Public Announcement
— Safaricom PLC (@SafaricomPLC) July 29, 2022
We are delighted to welcome Mr John Ngumi to Safaricom PLC as a Director and the new Chairman of the Board. pic.twitter.com/hncVtyX1GU
The new Safaricom chairman John Ngumi has been conspicuously missing in pictures in the Ethiopia launch & in the Fuliza announcement.
— Mwango Capital (@MwangoCapital) October 8, 2022
He had replaced Michael Joseph effective August 1st 2022 but we are seeing much, much more of Michael Joseph than him.
Are we missing something? https://t.co/URO3V8pi54 pic.twitter.com/hDhajaJlAl
Kenya like America is a Presidential system. All appointees of President Uhuru shouldn't wait for President William Ruto to fire and replace them...go before Tuesday. Someone like John Ngumi Chairman of Safaricom shouldn't wait to be fired...go tomorrow!
— Ahmednasir Abdullahi SC (@ahmednasirlaw) September 11, 2022
John Ngumi will be named Safaricom Chairman.
— -Dennis Itumbi, CBS (@OleItumbi) July 29, 2022
Ngumi also remains chair of Giant ICDC parastatal and Base Titanium.
John Ngumi is a whole book tied to State Capture.
In 2018, the Government of Tanzania wanted John Ngumi to be extradited to Dar to face a multi billion shilling case. He has been adversely mentioned in several other suspicious deals...... And today, the Handshake Government of Raila and Uhuru appoints him as chair of
— Didmus Wekesa Barasa Mutua (@DidmusWaBarasa) July 30, 2022
He was nowhere to be seen in Ethiopia or even Fuliza Safaricom event.
I guess Ruto has declared him persona non grata
And has been told to quietly exit all gov positions
And wait for jail after his day in courtPublic Announcement
We are delighted to welcome Mr John Ngumi to Safaricom PLC as a Director and the new Chairman of the Board. pic.twitter.com/hncVtyX1GU
Wacha story mob, John Ngumi was in Addis...
Michael Joseph is the Chairman of Safaricom Ethiopia as well as Chair of Mpesa Global....He was nowhere to be seen in Ethiopia or even Fuliza Safaricom event.
I guess Ruto has declared him persona non grata
And has been told to quietly exit all gov positions
And wait for jail after his day in courtPublic Announcement
That said, both John Ngumi and Michael Joseph are way overrated beyond their real/actual capabilities.