Author Topic: Musical Interlude  (Read 132755 times)

Re: Musical Interlude
« Reply #480 on: January 17, 2022, 02:33:14 AM »
The Rolling Stones - Sympathy For The Devil

Offline .

« Reply #481 on: February 04, 2022, 07:39:51 PM »
Just glad Sabelo Zuma and Reece won't be looting an African migrant spaza  :D .

y'ntsimbi Zase Envy

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_vOwxTqeRkY

hehehehehehe  @ spaza shop looting. This tune this tune this tune I tells ya. Azania is something else. They do love their old Beemers and brick buildings. Very unique place. Jozi especially. I regret that I did not buy a Gauteng number plate to hang last time I was there. Love the look of their plates. And of course their bafazi remain fire  :D

Offline .

« Reply #482 on: February 04, 2022, 07:50:29 PM »

Rod Stewart. Forever Young (1988)
Had long forgotten about this one until I dug into my archives from 2008/09!
The 80s were a musically pure era. Simple themes. Basic melodies bila complications mingi.

Offline .

« Reply #483 on: February 08, 2022, 08:05:49 PM »

Classic from Bobby's 1988 runaway smash album "Don't be Cruel"
They don't make music like this no more brother.

Heard it playing at my barbershop in Nai on hols from majuu around Dec 2010 hapo. Reminds me of how fast Kenya is changing. Back then Kibaki was prez, Mo1's terrible memory was still hovering with us and Obamaphoria had gripped the world.

Offline .

« Reply #484 on: February 08, 2022, 08:42:07 PM »

1989! This song used to thump sana man. That bassline, that bassline, that bassline, I tells ya.  Takes me back sana to changing over the decade back then.

Offline .

« Reply #485 on: February 08, 2022, 09:50:58 PM »

Latifah - Just another day. This song takes me back sana blo. 1994!!!!

Offline .

« Reply #486 on: February 08, 2022, 09:58:46 PM »

Phil Collins 1994 Everyday

« Reply #487 on: February 08, 2022, 10:04:37 PM »

« Reply #488 on: February 09, 2022, 10:49:41 PM »
Just glad Sabelo Zuma and Reece won't be looting an African migrant spaza  :D .

y'ntsimbi Zase Envy

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_vOwxTqeRkY

hehehehehehe  @ spaza shop looting. This tune this tune this tune I tells ya. Azania is something else. They do love their old Beemers and brick buildings. Very unique place. Jozi especially. I regret that I did not buy a Gauteng number plate to hang last time I was there. Love the look of their plates. And of course their bafazi remain fire  :D

Yeah they do  :D

Amaroto are something else indeed.  They are the link between amapiano and good old kwaito.

« Reply #489 on: February 10, 2022, 04:04:20 PM »

Nice call and response music.

Selina Nakhumicha with Omwana Wa Nanjekho also leans heavily into the call and response technique.

Offline .

« Reply #490 on: February 12, 2022, 07:55:45 PM »
Haya bazi, twende kazi  :cdance:

Offline .

« Reply #491 on: February 21, 2022, 05:06:25 PM »
Cassper - Siyathandana. That bass, that bass, that bass starting at 2:10 I tells ya

« Reply #492 on: February 24, 2022, 12:32:40 AM »

I can never have enough of this amapiano drug.  The generation listening to this is having a time of their lives.

« Reply #493 on: February 24, 2022, 12:33:22 AM »
Roger Hodgson - Lovers In The Wind

Offline .

« Reply #494 on: February 26, 2022, 07:38:33 PM »

I can never have enough of this amapiano drug.  The generation listening to this is having a time of their lives.

Just like we did during our heydeys when Kwaito was Kwaito, Summer was summer and Imbizos were imbizos with songs like these hapo hapo live live :D

Those were the days bro. They are GONE and will never come back. These days hatuna budi but to deal with retirement planning and taking life easy juu after everything we have been through, nothing is ever that serious  :D
Tumeona yote kwa hii dunia bana, sasa ni kubariz baruu

Tofo tofo boys!

« Reply #495 on: March 08, 2022, 05:13:49 PM »

« Reply #496 on: March 08, 2022, 10:39:09 PM »
Salt-N-Pepa - You Showed Me

Offline .

« Reply #497 on: March 14, 2022, 07:45:12 PM »
Jimmy Cliff - Hot Shot

Nice! 80s manenos
Reminds me of those 80s juke boxes!

Offline .

« Reply #498 on: March 14, 2022, 07:47:54 PM »
The vid is out at long last!  :cdance:

Shinski and Chris Kaiga

Offline .

« Reply #499 on: March 17, 2022, 07:03:39 PM »

MTV Spring Break. Lake Havasu AZ 1995.

Maan maan maaaan I have been looking for this thing for ages. This serious throwback brings back mingi colle memories.

Warren G, Black Street, Brandy, Naughty by Nature.  Those were the days. Where did the years (all 27 of them since!!) go :D?