Author Topic: Watch Ethiopia overtake Kenya as we talk of referendum.  (Read 4477 times)

Offline Mr Mansfield.

Watch Ethiopia overtake Kenya as we talk of referendum.
« on: September 08, 2014, 08:40:08 AM »
reuters.com/article/idUSL5N0R61WH20140905?irpc=932

The government is projecting gross domestic product (GDP) growth at 11 percent a year, and even though the International Monetary Fund is more sober its 8.5 percent forecast for this year indicates Ethiopia is one of Africa's - and the world's - fastest-growing economies.

Despite the government's socialist roots, there is no minimum wage, letting firms such as Huajian pay salaries of $50-$70 a month - still higher than the average per capita income.   

To this end, it says it has introduced incentives such as tax holidays and subsidised loans to investors with interest rates as low as 8 percent - below even the 9.75 percent benchmark rate in South Africa, the continent's most developed economy.

Ethiopia is also investing heavily in hydropower to boost the scope of a grid that offers electricity at 5 U.S. cents per kilowatt hour, compared with 24 cents in neighbouring Kenya.

Without Prejudice.

Offline Mr Mansfield.

Re: Watch Ethiopia overtake Kenya as we talk of referendum.
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2014, 08:43:25 AM »
To this end, the government says it is pouring funds equivalent to two thirds of GDP into new infrastructure every year, expanding the road network to 136,000 km by next year, from just 50,000 km in 2010.

It also has grand plans to build 5,000 km of railway lines by 2020 from less than 800 km at the moment.

Without Prejudice.

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2014, 08:50:57 AM »
I told you kenya has nothing on Ethiopia. I heard from Ndemo that nearly half smartphones in Africa (Tecno) are assembled in Ethiopia. Ethiopia tram trains are ready to be shipped to Adis Ababa.

Ethiopia been growing at double digit for nearly 15yrs now.

Ethiopia is horn of Africa's China.

« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2014, 02:48:35 PM »
Pundit
Youve been on top of it.
BTW, me thinks referendums strengthens govt. So Jubilee should embrace rather than try to stand in the way. Swiss have had referendums forever. Look at their govt. states in the USA have referendums to force unpopular laws - eg California. Look at their governments - strong and stable.

Offline Van Gaal

« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2014, 04:22:45 PM »
In Kenya, people are told that revising the constitution will improve their circumstances... In other country, they know that they have to build roads, railways, airports, seaports and train their workforce to attract FDI, export goods and services and grow wealth. Already our exports to the EAC region have been in steady decline since sijui when. TZ is building a short direct railway line to DRC, Burundi and Rwanda one that will not be hostage to Kibera Rail-uprooters. We have a proverb that says, when you slash your crop instead of weeding it, do not ask when it starts wilting, leaving you without a harvest.

Offline Van Gaal

« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2014, 04:26:42 PM »
RV Pundit, Ethiopia is a no nonsense country, it doesn't condone political idlers, NGO busybodies and activists. Government is organised to deliver the greatest good to the society. That is why Ethiopia is one great construction site. Everywhere you turn is development taking place. The Renaissance Dam will provide enough electricity to export to Kenya. In Kenya even the coal powered plant is stuck as dealmakers and politicians haggle over non issues... Thats classic Kenya.

« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2014, 04:58:07 PM »
You have to realize that Ethiopia has very little corruption and therefore there is just no space for busybodies. If Gov does everything ABOVE BOARD; then idlers, busybodies and activist will not derail them. The problem with kenya is corruption in all levels. That is bigger problem than delays in litigation and parliamentary scrutiny. If there was no corruption..our SGR would have been like Ethiopia..cost wise..about 1/3-1/2 the cost. The same is true for everything we do..thanks to corruption in all levels...we overpay for everything.

Bottomline: Our problem is CORRUPTION. Our problem is leadership. Leadership of people least committed to do public good. Motivated to accumulate personal fortunes for themselves and their political network.

You cannot tell people to be silent when you're gorging their eyes. I think Ethiopeans, Rwandese, Chinese and the rest of folks with less democracy are fine because their gov are genuinely committed.

Museveni was doing well until recently when corruption became a problem..and Uganda cannot silently watch.

Kenyatta regime was doing fine with mzungu civil service..until Africanisation and land grab introduced official corruption.

Moi did well for first 4 yrs before he let corruption and all vices ran amok.

Kibaki goodwill lasted 1yr.

Jubilee for me are neither here or there. Only Mutua has shown the kind of committed leadership we badly need in this country.

RV Pundit, Ethiopia is a no nonsense country, it doesn't condone political idlers, NGO busybodies and activists. Government is organised to deliver the greatest good to the society. That is why Ethiopia is one great construction site. Everywhere you turn is development taking place. The Renaissance Dam will provide enough electricity to export to Kenya. In Kenya even the coal powered plant is stuck as dealmakers and politicians haggle over non issues... Thats classic Kenya.

« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2014, 07:25:53 PM »
A democratic state holds hearings in every process of govt. Everyone is invited, so all is squared voted and swiiing the project goes forward. In Kenya the well connected make deals and the rest are left gasping, so the delays in litigation etc.
Open up the process.
During some of Kifakis tenure, it appeared as if there was something opening only to be shut.
How can you tell people to shut up when 8billion goes missing and nobody seems to immediately come up with an answer? If there are rcpts show them otherwise a special prosecutor should be following up....

You have to realize that Ethiopia has very little corruption and therefore there is just no space for busybodies. If Gov does everything ABOVE BOARD; then idlers, busybodies and activist will not derail them. The problem with kenya is corruption in all levels. That is bigger problem than delays in litigation and parliamentary scrutiny. If there was no corruption..our SGR would have been like Ethiopia..cost wise..about 1/3-1/2 the cost. The same is true for everything we do..thanks to corruption in all levels...we overpay for everything.

Bottomline: Our problem is CORRUPTION. Our problem is leadership. Leadership of people least committed to do public good. Motivated to accumulate personal fortunes for themselves and their political network.

You cannot tell people to be silent when you're gorging their eyes. I think Ethiopeans, Rwandese, Chinese and the rest of folks with less democracy are fine because their gov are genuinely committed.

Museveni was doing well until recently when corruption became a problem..and Uganda cannot silently watch.

Kenyatta regime was doing fine with mzungu civil service..until Africanisation and land grab introduced official corruption.

Moi did well for first 4 yrs before he let corruption and all vices ran amok.

Kibaki goodwill lasted 1yr.

Jubilee for me are neither here or there. Only Mutua has shown the kind of committed leadership we badly need in this country.