Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: Nefertiti on February 03, 2018, 12:46:00 PM

Title: Microsoft finally eclipses Apple market cap
Post by: Nefertiti on February 03, 2018, 12:46:00 PM
I keep seeing conjectures about Alphabet/Google and Amazon catching up but don't see it happening. Apple at 820B; Alphabet 770B; Amazon 680B. Alphabet has no mass products to hit a "grand slam" and Amazon's too far with slim margins.

Apple Reports First Quarter Results

-Revenue and EPS Hit New All-Time Records

-Active Installed Base of Devices Reaches 1.3 Billion in January

Cupertino, California — February 1, 2018 — Apple today announced financial results for its fiscal 2018 first quarter ended December 30, 2017. The Company posted quarterly revenue of $88.3 billion, an increase of 13 percent from the year-ago quarter and an all-time record, and quarterly earnings per diluted share of $3.89, up 16 percent, also an all-time record. International sales accounted for 65 percent of the quarter’s revenue.

https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2018/02/apple-reports-first-quarter-results/?lipi=urn%3Ali%3Apage%3Ad_flagship3_feed%3B6pS7fI3rRCSS7LUTLULV%2BA%3D%3D (https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2018/02/apple-reports-first-quarter-results/?lipi=urn%3Ali%3Apage%3Ad_flagship3_feed%3B6pS7fI3rRCSS7LUTLULV%2BA%3D%3D)

Apple, Amazon and Alphabet in race to $1 trillion market cap as tech titans post massive sales numbers
http://www.cityam.com/279934/apple-amazon-and-alphabet-race-1-trillion-market-cap-tech (http://www.cityam.com/279934/apple-amazon-and-alphabet-race-1-trillion-market-cap-tech)
Title: Re: Apple will hit $1T soon.. at 800B+ now
Post by: RV Pundit on February 03, 2018, 11:37:20 PM
Crazy figures..
Post by: Nefertiti on February 03, 2018, 11:53:35 PM
Crazy figures..

Yeah. On my part I believe Elon Musk will be the first individual trillionaire.

Windy, have picked up your flamethrower yet??

Elon Musk sells all 20,000 Boring Company 'flamethrowers'
https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2018/feb/01/elon-musk-sells-out-boring-company-flamethrowers-fire (https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2018/feb/01/elon-musk-sells-out-boring-company-flamethrowers-fire)

(https://static1.squarespace.com/static/5915617137c58104451ac5fb/t/5a7237c79140b7a6ff425a1a/1517434828005/Boring_Company_Flamethrower.png?format=1000w)

(https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/warisboring.com/images/20160303080455/flamethrower-e1396973685544-970x350.jpg)

(https://www.outerplaces.com/media/k2/items/cache/fa3c523234d723efddba60c2c7a77cc0_L.jpg)
Post by: Nefertiti on February 04, 2018, 12:07:42 AM
https://instagram.com/p/BeeYW0NA1HU/?utm_source=ig_embed
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on February 04, 2018, 04:41:35 PM
Crazy figures..

Yeah. On my part I believe Elon Musk will be the first individual trillionaire.

Windy, have picked up your flamethrower yet??

Elon Musk sells all 20,000 Boring Company 'flamethrowers'
https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2018/feb/01/elon-musk-sells-out-boring-company-flamethrowers-fire (https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2018/feb/01/elon-musk-sells-out-boring-company-flamethrowers-fire)

(https://static1.squarespace.com/static/5915617137c58104451ac5fb/t/5a7237c79140b7a6ff425a1a/1517434828005/Boring_Company_Flamethrower.png?format=1000w)

(https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/warisboring.com/images/20160303080455/flamethrower-e1396973685544-970x350.jpg)

(https://www.outerplaces.com/media/k2/items/cache/fa3c523234d723efddba60c2c7a77cc0_L.jpg)

I like some things Musk does.  Actually I only find his dreams of colonization of space fantasy.  The likeliest trillionaire IMO would Jeff Bezos types.  Or his Chinese analogue whose name I forget.
Post by: hk on February 05, 2018, 07:52:09 AM
Apple numbers are just mind boggling doing $230b annual revenue with 22% profit margin. Apple ecosystem is really huge which gives it an economic moat. Apple did $32b on services, that's ridiculous. Basically apple service revenue is almost equal to Facebook's. Its sad to think apple last quarter revenue is creator than kenya GDP, we need to do something.
Post by: Nefertiti on February 05, 2018, 09:59:28 AM
 8) It's what I keep saying. We need to think global. State sponsored airlifts? When Bob runs around pompously - because he runs "the biggest company in the region" - with $1B revenues - it disheartens. And this is an expatriate! Does working in the region make IQ drop :o

Apple numbers are just mind boggling doing $230b annual revenue with 22% profit margin. Apple ecosystem is really huge which gives it an economic moat. Apple did $32b on services, that's ridiculous. Basically apple service revenue is almost equal to Facebook's. Its sad to think apple last quarter revenue is creator than kenya GDP, we need to do something.
Post by: RV Pundit on February 05, 2018, 10:56:40 AM
Yeap we need to think globally - but first let's think regionally - our companies don't think beyond EAC - they don't think of expanding to Egypt or Nigeria or South Africa - and even abroad. The likes of Equity & Kenol-Kobil are the exceptions - with expansion all the way to Congo & Zambia.

Obviously for likes of Apple - once you conquer US - you've corned rougly 20-30% of the global market.We certainly screwed up with M-pesa when we allowed vodafone to own the license...that was kenya chance to led the globe in something outside althetics.

8) It's what I keep saying. We need to think global. State sponsored airlifts? When Bob runs around pompously - because he runs "the biggest company in the region" - with $1B revenues - it disheartens. And this is an expatriate! Does working in the region make IQ drop :o
Post by: Nefertiti on February 05, 2018, 11:55:58 AM
We didn't blunder with M-pesa - MJ is a mzungu who played pivotal role - it's foolhardy to except him to favor Kenya.

There are many more opportunities we can use to grow and go global. Companies like Apple - the battle to corner the US was brutal and they barely made it. Actually they had to bring back Jobs whom they had pushed out over his crazy ambitions.

The first for me is global talent - if you have a company like Seven Seas or even Brookeside - hire global talent and ignore Atwoli small minds. Uhuru has the muscle to bring in Israeli expats - and take his company regional and global. Equity has an impressive talent pool - with quite a few Ivy Leagues - little surprise they have a clear vision. Safaricom has tried this with the MIT dude running their innovation lab - and the e-commerce guy from SA[?].  I hope they keep it up.

Yeap we need to think globally - but first let's think regionally - our companies don't think beyond EAC - they don't think of expanding to Egypt or Nigeria or South Africa - and even abroad. The likes of Equity & Kenol-Kobil are the exceptions - with expansion all the way to Congo & Zambia.

Obviously for likes of Apple - once you conquer US - you've corned rougly 20-30% of the global market.We certainly screwed up with M-pesa when we allowed vodafone to own the license...that was kenya chance to led the globe in something outside althetics.
Post by: RV Pundit on February 05, 2018, 12:32:55 PM
Yeap certainly help tapping foreign talent and also global financing - I am seeing lots of encouraging VC activities - but generally there is no need to rush and be crushed in global markets - when you haven't cornered the region. Africa alone is big market. We need to corner it. Our banks need to be in most of Africa countries. The same with other services companies...that will lay the "infrastructures" for expansions.
We didn't blunder with M-pesa - MJ is a mzungu who played pivotal role - it's foolhardy to except him to favor Kenya.

There are many more opportunities we can use to grow and go global. Companies like Apple - the battle to corner the US was brutal and they barely made it. Actually they had to bring back Jobs whom they had pushed out over his crazy ambitions.

The first for me is global talent - if you have a company like Seven Seas or even Brookeside - hire global talent and ignore Atwoli small minds. Uhuru has the muscle to bring in Israeli expats - and take his company regional and global. Equity has an impressive talent pool - with quite a few Ivy Leagues - little surprise they have a clear vision. Safaricom has tried this with the MIT dude running their innovation lab - and the e-commerce guy from SA[?].  I hope they keep it up.
Post by: vooke on February 05, 2018, 01:31:42 PM
Robina,
Apple valuation is solid. No doubt. Google is shaky but good. Musk on the other hand is just sellin wind
Post by: Nefertiti on February 05, 2018, 01:55:35 PM
Apple has 1. ecosystem of platforms and developers 2. mass market products
Google has 1. ecosystem 2. no mass products
Amazon has 1. no ecosystem 2. mass products

Therein lies Apple's strength. It's extremely tough to acquire these 2 levers. Apple and Google literally control the ecosystem via App Store and Play Store. Facebook and Amazon are burning serious cash trying to acquire them. Java & Android are native Google platforms - literally half the world uses Android gadgets. Same for Apple Swift & iOS. Millions of developers use Java and Swift to access the platforms. Amazon or Facebook have to beg to be allowed to run their products on those platforms which undermines their competitiveness.

Now, of course with time any new innovative players can emerge. The way internet TV has emerged as a new paradigm. This is how, Pastor vooke, I can tell Tesla will soon take over the auto industry - and then gain access to serious capital. Elon Musk is the most innovative man in the world presently - and also the best marketer. By 2020 he will have cornered 20% of the auto market. You're misguided by "reality" without counting the potential. Jobs was a legendary marketer who cornered the mobile handset market under Microsoft's and Google's noses. Elon is a rock star marketer who builds better things than handsets. Who else do you know that can sell branded hats and flamethrowers to grown men? If he was selling advance one-way tickets to Mars folks would happily buy. That's power.

Robina,
Apple valuation is solid. No doubt. Google is shaky but good. Musk on the other hand is just sellin wind
Post by: RV Pundit on February 05, 2018, 03:23:58 PM
Apple is as nothing but fancy RIM - the canadian blackberry. Don't see it being there for long - the Iphone was their big-break. I see Google outlasting them all. Whoever controls the internet will control the world. Devices will eventually be eaten up by Chineses.
Post by: Nefertiti on February 05, 2018, 04:29:02 PM
Devices cannot be taken over by China - not the hitec variety which need constant innovation. Internet will actually be pulverized - like Netflix, Amazon, Facebook, etc have run away with videos, retail and display ads. Google is only a leader in search - which only companies pay for unlike devices. They don't even control data gathering.

These stats show that Apple is better at milking internet than Google.

(https://tctechcrunch2011.files.wordpress.com/2018/01/2017-app-downloads-worldwide.png?w=680&h=474)

(https://tctechcrunch2011.files.wordpress.com/2018/01/2017-app-revenue-worldwide.png?w=680&h=474)

Apple is as nothing but fancy RIM - the canadian blackberry. Don't see it being there for long - the Iphone was their big-break. I see Google outlasting them all. Whoever controls the internet will control the world. Devices will eventually be eaten up by Chineses.
Title: Re: Microsoft finally eclipses Apple market cap
Post by: Nefertiti on January 22, 2024, 01:32:39 PM
I have always felt that Apple is overvalued and overrated at iPhone v15 with zero innovation. Principally the big revenues now come from M3 accelerator chip, services (App store, Apple TV, cloud), and milking iPhone and iPads - OLD SCHOOL stuff built by Jobs 15 years ago.  As Jobs used to say, Tim Cook is a LOGISTICS wizard which fit perfectly as COO - overseeing manufacturing, sales, etc globally. Supply chain. But innovation ngumu - dude has built nothing for years.

Microsoft on the other hand - still has Bill Gates behind the scenes. Satya Nadela is another Tim Cook who can sell you a bridge but the brain still Gates who is listed as Board Tech advisor. 👀

Microsoft under Gates goofed on mobile where they had DOA Lumina sijui Nokia. Then Steve Ballmer fumbled on cloud foolishly taking Oracle as the big competition as it had been in PC era. But they handily brought in Satya Nadela who has been rock-star cloud and gaming. Which are subscription services. In consumer electronics - gadgets - Microsoft still blown dust by Google, Apple, AWS.

Obviously next arena is AI - and here Nadela the bald-headed mhindi is visibly fumbling... lost ground to Google, Nvidia, AWS - but pulled a jiujitsu move by buying Activision Blizzard and ChatGPT.

So Microsoft has staying power of enterprise software Windows and Office on Azure - and now big in gaming and AI. Of course the Open AI crew should never have agreed the idiotic $10B for 50% controlling stake from Microsoft - cause duhh it was obvious AI was kicking all cylinders with Nvidia growing like mushrooms in Spring. Open AI should have gone for loans not stock sellout.

Apple is propped up by old hardware, services and the M3-nano chip they were almost too late to rollout. But they have new top-dollar hires building "Apple Car" - 20 years behind Tesla and BYD 😀😂

It about time they were beaten by Microsoft in market cap.
Post by: Nefertiti on February 01, 2024, 02:51:14 AM
AI companies lose $190 billion in market cap after Alphabet and Microsoft report
Tue, January 31, 2024 at 4:15 PM GMT-8 ·2 min read
https://ca.finance.yahoo.com/news/ai-companies-lose-190-billion-001522339.html
Post by: Nefertiti on February 01, 2024, 03:35:40 AM

Motley Fool bets on Nvidia, Amazon, Tesla

3 Artificial Intelligence (AI) Stocks You Should Buy and Keep Forever
Wed, January 31, 2024
https://www.fool.com/investing/2024/01/31/3-artificial-intelligence-ai-stocks-you-should-buy/?source=eptyholnk0000202&utm_source=yahoo-host-full&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=article
Post by: Nefertiti on February 01, 2024, 04:00:49 AM
I don't quite agree that Amazon is a big AI player. Unlike other Big Tech Amazon has no LLM either it's own or partnerships. Amazon has AI-ish products like Echo smart speakers. They also have Rekognition on AWS api. And drones and robotics for last-mile delivery and warehouse ops. But their acquisitions of iRobot and Anthropic have been blocked by regulators.

The partnership with Hugging Face is neither a controlling stake nor exclusive. Cause Google, etc also have HF stakes.

The biggest blow is failure to buy out Anthropic while Microsoft all but owns OpenAI.

I would put Microsoft above Amazon in the AI space: Amazon lags Microsoft, Google, X in access to data.

Wed, January 31, 2024
https://www.fool.com/investing/2024/01/31/3-artificial-intelligence-ai-stocks-you-should-buy/?source=eptyholnk0000202&utm_source=yahoo-host-full&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=article
Post by: Nefertiti on February 01, 2024, 04:21:11 AM
Motley is also off on Tesla AI. Optimus humanoid is meant to push the envelope on the assembly line ie Factory AI - which is a novel usecase.

Wed, January 31, 2024
Post by: KenyanPlato on February 01, 2024, 03:34:44 PM
AI is another crypto. Still needs a decade to make it viable
Post by: Nefertiti on February 05, 2024, 08:58:13 PM
Apple is still $100B behind Microsoft.

Apple hot potato is the new $3,500 Vision Pro headset. The fight here is with Zuckerberg and his Metaverse. I don't see this virtual reality story heading anywhere as noone really wants to live in Geekdom - or walk around with ugly headset akin to a helmet. 🙂

I bet on Neuralink here provided they humanize the "brainchip" lunacy - create a minute earbud that connects to the internet and flip pages really telepathically. Noone wants surgery to plant a chip. 😬

Apple... they lack solid game in AI and gaming - whileas Microsoft has ChatGPT and Activision Blizzard. 20 years late "Apple Car" is still promising revolution - and will take a hit if they deliver hot air as I suspect.
Post by: Nefertiti on February 15, 2024, 09:39:29 AM
AI superpowers...

••Nvidia is marching towards $2T market cap. Already overtook Amazon and Alphabet. Chips, chips, chips.

••Alphabet will continue to plummet towards 1T - unless they get their shit together. You cannot acquisition your way to the top - which is the moronic strategy Pichai is pursuing akin to Berkshire Hathaway. You must remain solid TECH business. Stop the panic, stop the desperation, the clumsiness - and BUILD stuff. I don't get how Waymo robotaxis are unable to scale with all the HD google maps  :o :o :o - instead only work in small Bay Area or Phoenix circle. If Google stop crying about "Uber stole our tech" - Waymo can scale on global map data and unleash in every city - hundreds or dozens of cities - with thousands of Waymo robotaxis. But instead mhindi CEO is duck-sitting as Tesla advances.

••Amazon game is solid in e-commerce monopoly - with drone swarms cracking last-mile & delivery. Amazon is only major ROBOTICS company so it will remain solid at top.

••Meta is at $1.2T and rising - after impressive $30B profit on 120B revenues. 25% margin... 👀👀 Of course the real reason Meta is rising - is solid grip on DATA - for AI - their Llama LLM will scale due to FB, IG, WhatsApp raw data farms. Social media data is why Llama and Google Bard/Gemini are so good at human conversation - helping kids and all cheat assignments, etc. Google obviously mines searches, YouTube and GMails.

••Microsoft is $200B clear of Apple. I predict Apple will continue to plummet towards 2T, 1T,... nothing solid has been done there since Jobs. iPhone or iWatch version 15 or sijui Apple Car just won't cut it. Unveil a headset as good as first iPhone or iTunes was ... or butt off. Microsoft has a wide array of products to deploy its AI at scale.

••Tesla is down to $500B. They claim Al-Shaabab or Houthi  have blocked their supplies in Red Sea - which is almost serious problem -- except it nonsense excuse cause everyone is affected by insecurity or instability. Musk needs to stop whining about Houthis and missiles - and CRACK Autopilot - which I think is going well with X/Twitter and Grok. There is no serious competition as Big Tech are not in auto so their AI advancements are limited reachwise.

Musk needs to rethink, rejig, reinvent self-driving - maybe take control of Autopilot directly - and abandon the camera-only strategy. I don't think it would hurt to apply Starlink HDmaps - so he can at least include that. Clearly Tesla has not managed to pop their own chips otherwise Autopilot would have leapfrogged by now.

Recall this: Tesla Autopilot is camera-only for now - vertically integrated - with their own chips - which is TOUGH nut. But with their own HD maps and chips - they are still independent mean-lean-machine. I guess self-driving cannot be done yet without cameras, chips, LiDAR and of course maps (data). LiDAR is the dealbreaker here.

RESEARCH remains the oil & butter of tech and Tesla cannot monopolize that. We shall see soon enough.

Summary:

— Microsoft, Amazon, Meta, Nvidia outlook positive
— Apple, Alphabet outlook negative
—Tesla outlook stable
Post by: Nefertiti on February 20, 2024, 12:26:07 PM
XR vs the Metaverse

Told you Apple is too late to every party. Including reality mind-benders. The Vision Pro - their best hardware in a decade - is facing stiff competition from Facebook. Basically they think the new headset is too heavy, expensive and ugly.

Zuckerberg, Meta CTO mocking reviews of Apple Vision Pro

Right out of the gate, Bosworth points out what’s undeniably the Vision Pro’s biggest area of concern— its weight. The headset weighs quite a bit, relative to say the Meta Quest 3 which is almost 120 grams lighter. Bosworth mentions that Apple’s choice of build materials for the Vision Pro are also questionable accounting for the “poor” weight distribution.

https://www.financialexpress.com/life/technology-after-mark-zuckerberg-meta-cto-reviews-apple-vision-pro-says-as-soon-as-i-put-the-headset-on-i-can-see-3397442/
Post by: Nefertiti on February 25, 2024, 10:37:01 PM
Nvidia hits 2T

[image attachment error]
Post by: Nefertiti on February 28, 2024, 12:27:33 PM
🙂

Apple to wind down electric car effort after decade-long odyssey
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2024-02-27/apple-cancels-work-on-electric-car-shifts-team-to-generative-ai
Post by: hk on March 04, 2024, 03:35:16 PM
Does AMD has a shot at getting significant marketshare of AI chips or its a winner take all with Nvidia?
Post by: Nefertiti on March 05, 2024, 08:08:55 AM
Does AMD has a shot at getting significant marketshare of AI chips or its a winner take all with Nvidia?

AMD is the only credible Nvidia competitor. (Lisa Su is Jensen Huang's cousin 🙂). The stock is through the roof.
Post by: RV Heavy Hitter! on March 09, 2024, 06:19:42 PM
When Biden poured billions into semiconductor market, I told folks in my investmentment community to sell nonperformers in their portfolio and buy SMCI for long-term. At the time it was under 100 a share. Just almost a year later the ticker is over $1100 a share. Still room to grow and setting sell at 2400 then sleeping with occasionally waking up to check the massive accumulation of wealth!
Post by: Georgesoros on March 09, 2024, 10:20:12 PM
When Biden poured billions into semiconductor market, I told folks in my investmentment community to sell nonperformers in their portfolio and buy SMCI for long-term. At the time it was under 100 a share. Just almost a year later the ticker is over $1100 a share. Still room to grow and setting sell at 2400 then sleeping with occasionally waking up to check the massive accumulation of wealth!

That is a significcant gain in a very short time.
Can it sustain?
Post by: RV Heavy Hitter! on March 10, 2024, 02:35:16 AM

Can it sustain?
As long as the semiconductor industry is generating revenue in an upward trajectory, associated stocks will always boom. I think by 2027 we could flatline at 4000+ a shares, or we may hit there in record 2 years!
https://www.statista.com/outlook/tmo/semiconductors/united-states#revenue
Post by: gout on March 10, 2024, 02:09:39 PM
This was Trump MAGA thingie.

Can it sustain?
Post by: RV Heavy Hitter! on March 10, 2024, 06:38:08 PM

Can it sustain?
Nope, Maga folks were pushing DWAC and PHUN. PHUN eat their asses alive with offerings nearly at the peak of every pump. After Reverse split, it pumped once and flatlined. DWAC held pretty good for months, but after it crossed $20, the rag-tag trumper retail investors moved to PHUN for more slaughter. SMCI has been a Biden baby since he made mammoth investments! I trade weekdays for 10+ hours daily, so I know the fundamentals of almost active/volumed ticker!
Post by: Georgesoros on March 10, 2024, 09:25:25 PM

Can it sustain?
Nope, Maga folks were pushing DWAC and PHUN. PHUN eat their asses alive with offerings nearly at the peak of every pump. After Reverse split, it pumped once and flatlined. DWAC held pretty good for months, but after it crossed $20, the rag-tag trumper retail investors moved to PHUN for more slaughter. SMCI has been a Biden baby since he made mammoth investments! I trade weekdays for 10+ hours daily, so I know the fundamentals of almost active/volumed ticker!

DWAC is just another one of those that looks like Twitter. DEAD. It will be frozen until the case in Delaware is heard and concluded.
I missed SMCI train.
Post by: Nefertiti on March 19, 2024, 10:44:20 PM
Apple is walking dead.

AI could poison Apple: Is the company’s innovation engine running out of steam?
https://www.rt.com/business/594040-apple-innovation-crisis/
Post by: Nefertiti on March 19, 2024, 10:56:45 PM
Apple is walking dead.

AI could poison Apple: Is the company’s innovation engine running out of steam?
https://www.rt.com/business/594040-apple-innovation-crisis/

Apple partners with Google AI. Not so bad except that Google is equally walking dead.

Apple’s AI ambitions could include Google or OpenAI
https://www.theverge.com/2024/3/18/24104626/apple-license-google-gemini-generative-ai-openai-chatgpt

Apple needs to sort 3 issues:
•Reclaim hardware genie and snap the headset crown from Meta.
•Buy a gaming platform e.g. Unreal or Unity.
•Buy an AI startup e.g. Hugging Face.

Tech is a jungle and there is no way two giants can subsist. Partnering with Google is just stupid - particularly where Apple is clearly the junior partner - using Google Gemini in iPhones.

Google needs one thing:
•Take the self-driving lead - and use Google Maps advantage to roll out state-wide, US-wide, worldwide. It's bizarre how the owner of world map cannot hardcode a model over it. Use ImageNet design... MapNet.
•Waymo should just outright beat Tesla Autopilot - with Musk running 5 companies while Google has a CEO for each product 👀👀 - how can Google lose?