Author Topic: Laptops in thatched classrooms doesnt add up  (Read 9899 times)

Offline veritas

• Enigma
Re: Laptops in thatched classrooms doesnt add up
« Reply #20 on: September 18, 2014, 04:42:32 PM »
As a private tutor I agree absolutely with Parker. Technology detracts away from learning especially for young students. I've tried flashy powerpoints and know from 5 years experience of teaching, it's gimmicky and doesn't guarantee results. What does is making them rote learn basic skills and then bombard them with high end philosophy. It forces them to be smart with guarantee results. I don't use computers. I print them sheets of work to do. It's quality in the material and teaching, not the mode of teaching.

Offline Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants

• Enigma
  • An oryctolagus cuniculus is feeding on my couch
« Reply #21 on: September 18, 2014, 04:58:52 PM »
I fall in the computer lab access time group as opposed to the a gadget for every little one group.  They should get time on computers in a structured environment.

Any other time, the gadgets should be used, if they facilitate learning of the subject matter.  As opposed to throwing them down a black hole and hoping something magical happens.

Even without mentioning the practicability aspect. Kids at those formative ages need more human interaction time and less to no time on gadgets.  They need to learn the discipline, values and organization that make human societies succeed.

When it comes to choosing between more teachers or laptops, it seems like a no brainer to me.

Termi