Author Topic: Musical Interlude  (Read 130572 times)

Offline .

Re: Musical Interlude
« Reply #520 on: June 11, 2022, 09:18:50 AM »

Fleetwood Mac - Everywhere ..another understated classic

Now I can't get this song out of my head, man. Takes me back to the simpler - so it seems - times of the 80s. Or maybe just the innocence and optimism of youth.

Offline .

« Reply #521 on: June 25, 2022, 06:48:39 PM »

1991 man. 31 years ago believe it or not!
They just don't make music the same way no more.

Offline .

« Reply #522 on: June 28, 2022, 08:32:18 PM »

Songs are crazy things. They can take you to long forgotten places. This one takes me back to a road trip I made with friends and the azanian chick I had a crush on back then to the Crescent City during my colle days. I can still remember the conversations, echoes of our laughter, the heated debates, the sunny summer breeze, everything. And the traffic jam into the Big Easy when we arrived there around 3pm on a weekday. I also remember us pub hopping on Bourbon that whole evening! Back then I was a drinker so I remember us getting wasted at some joint near Royale st. We didnt even stay the night. How we drove all the way back to the city we were living in back then is a blur.

Age and time also changes everything. At present;
- The chick is back in Azania with a half-akataa kid tall as me. We haven't spoken in well over 25 years  :o
- My best buddy who accompanied us on that trip moved to a different city in the late 90s, got involved in criminal activity and got deported
- The chick's two cuzos, one who was the driver, after that trip I never saw them again
- My best buddy's chick was dumped by him a year or so later, she relocated back to her home country, got married, had a boyshaod and guess who she named the kid. The ex boyfriend :roll:

Hii maisha ni tricky blathee. About 5-10 very close primo and seco and uni buddies are all six feet under. One other lost his marbles in Canada. He was super popular and had all the esto chicks back in the day.

I used to value money up until this year. Now nothing here on earth really matters to me any more kabisha kabisha. Been there done that seen it all in this third rock from the sun na hakuna kitu special humu humu manze.

Ni hayo tu.

Offline .

« Reply #523 on: July 05, 2022, 07:34:23 PM »
these one these one these one came on in my ride and is a thumper. The bass and melodies alone blathees....
 :shock: :shock: :shock: :djparty:

« Reply #524 on: July 06, 2022, 10:03:24 PM »

1991 man. 31 years ago believe it or not!
They just don't make music the same way no more.

Yep.  31 years ago.  Yet as vivid as yesterday.

This this one also not too recent.  When akata was still makin music you could move to.

« Reply #525 on: July 06, 2022, 10:08:56 PM »
Caron Wheeler(Soul II Soul) - I Adore You

« Reply #526 on: July 06, 2022, 10:23:05 PM »
Pebbles had a few hot numbers late 80s early 90s.

Giving you the Benefit

« Reply #527 on: July 10, 2022, 01:59:12 AM »

« Reply #528 on: August 02, 2022, 09:25:55 PM »

Offline .

« Reply #529 on: August 10, 2022, 06:19:32 AM »
Caron Wheeler(Soul II Soul) - I Adore You

Man man man those signature Soul II Soul beats have really taken me back to 1989.

Offline .

« Reply #530 on: August 10, 2022, 06:22:42 AM »

Offline .

« Reply #531 on: August 10, 2022, 06:27:06 AM »
Pebbles had a few hot numbers late 80s early 90s.

Giving you the Benefit

After her career dimmed she formed TLC and ripped them off of hundreds of millions  :roll:

I'll never forget the Carni dancefloor in '94 whenever this tune would rock. DJ Babbz spinning of course.
Made some of us imagine what college life in the USA complete with the college sweatshirts with the University names was like. Of course the reality did not match the illusion.

Offline .

« Reply #532 on: August 12, 2022, 07:19:31 PM »

This chune has kataad to leave the scene at all at all at all.
That beat and bassline is just too thorough

Offline .

« Reply #533 on: August 12, 2022, 07:21:26 PM »

« Reply #534 on: August 12, 2022, 07:57:06 PM »

Offline .

Offline .

« Reply #536 on: August 16, 2022, 08:04:25 PM »

1995 was a beautiful year. This jam still thumps as nicely as it did back then and brings back very pleasant long-forgotten memories of that year.
A year before he died on Sep 13th 1996 at age 25.
We youngsters used to look up to him but what does one really know at age 25? Little to nothing. When one listens to the lyrics sasa decades later, unaona tu haguna gitu anasema ya maana. But the beat and memories are nice.
Maisha ni upepo, my frens
Those howling over William Looter and Raira ngweeeeeeh day in day out remind me of dubula dubula (Onyango Oloo) and his heavy political essays. Also gone six feet under after engaging in hopeless politcs his whole life. Very sad.
When baba goes some will die of grief and go with him.
Wasted wasted years following Kenya's terrible ad hominem/personal god siasas
isapite
Ni hayo tu.

Offline .

« Reply #537 on: August 16, 2022, 08:14:48 PM »
1993. Kwiinya under Nyayo.
We still henged, we still enjoyed our post high school years
We loved and lost several fine mamas
We saw every club in Nairobbery that was worth seeing back then. Sadly the famous DJ's of those clubs are mostly gone! A few who remain are long retired grandpas.
We lost a few friends along the way to the coffin
Na maisha iliendelea tu.

Offline .

« Reply #538 on: August 16, 2022, 08:43:19 PM »

The worst ghettos in Los Estados Unidos are all in New Orleans, man, trust me. No comparison to any other kabzaaaaa kabzaa
This joint bumped hard in them the whole of 1998!

Offline .

« Reply #539 on: August 16, 2022, 08:47:33 PM »

Choices (Ka choi) pool and eats Sato afte's post high school. I wonder if that place still exists (Baricho road)
This song reminds me of that place every single time
Back when Karl Kani was a major fashion item for bleks worldwide (after Cross Colors came and went!) Those were the days!