Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 23, 2021, 06:25:43 AM

Title: Is there a solution for shipping dead bodies to Kenya?
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 23, 2021, 06:25:43 AM
It seems I'm always reading of a Kenyan who has died abroad, and the family needs help to fly the body back to Kenya for burial.

I cannot see Americans facing such a problem and not being able to find a solution.

Surely, there has to be a better alternative to begging. This problem has been around for years! When will there be a solution for coming up with the $10,000 or so that's needed? Just wondering.
Title: Re: Is there a solution for shipping dead bodies to Kenya?
Post by: vooke on July 23, 2021, 08:17:21 AM
Burn it up!
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 23, 2021, 03:02:53 PM
When I read this I was quite shocked:

Kenya Embassy DC Staff Member Andrew Onyuna Ochieng Passes Away
https://diasporamessenger.com/2021/06/kenya-embassy-dc-staff-member-andrew-onyuna-ochieng-passes-away/

I can only think that this man (rest in peace) had to have been a locally hired staffer of the Kenya Embassy. I don't think he was hired from Kenya. In any case, funds were being requested to ship his remains to Kenya.

To see funds being requested to ship the body of a Kenyan Embassy employee brings things to a whole other level. Surely, there has to be a long-term solution.
Post by: KenyanPlato on July 23, 2021, 03:58:33 PM
There is insurance for this. There was an cover that was started by kenyans but our useful idiots want this to be someone else burden after they die. I don't contribute a penny to such nonsense
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 23, 2021, 04:03:24 PM
When was this insurance started?

There is insurance for this. There was an cover that was started by kenyans but our useful idiots want this to be someone else burden after they die. I don't contribute a penny to such nonsense
Post by: KenyanPlato on July 23, 2021, 04:09:08 PM
15 years or so,ago. Kenyans ni watu washenzi sana. They do not plan for life.,they just live
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 23, 2021, 04:17:51 PM
So the insurance no longer exists?

15 years or so,ago. Kenyans ni watu washenzi sana. They do not plan for life.,they just live
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 23, 2021, 04:28:20 PM
Here is another example (God rest her soul in peace):

The family is kindly requesting well-wishers support through prayers and finances to help them raise funds to cater for the hospital, mortuary expenses, as well as repatriation of her body to accord her last respects and burial in Gem Ahono village, Siaya County.

Kenyan Lady Christine Babu Passes Away While Traveling From US To Kenya
https://diasporamessenger.com/2021/07/kenyan-lady-christine-babu-passes-away-while-traveling-from-us-to-kenya/
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 23, 2021, 04:31:33 PM
And here is yet another example (rest in peace):

The late Judy Gatei had been hospitalized at St. Joseph hospital including ICU ward until her demise.  We kindly request for your prayers and financial support as we prepare to bid her farewell.

Death Announcement Of Judy Wambui Gatei Of Woodland Park, NJ
https://diasporamessenger.com/2021/07/death-announcement-of-judy-wambui-gatei-of-woodland-park-nj/
Post by: KenyanPlato on July 23, 2021, 05:43:22 PM
So the insurance no longer exists?

Not sure. I was never interested in it. I will be buried in USA or where I die
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 23, 2021, 08:50:11 PM
SHIPPING A DEAD BODY: 10 THINGS YOU NEED TO KNOW
https://www.funeralwise.com/2019/01/16/shipping-a-dead-body-10-things-you-need-to-know/
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 23, 2021, 08:58:48 PM
Transportation of remains of a Deceased Kenyan
https://kenyaembassydc.org/transdeceased/
Post by: patel on July 23, 2021, 09:47:59 PM
People should be buried where they die. We need to hold our people accountable this thing of Harambee on everything is very annoying.
Post by: RV Pundit on July 23, 2021, 09:54:28 PM
Cremate; bring the ash to africa in a jar; and bury
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 23, 2021, 09:56:37 PM
An idea just occurred to me. What about working out an arrangement with the new Kenya Airways flight from New York Nairobi to have a discounted or affordable rate for shipping dead Kenyans to Kenya? I got the idea after reading this article:

Kenya Airways to airlift bodies for Sh25,000
https://nation.africa/kenya/business/kenya-airways-to-airlift-bodies-for-sh25-000-1049564?view=htmlamp

Can Kenyans in the Diaspora negotiate something with the national carrier? After all, the Diaspora has been sending so much money to Kenya lately. Surely, this is an issue of great importance to the Kenya Diaspora.
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 23, 2021, 10:07:31 PM
The direct New York to Nairobi Kenya Airways flight might be the key to solving this old problem. Just my feeling. But we need more heads to come up with possible solutions.  :)
Post by: KenyanPlato on July 23, 2021, 10:42:33 PM
An idea just occurred to me. What about working out an arrangement with the new Kenya Airways flight from New York Nairobi to have a discounted or affordable rate for shipping dead Kenyans to Kenya? I got the idea after reading this article:

https://nation.africa/kenya/business/kenya-airways-to-airlift-bodies-for-sh25-000-1049564?view=htmlamp

Can Kenyans in the Diaspora negotiate something with the national carrier? After all, the Diaspora has been sending so much money to Kenya lately. Surely, this is an issue of great importance to the Kenya Diaspora.

You are a moron. Cargo get charged the market rates. You send the cadaver using sea it is cheaper. Wewe ni mtu bloodyfacking sana
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 23, 2021, 11:31:48 PM
Are you having a bad day? Or have you run out of your medication? Pole! I would hate to be in your shoes at the moment. :D

You are a moron. Cargo get charged the market rates. You send the cadaver using sea it is cheaper. Wewe ni mtu bloodyfacking sana
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 23, 2021, 11:37:15 PM
Back to the discussion. Kenya Airways needs passenger business. Diaspora passengers sometimes need to ship dead bodies. Is there room for a deal of sorts?  :D

UPDATE 2-Kenya Airways bets on cargo as pandemic wipes out travel
https://www.reuters.com/article/kenya-airways-results/update-2-kenya-airways-bets-on-cargo-as-pandemic-wipes-out-travel-idUSL1N2LL0BO
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 24, 2021, 01:17:18 AM
The Kenya Government owes almost half of Kenya Airways. What if each flight could only take a maximum of 2 dead bodies to Kenya at $5000 each? What would this mean financially to Kenya Airways? And what if the Kenyans flying to Kenya for the funeral had to take Kenya Airways? I would love to know from someone familiar with airline cargo. In other words, how much would it be losing?

Politically, it would be a win for the Government. Which Kenyan in the Diaspora would complain?

However, I suspect that the demand would outstrip the supply. There would have to be a waiting list. This in turn would bring in the issue of where to store the body while waiting for your turn to have your relative's remains flown to Kenya.

Anyway, Kenyans created Mpesa. Maybe we can create an economic system for shipping dead bodies to Kenya.  :D
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 25, 2021, 08:55:14 PM
How do a dead body comes from Abroad? || In Aircraft, where the corpse is keep?
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 25, 2021, 10:03:58 PM
ASK A MORTICIAN– Corpses on a Plane!
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 26, 2021, 03:47:32 PM
How Much Does It Cost To Bring A Dead Body On A Plane?
https://funeralcompanion.com/air-transportation-dead-bodies/
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 27, 2021, 02:13:16 AM
Funeral Shipping to Kenya
http://www.intlfuneralserviceny.com/funeral-shipping-kenya/
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 27, 2021, 02:18:09 AM
Body Repatriation Service from the UK to Kenya with Slaters
https://www.slatersinternational.co.uk/outbound-destinations/repatriation-to-kenya
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 27, 2021, 09:57:56 PM
KQ Repatriation
https://www.kqcargo.com/en/products--services/products/kq-repatriation/
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 27, 2021, 10:00:24 PM
Repatriation of Human Remains to Kenya - Nairobi and Mombasa
https://www.keyair.eu/repatriation-of-human-remains-to-kenya
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 29, 2021, 03:04:26 AM
This desire to be buried in the place you were born is strong for many first generation African migrants in the UK.

The demand is so huge among the British Moroccan community that, according to embassy officials, at least 95% of first generation migrants are buried in Morocco.

A system is now in place to cover repatriation costs.

"There are three Moroccan banks which provide free repatriation and a free plane ticket for a relative to assist the transportation of the body back to Morocco," says Souad Talsi from the Council for the Moroccan Community Abroad.

She says that if the deceased person is not registered with a Moroccan bank, his or her next of kin can go to the Moroccan embassy and the government will take care of the repatriation charges which can cost around £7,000 ($10,500).

But for many African communities in the UK, there is often no official financial support and many families struggle to meet the costs.

Why Africans in the UK pay so much to send relatives' bodies home
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-35177401
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 29, 2021, 04:20:38 PM
This is very interesting!

The Ministry in Charge of Moroccans Residing Abroad and Migration Affairs is responsible for the repatriation costs of the remains/body of Moroccans who died abroad and have no insurance and their families cannot afford to pay, from their host country to the address of their families in Morocco.
Proof of the indigence of the deceased and his family are required.

Request to the Moroccan authorities to pay the cost of repatriating for cases of families in need
https://www.consulat.ma/en/request-moroccan-authorities-pay-cost-repatriating-cases-families-need
Post by: KenyanPlato on July 29, 2021, 10:42:47 PM
You are still at this ujinga. Stop it.
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on July 29, 2021, 11:38:06 PM
It is ujinga to you because you cannot handle the truth! Kenyans are struggling to ship dead bodies back to Kenya. You are the fool.

Stop blocking Kenyans from seeing how others deal with this matter.

You are still at this ujinga. Stop it.
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on August 03, 2021, 12:19:57 AM
And the problem continues as can be seen in this latest example (RIP):

The family in Kenya is quite distraught. With no answers as to what happened, the little comfort we can give is to help them perform the final funeral rites in Kenya. Without the funds, this cannot happen and Chris would have to be buried in a foreign land by the local government against his family’s wishes, culture and traditions.

We are appealing to well wishers for their generous support to raise $20,000 needed to ship his remains back to his parents in Kenya.

Kenyan Man Found Dead In His Apartment In Joplin Missouri
https://diasporamessenger.com/2021/08/kenyan-man-found-dead-in-his-apartment-in-joplin-missouri/
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on September 22, 2021, 05:24:02 AM
The family of Kenyan-born Australian ex-senator Lucy Gichuhi will now bury their daughter in Australia after they failed to raise enough money to bring her body to Kenya.

Peris Wanjiru, 33, died a month ago. A week later, the family opened a GoFundMe page asking well-wishers to help raise Sh3.3 million to bring her remains to Kenya for burial.

The family sought to raise about Sh3.3 million ($30,000), but only Sh41,000 ($400) had been collected when the page was closed.

“A little here and there will go a long way in making this possible and lessening the huge financial burden to her family as they come to terms with this devastating loss of their firstborn gone too soon,” the page said, adding that Covid-19 restrictions had resulted in overwhelming costs to the family as it sought to bring her home.

But in an obituary placed in Tuesday’s dailies in Kenya, the family said she will be buried next Monday in Adelaide, Australia.

Ex-Australian Senator Lucy Gichuhi Fails To Raise Sh3m To Bury Daughter In Kenya
https://diasporamessenger.com/2021/09/ex-australian-senator-lucy-gichuhi-fails-to-raise-sh3m-to-bury-daughter-in-kenya/
Post by: gout on September 22, 2021, 12:07:36 PM
You want to buy a coffin worth 3,000 dollars uringie maskini Nyeri.  Bure kabisa. Choma maiti uweke kwa vase. It is already dead.

It is great the good samaritans saw through that bullshit. 3M! Arragance.
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on September 22, 2021, 05:15:28 PM
I think a lot of Kenyans lie when they say that they plan to be cremated when they die.
Post by: KenyanPlato on September 22, 2021, 08:56:34 PM
You want to buy a coffin worth 3,000 dollars uringie maskini Nyeri.  Bure kabisa. Choma maiti uweke kwa vase. It is already dead.

It is great the good samaritans saw through that bullshit. 3M! Arragance.

That fool was asking for 30k to send a body home. Why couldn't she burry her daughter in Australia.,what so important about African corpses to be repatriated to be buried in the shit hole the living person runaway from? Africans do stupid shit. I willnt contribute even a kobold to such waste
Post by: vooke on September 23, 2021, 10:19:20 AM
I think a lot of Kenyans lie when they say that they plan to be cremated when they die.

Yeah. Biggest consideration is offending your relatives

But why not invest in funeral insurance covers. KCB Ana’s one costing a mere 11,400 per annum covering SIX. you, your spouse, and both your parents. You can include another dependent for 600/-

Payout is 500K within 48 hours.
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on September 23, 2021, 01:46:46 PM
You mean Kenya Commercial Bank has an insurance policy for shipping bodies?

Yeah. Biggest consideration is offending your relatives

But why not invest in funeral insurance covers. KCB Ana’s one costing a mere 11,400 per annum covering SIX. you, your spouse, and both your parents. You can include another dependent for 600/-

Payout is 500K within 48 hours.
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on October 14, 2021, 03:00:10 AM
We are saddened to announce the passing away of Michael Mburu Karanja of Lowell Massachusetts after a hit and run accident on October 11th 2021.

The family wishes to repatriate the body back to Kenya for burial and this is approximated to cost about $25,000.

Gone too soon: Death announcement of Michael Mburu Karanja of Lowell,MA
https://diasporamessenger.com/2021/10/gone-too-soon-death-announcement-of-michael-mburu-karanja-of-lowellma/
Post by: Arcadian_Dreamer on October 14, 2021, 04:11:29 AM
We are saddened to announce the passing away of Michael Mburu Karanja of Lowell Massachusetts after a hit and run accident on October 11th 2021.

The family wishes to repatriate the body back to Kenya for burial and this is approximated to cost about $25,000.

https://diasporamessenger.com/2021/10/gone-too-soon-death-announcement-of-michael-mburu-karanja-of-lowellma/

Liquidate his belongings, access his bank accounts. Kwani everyone who dies is broke and has to have fund raising?

Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on October 14, 2021, 04:36:43 AM
That is a very good question. It had actually never crossed my mind as to whether any dead Kenyan in America had assets that could be liquidated.

Interesting.

Liquidate his belongings, access his bank accounts. Kwani everyone who dies is broke and has to have fund raising?
Post by: Gikomba_Hawker on October 20, 2021, 04:00:20 AM
Following her demise, the family intends to send her remains back home in Kenya, Vihiga county for burial.

The family is kindly asking for prayers and financial help towards this endeavor.

We shall communicate and relay more information when it becomes available

Kindly send your contributions to Reuben Okoko

Gone Too Soon: Death Announcemnet Of Rodah Anono Of New Jersey
https://diasporamessenger.com/2021/10/gone-too-soon-death-announcemnet-of-rodah-anono-of-new-jersey/