Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: RV Kirgit on July 30, 2021, 03:30:54 AM

Title: Tokyo Olympics
Post by: RV Kirgit on July 30, 2021, 03:30:54 AM
3k steeplechase underway!

Consensus kipruto missing
Title: Re: Tokyo Olympics
Post by: KenyanPlato on July 30, 2021, 01:53:48 PM
May they fail miserably. They win and their fame and money may be used to displace kenyans in rv
Post by: RV Pundit on July 30, 2021, 02:07:22 PM
Unalia mapema. Save the tears please.
May they fail miserably. They win and their fame and money may be used to displace kenyans in rv
Post by: KenyanPlato on July 30, 2021, 02:11:31 PM
I am not crying. We buried sang and even this current Olympians may be making oil in rv soon
Post by: RV Pundit on July 30, 2021, 02:33:51 PM
Kwani in a war situation - you wanted him to stop being kalenjin? You, diaspora guys, were fundraising for Mungiki retaliation. In war, the rules changes.

Just pray for peace. And work for peace.

Otherwise when war break out - almost every kikuyu will be expected to assist - and so will kalenjin - if you have a lorry - you may be told to transport arms or warriors.

The question is - why are you inciting war ? Why are you inciting tribal hate?

The war that happened - happened - it now history - move on and work on to prevent future wars.

If everyone resorted to the kind of tribal incitement and hate you're trying si ITALIA SANA

Talk BOTTOM UP as a failed accountant...wacha ukabila

I am not crying. We buried sang and even this current Olympians may be making oil in rv soon
Post by: KenyanPlato on July 30, 2021, 03:45:37 PM
Unlike you, I am principled and will never engage in war unless is to defend my life. Sang was just being a typical kale. Bitter and uncivilized. He was torching his neighbors houses because he could and didn't value them as human beings
Post by: RV Pundit on July 30, 2021, 04:51:56 PM
Youre engaging in online war. You're just a coward to pick the machete.
Unlike you, I am principled and will never engage in war unless is to defend my life. Sang was just being a typical kale. Bitter and uncivilized. He was torching his neighbors houses because he could and didn't value them as human beings
Post by: KenyanPlato on July 30, 2021, 04:55:17 PM
Which online war. I just posted an article of late Olympian KIPKEMBOI SANG
Post by: RV Kirgit on July 30, 2021, 06:32:28 PM
A naziscist ojinga supporter has unanimously hijacked and derailed a thread.
Post by: RV Pundit on July 30, 2021, 06:52:24 PM
Yeah is a microcosm of Ojinga outside Luo Nyanza- most of them have short-wire.Those in Luo Nyanza are of course under a dictatorship enacted by a quasi-Odinga militia.
Post by: KenyanPlato on July 30, 2021, 07:00:13 PM
I just posted an article on the tragic death of Sang. Please don't accuse me of malice
Post by: RV Pundit on July 30, 2021, 07:43:23 PM
Big deal. So all athletes including those who were even not yet born in 2007 are guilty of Sang crimes. Or you mean every Kalenjin including PNU supporters like my father were guilty. Those who are not yet born are also guilty because they will use their money in the future to attack your people.

Quit being an idiot. Quit being bitter. War came and went. Move on.People got killed on both side. Kibaki killed my cousin on day one using police forces.Kibaki filled up Kisumu morgues in a single day.

I just posted an article on the tragic death of Sang. Please don't accuse me of malice
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on July 30, 2021, 09:05:52 PM
10000 meters.  Ugandans and Ethiopians eating Kenya's lunch.

Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on July 30, 2021, 09:46:06 PM

Obiri through the prelims.  I am counting on her for one of the guaranteed golds.  Niyonsaba long overdue for gender/testosterone test.

Post by: RV Pundit on July 30, 2021, 09:56:08 PM
10k has become impossible..5k is also going.Most Kenyans long distance runners just jump straight to marathon ever since marathon started making money.Wanjiru jumped straight to marathon.The removal of 10k from diamond league worse it...it will die as an event.
Post by: RV Pundit on July 30, 2021, 09:58:53 PM
yeah she been absolutely smoking it for last few years..seem military discpline helping

Obiri through the prelims.  I am counting on her for one of the guaranteed golds.  Niyonsaba long overdue for gender/testosterone test.

Post by: Arcadian_Dreamer on July 31, 2021, 05:53:40 AM
Yeah is a microcosm of Ojinga outside Luo Nyanza- most of them have short-wire.Those in Luo Nyanza are of course under a dictatorship enacted by a quasi-Odinga militia.

You love bashing Luos, don't you? Here is a Kikuyu kicking your  ass and your geuza maneno to Jaluo, pathetic.
Post by: RV Pundit on July 31, 2021, 06:41:05 AM
I didn't bash Luo..I sympathize with them for they don't have any democracy.The militia doesn't allow divergent views even when odinga clearly wasted them
Post by: Arcadian_Dreamer on July 31, 2021, 08:35:39 AM

Niyonsaba is clearly male. What is crazy is they are banning Semenya & Niyonsaba while transsexual males are allowed to compete as women in the Olympics. Something is not right
Post by: RV Pundit on July 31, 2021, 03:17:48 PM
Kenya need to invest in coaching for short races

https://www.facebook.com/BBCnewsafrica/videos/519880092457757/?__cft__[0]=AZWkbeJf3t9Nmrh84qE9dUkEszF8J3oaCqiEdE0sCNGg4U26zZUtb8m83PoG2kM28T1zn5B4O1CB-I3K6p7DthV-0j5uYHMQfEQF-0J-coYGa1zTdqCzMQPEAzLrr5lG4W3JXdbLuCs7OKz_rUoLqiI4w9IdPSB9uQijXQwL2sRrbKm7e-4zC70RMOJ4PFxHaVQ&__tn__=%2B%3FFH-R
Post by: RV Pundit on July 31, 2021, 07:04:11 PM
Ferdinand Omanyala Omurwa becomes the first Kenyan athlete to qualify for semi-finals in 100m Men’s Olympics.
Breaking his own National record of 10.02
Sasa tuko semi-Finals! 🥳

If Omanyala makes the final this will beyond great.
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on August 01, 2021, 03:39:22 AM
Ferdinand Omanyala Omurwa becomes the first Kenyan athlete to qualify for semi-finals in 100m Men’s Olympics.
Breaking his own National record of 10.02
Sasa tuko semi-Finals!

If Omanyala makes the final this will beyond great.

That's amazing indeed.  Mark Otieno however doped out, I suspect unknowingly - he seems like a clean guy; Omanyala is more suspect IMO(from physique and previous history).  Still Africans are starting to show up in the sprints.  Akani Simbine for instance is a legitimate threat to win it all. 
Post by: Arcadian_Dreamer on August 01, 2021, 09:21:48 AM
That's amazing indeed.  Mark Otieno however doped out, I suspect unknowingly - he seems like a clean guy; Omanyala is more suspect IMO(from physique and previous history).  Still Africans are starting to show up in the sprints.  Akani Simbine for instance is a legitimate threat to win it all.

That is an oxymoron.

Omanyala is clean, he has the physique for sprints.

Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on August 01, 2021, 01:54:56 PM

That is an oxymoron.

Omanyala is clean, he has the physique for sprints.

I meant he likely did not knowingly take a banned substance. 

Omanyala has been caught doping  before.  I just saw his semi final.  He looked impressive and missed the finals by a whisker.  If he stays clean, he may have earned himself Diamond league invites.

Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on August 01, 2021, 10:00:39 PM

https://www.facebook.com/BBCnewsafrica/videos/519880092457757/?__cft__ (https://www.facebook.com/BBCnewsafrica/videos/519880092457757/?__cft__)[0]=AZWkbeJf3t9Nmrh84qE9dUkEszF8J3oaCqiEdE0sCNGg4U26zZUtb8m83PoG2kM28T1zn5B4O1CB-I3K6p7DthV-0j5uYHMQfEQF-0J-coYGa1zTdqCzMQPEAzLrr5lG4W3JXdbLuCs7OKz_rUoLqiI4w9IdPSB9uQijXQwL2sRrbKm7e-4zC70RMOJ4PFxHaVQ&__tn__=%2B%3FFH-R

You are right.  The sprints are definitely overlooked in Kenya.  Partly because of long distance dominance, there is a perception that you can't find sprinters in Kenya.  Aside from coaching, another possible route is to have US colleges scouting for that talent(again, they only look at long distance talent in Kenya).
Post by: RV Pundit on August 01, 2021, 10:54:28 PM
We should start by getting West African coaches - Ivory Coast - it's good that Omunyala has shown promise. Also high school is critical - getting center of excellence for short races - is something counties should work on - say in Nyanza and western - they can pick one school - offer scholarship to young kids who get you national - coz once you have many good kids competing against each other - you start to build talent pool

https://www.facebook.com/BBCnewsafrica/videos/519880092457757/?__cft__ (https://www.facebook.com/BBCnewsafrica/videos/519880092457757/?__cft__)[0]=AZWkbeJf3t9Nmrh84qE9dUkEszF8J3oaCqiEdE0sCNGg4U26zZUtb8m83PoG2kM28T1zn5B4O1CB-I3K6p7DthV-0j5uYHMQfEQF-0J-coYGa1zTdqCzMQPEAzLrr5lG4W3JXdbLuCs7OKz_rUoLqiI4w9IdPSB9uQijXQwL2sRrbKm7e-4zC70RMOJ4PFxHaVQ&__tn__=%2B%3FFH-R

You are right.  The sprints are definitely overlooked in Kenya.  Partly because of long distance dominance, there is a perception that you can't find sprinters in Kenya.  Aside from coaching, another possible route is to have US colleges scouting for that talent(again, they only look at long distance talent in Kenya).
Post by: KenyanPlato on August 02, 2021, 03:42:20 PM
Everything ruto and uhuru have touched has turned to dust. Even kalenjin athletes have bought into wheelbarrow economics of no hard work but handouts. They have lost every race. Farmers have not farmed expecting govt to give the loans to eat..

Post by: RV Pundit on August 02, 2021, 03:43:53 PM
That is big disaster.
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on August 02, 2021, 04:17:45 PM
This is the current generation that we are depending on.  Ezekiel Kemboi may have been a cartoon, but he always came to work with a hard hat and lunch pail.
Kenya also hasn’t decided if steeplechase world and Olympic champion Conseslus Kipruto will be on the team and able defend his title in Tokyo.

Kipruto dropped out of the race at the national trials last month after two laps and is out of shape, while he is also facing a criminal case in Kenya having been charged last year with statutory rape. He is released on bail.

https://apnews.com/article/sports-2020-tokyo-olympics-africa-kenya-doping-8e7a9e0321fdf5f7a9add8bd02d8aa34
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on August 02, 2021, 06:01:08 PM
Helen Obiri got silver.  With Sifan Hassan looking good in 1,500, it's looking like a Faith Kipyegon silver is the best we can do.  Disaster.
Post by: RV Pundit on August 02, 2021, 06:05:41 PM
Yea it disaster - I was sure of Obiri gold. Maybe 3000 women steelpechase - where my neigberhor will on it.
Helen Obiri got silver.  With Sifan Hassan looking good in 1,500, it's looking like a Faith Kipyegon silver is the best we can do.  Disaster.
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on August 02, 2021, 06:13:22 PM
Yea it disaster - I was sure of Obiri gold. Maybe 3000 women steelpechase - where my neigberhor will on it.

Hopefully.  That and Ferguson Rotich running an 800 for the ages.
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on August 03, 2021, 07:23:08 PM
Christine Mboma wins silver in 200m.  Looks like Southern Africans are going all in on this man-woman strategy.

Post by: RV Pundit on August 03, 2021, 08:34:08 PM
South sudanase-American youngster won 800m so easily. The South Sudanese if they build their sports have the most natural ability - strong, lean and tall.
Post by: Njuri Ncheke on August 03, 2021, 08:36:33 PM
Seems kalenjin are on ngo slow due to Rutos mistreatment.
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on August 03, 2021, 08:57:31 PM
South sudanase-American youngster won 800m so easily. The South Sudanese if they build their sports have the most natural ability - strong, lean and tall.

She is good.  Though South Sudanese in general while tall and lean are usually not athletic - think Manute Bol types.  Too big for long distance running, and too languid and heavy for sprints.  I have seen a few make it in basketball, but in roles heavily reliant on height and not physically demanding, like a stretch four.
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on August 03, 2021, 09:25:31 PM
I don't know how I forgot about the marathon.  There is hope there with Eliud Kipchoge.  It might come down to a contest with Ugandans and Ethiopians also looking to cash in.
Post by: RV Pundit on August 03, 2021, 09:30:39 PM
Yes that is what lacking - the bantu inter-mixture - bring in the mid-section strength lacking in nilotes and Kushites.Luos for some reason are almost bantu and whites - too heavy on their legs - good for football and rubgy - and stamina games.

That Americna-Sudd girl need to move towards as 1500 as she ages and her speed disappears.

She is good.  Though South Sudanese in general while tall and lean are usually not athletic - think Manute Bol types.  Too big for long distance running, and too languid and heavy for sprints.  I have seen a few make it in basketball, but in roles heavily reliant on height and not physically demanding, like a stretch four.
Post by: RV Pundit on August 03, 2021, 09:34:39 PM
Its more covid 19 affecting their sharpness. Athletes don't care about politics.Althetic require incredible discipline...because one kilo added can add such injury risk...so you have to be almost a monk. Growing up I was friend and neighbours althetes - junior - they had no toe nail- all burnt by running - they run from early 4 am till 9 am - then they sleep - then run afternoon - it incredible discipline and taxing of your body you can imagine - all your toe nails get burnt - you sweat until sweat - and you do this for months - for a event that will last few minutes.

Doping is very rampant. Top althetes you need like a half a foot to win - so you have to do everything. Most of them are progeny - kids who won everything in primary with no dopping - but world stage - youre meeting the very best from everywhere. To pass say province - like Rift valley is already very tough- to win in Olympics is to win against in event where all you need to run.

Seems kalenjin are on ngo slow due to Rutos mistreatment.
Post by: Njuri Ncheke on August 04, 2021, 08:01:21 AM
Pundit let me bring more clarity to what you are trying to explain in long paragraphs (where the hell do you,robina,omollo,noway get the strength to write essays?)I will try one today :)
Having lived in different countries I can tell you difference between kenyans and others is kenya are a happy go lucky lot. If there is an excuse not to train they will easily take it. What i presume happened is during covid Our athletes laid back thinking everyone in the world is also taking it easy but unfortunately bazungu even if it were a nuclear attack they won't stop what they do if its training they will redouble efforts. Use the time to concentrate ,am sure our athletes took time off or reduced training. Countries like China are exceptional because they simply take kids from their homes and put them in permanent Olympics training school. So thats why its hard to defeat china. Your are trained with one  Intention to win gold in the field you training. The training is more like military you see your family once a year. In short advantage is you win gold but there is no after life,you split you commercial earnings with the state and those that fail to win gold are neglected and left to rot. China you worship is a bizarre country.
Post by: RV Pundit on August 04, 2021, 08:08:24 AM
Short version. Covid has affected many sporting events. These competitions happening every few months improve their sharpness. Now everything was cancelled. Now it issue of training forever - or taking a break to relax. Most will choose to relax.

Training is done with event in mind...so they go for bootcamp to train for event...but generally you dont want to slack off for long....because it will be hard to shed weight, you risk injury and all.

Short version COVID-19 has affected many things.

Pundit let me bring more clarity to what you are trying to explain in long paragraphs (where the hell do you,robina,omollo,noway get the strength to write essays?)I will try one today :)
Having lived in different countries I can tell you difference between kenyans and others is kenya are a happy go lucky lot. If there is an excuse not to train they will easily take it. What i presume happened is during covid Our athletes laid back thinking everyone in the world is also taking it easy but unfortunately bazungu even if it were a nuclear attack they won't stop what they do if its training they will redouble efforts. Use the time to concentrate ,am sure our athletes took time off or reduced training. Countries like China are exceptional because they simply take kids from their homes and put them in permanent Olympics training school. So thats why its hard to defeat china. Your are trained with one  Intention to win gold in the field you training. The training is more like military you see your family once a year. In short advantage is you win gold but there is no after life,you split you commercial earnings with the state and those that fail to win gold are neglected and left to rot. China you worship is a bizarre country.
Post by: Njuri Ncheke on August 04, 2021, 08:22:49 AM
Short version. Covid has affected many sporting events. These competitions happening every few months improve their sharpness. Now everything was cancelled. Now it issue of training forever - or taking a break to relax. Most will choose to relax.

Training is done with event in mind...so they go for bootcamp to train for event...but generally you dont want to slack off for long....because it will be hard to shed weight, you risk injury and all.

Short version COVID-19 has affected many things.

Yes more like it,apart from China which has Olympics training boarding schools :)
Post by: RV Pundit on August 04, 2021, 08:34:33 AM
Soviet era military dictatorship complete with state sponsored DOPING - that is China,East German, Russia, North Korea, Cubas and such - who want to give false impression that their countries are as good as the rest.
Post by: RV Pundit on August 04, 2021, 02:40:05 PM
3000 lost to Uganda...as Beatrice injured. Kiyeng win bronze
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on August 04, 2021, 03:02:11 PM
Let's keep our fingers crossed for Faith.

Kenya's Faith Kipyegon the one to beat in women's 1500m final
https://www.espn.com/olympics/story/_/id/31955795/kenya-faith-kipyegon-one-beat-women-1500m-final
Post by: KenyanPlato on August 04, 2021, 03:03:23 PM
You asshole stop spamming the board
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on August 04, 2021, 03:06:29 PM
Someone seems to have woken up in a nasty mood!  :D

Pole. Have some Milo.

You asshole stop spamming the board
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on August 04, 2021, 03:09:29 PM
Sifan Hassan vs. Faith. It will be interesting to see how the race goes.
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on August 04, 2021, 03:26:48 PM
First gold for Kenya!
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on August 04, 2021, 03:37:09 PM
Ferguson Rotich got the silver. Good job!
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on August 04, 2021, 03:44:21 PM
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on August 04, 2021, 04:09:37 PM
3000 lost to Uganda...as Beatrice injured. Kiyeng win bronze

I think UG is becoming a serious threat to Kenya's lunch.  And they train in Kenya, though they are trying to set up their own centers in UG.
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on August 04, 2021, 04:37:14 PM
I think Kenya has taken its past medals for granted. There has never been a real appreciation of what the past Olympic wins meant. Then the doping issue should have provoked a serious debate about the direction of the society as a whole. The country had a proud tradition to protect. But, as usual, life just went on. It was far more important to worship tribal heroes rather than ask the tough questions.
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on August 05, 2021, 02:50:57 AM
Olympians Who Died Too Soon
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on August 05, 2021, 05:21:44 PM
Thursday notebook: Team Kenya outfit is popular in Tokyo
https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/sports/athletics/2001420087/thursday-notebook-team-kenya-outfit-is-popular-in-tokyo
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on August 05, 2021, 05:43:36 PM
Thursday notebook: Team Kenya outfit is popular in Tokyo
https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/sports/athletics/2001420087/thursday-notebook-team-kenya-outfit-is-popular-in-tokyo

Better than before.  Still Kenyan teams have too much red IMO.   I wish they could downplay the reds, and highlight the blacks, greens and whites.  Not sure who chooses these colors.
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on August 05, 2021, 05:45:27 PM

This youngster(14 years old) scores a perfect score in diving.  Diving from anything above a meter scares the heck out of me.

Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on August 06, 2021, 04:33:55 PM
Cheptegei gets gold for Uganda and Chelimo gets the bronze for USA in 5000. Kemeli was 4th.

Post by: RV Pundit on August 06, 2021, 06:19:45 PM
Faith get 1500m - she is underrated champion - with two back-to-back gold medals now.
Post by: KenyanPlato on August 06, 2021, 06:25:40 PM
Kimeli melts in the last 20 yards. Kales in kenya are getting schooled my ,Museveni kales  ..Bure sana hawa Hastla wa mwizi ruto
Post by: RV Pundit on August 06, 2021, 06:58:51 PM
Museveni anakuuma. We can decide to annex half kenya back to Uganda :) and Ruto can inherit Museveni :).

Kimeli melts in the last 20 yards. Kales in kenya are getting schooled my ,Museveni kales  ..Bure sana hawa Hastla wa mwizi ruto
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on August 06, 2021, 08:10:40 PM
Let's hope Brigid brings the marathon gold tomorrow. I wonder how Jemima is doing. An 8-year ban is not a light thing.
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on August 06, 2021, 11:24:58 PM
What is sad is that you have to go to a non-Kenyan source to really appreciate what Faith accomplished:

The Kenyan defended her Rio Olympic gold medal and ran an Olympic-record 3:53.11, blasting away from Sifan Hassan and Laura Muir in the final 200 meters and closing in 59.18 for her final 400.

...Hassan employed her usual strategy of sinking to the back off the start line, but she would not stay there for long as she made a big push on the home straight and was in the lead by 300 meters. Perhaps sensing a repeat of Hassan’s blazing 3:51 from the 2019 World Championship final, the major players responded immediately, with Kipyegon moving onto Hassan’s shoulder and Muir on Kipyegon’s shoulder in third.

...There was just one problem: Faith Kipyegon is a much better runner in 2021 than she was in 2019. And she showed it over the final 200 meters tonight. As Hassan tried to break Kipyegon and Muir on the back straight, Kipyegon was already answering with a move of her own to get the lead, which she secured with 230 meters to go. From there, it was game over as she powered away to gold with a 29.5 final 200.

... As a World Youth champion in the 1500 at age 17, a World Junior champion in the 1500 at 18, and a two-time World XC junior champion (including barefoot in 2011!), Kipyegon faced massive expectations as she graduated to the senior ranks. Somehow, she has exceeded them. She now has two Olympic titles, a world title, two World Championship silvers, and a 3:51.07 personal best.

...Kipyegon finished a well-beaten second behind Hassan in 2019 but the fact that she was able to run 3:54 and take the silver in that race is actually pretty incredible considering she had given birth to daughter Alyn a year earlier and did not have a smooth recovery ahead of Worlds (she raced just twice in 2019 before Worlds). This time around, Kipyegon was in much better shape and said she was proud to win the gold medal for Alyn and could not wait to celebrate with her in her home village in Kenya.

Women’s 1500: Kipyegon Reigns Again, Runs Olympic Record 3:53.11, Muir Beats Hassan for Silver
https://www.letsrun.com/news/2021/08/kipyegon-gold-muir-silver-hassan-bronze-1500-2020-olympics/

Faith get 1500m - she is underrated champion - with two back-to-back gold medals now.
Post by: RV Pundit on August 07, 2021, 10:07:14 AM
Marathon gold and silver...look like we can still salvage this olympics with 1500 men, 10k women and men marathon expected to bring more medals.
Post by: RV Pundit on August 07, 2021, 10:14:29 AM
Njamba - there were at least 10 kalenjin representing many countries
Women Marathon, Kalenjin is International!
1. Peres Jepchirchir - Kenya
2. Bridgit Kosgei - Kenya
3. Ruth Chepngetich - Kenya
4. Eunice Chebichii Chumba - Bahrain
5. Sally Kipyego - USA
6. Immaculate Chemutai - Uganda
7. Susan Jeptoo - France
8. Juliet Chekwel - Uganda
9. Aliphine Chepkerker - USA
10. Lonah Chemtai Salpeter - Israel
Post by: RV Pundit on August 08, 2021, 03:16:30 AM
Eliud become the greatest long distance runner ever..ever to be seen
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on August 08, 2021, 04:09:10 AM
I was glad Eliud was able to pull it off.

Cherono, on the other hand, got played by wariah.

Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on August 08, 2021, 04:31:58 PM
...At age 36, Kipchoge is the oldest to win the men's marathon at the Olympics since Carlos Lopes, who was 37 when he won in 1984.

Really, this was a running clinic. Kipchoge smiled along the way and even fist-bumped a fellow racer. Kipchoge becomes the third athlete to win multiple gold medals in the men's marathon, joining Abebe Bikila (1960, '64) and Waldemar Cierpinski ('76, '80).

...The fans saw a dominant performance from Kipchoge, who was a huge favorite as both the defending champion from Rio de Janeiro and the world-record holder (2:01:39). In October 2019, he became the first to complete a marathon in under two hours. The time didn't count as a world record, though, because it wasn't held under race conditions.

Already etched in the Kenyan record books, Kipchoge added another chapter: He joined Kip Keino and Vivian Cheruiyot on the women's side as the only ones from the country to win four Olympic medals.

In addition to his marathon golds, Kipchoge has silver ('08) and bronze ('04) in the 5,000 meters.

...Kipchoge diligently trained at elevation to get ready for this race. He said the key to running "is not magic science. It's not rocket science, to be at the top for a long time."

Instead, he attributes his "systems" for his success -- teammates who can push him and a coach who can teach.

Kenya's Eliud Kipchoge repeats as Olympic men's marathon champion
https://www.espn.com/olympics/story/_/id/31983062/kenya-eliud-kipchoge-repeats-olympic-marathon-champion
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on August 11, 2021, 09:33:41 PM
Interesting article:

Even more amazing, over three-quarters of the Kenyan champions come from one ethnic community of 6.4 million - the Kalenjin - who are a group of Southern Nilotic peoples indigenous to East Africa.

Numerous studies mainly by Western nations have been conducted to establish the reason behind the extraordinary success of Kenyan runners.

Studies have found significant differences in body mass index and bone structure between the Western athletes and the Kenyans who had bested them.

The studied Kenyans had less mass for their height, longer legs, shorter torsos, and more slender limbs.

Speaking to Xinhua on Tuesday, Irish missionary and athletics coach Brother Colm O'Connell who is widely known as the "Godfather of Kenyan running" explained the excellence of Kenyan runners cannot be summed into a single or a set of reasons.

"What I would put above everything else is Kenya has created a running culture that is more important than all other factors or potential factors such as genetics, good climate and rural areas of training," O'Connell said.

...While Kenya once again topped the African medal charts at the Olympics, O'Connell is concerned that the dominance is under threat from lack of good facilities as well as the collapse of the country's school structures that unearthed hundreds of champion runners in the past.

For years, the cultural argument was that Kenyans become great runners because they often run several kilometers to and from school every day but that has been debunked in recent times.

Champion Kenyan athletes either walk or take the bus to school like normal children do and since the turn of the century, many stopped running bare feet which were thought to develop good habits.

It was also previously thought that the simple Kenyan diet mainly rich in carbohydrates and protein was responsible, but the reality is champion athletes eat nothing special.

...A few European studies in Germany and Denmark concluded Kenyans enjoy a genetic advantage over other runners with the average Kalenjin capable of beating 90 percent of the global population.

Tokyo 2020 class cements Kenya's position as nation of top runners
http://www.xinhuanet.com/english/2021-08/11/c_1310121468.htm