Author Topic: Musical Interlude  (Read 133954 times)

Offline .

Re: Musical Interlude
« Reply #360 on: January 15, 2021, 07:25:02 PM »

Who can forget Brickz?

Spikiri - Gangsta Party

2000-2010 was the golden era of South African Music to me. Kwaito at its finest. These jams bring back so many memories of fun times for me. Easy summers in the USA, SABC videos, tuning in to YFM (Yona Ke Yona) for the Kwaito top ten (which they shelved ages ago), Metro FM cape town for SA House. For some reason they always played extended house mixes (no vocals) for hours during SA summers (Dec) back then. Those were some good days. "My bird" tells me that this corona thing is here with us to stay meaning those simpler times will never happen again..at least in the next 5 years to come  :D. Thanks for these ones, man

Offline .

« Reply #361 on: January 15, 2021, 07:32:10 PM »
Funny how times change.
Kwaito - more or less gone...
Gqom - took over from Kwaito..now fading away into Amapiano
Genge - completely gone
Hard to explain what this new form of Kenyan music is but I like it  :D
Very catchy...has grown on me big time over the past 1 month

Kitu safi enda chain chain!

Zimenice --- Coasto holiday music

Offline .

« Reply #362 on: January 15, 2021, 07:36:28 PM »
More Mampintsha gems discovered recently ...

Sdukuduku

Kade Sbenuza

« Reply #363 on: January 16, 2021, 01:21:20 AM »

Who can forget Brickz?

Spikiri - Gangsta Party

2000-2010 was the golden era of South African Music to me. Kwaito at its finest. These jams bring back so many memories of fun times for me. Easy summers in the USA, SABC videos, tuning in to YFM (Yona Ke Yona) for the Kwaito top ten (which they shelved ages ago), Metro FM cape town for SA House. For some reason they always played extended house mixes (no vocals) for hours during SA summers (Dec) back then. Those were some good days. "My bird" tells me that this corona thing is here with us to stay meaning those simpler times will never happen again..at least in the next 5 years to come  :D . Thanks for these ones, man

Yebo.  I would stretch it into the late 90s.  That time it was Brenda Fassie trying to stay relevant with some success.  Today, it's Dj Tira, Mampish - the wife-beater with slaps heard all the way from Deben to Livingstone, Zambia.

Talking of Zambia, just brought back Anna Mwale, then a hot and natural spleng when she released it.

« Reply #364 on: January 16, 2021, 01:30:10 AM »
Funny how times change.
Kwaito - more or less gone...
Gqom - took over from Kwaito..now fading away into Amapiano
Genge - completely gone
Hard to explain what this new form of Kenyan music is but I like it  :D
Very catchy...has grown on me big time over the past 1 month

Kitu safi enda chain chain!

Zimenice --- Coasto holiday music

Yep.  Catchy.  A promising lad.  It has the elements to become a new sound.  Kenya could use our own homegrown replacement to genge.  I get the impression the Sauti Sols etc are not particularly great at nurturing upcoming talent, hogging the limelight to themselves :-\ .

Offline .

« Reply #365 on: January 19, 2021, 06:17:43 PM »

Who can forget Brickz?

Spikiri - Gangsta Party

2000-2010 was the golden era of South African Music to me. Kwaito at its finest. These jams bring back so many memories of fun times for me. Easy summers in the USA, SABC videos, tuning in to YFM (Yona Ke Yona) for the Kwaito top ten (which they shelved ages ago), Metro FM cape town for SA House. For some reason they always played extended house mixes (no vocals) for hours during SA summers (Dec) back then. Those were some good days. "My bird" tells me that this corona thing is here with us to stay meaning those simpler times will never happen again..at least in the next 5 years to come  :D . Thanks for these ones, man

Yebo.  I would stretch it into the late 90s.  That time it was Brenda Fassie trying to stay relevant with some success.  Today, it's Dj Tira, Mampish - the wife-beater with slaps heard all the way from Deben to Livingstone, Zambia.

Talking of Zambia, just brought back Anna Mwale, then a hot and natural spleng when she released it.

Indeed; 90s kwaito was really good stuff as well.
Anna Mwale! Whatever happened to her? This brings back 80s memories sana. Asante.

« Reply #366 on: January 23, 2021, 02:33:12 AM »

« Reply #367 on: February 01, 2021, 05:13:57 PM »
Delroy Wilson - Money Love

« Reply #368 on: February 04, 2021, 01:40:26 AM »

« Reply #369 on: February 07, 2021, 06:39:15 PM »
Ababa Nna - Ego Akokwalam

« Last Edit: March 19, 2021, 08:54:39 PM by bitmask »

« Reply #370 on: February 20, 2021, 03:27:08 AM »

« Reply #371 on: February 20, 2021, 04:08:03 AM »
Curtis Mayfield & The Impressions - It's Alright

« Reply #372 on: March 01, 2021, 06:25:09 PM »
Mickey Guyton - Caught Up In Your Storm

« Reply #373 on: March 06, 2021, 03:22:55 AM »
Dilema. Los tradicionales de Carlos Puebla

« Reply #374 on: March 13, 2021, 02:52:49 AM »

Offline .

« Reply #375 on: March 23, 2021, 09:42:18 PM »
Smashing Pumpkinn -1979

Asante for this one Termie. I love nostalgic coming of age odes. Like Summer of 69 by Bryan Adams.
Time keeps a-slippin' away folks....

This one reminds me of my brief Caribbean vacation in the sweltering summer of 2010. Funny how I had long forgotten about it until I looked at my journal of around that time. Keeping a journal is priceless, especially when one travels.

« Reply #376 on: March 29, 2021, 10:54:30 PM »
Yep.  The Bryan Adams summer of 69 is a classic.  It takes you back to a time you feel like you were there even if you weren't.

Whatever happened to Soul Train?  I developed my love of line dances(good for an aging body) from that show. 

Lou Rawls - You'll Never Find Another Love Like Mine

« Reply #377 on: March 30, 2021, 07:27:27 PM »

« Reply #378 on: April 03, 2021, 06:25:17 AM »
Johann Strauss II - Morgenblätter, Op. 27

Offline .

« Reply #379 on: April 05, 2021, 06:05:49 PM »
Focalistic Ke Star

Kali sana. Is this a new Kwaito offshoot? But these kids are not dancing bwana, maybe that's part of the new trend.