Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: RV Pundit on October 24, 2019, 12:51:37 PM

Title: Pundit I warned you to watch Moses Kuria carefully
Post by: RV Pundit on October 24, 2019, 12:51:37 PM
Robina pole - I told you hii BBI ni mchezo wa paka na panya. Tom & Jerry.  GEMA if they accept parliamentary can as well forget about leadership of kenya. A somali can easily become a PM than Kikuyu - but in presidential system - a GEMA will always be either PORK or DPORK like has been since 1963.

https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2019-10-24-mt-kenya-legislators-vow-to-reject-parliamentary-system-under-bbi/?fbclid=IwAR19gTtw6TUm9gpKgEWizOWuwqrC4GkOx4nWVo-Ma02FGMNUMFaKFBX91rY
Title: Re: 30 my Kenya MPs rejects BBI parliamentary
Post by: RV Pundit on October 24, 2019, 02:42:28 PM
Mwangi Kiunjuri - your next DPORK - made technical appearance.
(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/r6ajiEjU-CeeM-I4qCzGosyp6SCShjY0vAFZqB6MbIqTXSU9WM7gHeoQcmTUSVvj6UGsXfYelO3jH5CG8h_d1Zdyzng5=s1200)
Post by: Kadudu on October 24, 2019, 05:06:29 PM
Kiunjuri still in politics? I thought he is now a public servant.
Post by: RV Pundit on October 24, 2019, 05:26:34 PM
Unless Uhuru changed his mind - he is the DPORK designate - I believe in some agreement with Ruto.
Kiunjuri still in politics? I thought he is now a public servant.
Title: Re: 30 mt Kenya MPs rejects BBI parliamentary
Post by: Pajero on October 24, 2019, 06:48:52 PM
30 only
Post by: RV Pundit on October 24, 2019, 07:07:42 PM
They are only 67 mt kenya MPs. 30 just came to fire a warning shot - BBI report is not even out.
30 only
Post by: Nefertiti on October 24, 2019, 09:24:45 PM
What are they objecting? Mashada rumors? And according to you 90% - 60MPs - from Mt Kenya are in Tanga Tanga. This is what - 40%? Of course you ignore all the governors and CS's who have more say than MPs. Where do Kiraitu,  Kimemia, wa Iria, Waiguru stand about the gossip? What about Uhuru?

Anyway i think if the gossip is correct - parliamentary with mandatory tribe & youth inclusion, 40% devolution, high integrity bar, cap on MPig perks, ... Dr No and his band of 30 thieves will lose in referendum. Only Kalenjin and a few Kikuyu will oppose. Even Meru or Mbeere or Kiraitu, Duales, Nanoks - everyone else is fed up with the Kikuyu-Kalenjin duopoly of power. Ruto would need 100% Kalenjin + Gema to stand a chance.

But this is still only gossip so we can't have a meaningful debate.
Post by: Nefertiti on October 24, 2019, 09:35:45 PM
If possible don't fork another 100 rumor mills. .. there are enough BBI threads.
Post by: RV Pundit on October 24, 2019, 09:51:06 PM
If possible don't fork another 100 rumor mills. .. there are enough BBI threads.
okay
Post by: RV Pundit on October 24, 2019, 09:53:14 PM
What are they objecting? Mashada rumors? And according to you 90% - 60MPs - from Mt Kenya are in Tanga Tanga. This is what - 40%? Of course you ignore all the governors and CS's who have more say than MPs. Where do Kiraitu,  Kimemia, wa Iria, Waiguru stand about the gossip? What about Uhuru?

Anyway i think if the gossip is correct - parliamentary with mandatory tribe & youth inclusion, 40% devolution, high integrity bar, cap on MPig perks, ... Dr No and his band of 30 thieves will lose in referendum. Only Kalenjin and a few Kikuyu will oppose. Even Meru or Mbeere or Kiraitu, Duales, Nanoks - everyone else is fed up with the Kikuyu-Kalenjin duopoly of power. Ruto would need 100% Kalenjin + Gema to stand a chance.

But this is still only gossip so we can't have a meaningful debate.
why would governors or any my Kenya leaders that have opposed parliamentary system consistently for many years turn around to endorse.BBI ni danganya Toto jinga
Post by: RV Pundit on October 24, 2019, 09:56:10 PM
when the deal is too good think twice...Raila was allowed to define BBI they way he wants.. Jubilee didn't even bother to make suggestions..Raila guys think they finally nailed bomas....kumbe it's just a game to buy time
Post by: Nefertiti on October 24, 2019, 10:36:29 PM
You've come a long way from Uhurutopia 2013-80 pipedream. That deal was too good. Now you almost there... to concede BBI train is blowing steam n bonking furiously. Get ready to wear No tee shirt - it shaping up already. Kalenjin and a few Kikuyu will make frog noises - as Uhuru prep for 3rd term.

when the deal is too good think twice...Raila was allowed to define BBI they way he wants.. Jubilee didn't even bother to make suggestions..Raila guys think they finally nailed bomas....kumbe it's just a game to buy time
Post by: Nefertiti on October 24, 2019, 10:42:16 PM
why would governors or any my Kenya leaders that have opposed parliamentary system consistently for many years turn around to endorse.BBI ni danganya Toto jinga

Why would anyone but Kalenjin and Kikuyu oppose parliamentary, inclusion, more devolution, and the shebang. I mean Duale or Nanok or Oparanya or Tunai or Kibwana or Kingi or Nyangarama - where are these folks? You and Ruto are obsessed with Mt Kenya. With Kikuyu eyeing Uhuru 2.0 - tough luck hitting 20% with No coalition.
Post by: Nefertiti on October 25, 2019, 12:32:05 AM
Hehe just watched the comedy of errors - of deep Kiunjuri and Meero accents. Where were these fools when BBI toured the country - attending Tanga Tanga rallies? Same way they slept thru Ligare boundary review. But i thought Jubilee had no views :)  These are entitled brats - ati they are discriminated in development maajabu - what would Mijikenda or Kamba or Turkana or Somali say?? If BBI gossip come thru - it will be Kalenjin and a few Kikuyu - vs rest of Kenya.

Post by: RV Pundit on October 25, 2019, 06:34:30 AM
Jubilee is United against BBI.
Post by: RV Pundit on October 25, 2019, 11:01:31 AM
Raila allies start smelling the Mt Kenya coffee.https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2019-10-25-raila-allies-to-mt-kenya-be-honest-on-powerful-pm/
Post by: Nefertiti on October 25, 2019, 11:07:05 AM

Jubilee is not Kioni and Nyoro :) Let Mvurya and Duale and Kiraitu speak first. After real BBI is published.
Post by: RV Pundit on October 25, 2019, 11:49:16 AM

Jubilee is not Kioni and Nyoro :) Let Mvurya and Duale and Kiraitu speak first. After real BBI is published.
Ruto & Kiunjuri ndio kusema.... Uhuru ni lameduck..Mvurua a duruma & Duale a Somalia have no say.I  think you'll start to see a lot of Kiunjuri going forward...he has been on the shadows for long
Post by: Nefertiti on October 25, 2019, 02:21:09 PM
Kiunjuri need to deal with farmers - master his own small docket first - before he can attempt national politics. He is no Ruto. It remains another of you theories until we see him do something outstanding. Or Ruto at least name him as running mate. All we ever heard is Muturi, PK, Waiguru, Kiraitu. Mwakwere. :) Kiunjuri pop up now and then at random protest - like this one - or drought and maize scandals. Needless to say he is not known for anything - ask average Kenyan on the street - except heavy shrubbing and ineptitude.
Post by: RV Pundit on October 25, 2019, 04:00:18 PM
Kiunjuri was annointed before 2017 and is responsible for the rout that swept mt Kenya.Ruto was playing the supporting cast.Safari ya kesho inapangwa jana
Post by: patel on October 25, 2019, 05:00:00 PM
Kiujuri anointed by who? If they wanted him to be a running mate they would have instead made him a governor then pour money in Laikipia county to make him more visible and give him a track record instead they rigged Kibakis nephew. In scheme of things and as far as mt. Kenya politic is involved kiujuri is a peasant and a tout allowed to play above his league. He should be thankful for CS post.
Post by: Kadudu on October 25, 2019, 05:16:50 PM
Asante ya punda ni teke.
Kiunjuri has failed in his docket. Allowed cartels led by Arap Mashamba to plunder the ministry's parastatals. He is just lucky to be from the annointed ethnic group.

Kiujuri anointed by who? If they wanted him to be a running mate they would have instead made him a governor then pour money in Laikipia county to make him more visible and give him a track record instead they rigged Kibakis nephew. In scheme of things and as far as mt. Kenya politic is involved kiujuri is a peasant and a tout allowed to play above his league. He should be thankful for CS post.
Post by: Nefertiti on October 25, 2019, 05:47:43 PM

Correct. Pundit need to tell us when and where was Kiunjuri anointed? Besides being floored in Laikipia by a nobody - and "campaigning" for Jubilee in Mt Kenya West - Uhuru bedroom :D - we only see him in maize scandals and drought. The man is "popular" for shrubbing incoherently.  Imagine even Ruto in UDM-URP days - Kiraitu and Mwakwere were the touted runningmates - as Ruto battled breathlessly but unsuccessfully to breach the 14% Kalenjin-only poll rating. Pokots and Tugen actually vote for Uhuru and Moi Sr - not Ruto - so despite topping up a few wariahes - Somali, Rendille, Pokomos - only truckloads of cash endear Ruto outside Kalenjin. This is not a dig - it factual. A place like Kibra which is meant as a test-run for Luhya - why all the feasts and handouts? - it as silly as cheating in mock exam. :)

Now we are meant to believe - not only has Ruto mastered NFD, Western and all frontiers - he has the power to anoint a nobody Kiunjuri as Gema Prince. :D A joke with a few youth followers in Nanyuki town. A small test in Malindi and Garissa - and Ruto crew wound up as distant 3rd. Kibra will really humble this lot. BBI if the gossip is believable is a seismic shift - they are trying to stop  a train with bare hands - to borrow Pundit's own idiomatics.
Post by: Nefertiti on October 25, 2019, 05:59:20 PM
Pundit saying Kiunjuri routed the old guard in Mt Kenya - is saying Buzeki bagged Moiben for Ruto. Why not "rout" his smalltime opponents in Laikipia - win some for himself? If that were true - the Nyoros and Gachaguas would be singing Kiunjuri - instead they sing Ruto or Uhuru. Seem strange and odd to me. Give us factual stuff - that we can see OBJECTIVELY - not unpalatable conjecture.

Which MP or senator or governor - or any influencer - follow Kiunjuri in Mt Kenya? The way Jumwas and Nyoros praise Ruto? At least Sabina and Irungu Kang'ata endorse PK - and ask Uhuru to name him Treasury CS.
Post by: RV Pundit on October 25, 2019, 06:43:01 PM
Pundit saying Kiunjuri routed the old guard in Mt Kenya - is saying Buzeki bagged Moiben for Ruto. Why not "rout" his smalltime opponents in Laikipia - win some for himself? If that were true - the Nyoros and Gachaguas would be singing Kiunjuri - instead they sing Ruto or Uhuru. Seem strange and odd to me. Give us factual stuff - that we can see OBJECTIVELY - not unpalatable conjecture.

Which MP or senator or governor - or any influencer - follow Kiunjuri in Mt Kenya? The way Jumwas and Nyoros praise Ruto? At least Sabina and Irungu Kang'ata endorse PK - and ask Uhuru to name him Treasury CS.
Kiunjuri got 40mps to prematurely attack bbi..check where most of them come from..Nakuru,laikipia,nyandarua, nyeri and a few Ruto diehards elsewhere.Kiunjuri gave TNA a run for their money culminating in winning Gachagua winning Nyeri governor.Kiraitu bus did well in my Kenya east.Kiraitu decided to go for Governor as part of deal to fold up and Kiunjuri who could have wo
not_ laikipia made a deal with Uhuru .. he may shrub but his kikuyu mastery is an asset and he has money.
Post by: RV Pundit on October 25, 2019, 06:46:58 PM
Typing from the phone but as the ultimate political Pundit my advice watch Mwangi Kiunjuri very very closely.He has a deal at least with Ruto.
Post by: Nefertiti on October 25, 2019, 07:07:07 PM
Kiunjuri got 40mps to prematurely attack bbi..check where most of them come from..Nakuru,laikipia,nyandarua, nyeri and a few Ruto diehards elsewhere.Kiunjuri gave TNA a run for their money culminating in winning Gachagua winning Nyeri governor.Kiraitu bus did well in my Kenya east.Kiraitu decided to go for Governor as part of deal to fold up and Kiunjuri who could have wo
not_ laikipia made a deal with Uhuru .. he may shrub but his kikuyu mastery is an asset and he has money.

Pure conjecture. So the "evidence" is that the MPs are from Mt Kenya West? :) Of course 30 MPs now morph into 40 - your facts and figures multiply as Jesus fish and bread.
Post by: Nefertiti on October 25, 2019, 07:08:46 PM
Typing from the phone but as the ultimate political Pundit my advice watch Mwangi Kiunjuri very very closely.He has a deal at least with Ruto.

Right. We must take your word. The undisputed oracle.
Post by: RV Pundit on October 25, 2019, 09:07:47 PM
Yes my track record speak for itself..I saw UhuRuto  as early as March 2008 just after horrific kikuyu kalenjin war..I predict elections to the decimal...I saw Ruto Kiunjuri from as early as 2017.I use to miss few areas like Western and now Gusii but am getting better.I predict counties like Bomet or kercho to the dot.Despite Isaac Ruto I predicted Uhuru would win by 89%.He won by 89%.Robina respect some of us...in class 2 I would be pitted against the best class 8 for mental maths...my nickname in high school was computer...given to me by high school principal and I had never seen one..I touched my first computer at UON.Forget BBI..watch Kiunjuri like a hawk.He is DPORK to Ruto.The rest are details.
Post by: Nefertiti on October 25, 2019, 10:08:55 PM
I am sure you are a math genius and great engineer. Big deal. Let's talk now not 3 year Ruto-Kiunjuri horizon. BBI is out in a few days - and we see how your theory goes. If Ruto or Babu is being played by Uhuru.
Post by: RV Pundit on October 25, 2019, 10:29:55 PM
Matter of time before you know Uhuru is playing Raila.lRaila is known miguna miguna folk touch with 10 feet pole.BBI is  the 10 ft pole that Uhuru is touching Raila with...Moi was at his sunset and lost his guard so doy bet on another teojsn horse
Post by: Nefertiti on October 25, 2019, 11:17:46 PM
The scion of greedy Jomo is going nowhere. Hey, it's on this wall and all over the news. Ruto is welcome to continue as his KYM. Babu is happy for the sunset as ceremonial father of the nation.
Post by: patel on October 25, 2019, 11:31:45 PM
For starters am not a big fan of BBI for obvious reason but BBI will sail through next year then referendum around 2020 or 2021. 2017 taught Uhuru and the mafia a lesson, you can steal election, assemble a kill team, use facebook and cambridge Analytica but Kenyans are too smart they will find a way to navigate through that non sense. Kikuyu and kalenjin only have 35% of the vote but lack sufficient economic muscle to keep your business afloat once boycott is called. As long as kenyatta family wants to do business in kenya they have no option but to stick with Raila or whoever is leading opposition.  For uhuru and kenyatta family it's all about economic preservation.
Post by: audacityofhope on October 26, 2019, 05:18:30 PM
Yes my track record speak for itself..I saw UhuRuto  as early as March 2008 just after horrific kikuyu kalenjin war..I predict elections to the decimal...I saw Ruto Kiunjuri from as early as 2017.I use to miss few areas like Western and now Gusii but am getting better.I predict counties like Bomet or kercho to the dot.Despite Isaac Ruto I predicted Uhuru would win by 89%.He won by 89%.Robina respect some of us...in class 2 I would be pitted against the best class 8 for mental maths...my nickname in high school was computer...given to me by high school principal and I had never seen one..I touched my first computer at UON.Forget BBI..watch Kiunjuri like a hawk.He is DPORK to Ruto.The rest are details.
So you are saying your track record has improved?  :o Back there in 2013 allow me to remind you- your prediction and view of the world at large was rather upside down. The verdict on the Uhuruto era is already being written even before they complete the "Kumi zangu..." and it isn't flattering - even among those who voted 3 times for Jumbiree. I think that high school principal was playing with you the way you say UK is playing RAO. Ask for refund if that is at all possible:

Quote from: AudacityOfHope
Quote from: RV Pundit
Who cares for a broke continent when you have a thriving Asia,Africa,Middle east and Latin America.

Somewhere on the 'broke' European Continent (Schipol Airport - Holland)
(https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSBAqTcgN9Do9iNQwHwHeTRdvX_NBxt8wAS-WHQxtpru-lHJmHIrg)(https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR7gDU-0-KWzJP-H49XONQuSK5bMe0G-yaPe2091k0DBMNasIiF4w)

Somewhere on the 'thriving ' African Continent (JKIA Airport - Kenya)
(http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/images/thursday/Detectives-JKIA-inside-07082013.jpg)
Post by: Nefertiti on October 26, 2019, 06:41:33 PM
BBI: Ruto camp walking a tight rope
SATURDAY OCTOBER 26 2019

(https://coachmcfi.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/pie_01.jpg)

In Summary

According to several sources in Dr Ruto’s inner circles, the DP’s strategists are working on several options for him once the BBI report is formally unveiled.

Although the contents remain a tightly-guarded secret and will not be made public until after the report is handed over to President Kenyatta and Mr Odinga, the DP’s team is confident it has a fairly good idea of the proposals, courtesy of a stream of leaks from within the BBI task force and secretariat.

Aware that he would be in a tricky situation fighting constitutional amendments backed by President Kenyatta, Dr Ruto’s strategists are working on a scenario where he abandons his apparent opposition to BBI and instead embraces the proposed changes.

Guiding this thinking is that Dr Ruto does not want to appear to be fighting any Jubilee Party or government position that President Kenyatta may proclaim at a time he badly needs to inherit the populous Central Kenya support base.

The wily politician could therefore decide that it is wiser to change tack and instead of opposing the BBI proposals, join President Kenyatta and Mr Odinga in lending support that would virtually ensure an uncontested referendum.

https://www.nation.co.ke/news/politics/William-Ruto-big-BBI-dilemma/1064-5325556-t8h8j5/index.html
Post by: Pajero on October 26, 2019, 08:22:03 PM
It was just a matter of time,Ruto on his own is a nobody.
Post by: RV Pundit on October 26, 2019, 11:12:10 PM
Really.breaking news or what
Post by: Nefertiti on October 27, 2019, 12:51:05 AM
Really.breaking news or what

Ruto is a formidable force. This vindicates that one vs two power centers is the short end of the stick. A duel would be 2010 redux. Of course it won't save him: it is only a check. Next Babu will back Uhuru for PM.. and go for ceremonial president. Your boy is in a serious conundrum.
Post by: RV Pundit on October 27, 2019, 01:03:21 PM
So one theory out there is Kiunjuri is going rogue so he can be fired and he start campaigning for DPork.
Post by: hk on October 27, 2019, 01:34:09 PM
Robina,

This isn't about tanga tanga or kieleweke, Mt. kenya is against a pure parliamentary system if constituencies' voters' inequality isn't addressed.  The BBI should propose federalism and address property rights. By that I mean individuals should own the minerals and resource that's beyond 6ft. The turkana's should be selling exploration rights to their land instead of getting handouts from national government. 
Even if so called  parliamentary proportional representation wont pass easily cause no one would trust the political parties in kenya to decide who to represent voters. Actually kagwanja had forewarned BBI about this https://www.nation.co.ke/oped/opinion/Is-Raila-parliamentary-push-aiding-Ruto-State-House-bid/440808-5291018-bxorc4z/index.html , this will amount to guaranteeing Ruto becomes the president.
Post by: RV Pundit on October 27, 2019, 01:48:52 PM
Yes federalism will solve many of Nairobi problems. No point collecting money centrally and then sub-dividing them. Counties collected 40B last year - while they received about 300B - so there is hope that if counties are allowed to levy taxes - keep income taxes for employees in their counties - and VAT - they can self-finance - with national resources (like custom duties) being used to build super-highways, rails and such national projects.
Robina,

This isn't about tanga tanga or kieleweke, Mt. kenya is against a pure parliamentary system if constituencies' voters' inequality isn't addressed.  The BBI should propose federalism and address property rights. By that I mean individuals should own the minerals and resource that's beyond 6ft. The turkana's should be selling exploration rights to their land instead of getting handouts from national government. 
Even if so called  parliamentary proportional representation wont pass easily cause no one would trust the political parties in kenya to decide who to represent voters. Actually kagwanja had forewarned BBI about this https://www.nation.co.ke/oped/opinion/Is-Raila-parliamentary-push-aiding-Ruto-State-House-bid/440808-5291018-bxorc4z/index.html , this will amount to guaranteeing Ruto becomes the president.
Post by: KenyanPlato on October 27, 2019, 01:51:30 PM
Kenyans are too obsessed wity ethnic identity. I do not think parliamentary system would hurt kikuyus. Kenyan elites need to snap out of this tribal nonsense quickly it is a waste to time
Post by: Nefertiti on October 27, 2019, 07:20:00 PM
So one theory out there is Kiunjuri is going rogue so he can be fired and he start campaigning for DPork.

Looks like it. Ruto is angling for soft landing going by his changing tune. In that case parliamentary will kick in unanimously. But tyre will still meet the road when Uhuru declare 3rd term. The Kiunjuris and all Gema hard work will collapse as Ruto will need new partner to counter Uhuru-Raila combo. He will need to shop for Luhya - after being floored in Kibra :)
Post by: Nefertiti on October 27, 2019, 07:27:51 PM
Robina,

Come srowry ndugu. Life is not all about the Kikuyu. The entire Kenya will vote. That is why Ruto has surrendered - because only Kikuyu and Kalenjin are against parliamentary equity and more devolution. Even Duale has abandoned him. If Ruto capitulates as is being gossiped - new system kicks in smoothly - it will be a new ballgame. Kikuyus will have to decide between Ruto and Uhuru - the hyena and the goat. :) Expect jilted Babu to take sweet revenge by backing Uhuru for PM.
Post by: Nefertiti on October 27, 2019, 07:32:26 PM
Btw hk, that Ephraim Maina and Kiunjuri nonsense about Kikuyu being underrepresented is BS. 3 out of 4 PORKs...  :o don't even start on the capex favoritism. We know the equity aggregate formula for MP boundaries. Kalenjin or Somali live in vast arid areas with few roads or infra - so they seem over-represented. You could argue Nairobi is the most underrepresented - with the highest headcount per MP - but the geography factor says no. it just porojo - otherwise let's wait and see 42-v-2. Try to convince Luhya they will be favorites in 2032 :) - so in the meantime they should reject 40% devolution.
Post by: hk on October 27, 2019, 09:35:54 PM
Come srowry ndugu. Life is not all about the Kikuyu. The entire Kenya will vote. That is why Ruto has surrendered - because only Kikuyu and Kalenjin are against parliamentary equity and more devolution. Even Duale has abandoned him. If Ruto capitulates as is being gossiped - new system kicks in smoothly - it will be a new ballgame. Kikuyus will have to decide between Ruto and Uhuru - the hyena and the goat. :) Expect jilted Babu to take sweet revenge by backing Uhuru for PM.
I am not disputing that the whole thing its about kenya. I am just pointing out that rejecting BBI proposal of pure parliamentary system will gain sway in mt.kenya region. Would it even make a difference who's president if the system works, no. The most important thing is to have a federal system whether in a parliamentary system or presidential. Then address limits of government reach on property rights.. Those are things that should matter.
To be honest uhuru will have very little influence going forward. Just like kibaki and his men couldn't force mt. kenya to vote for Mudavadi.
Post by: hk on October 27, 2019, 09:42:02 PM
Btw hk, that Ephraim Maina and Kiunjuri nonsense about Kikuyu being underrepresented is BS. 3 out of 4 PORKs...  :o don't even start on the capex favoritism. We know the equity aggregate formula for MP boundaries. Kalenjin or Somali live in vast arid areas with few roads or infra - so they seem over-represented. You could argue Nairobi is the most underrepresented - with the highest headcount per MP - but the geography factor says no. it just porojo - otherwise let's wait and see 42-v-2. Try to convince Luhya they will be favorites in 2032 :) - so in the meantime they should reject 40% devolution.
I fully appreciate the delicate balance needed to address vast geographical constituencies versus densely populated constituencies. That's why a federal system would help to mitigate the problem. Afterall what matters is resources and how those resources are controlled.
Post by: Nefertiti on October 28, 2019, 12:43:27 AM
Federalism would devolve graft. The DCI raids on KRA or customs at Port Mombasa come to mind. Counties have failed in health so I say take devolution slowly. Start with a workable transition system - like the rumored National Health Service or something. Taxation is not a joke - it is the backbone of the state after security. Would counties be allowed to determine VAT or PAYE besides council rates? It's a complex function. I see no challenge with KRA/CRA model provided the threshold is raised to 40% or so. It's federalism minus the tribal, religious or political risk of excess autonomy. And that still needs careful transition of more functions. NHS and such central bodies can be phased out with time.

Now, devolving all resources won't save us. It is a process same as democracy. Counties are incompetent and equally corrupt. You can't devolve everything to please Kikuyu or Kalenjin - you must have a central hold, cohesion, synergy and economies of scale. Global std is 40% in US, Germany, Canada, RSA, etc. No matter the % of revenue share the power duopoly in Nairobi needs to end. If you agree MP boundaries are equitable, you can equally see how one-man-one-vote is an unfair system. I mean even the US - literally the only successful democracy with direct vote - has an electoral college to reign majority dictatorship. California and New York are Kikuyu and Kalenjin. Populous states are diluted. 90% of the rest of the progressive countries are parliamentary.

The entitled Kikuyu will get over it. 1963 Kenya was parliamentary and federal but was rigged by greedy corrupt Jomo with Moi and Mboya's help. Atoning sins of the father would be Uhuru's greatest legacy. But the biggest losers will be Kalenjin whose population is accelerating as Gema dwindle. We have buttressed the pros and cons of the systems here and you were MIA. I also heard Jubilee had no opinion about BBI. It's not clear why their bedrocks' sudden bustle and bother. Let us go for the fairer, more accountable system.
Post by: Nefertiti on October 28, 2019, 12:50:45 AM
After discarding the moronic one-man-one-vote, next fix first-past-the-post. Proportional representation is more equitable. You see the EU states with MMPR are not as divided and unequal as the UK and their Brexit shambols and chaos.

Kenya and Africa can be progressive. This is bigger than Ruto and Raila.
Post by: hk on October 28, 2019, 08:48:26 AM
After discarding the moronic one-man-one-vote, next fix first-past-the-post. Proportional representation is more equitable. You see the EU states with MMPR are not as divided and unequal as the UK and their Brexit shambols and chaos.

Kenya and Africa can be progressive. This is bigger than Ruto and Raila.
Proportional representation is more equitable but something has to be done about political parties if we're to have a functioning system. Federalism; the counties should get a percentage of all the revenue derived from the counties. BTW the biggest winners in this arrangement wont be mt.kenya region. But this is the way to go. We need to encourage counties to be productive. Its only fair for individuals to derive income from resources in their area. Muranga farmers earn from their fertile soils, the same should apply to kwale residents who's area is endowed with titanium deposits.
Post by: RV Pundit on October 28, 2019, 09:36:46 AM
Yes Nigeria have such a system - where VAT & PAYE - are shared between 3 levels...with agreed upon percentages. The states keep most of the taxes. But like Robina says - we need to a little cautious with handing counties more power - until they have built capacity for this. So for me another 10yrs - before we add more functions. Let them prove they can manage health - then we will add education and some security - and that will be when real federalism can kick in.

As for system of gov - it won't matter - we will see the usual faces winning.

Proportional representation is more equitable but something has to be done about political parties if we're to have a functioning system. Federalism; the counties should get a percentage of all the revenue derived from the counties. BTW the biggest winners in this arrangement wont be mt.kenya region. But this is the way to go. We need to encourage counties to be productive. Its only fair for individuals to derive income from resources in their area. Muranga farmers earn from their fertile soils, the same should apply to kwale residents who's area is endowed with titanium deposits.
Post by: hk on October 28, 2019, 11:49:39 AM
Yes Nigeria have such a system - where VAT & PAYE - are shared between 3 levels...with agreed upon percentages. The states keep most of the taxes. But like Robina says - we need to a little cautious with handing counties more power - until they have built capacity for this. So for me another 10yrs - before we add more functions. Let them prove they can manage health - then we will add education and some security - and that will be when real federalism can kick in.

Yes counties need to increase their capacity but also national government need to fully devolve the functions. Take health, the national government has a huge budget and still retains most of the functions. If you devolve functions also devolve funds, there's no reason why national government should have a budget of almost ksh100b. Its the reason why we ended up with idle utilized medical machines at county level.
Post by: Nefertiti on October 28, 2019, 12:47:04 PM

Yep. Charismatic folks will always win. Ruto or Raila will be gone in 10 or 20 years and we will be left wit Paul Sang or Babu Owino. But the system will remain.
Post by: Nefertiti on October 28, 2019, 10:22:14 PM
Kuria continue to position himself as Kikuyu defender - told you to watch the cunning fox carefully

Post by: Nefertiti on October 28, 2019, 10:36:06 PM
the Mau conundrum... not going well for Ruto

Post by: RV Pundit on October 28, 2019, 10:42:49 PM
Kuria continue to position himself as Kikuyu defender - told you to watch the cunning fox carefully

kuria is a non starter
Post by: Nefertiti on October 28, 2019, 10:54:01 PM
Ignore him at your own peril. He missed the group photo-op - the anti BBI - cause it looked like Tanga Tanga. He wants to stand out.
Post by: RV Pundit on October 29, 2019, 12:26:38 AM
He comes from gatundu south and has not even finish one term in office (5yrs). He is just a busy body with a loud mouth,
Ignore him at your own peril. He missed the group photo-op - the anti BBI - cause it looked like Tanga Tanga. He wants to stand out.
Post by: Nefertiti on November 02, 2019, 10:47:17 AM
Pundit your watermelon need to resume 4am jogging... this pressure will kill him. BBI is like The Animal Farm - where Squealer change the laws at night.:D

Ruto's dilemma over a parliamentary system
DP in Catch-2022 situation as push for changed government structure gains momentum

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/Zn8sRuxOfNtZGMC6h6aAG4UZzAnBpM1scKsuXJfVBUvUMvUsaJ-0dqgL9T0_jymQBy6a4gxRs38eY5W1gGtGeqzfwyou=s512)

Summary

He is walking a tightrope. His support among pastoralist communities too is facing a litmus test as they too back a parliamentary system.

The DP could find himself at cross-purposes with key political lieutenants from the restive Mt Kenya region, which is backing a presidential system.

https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2019-11-02-rutos-dilemma-over-a-parliamentary-system/
Post by: Nefertiti on November 02, 2019, 11:09:21 AM
Duale dumps Ruto, says 'I'm not anyone's title deed'
01 November 2019 - 14:34

https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2019-11-01-duale-dumps-ruto-says-im-not-anyones-title-deed/
Post by: RV Pundit on November 02, 2019, 03:04:48 PM
BBI ni mchezo was paka na panya..end of the day going nowhere.keep Raila hopefully and off our streets.Look like Uhuru is waiting for Ruto to flour Raila in Kibera before resuming BBI talk shop
Post by: Nefertiti on November 02, 2019, 05:34:25 PM
BBI ni mchezo was paka na panya..end of the day going nowhere.keep Raila hopefully and off our streets.Look like Uhuru is waiting for Ruto to flour Raila in Kibera before resuming BBI talk shop

If Uhuru was pro-Ruto and Mariga - Sonko and Sakaja would be on the ground.
Post by: RV Pundit on November 02, 2019, 06:48:08 PM
Those two are courting non GEMA vote in Nairobi as insurance
Post by: Nefertiti on November 02, 2019, 08:16:49 PM
Those two are courting non GEMA vote in Nairobi as insurance

I didn't catch that... aren't most Gema with Ruto?
Post by: RV Pundit on November 03, 2019, 08:17:57 AM
Precisely..none of them is assured of GEMA votes..and they know Baba wing have no candidate after kidero was left alone.Sakaja I think already has one leg out because he knows beating Sonko in Nairobi won't be easy.
Post by: Nefertiti on November 03, 2019, 06:46:07 PM
That's too early. There will be a BBI reset - and Gema will hang with Uhuru 2.0. Positioning now is waste of time. Those Tanga Tanga fools will eat humble pie when Ruto vs Uhuru emerge.
Post by: RV Pundit on November 03, 2019, 07:06:47 PM
Uhuru is tired and not ready to face Ruto
Post by: Nefertiti on November 03, 2019, 07:40:56 PM
That is hubris. Uhuru is already facing Ruto - by fronting Babu and Handshake to flush MOU down the sewer - obviously a fool like you take silence for weakness. You don't need rubble-rousing horsepower if you are strategic. That KYM donkey work. 2012-2017 Uhuru use Ruto to contain Raila. Now it seem Raila will back Uhuru for PM - just to scorn Ruto. I think anti-BBI porojo, Kiunjuris, night meetings and all Gema investment are a waste of time. So long as Uhuru 2.0 - the battle will be in non-Gema. And we all know how that is shaping up in Pwani, Gusii, Maa, etc.
Post by: Nefertiti on November 03, 2019, 07:48:08 PM
Pundit it very hard to beat Raila-Uhuru combo - cause power tripod - the rest are top-ups or flower girls. You discovered these laws of science yourself :) - when it was expedient. Well, you can't wind reality like a majira clock. Look how Kibra is turning out - only Khalwale, Kisii DG Joash Maang'i, Jaguars and useless pawns back Ruto boy. Is there a governor or serious influencer who back Mariga? What exactly is the gameplan? besides clinging to Uhurutopia.
Post by: RV Pundit on November 03, 2019, 08:15:32 PM
Ruto 50 is intact, reshuffle didn't happen, Uhuru yet to sell handshake to central, just promise to a girl you're cheating your wife with that the lawyer is prepping divorce papers. Uhuru even endorsed Mariga.Moi did this to Raila with UhuRuto in the know.It called containment strategy to prevent Raila makelele and keep him off streets complete with a fake AU job that is paid by Kenya treasury and has no office in Adis AbabaThe laughable think treasury simply converted him from a pensioner to AU job.They stopped paying his retirement benefits because he was getting paid by same treasury for the fake AU job.Uhuru simply asked for technical title without office or budget knowing Raila diplomacy in Ivory coast was a disaster and other countries would have refused his role.Now Kenya pay for the title with few staff right in Nairobi
Post by: Nefertiti on November 03, 2019, 09:42:09 PM
After Mariga drubbing hope you accept reality - as it prep you for BBI earthquake. Again why does Uhuru need to sell Handshake? - that Raila KYM job. Uhuru 2.0 aka Exec PM - make Ruto and his Kiunjuris DOA in Mt Kenya. Raila need to sell Uhuru 2.0 in non-Gema - and he busy doing that all over - as Ruto cling to Uhurutopia and Kikuyu for dear life. BBI new system will be followed by Tanga Tanga implosion - as Nyoros and Ngiricis stampede back to Uhuru corner. Most will claim they never left. :D
Post by: RV Pundit on November 03, 2019, 10:31:05 PM
Why not release BBI today? Is Uhuru too busy.Mt Kenya are not happy with parliamentary system but definitely Kalenjin don't mind it.We have mps in 11 counties.. nobody come close.Kalenjin have more mps than all tribes including kikuyus I think.
After Mariga drubbing hope you accept reality - as it prep you for BBI earthquake. Again why does Uhuru need to sell Handshake? - that Raila KYM job. Uhuru 2.0 aka Exec PM - make Ruto and his Kiunjuris DOA in Mt Kenya. Raila need to sell Uhuru 2.0 in non-Gema - and he busy doing that all over - as Ruto cling to Uhurutopia and Kikuyu for dear life. BBI new system will be followed by Tanga Tanga implosion - as Nyoros and Ngiricis stampede back to Uhuru corner. Most will claim they never left. :D
Post by: Nefertiti on November 04, 2019, 12:53:31 AM
Ruto has been battling BBI all along. The reason for the dither is fear of rout in referendum. Cause all but Kikuyu and Kalenjin embrace inclusion. About BBI release - am sure Uhuru and Raila already got executive summary - Uhuru all the way in Sochi. Raila is busy in Kibra - and Uhuru is waiting for Ruto to acclimatize defeat with Kibra dog beating.
Post by: RV Pundit on November 04, 2019, 08:43:08 AM
You seriously think Uhuru want a referendum :)  Ruto is not dithering - he is just playing their game - It likely former URP Jubilee will accept parliamentary system - and GEMA will reject it - and therefore no referendum will welcome - the whole play is to confuse Raila.

GEMA have to choose btw DPORK & 50 - and this mongrel of hybrid system with PM & Executive PM & so many other leaders dividing the pie into very tiny pieces.

I think they will choose DPORK - and 50-50 - knowing DPORK will inherit Ruto in 2032 or even earlier if something happen to Ruto.

Ruto has been battling BBI all along. The reason for the dither is fear of rout in referendum. Cause all but Kikuyu and Kalenjin embrace inclusion. About BBI release - am sure Uhuru and Raila already got executive summary - Uhuru all the way in Sochi. Raila is busy in Kibra - and Uhuru is waiting for Ruto to acclimatize defeat with Kibra dog beating.
Post by: Nefertiti on November 05, 2019, 09:07:59 PM
Well you been singing that song - conjectures about Uhuru plans - while the report is here with most contradictory gossip from you. Spreading confusion. Few days we will know. Let first watch your Kibra dog beating.

You seriously think Uhuru want a referendum :)  Ruto is not dithering - he is just playing their game - It likely former URP Jubilee will accept parliamentary system - and GEMA will reject it - and therefore no referendum will welcome - the whole play is to confuse Raila.

GEMA have to choose btw DPORK & 50 - and this mongrel of hybrid system with PM & Executive PM & so many other leaders dividing the pie into very tiny pieces.

I think they will choose DPORK - and 50-50 - knowing DPORK will inherit Ruto in 2032 or even earlier if something happen to Ruto.
Post by: Nefertiti on May 21, 2021, 03:05:04 PM

Kuria is not a clown but cunning fox