Author Topic: Musical Interlude  (Read 125281 times)

Re: Musical Interlude
« Reply #580 on: March 07, 2023, 12:58:13 AM »
Randy VanWarmer - Just When I Needed You Most

Offline .

« Reply #581 on: March 14, 2023, 05:15:19 PM »
Breeder LW reminds me of Nonini.  Entertaining kiasi

You're right. I hadn't thought of that. Near-identical voices

Offline .

« Reply #582 on: March 14, 2023, 05:17:19 PM »

1994. Monster tune back then (an unbelievably-whopping almost-30 years ago!)

Offline .

« Reply #583 on: March 14, 2023, 05:20:22 PM »

Timeless classic. Later sampled by Foxy Brown in 1996 in a similarly named song but slightly slowed down (beat) version.

Offline .

« Reply #584 on: March 15, 2023, 07:39:54 AM »
2005 was yet another beautiful year for me

Reminds me of my money-obsessed decade (2000 to 2010). These days money means near nada to me beyond providing basic comfort and security for me and my family.

Offline .

« Reply #585 on: March 18, 2023, 08:51:47 AM »

Long time since we have shared a Tuku joint hapa. Already 4 years since he died. Haunting vocals. And that nguittar jameni.
Life is short and brutal man. Everyone needs to enjoy each day like it were their last. Everything that seems so important doesn't mean anything when the coffin beckons.

Offline .

« Reply #586 on: March 19, 2023, 06:21:29 AM »

Mlungu letaaa opening parliament is causing ripples in Amapiano-world  #CostaTitch #BadNews

« Reply #587 on: March 27, 2023, 09:36:22 PM »

Mlungu letaaa opening parliament is causing ripples in Amapiano-world  #CostaTitch #BadNews

Azania's own Flip Dogg(from Whiteboyz  :D ).  Sounds like Focalistic kabzaaa.   I love the energy. 

« Reply #588 on: March 27, 2023, 09:41:49 PM »

Long time since we have shared a Tuku joint hapa. Already 4 years since he died. Haunting vocals. And that nguittar jameni.
Life is short and brutal man. Everyone needs to enjoy each day like it were their last. Everything that seems so important doesn't mean anything when the coffin beckons.

Tuku was one of those greats.  I remember listening to the guy in the 90s(before he was in vogue) and everyone was giving me the eye like I lost it.  Another underrated guy is Sibongiseni Shabalala.  I saw his performance with Ladysmith Black Mambas over the weekend.

He performs Usenzile with his maskanda spinoff.

Offline .

« Reply #589 on: March 28, 2023, 10:38:16 AM »

Tuku was one of those greats.  I remember listening to the guy in the 90s(before he was in vogue) and everyone was giving me the eye like I lost it.  Another underrated guy is Sibongiseni Shabalala.  I saw his performance with Ladysmith Black Mambas over the weekend.

Indeed. Tuku's joints are always very relaxing
Imeakataa kucheza. Can't find it on youtube either. Any luck finding another of the same?

Offline .

« Reply #590 on: March 28, 2023, 10:40:20 AM »

London beat never gets old. Brings back so many memories for me from the 90's decade. Of my tusupuu ex of that time especially  :D. These old songs (and the memories they induce) just get better with time.

Offline .

« Reply #591 on: March 29, 2023, 07:52:32 AM »

These song, these song, these song I tells ya reminds me of Vegas
Luda wasn't playing on his verse

« Reply #592 on: March 29, 2023, 06:50:58 PM »

These song, these song, these song I tells ya reminds me of Vegas
Luda wasn't playing on his verse

Yep...Takes me to Northern Virginia, Fairlakes..circa 2007.

« Reply #593 on: March 29, 2023, 07:04:16 PM »

Indeed. Tuku's joints are always very relaxing
Imeakataa kucheza. Can't find it on youtube either. Any luck finding another of the same?

Looks like it's not available in your location.  You can find it on Spotify.  If not,  I'll try upload it on YouTube.

Here is the group.  The founder Joseph Shabalala passed on 2020.  They can all do the indlamu stomping dance(even the 70 years olds) - I am getting there with continued body combat and lap swims.

Offline .

« Reply #594 on: March 29, 2023, 08:01:06 PM »

Looks like it's not available in your location.  You can find it on Spotify.  If not,  I'll try upload it on YouTube.

Here is the group.  The founder Joseph Shabalala passed on 2020.  They can all do the indlamu stomping dance(even the 70 years olds) - I am getting there with continued body combat and lap swims.

Indeed. Asante will hunt for it on Spotify.
Awesome tune..wasn't that a Paul Simon joint?
Man all these folks are dropping dead which is very sad. Was watching this juzi. Haunting.

Hehehe at the stomping dance. Jacob Zuma stunned many with his agility some years back while dancing to some Zulu tunes despite being 80 years old! He must piga some serious tizi daily.

Kazi safi hapo. Still a classic to date

Offline .

« Reply #595 on: April 01, 2023, 05:58:25 PM »

People forget just how much of a beast Bobby Brown was. Imagine his ego back then. He must have been sailing on top of the world
Now decades after the booze and drugs, he can barely climb up the stairs as time and age has caught up with him.
Hii dunia sii yetu. The fleetingness and vanity of life, man.
Isapite
Epic performance hapa though.

Offline .

« Reply #596 on: April 02, 2023, 06:51:54 AM »

New Orleans is one of the most unique places in North America
Heard this song hapo around the mid 2000s and it still brings me lovely memories of the place.

Offline .

« Reply #597 on: April 04, 2023, 06:10:20 AM »

These songs just get better with time. This one is 9 years old already.
Whatever happened to Heavy K the Drumboss?
The Amapiano wave seems to have washed him away into oblivion

Offline .

« Reply #598 on: April 07, 2023, 07:50:46 AM »

Toes in the sand 2009. I remember listening to this song during the same year (2009) like it were yesterday.
There's just something about Southern music man.
Georgia memories

Offline .

« Reply #599 on: April 07, 2023, 08:05:36 AM »

Another smash from 2009
Alaine too has disappeared into oblivion