari wa Mugo
Wa Kwitu
Tolstoy - was in fact in his 60s! A psychology or philosophy PhD
Mboya Jarusinga - the guy who had a gay crush on Oloo
5thglg wa Paree
Garibaldi wa Gatheru

and many more

Other than Papa F and 5thglg (who returned to Kwiinya way before some of us), I wouldn't be surprised if all of them are no more.

Time.
Post by: . on September 14, 2025, 10:41:47 PM

Lol@sukuma wiki

Enyewe this is true. If you look at a black person at 60, unless they did hard drugs they still look like they're in their early 40s. Mzungus on the other hand ...

You're right about his name. I'm not sure if Bowen was his real name or adopted. He actually grew up in Tenwek, so either of the two are possibilities. The interesting thing is that Rich NEVER posted anything other than drab updates about software blah blah blah regarding the forum. I can't remember him starting or responding to a single post in all the years RCB existed

You are right too on TOP. Thanks for correcting my memory. I think that was the beginning of the end of RCB. When folks started defecting to other forums, some started dying, others went back to Kwiinya and so forth. After 2008/2009 RCB was already heading to its death bed. I stopped posting hapo around that time as it had become a pale shadow of itself. And also, as we all aged, the dynamics of interaction shifted.

The funny thing is that I joined nipate just a few years ago out of being nostalgic for RCB. I did a google search and came across yet another post reminiscing about the same. Was pleasantly surprised to find many familiar people hapa but with different names!  I think Pundit is the only guy who has maintained his name consistently over all the forums. The rest of us - to use terms only RCB OGs will remember, have "gone submarine! "

The funnier thing is, we knew each other's online personas so well that it was easy to identify who was who simply by reading a few of their posts. For example I knew KenyanPlato was Njamba only two posts in.

I also know who patel was on RCB :D
Audacity of hope (not sure if they still post) too.

The interesting thing is they have all mellowed with age.

Njamba used to be as hot-blooded as myself back then. These days ametulia tuliiii

Time!
Post by: RV Heavy Hitter! on September 15, 2025, 05:09:05 AM
Yes, they age worse than sukuma wiki. If you think of marrying one, try someone 10-15 years younger because at age 50, you'll merge on age trajectory. Bowen is a very common Kale name but rare with Kipsigis and Nandi and very common with Keiyo. AI will tell you, "The name Bowen is primarily Welsh, meaning "son of Owain" or "son of Owen". It originates from the patronymic prefix "ap" (which becomes "ab" before a vowel) and the name Owain. The name Owen itself is believed to come from the ancient Celtic name Eugenos, meaning "well-born" or "noble""
Yes, you are right with mellowing with age, but also raising kids, especially in these divided states. If you have 3 or more  kids at age 8-18 and they join sports or any school activities, utatii if you try to be a responsible parent. I suspect that is why a lot of people bail out through divorce or relationships break down. Their routine will drive you bonkers, and you will be an unappreciated chauffeur for a few years, going from place to place until you drift if you are not careful lol. Men in Kenya have it good because most don't care much about their kids' day-to-day activities. On the dynamics of engagement, this nipate and the previous have been politically driven for the most part and tend to be active during elections or major political shifts. Kenyans for the most part don't know much about Art, travel, tourism, Universe, and events happening around the world in depth, so when they meet, it is cheap politics and regular local gossip. Most Kenyans, I believe, still think there are 8 planets in the universe lol.If you tell them there are more planets than human beings on Earth, they'd think you are peddling misinformation. Our depth in reading and knowledge acquisition is below average that is why, I think, we tend to dwell on politics more, even during weddings, events, or anywhere. Very few common topics to discuss that can carry a conversation in a meaningful way. You are also right on online monikers; RVPUNDIT, and I are probably the few that have used one handle consistently. The good thing is, as you allude, when folks change handles, you can still detect who they are with the precision of a neurosurgeon in even one sentence. I don't know why folks do that, but I believe when they are so wrong for so long, when facts become glaring, they are too embarrassed to admit they are wrong, so the easiest way is to change their name. Most people that thought Uhuru and Raila would dislodge Ruto very easily were shocked, and most came back online with different names. I'm sure it will be the same thing in 2027. I know Njamba, aka Kenyaplato, because one time they were beefing with Nattydread, who folks suspect was Njamlik in the past. Their beef had escalated to a point where Nattydread exposed him by posting his house and his pictures with other Kenyans in Delaware, divorce records, etc. Based on that information, he could be around 55-60 right now because that was in 2010 when he did that. Nattydread was a hacker of some sort because he also nailed another pokot fellow I forgot his handle. It is true most folks are above 50 and that is why they have tuliad unlike in the past. I don't know where Dr Masinde went. True RV was alleging he was jailed and was serving a long jail term in North East; he may have died in prison because he was a very old guy then. The owner of nipate.com before it wound up was trying to sell it to me for $2000 but I didn't reply because of my nature to stay anonymous and also to avoid scams. I'm the only human alive who has never been scammed because I quadruple-check things before I engage, and there was no way to verify he was the legitimate owner. I don't know how old Veritas is or the owner of this place. In a few years, it will likely belly up the same way because age has a way of messing with people's fitness and finances.

Lol@sukuma wiki

Enyewe this is true. If you look at a black person at 60, unless they did hard drugs they still look like they're in their early 40s. Mzungus on the other hand ...

You're right about his name. I'm not sure if Bowen was his real name or adopted. He actually grew up in Tenwek, so either of the two are possibilities. The interesting thing is that Rich NEVER posted anything other than drab updates about software blah blah blah regarding the forum. I can't remember him starting or responding to a single post in all the years RCB existed

You are right too on TOP. Thanks for correcting my memory. I think that was the beginning of the end of RCB. When folks started defecting to other forums, some started dying, others went back to Kwiinya and so forth. After 2008/2009 RCB was already heading to its death bed. I stopped posting hapo around that time as it had become a pale shadow of itself. And also, as we all aged, the dynamics of interaction shifted.

The funny thing is that I joined nipate just a few years ago out of being nostalgic for RCB. I did a google search and came across yet another post reminiscing about the same. Was pleasantly surprised to find many familiar people hapa but with different names!  I think Pundit is the only guy who has maintained his name consistently over all the forums. The rest of us - to use terms only RCB OGs will remember, have "gone submarine! "

The funnier thing is, we knew each other's online personas so well that it was easy to identify who was who simply by reading a few of their posts. For example I knew KenyanPlato was Njamba only two posts in.

Njamba used to be as hot-blooded as myself back then. These days ametulia tuliiii

Time!
Post by: RV Pundit on September 15, 2025, 07:57:59 AM
Yeah Bowen - is Kalenjin name for OWN (war) - born during war or raiding. Indeed we have aged. Hopefully RCBbowen stored all that data somewhere it can be retried. We need legacy backup of those old memories.
Yes, they age worse than sukuma wiki. If you think of marrying one, try someone 10-15 years younger because at age 50, you'll merge on age trajectory. Bowen is a very common Kale name but rare with Kipsigis and Nandi and very common with Keiyo. AI will tell you, "The name Bowen is primarily Welsh, meaning "son of Owain" or "son of Owen". It originates from the patronymic prefix "ap" (which becomes "ab" before a vowel) and the name Owain. The name Owen itself is believed to come from the ancient Celtic name Eugenos, meaning "well-born" or "noble""
Yes, you are right with mellowing with age, but also raising kids, especially in these divided states. If you have 3 or more  kids at age 8-18 and they join sports or any school activities, utatii if you try to be a responsible parent. I suspect that is why a lot of people bail out through divorce or relationships break down. Their routine will drive you bonkers, and you will be an unappreciated chauffeur for a few years, going from place to place until you drift if you are not careful lol. Men in Kenya have it good because most don't care much about their kids' day-to-day activities. On the dynamics of engagement, this nipate and the previous have been politically driven for the most part and tend to be active during elections or major political shifts. Kenyans for the most part don't know much about Art, travel, tourism, Universe, and events happening around the world in depth, so when they meet, it is cheap politics and regular local gossip. Most Kenyans, I believe, still think there are 8 planets in the universe lol.If you tell them there are more planets than human beings on Earth, they'd think you are peddling misinformation. Our depth in reading and knowledge acquisition is below average that is why, I think, we tend to dwell on politics more, even during weddings, events, or anywhere. Very few common topics to discuss that can carry a conversation in a meaningful way. You are also right on online monikers; RVPUNDIT, and I are probably the few that have used one handle consistently. The good thing is, as you allude, when folks change handles, you can still detect who they are with the precision of a neurosurgeon in even one sentence. I don't know why folks do that, but I believe when they are so wrong for so long, when facts become glaring, they are too embarrassed to admit they are wrong, so the easiest way is to change their name. Most people that thought Uhuru and Raila would dislodge Ruto very easily were shocked, and most came back online with different names. I'm sure it will be the same thing in 2027. I know Njamba, aka Kenyaplato, because one time they were beefing with Nattydread, who folks suspect was Njamlik in the past. Their beef had escalated to a point where Nattydread exposed him by posting his house and his pictures with other Kenyans in Delaware, divorce records, etc. Based on that information, he could be around 55-60 right now because that was in 2010 when he did that. Nattydread was a hacker of some sort because he also nailed another pokot fellow I forgot his handle. It is true most folks are above 50 and that is why they have tuliad unlike in the past. I don't know where Dr Masinde went. True RV was alleging he was jailed and was serving a long jail term in North East; he may have died in prison because he was a very old guy then. The owner of nipate.com before it wound up was trying to sell it to me for $2000 but I didn't reply because of my nature to stay anonymous and also to avoid scams. I'm the only human alive who has never been scammed because I quadruple-check things before I engage, and there was no way to verify he was the legitimate owner. I don't know how old Veritas is or the owner of this place. In a few years, it will likely belly up the same way because age has a way of messing with people's fitness and finances.

Lol@sukuma wiki

Time!