Author Topic: Ruto to fix Nyanza with bottom up economics  (Read 1919 times)

Ruto to fix Nyanza with bottom up economics
« on: August 09, 2021, 07:18:33 PM »

Re: Ruto to fix Nyanza with bottom up economics
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2021, 09:50:51 PM »
MALARKEY

« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2021, 09:57:07 PM »
Bottoms up is a farce, you do not start apple, Microsoft, Facebook or cure cancer in a bottom up economy. Creating jobs, big business, fund research and universities, manufacturing, most things used in Kenya can be produced there, fund agriculture, tourism etc by the way Uhuru despite COVID has done very well in infrastructure. Bottoms up means lots of Kenyans replicating little businesses like boda boda, there is only so much space for that.

« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2021, 10:25:20 PM »
FB: You are ignorant on this one. MS and FB started Bottom Up. I know that for certain. Anything technology started Bottom up except for technology for the military. MS/FB started as Juakali ideas. Do you get my point. I work in Silicon Valley. 80% of those ideas are Bottom up Juakali. I dare say that even the technology driving guys like Walmart/Amazon (Not their brick n mortar), but areas such as eComm, Logistics technology, middleware, is mostly Juakali initiatives Bottom up depending heavily on venture capital and mortgaging your house and selling your car tires etc. You is wrong....dead wrong!

Bottoms up is a farce, you do not start apple, Microsoft, Facebook or cure cancer in a bottom up economy. Creating jobs, big business, fund research and universities, manufacturing, most things used in Kenya can be produced there, fund agriculture, tourism etc by the way Uhuru despite COVID has done very well in infrastructure. Bottoms up means lots of Kenyans replicating little businesses like boda boda, there is only so much space for that.

« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2021, 10:39:04 PM »
 :D :D

To borrow a biblical phrase, "it is more plausible for a camel to pass through the eye of needle than for Bill to fix this country"

Putting Looto in charge of this country is akin to letting a wolf herd sheep, bad idea.

Anyway I will enjoy his asinine promises for what they are - comedy, comedic farce.

« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2021, 10:44:15 PM »
FB: You are ignorant on this one. MS and FB started Bottom Up. I know that for certain. Anything technology started Bottom up except for technology for the military. MS/FB started as Juakali ideas. Do you get my point. I work in Silicon Valley. 80% of those ideas are Bottom up Juakali. I dare say that even the technology driving guys like Walmart/Amazon (Not their brick n mortar), but areas such as eComm, Logistics technology, middleware, is mostly Juakali initiatives Bottom up depending heavily on venture capital and mortgaging your house and selling your car tires etc. You is wrong....dead wrong!

FB like the internet was first military tech at its core. Let that sink in. Destroys your argument ab initio

« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2021, 10:47:51 PM »
 :D :D :D :D :D

« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2021, 11:14:29 PM »
Well said. Nearly all business start as startups or smes; and they move slowly to medium firms; to regional firms; to national firms; to international MNC.

The problem in Africa - majority never get out of the informal SME phase.

« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2021, 09:39:56 AM »
Btw, why is Ruto going to talk to "professionals" from Nyanza about hustlers instead of going to the ground and talking to the fisher mongers on the shores of Lake Victoria?

« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2021, 09:46:47 AM »
These are very intellectual and technical debates - led by wakina Ndii and other economists. Ruto has been on the ground for many years. COVID allowing - I think the intention is to have national conference -after all the regions - with fair representation of the real hustlers.

Ultimately although each region has unique needs; I would love a generic model that works for everyone.

If it's agribusiness - it should not matter if you're engaged in fishing or ricing farming or tea farming - the model should be the same.

That bottom-up model should be simple, generic and scalable.

The consensus is tending towards a co-operative led formalization of the informal sector with injection of state funds to lower credit cost and mass deliberate employment through mass housing, mass low level infrastructure of roads - rural and inner urban roads- and manufacturing.

Those two are enough - for MSME - they need money and formalization - and for the unemployed - they need jobs.

The rest is continuation of existing policies - on social investment in HCI - free education, tivet and fixing NHIF.

How do we structure the SME state funds - or using existing banks - but with gov guranteed low interest. I would go with using the existing COOP bank - but with 100M Kshs ring-fenced for each constitutuency for agribuisness and such small biashara funded through SACCOS. I would also go with matching funds - btw gov/donors/banks.

Btw, why is Ruto going to talk to "professionals" from Nyanza about hustlers instead of going to the ground and talking to the fisher mongers on the shores of Lake Victoria?

« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2021, 10:05:49 AM »
Bullshit talking points parroted by every pretender leader.

Sugar industry is dead for one and nothing can ever be done to revive it

« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2021, 10:09:02 AM »
"Knowing that cost of production per metric ton is prohibitive, a concern was raised whether we need to start a conversation on the competitiveness of the sector."

Ruto already told RV farmers to stop planting Maize. Plant Avacado. Do Dairy. Plant Nuts. Plant horticulture. Plan high value crops. Farming should move from food security to agribusiness.

Western and Luo Nyanza farmers need to stop planting Sugar cane.

The same need to happen to Wheat and even Rice.

We can never be competitive - we are punishing hustlers with very high Sugar, Unga and Rice prices - codemning many to poverty - in things that are really useless to grow - and that we will never be competitive in.

Solution is simple. Privatize the sector completely - sell all state owned sugar factories for 1 shs - remove COMESA thing - and flood the market with cheap international sugar.  Let those who want to survive survive.

Gov should subsidize fertilizers and seeds  for all farmers - and give them cheap loans. The rest they should handle and compete internationally so they do not punish consumers with high prices.

« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2021, 10:16:17 AM »
"Knowing that cost of production per metric ton is prohibitive, a concern was raised whether we need to start a conversation on the competitiveness of the sector."

Ruto already told RV farmers to stop planting Maize.

Western and Luo Nyanza farmers need to stop planting Sugar cane.

The same need to happen to Wheat and even Rice.

We can never be competitive - we are punishing hustlers with very high Sugar, Unga and Rice prices - in things that are really useless to grow.

Solution is simple. Privatize the sector completely - sell all state owned sugar factories for 1 shs - remove COMESA thing - and flood the market with cheap international sugar.  Let those who want to survive survive.

Gov should subsidize fertilizers and seeds  for all farmers - and give them cheap loans. The rest they should handle and compete internationally so they do not punish consumers with high prices.

« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2021, 10:23:48 AM »
The reality is although agrictulure goods are not taxed - kenya consumers is paying a lot for SUGAR, BREAD, UGALI and RICE - THESE ARE BASIC commodities - we are not competitive in these things. And it's causing a lot of strain and poverty in poor families....these are products they can get at half or a third the current prices if we were to allow free imports. And in turn we export horticulture and such products.

Kenya sustain sugar farming, rice farming, wheat farming - and they become regional hotpotatos. WE NEED POLITICAL COURAGE to tell farmers - stop this nonsense - we will help you plant something else.

It requires leadership.

Ruto has not only told RV farmers to stop Maize - he has led by example - that is why Turkey man was around.

When Ruto told people to stop planting maize - Kielweke spread propaganda that he was cultivating 0.5m acres in Congo

« Reply #14 on: August 10, 2021, 10:26:56 AM »
Ruto in 2018 faced Kalenjin in the eye and told them to forget Maize. In fact from then nobody talks maize and price expectation. It going to die naturally...and quickly if Ruto was PORK...and be replaced with avacados, coffees, and such. The maize and sugar were brought by Brits - they are not working. Time to grow something else.

Farming has to move from food  - to AGRIBUSINESS. There will never be lack of enough food in internaitonal market - especially cheap sugar, maize, wheat and such. Crops that are best grown on large scale. The acreage has reduced kenya farmers should focus on high value crops.

?lang=fi

« Reply #15 on: August 10, 2021, 10:32:18 AM »
Ruto tells Kalenjin to leave Maize. Ruto clearly explain his change of mind - from seeing agricluture - as food security where people stock food - to agribusiness. He clearly say Maize and Farming is hopeless.

« Reply #16 on: August 10, 2021, 11:32:43 AM »
No wonder he and his buddies brought NCPB to its knees with the help of the then Agiculture CS Mwangi Kiunjuri.

Ruto tells Kalenjin to leave Maize. Ruto clearly explain his change of mind - from seeing agricluture - as food security where people stock food - to agribusiness. He clearly say Maize and Farming is hopeless.

« Reply #17 on: August 10, 2021, 12:09:36 PM »
Uganda has no ncpb - neither does TZ - and they sell maize cheaply - leave alone Mexico or US. I have seen the wheat in the temperature world - you cannot compare to whatever we do in Kenya. Leave these things to Brazil (cheap sugar), Asian (cheap rice), Europe and Canadas (wheat), America(Maize) - and let us go for agribusiness- horticulture.

If they are strategic like maize - NCPBB should source for maize everywhere including Mexico - and Keep the required millions of bags.

There is a lot we can sell - especially tropical all-year-round fruits - bananas, pineapples - name them.

At this stage - agriculture for food should be left for old people - but young farmers need agribusiness - and there are things that make sense - not maize or sugar - we need seasonal high value crops

No wonder he and his buddies brought NCPB to its knees with the help of the then Agiculture CS Mwangi Kiunjuri.

« Reply #18 on: August 10, 2021, 01:51:15 PM »
The reality is although agrictulure goods are not taxed - kenya consumers is paying a lot for SUGAR, BREAD, UGALI and RICE - THESE ARE BASIC commodities - we are not competitive in these things. And it's causing a lot of strain and poverty in poor families....these are products they can get at half or a third the current prices if we were to allow free imports. And in turn we export horticulture and such products.

Kenya sustain sugar farming, rice farming, wheat farming - and they become regional hotpotatos. WE NEED POLITICAL COURAGE to tell farmers - stop this nonsense - we will help you plant something else.

It requires leadership.

Ruto has not only told RV farmers to stop Maize - he has led by example - that is why Turkey man was around.

When Ruto told people to stop planting maize - Kielweke spread propaganda that he was cultivating 0.5m acres in Congo

« Reply #19 on: August 10, 2021, 02:15:31 PM »
Open the sugar, maize, wheat floodgates and within 1-2 yrs people will have figured out how to survive.
We cannot protect farmers; yet impoverish everyone; esp the urban poor; who spend half their money on food; imagine if they bought bread, maize and rice at half price.

There is no shock people cannot survive. In South Rift - Bomet esp - the Maize viral disease - made maize farming impossible for a decade.

People slowly diversified.

Ruto need to do this after he become PORK; on first year; open up all sectors for international competition but subsidize farmers inputs. If after you get farm inputs subsidy - and you cannot compete; then you cannot be helped.

In any case how do you block Uganda and Tanzania - who are in East Africa - and starting to eat our lunch in all these things