Author Topic: Musical Interlude  (Read 131345 times)

Offline .

Re: Musical Interlude
« Reply #440 on: October 11, 2021, 08:13:55 PM »

Heard this track on this mix hapa >> on a long road trip out of NRB watching the landscapes roll by and wondered why the heck I had never known about if before. Heavy K, Mpumi, Prof = Mambo Kwisha!! Very soulful.

Another Banger from that mix:

Oskido still keeps his strange hat year after year :roll:
Azania bafazi. Auuuuuuuuwiiii :13:

Enjoy

Offline .

« Reply #441 on: October 13, 2021, 06:34:31 PM »

These song, these song, these song I tells ya brings baad baaad baaaaaaaad memories papa. Takes me back to 2008 October to 2009 August. The worst year of my life in stato. There is a dark underbelly to Hamellica that most pipo never experience. Wacha niache maneno yangu hapo before I scare watus. The Master P remix of 1997 (best listened to on a system with full bass for a proper experience) is equally haunting for me to this day, I tells ya smh.  Maisha si mjezo, my frens. Ni kupanda na kushuka. Just pray to God you never get to experience what I experienced back then. Trust me, you would not wish it on your worst enemy  :roll:

« Reply #442 on: October 18, 2021, 10:11:45 PM »

Heard this track on this mix hapa >> on a long road trip out of NRB watching the landscapes roll by and wondered why the heck I had never known about if before. Heavy K, Mpumi, Prof = Mambo Kwisha!! Very soulful.

Another Banger from that mix:

Oskido still keeps his strange hat year after year :roll:
Azania bafazi. Auuuuuuuuwiiii :13:

Enjoy

Drumboss is a problem with kwaito(proper) mixes. 

That last video brings back memories I had totally forgotten I had.  I just noticed Tira was in it, literally an extra.  He was a relative unknown when it came out.  Prof and Oskido have definitely been around the block.  Of course the bafazi are another problem yoh :D.

Here is another kwaito(proper) number from TKZee.  TKZee was my first real live kwaito experience(competing with Boom Shaka at the time) , sending me on a path I have never looked back from.

« Reply #443 on: October 18, 2021, 10:13:21 PM »
Possible by Musa Keys, DBN Gogo, Lebza has been doing rounds in my head

« Reply #444 on: October 19, 2021, 03:12:05 PM »
Your ear is on point man. Super similar indeed. When Lebo went solo is when her full talent came to fruition. I still dig her boom shaka cuts though. Lerato (translation adoration/love) is a timeless classic, man. Every year when I listen to it, it seems to get better and better. 90s kwaito needs to come back maaan!

Indeed.  She released a lot of timeless classics.  If Lebo and crew were playing today(with the current ease of exposure), they'd be fairly mainstream even in the states. 

Thobela. Looks like the (very rare and hard to find) video was shot in Camps Bay.

One of those timeless understated classics.

Offline .

« Reply #445 on: October 19, 2021, 06:59:45 PM »

Drumboss is a problem with kwaito(proper) mixes. 

That last video brings back memories I had totally forgotten I had.  I just noticed Tira was in it, literally an extra.  He was a relative unknown when it came out.  Prof and Oskido have definitely been around the block.  Of course the bafazi are another problem yoh :D.

Here is another kwaito(proper) number from TKZee.  TKZee was my first real live kwaito experience(competing with Boom Shaka at the time) , sending me on a path I have never looked back from.

Ze good old days that we can never go back to.

Offline .

« Reply #446 on: October 19, 2021, 07:00:19 PM »
Possible by Musa Keys, DBN Gogo, Lebza has been doing rounds in my head

That beat, that beat, that beat, I tells ya. Kali sana.

Offline .

« Reply #447 on: October 19, 2021, 07:00:50 PM »

Offline .

« Reply #448 on: October 19, 2021, 07:10:14 PM »

Lyrics
Oh, yeah, yeah
Sometimes we fall down, can't get back up
We're hiding behind skin that's too tough
How come we don't say I love you enough?
'Til it's too late (it's not too late)
Our hearts are hungry for a food that won't come
And we could make a feast from these crumbs
And we're all staring down the barrel of a gun
So if your life flashed before you
What would you wish you would've done?
Yeah, we gotta start lookin' at the hands of the time we've been given
If this is all we got, then we gotta start thinkin'
If every second counts on a clock that's tickin'
Gotta live like we're dying

We only got 86, 400 seconds in a day to
Turn it all around or to throw it all away
We gotta tell 'em that we love 'em while we got the chance to say
And if your plane fell out of the skies
Who would you call with your last goodbye?
Should be so careful who we left out of our lives
And when we long for absolution, there will be no one on the line
Gotta live like we're dying, oh, like we're dying, oh, like we're dying
Like we're dying, oh, like we're dying
Hmm, you never know a good thing 'til it's gone
You never see a crash 'til it's head on
Why do we think we're right when we're dead wrong?
You never know a good thing 'til it's gone
Gotta live like we're dying, oh, like we're dying, oh, like we're dying
Like we're dying, oh, like we're dying

I was on Venice beach having lunch at la Fiesta Brava in 'Oct '09 when this smash hit the charts, buddies. 12 years GONE FOREVER since. Haunting words. Time keeps slippin away, folks. Faster than we think. Make the most of it.

Offline .

« Reply #449 on: October 20, 2021, 10:38:19 AM »

Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaauuuuuuuuuuuwiii.. Ama benjamin the REMIX (instrumental)🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🙆🏿???🙆🏿???🙆🏿???🙆🏿???

Offline .

« Reply #450 on: October 31, 2021, 05:59:53 PM »

Sho - Jamani🔥🔥🔥

Mombasa Raha

« Reply #451 on: November 05, 2021, 04:19:22 PM »
New Drop

Kwani these guys never age? :roll: Prof and Tira still showing de youths how it's done, man. Unbelievable!

I have been looping this totally defiant and underrated kwaito rendition in the middle of amapiano craze.

Offline .

« Reply #452 on: November 07, 2021, 05:25:47 PM »
New Drop

Kwani these guys never age? :roll: Prof and Tira still showing de youths how it's done, man. Unbelievable!

I have been looping this totally defiant and underrated kwaito rendition in the middle of amapiano craze.

Solid jam through and through, man

Offline .

« Reply #453 on: November 09, 2021, 05:44:09 PM »

Sho is taking over Africa, man🔥 Sawubona man, Kunjani, Kidogo.. asubuhi ka chai muhogo. The fusing Swa into her songs is really helping. Can't wait for the video.

« Reply #454 on: November 12, 2021, 05:42:37 PM »

« Reply #455 on: November 18, 2021, 09:03:58 PM »
Memories(good ones) with this Jordan Knight number

If you do not remember Debbie Gibson - Foolish Beat in Lips Night Club, you are a toddler.

« Reply #456 on: November 19, 2021, 04:57:22 AM »
Smooth arrangement Vumani Makhosi by Letta Mbulu. Siyajabula  :D .

Offline .

« Reply #457 on: November 28, 2021, 07:15:06 PM »
The Jacksons - Body

Heart - These Dreams

Asante sana for these! Why lie, 1986-1989 was a serious sweet spot in musicdom. Songs like these dreams always transport me back to those days. Upper 80s ballads, soft rock, then came New Jack Swing and the Bobby brown era when he took over for 5 years with no mercy for anyone else!!

Offline .

« Reply #458 on: November 28, 2021, 07:18:16 PM »
Memories(good ones) with this Jordan Knight number

If you do not remember Debbie Gibson - Foolish Beat in Lips Night Club, you are a toddler.

Same era (Debbie) 85-89!! Life just seemed simpler then bro. Looks like the vid was shot in NYC

Offline .

« Reply #459 on: November 28, 2021, 07:23:01 PM »
Smooth arrangement Vumani Makhosi by Letta Mbulu. Siyajabula  :D .

Of all the music on the continent, I think SA music is the most soulful and soothing. Even the Congolese don't come close. Funnily enough it's countries that suffered the most oppression that seem to produce the best music in the world. Examples USA (slavery) - black music. SA - Apartheid ; good music all round. Congo; Plunder, death and poverty; Rhumba/Lingala  :D