Author Topic: Public transport smart card in Kenya  (Read 284 times)

Public transport smart card in Kenya
« on: March 15, 2023, 07:57:33 PM »
If you live in developed countries...one of the fine things is having a transport card.a smart card which you can pay train bus or taxi and even pay in a hotel...lipa na mpesa is good but it's not that effective..I think it's high time tech companies partner with banks and saccos  to have a transport card that can be used to pay Boda Boda,uber or bolt taxi and matatu..you just need to recharge the card with money and swipe it..I think GOVERMENT would make alot of money from processing fees taxes.

Re: Public transport smart card in Kenya
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2023, 08:29:28 PM »
If the money is specifically geared toward improving services, then I will support it.
I will not trust govt with the money collected
they will use it to give themsleves loans, buy more expensive cars etc.

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2023, 08:50:45 PM »
Mpesa card first - queues on supermarket can be horrendous

« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2023, 01:14:52 PM »
I don't see the fuss over 50 shillings which is common fare range.

Matatus are heavily taxed. TLB licences, Fuel levy, taxes on fuel, parking fees yet there are no parking for them.

Ndiinomics is about giving back to these hasora sectors not extracting more!

I think GOVERMENT would make alot of money from processing fees taxes.