Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: Achiek tho on September 08, 2014, 04:45:25 PM

Title: Chaos in Migori - Uhuru Meeting
Post by: Achiek tho on September 08, 2014, 04:45:25 PM
I hope they dont what mzee kenyattaa did back in the day
Title: Re: Chaos in Migori - Uhuru Meeting
Post by: Van Gaal on September 08, 2014, 04:56:18 PM
He is there as the president of Kenya not as a jubilee -GEMA politician. Without the PORK the citizens of Nyanza existence is impossible. Government of Kenya is indispensable. Someone tell those neanderthals.
Post by: Omollo on September 08, 2014, 05:01:46 PM
The poaching foray didn't go so well. The quarry became uncooperative.

When are these people going to learn when lied to? Obado is taking their money in Nairobi and then going to sign the referendum petition during the day.
Post by: Achiek tho on September 08, 2014, 05:08:49 PM
Politics of divide and rule ain't going to work. They were chest-thumbing all over the place including media ati will go to Raila's backyard and show him. The same Upuzi they did in coast. In order for ohuru to start being respected as a leader he need to start respecting other. Dalmas Otieno sijui Luo central vrs Luo south nyanza that he is telling ohuru will not cut.
Post by: Logan on September 08, 2014, 05:09:02 PM
This is an extension of last week's shenanigans. Uhuru was there to play politics, which being president does not preclude.
We are not fools...He deserved the welcome. :D

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Thursday hosted a group of MPs from Cord leader Raila Odinga’s backyard, Nyanza, at State House in what could be a bid to make political inroads into the region.

On the face of it, the purpose of the meeting was innocent enough: to make plans for an anti-malaria campaign.

However, given that it was attended by MPs seen as defying the ODM discipline, it is the symbolism of it that is likely to lead to conclusions that it is a political move by Mr Kenyatta against Mr Odinga.

The Cord leader is heading to Busia County this weekend in an effort to stabilise his shaky western Kenya sphere of influence, whose leaders have launched a fresh regional unity campaign.

The Luhya unity politics champions the emergence of a presidential candidate from western Kenya, a challenge to Mr Odinga’s regional supremacy.

MEETING ORGANISED BY OBADO

The State House visit by the lawmakers from Migori County was organised by Governor Okoth Obado — an ally of Deputy President William Ruto — and Rongo MP Dalmas Otieno, who has declared his intention to lead a movement distinct from ODM in Nyanza.

A first by legislators from the ODM-dominated county since President Kenyatta was elected, the purpose of the visit was said to be planning for the Head of State’s tour of the region and launch an anti-malaria drive on Monday.

“Yes, the President met a group of leaders from Migori to discuss the Monday trip. He will launch the distribution of nets as part of an anti-malaria campaign since the county is one of the most affected by malaria,” said State House spokesman Manoah Esipisu.

He said the trip was being coordinated by the Health ministry.

Those in attendance were Mr Obado, Mr Otieno, Senator Wilfred Machage and MPs Omondi Anyanga (Nyatike), John Kobado (Uriri), Robi Mathias (Kuria West) and Shadrack Manga (Kuria East).

LEFT OUT

Vocal Suna East MP Junet Mohammed was left out by his colleagues who organised the meeting. Migori County Women Representative Dennita Ghati did not attend either. The two are loyal to Mr Odinga.

“They did not inform me about it probably because of my political position. But even if they did, I would have done a lot of soul searching on whether to attend the meeting or not,” said Mr Mohammed.

Meanwhile.....

Budalang’i MP Ababu Namwamba and former Westlands lawmaker Fred Gumo have vowed to remain in Orange Democratic Movement (ODM).

They denied that they were not fully behind the party and its leader Raila Odinga and emphasised that their support for the Orange party was unwavering.

Those claiming otherwise were lying to the nation, they said.

The two spoke on Saturday during the funeral of Mr Gumo’s mother, Marita Dienya, in Budalang’i.

Mr Namwamba told off those alleging that he was a rebel in the party, insisting that he was fully behind the ODM agenda.

“Those who are waiting for me to break ranks with Raila will wait till kingdom come,” the legislator, who is eyeing the secretary-general post in the party, told mourners.

He added: “I know there are some people who want Raila and me not to see eye to eye, but they will not succeed.”

Mr Odinga, who also attended the funeral, admitted the existence of issues between some leaders in the Orange party and him but was quick to say they would be solved amicably.

“Some are saying we don’t want Ababu to become the secretary-general. Mimi sina shida na Ababu (I don’t have any problem with Ababu),” he said.

Mr Odinga and the Budalang’i legislator shook hands on the podium amid cheers.

Mr Gumo recently accused ODM leaders of discrimination. He specifically took issue with the way Mr Namwamba had been treated in the party.

“If we continue to be treated this way, we will move out of the party. They are taking the Luhya vote for granted,” he said at a press conference.

Mr Gumo felt the secretary-general job should have been given to Mr Namwamba who had contested for it.
Post by: jakoyo on September 08, 2014, 06:31:34 PM
Chaos marred President Uhuru Kenyatta’s public meeting in Migori Town on Monday

A group of youths, who were strategically standing in front of the dais, began chanting ODM slogans soon after the Migori Governor Okoth Obado moved to the microphone to address the gathering to welcome political leaders present.

Commotion then ensued as the youths threw plastic chairs across the field that was teaming up with lots of people.

:rolleyes:

Alarmed presidential security guards immediately threw cordon around the tent where President Kenyatta and other dignitaries were. The President remained calm.

A section of the crowd, especially women and children then took to their heels as armed police officers cocked their guns. No shots were fired.

However, scores of people sustained minor injuries after they were trampled upon at the main exit gate as they rushed to get out of the Migori Primary School ground, the venue of the meeting.

NOT ALLOWED TO SPEAK
President Kenyatta unsuccessfully pleaded for the leaders present to be allowed to speak to no avail.

“Can we give them one minute each to speak before I continue?” asked the Head of State. But the crowd roared back in the negative, as they continued chanting ODM slogans.

The leaders present included Kisumu Governor Jack Ranguma, Senators Charles Keter (Kericho), Joy Gwendo (nominated) and Wilfred Machage (Migori).

Also present were MPs John Kobado (Uriri), Shadrack Manga (Kuria East), Mathias Robi (Kuria West), Edick Anyanga (Nyatike),Joseph Ndiege (Suna West),Gedion Konchella (Kilgoris) and Jimmy Agwenyi (Kitutu Chache North).

Mr Angwenyi then walked out of the stadium in protest and headed straight to his car saying; “These guys cannot embarrass the President like this as I watch.”

“This is a big shame I cannot withstand,” he charged.

Earlier, efforts by Mr Anyanga and Dr Machage to calm the crowd fell on deaf ears.

STARTED HIS ADDRESS
As the boos and jeers continued, President Kenyatta walked to the microphone to start his address.

But part of the crowd continued chanting ODM slogans, forcing the Head of State to call for order.

“We have listened, can you now keep quiet so that we proceed,” he said.

He later addressed the crowd although muted jeers and boos could still be heard from a section of the crowd.

The President was in Migori to launch an anti-malaria campaign which was attended by dignitaries from the global fund and various embassies in the country.

Earlier, he had a fruitful meeting with farmers at Sony Guest House, Awendo, where he gave out a cheque of Sh447 million to help in offsetting famers cane delivery arrears.

(Read also: Budalang’i residents promised bridge)

The more than 30,000 cane farmers contracted by the Awendo based miller are owed Sh540 million dating back to January this year.

Mr Kenyatta directed that the miller pays the remaining balance of Sh93 million.

“You should place farmers pay on top of your priorities…we will not be bailing you out all the time and yet you are in business," he went on amidst cheers from the excited growers.
He explained that his administration was committed to improving the welfare of cane farmers in Nyanza and Western provinces.

President Kenyatta said Chemelil and Muhoroni Sugar factories had been given a total of Sh1.1 billion to pay farmers arrears but cautioned the management of the millers against diverting the cash to other priorities.

“Make sure the cash is only paid to farmers. We will closely monitor the progress of the payments in the coming weeks,” he added.

The president said political competition did not mean enmity.

“I am a leader of everybody in Kenya and my Government will serve all of you fairly and equally. I have a master plan to improve infrastructure in the country including roads and electricity,” said President Kenyatta.

ROADSIDE MEETINGS

But strangely, the Head of State and Mr Obado addressed successful roadside meetings in Awendo and Uriri towns where crowds blocked their convoy of more than 100 vehicles.

President Kenyatta said he was ready to work with all leaders irrespective of all political divide or tribal affiliation to fast-track socio-economic development in the country.

He, however, emphasised on respect amongst political leaders pointing out that this was a two-way traffic.

“I will not insult any leader but I also deserve respect in return…as leaders we must put interest of Kenyans above our parochial thinking and differences,’ he said.

The President also created Suna West district.

He said the government had deemed it fit to launch the malaria project in Migori because of its high prevalence rate in the region.

He said the last General Election was a contest which had both a winner and loser.

“We have this motion from our minds that with every elections we must be enemies,” he said.

“Democracy means that everyone must be given a chance to say what they have in mind and later we hold hands and go forward,’ he said.

“This is why we are saying we want a nation where Kenyans will be able to walk together and unite to build the country,” he went on.

He said the anti-malaria project would be replicated in other counties.

“If we fight this deadly disease and conquer it, we shall have a healthy and productive nation,” said the President.

http://www.nation.co.ke/news/politics/Chaos-at-Uhuru-Kenyatta-meeting-with-leaders-in-Migori/-/1064/2445498/-/q81gpaz/-/index.html
Post by: RV Pundit on September 08, 2014, 06:44:00 PM
Raila is struggling in Migori...if you factor the Kuria aspect...then you add to Obado/Otieon/Kidero open rebellion.

The chaos is sign of raila struggle.

It shameful and ought to be codemned. This is Raila era politics we do not need.
Post by: Omollo on September 08, 2014, 06:48:27 PM
Migori is ODM. Obado signed the referendum petition a day after he won his election petition. We made a deal with Kuria. They keep the Senate seat if they support ODM. They can only renege at their own peril.
Post by: RV Pundit on September 08, 2014, 06:54:46 PM
Why the violence. Even if Uhuru was who or what; we are beyond that jaluo nonsense. You guys need to grow up. We as a nation are beyond this nonsense. Let everyone have their say. It sign of political maturity.

The violence and chaos is a cheap attempt to intimidate pro-uhuru or jubilee migori people.

Migori is ODM. Obado signed the referendum petition a day after he won his election petition. We made a deal with Kuria. They keep the Senate seat if they support ODM. They can only renege at their own peril.
Post by: Georgesoros on September 08, 2014, 07:08:06 PM
Why the violence. Even if Uhuru was who or what; we are beyond that jaluo nonsense. You guys need to grow up. We as a nation are beyond this nonsense. Let everyone have their say. It sign of political maturity.

The violence and chaos is a cheap attempt to intimidate pro-uhuru or jubilee migori people.

"You guys"
Is he part of the operative? Not all Luos think and act the same. There may be a silent minority.
Post by: RV Pundit on September 08, 2014, 07:14:56 PM
It seem only luo nyanza problem now...the rest of the country seem to have moved on and understood democracy..sometimes we have to deal with issues at community level...they were larger  crowds of luos there...who are living in decades gone by.
"You guys"
Is he part of the operative? Not all Luos think and act the same. There may be a silent minority.
Post by: jakoyo on September 08, 2014, 07:36:53 PM
Raila should come out and condemn this behaviour by his supporters. This is not going to help Kenya move forward. Just creates bad blood . It is the Luos leaving in 'kenya diaspora' , ie Naivasha , Central , RV whole will suffer the consequences of retaliation. I bet you right now if Raila dares visit central province he will get stoned. Everything will be downhill from there.

Bure kabisa these ODM goons.
Post by: RV Pundit on September 08, 2014, 07:41:47 PM
Yeap CORD need to condemn this unequivocally. Raila was all over RV and he got very votes. He was allowed to sell ideas freely. And that is democracy that no constitution can give you. This ought to be condemned in the strongest term..whether you agree or disagree with Jubilee. Let everyone have their say. No point disrupting meetings.
Raila should come out and condemn this behaviour by his supporters. This is not going to help Kenya move forward. Just creates bad blood . It is the Luos leaving in 'kenya diaspora' , ie Naivasha , Central , RV whole will suffer the consequences of retaliation. I bet you right now if Raila dares visit central province he will get stoned. Everything will be downhill from there.

Bure kabisa these ODM goons.
Post by: jakoyo on September 08, 2014, 07:48:38 PM
This is a really sad day.

(http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/images/monday/chaos-2.jpg)

President Kenyatta,s security team cover the Dias at Migori Primary School after his meeting was disrupted by goons.
Read more at: http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/thecounties/article/2000134268/uhuru-meeting-in-migori-cut-short-by-rowdy-youths

(http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/images/monday/CHAOS-3.jpg)

President Kenyatta's function at Migori Primary School was disrupted by goons
Read more at: http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/thecounties/article/2000134268/uhuru-meeting-in-migori-cut-short-by-rowdy-youths
Post by: jakoyo on September 08, 2014, 07:49:58 PM
Duru za kuaminika tells me Miguna Miguna is halfway through penning another stinging article following this event.
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on September 08, 2014, 08:05:54 PM
Wananchi did not want to hear whatever kamwana had to share, it would appear.  Still they can heckle and boo without throwing chairs.
Post by: jakoyo on September 08, 2014, 08:06:31 PM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfp1/v/t1.0-9/10665807_909179355777285_928339830647413575_n.jpg?oh=1212a4247b5f120763475fdc5e837028&oe=549B2FC3&__gda__=1418467928_5bbd1346c03f258130a4206afbd42c36)

In Rongo. On a Monday. Unemployment.

Post by: jakoyo on September 08, 2014, 08:07:32 PM
Wananchi did not want to hear whatever kamwana had to share, it would appear.  Still they can heckle and boo without throwing chairs.

Or stay away , go fishing , go to the gold mines.
Post by: Omollo on September 08, 2014, 08:08:41 PM
Do we know who did what? Do we know who financed the disrupters? Why were they not nipped in the bud by the usual heavy presidential security?

Anybody can arrange the disruption of a rally. Tuju used to do all by himself until even the boys he used to pay in Kondele to throw rocks at him took the money and just looked at him and his dozens of TV journalists brought in to see the "riot". He did drop out of the Presidential election when he couldn't get any "riots" to help the talking points.

I am saying ALL political parties should condemn the violence. Obado belongs not to ODM. There are many political parties in Migori and I can't understand this singular focus on ODM and Raila. Why should Raila say anything? He can speak about violence in general but I have no idea what more he can add when he has personally and severally urged Kenyans to allow free movement and free political expression. The last time he said this is when Mandago announced that he had banned the CORD rally.

On the other hand Uhuru sent 15 000 troops to stop a CORD rally in Nairobi. Who asked him to condemn it? He erected roadblocks in various parts of Nairobi to prevent people from reaching Uhuru Park. Who asked him to distance himself from it?

How many troops did Raila or CORD send to Migori to prevent the rally? Did he even oppose the rally the way TNA whacks did?

I understand people want to make politically correct statements but this has nothing to do with CORD and it is an example of the government leading by bad example.
Post by: jakoyo on September 08, 2014, 08:14:52 PM
The goons were chanting ODM and Raila.

Do we know who did what? Do we know who financed the disrupters? Why were they not nipped in the bud by the usual heavy presidential security?

Anybody can arrange the disruption of a rally. Tuju used to do all by himself until even the boys he used to pay in Kondele to throw rocks at him took the money and just looked at him and his dozens of TV journalists brought in to see the "riot". He did drop out of the Presidential election when he couldn't get any "riots" to help the talking points.

I am saying ALL political parties should condemn the violence. Obado belongs not to ODM. There are many political parties in Migori and I can't understand this singular focus on ODM and Raila. Why should Raila say anything? He can speak about violence in general but I have no idea what more he can add when he has personally and severally urged Kenyans to allow free movement and free political expression. The last time he said this is when Mandago announced that he had banned the CORD rally.

On the other hand Uhuru sent 15 000 troops to stop a CORD rally in Nairobi. Who asked him to condemn it? He erected roadblocks in various parts of Nairobi to prevent people from reaching Uhuru Park. Who asked him to distance himself from it?

How many troops did Raila or CORD send to Migori to prevent the rally? Did he even oppose the rally the way TNA whacks did?

I understand people want to make politically correct statements but this has nothing to do with CORD and it is an example of the government leading by bad example.
Post by: Omollo on September 08, 2014, 08:17:31 PM

You are a doctor. Are ODM supporters the only humans genetically capable of chanting ODM and Raila?
Post by: Kim Jong-Un's Pajama Pants on September 08, 2014, 08:20:30 PM

Jakoyo,

It's a free country.  If they feel they have to let kamwana know he is an unwanted guest, despite the pack of lies his buddies are telling him, they enjoy that right.  They should just do it with decorum.  Tell him to zip it, to go tell it to the birds, etc...just don't start throwing objects.
Post by: obienga on September 08, 2014, 08:23:19 PM

You are a doctor. Are ODM supporters the only humans genetically capable of chanting ODM and Raila?
Jakuon Mohammed's antics have reached a new desperate low. Had his sycophant robots been supplied with crude weapons, they might have attempted a mini PEV.
Post by: Georgesoros on September 08, 2014, 08:37:28 PM
Absolutely. Its sooooo archaic and reverses whatever gains there are in any part of the country.

Jakoyo,

It's a free country.  If they feel they have to let kamwana know he is an unwanted guest, despite the pack of lies his buddies are telling him, they enjoy that right.  They should just do it with decorum.  Tell him to zip it, to go tell it to the birds, etc...just don't start throwing objects.
Post by: Omollo on September 08, 2014, 09:05:59 PM

Jakuon Mohammed's antics have reached a new desperate low. Had his sycophant robots been supplied with crude weapons, they might have attempted a mini PEV.
Where is your evidence NIS Agent Obienga?
Post by: jakoyo on September 08, 2014, 09:28:51 PM
Post by: Logan on September 08, 2014, 09:37:47 PM
Uhuru is fanning chaos by going to migori when he knew the repercussions.

Starting divisive politics when he's not campaigning is just wrong!

On the face of it, the purpose of the meeting was innocent enough: to make plans for an anti-malaria campaign.

However, given that it was attended by MPs seen as defying the ODM discipline, it is the symbolism of it that is likely to lead to conclusions that it is a political move by Mr Kenyatta against Mr Odinga

Raila is not president and he can make as much noise 24/7 if he wants. Stoking his fan base with irrelevant tours is shameful, period.
Post by: Mr Mansfield. on September 08, 2014, 10:06:10 PM
The old Bmw worth $2000 made us forget the referendum for a week,now migori rally chaos will make us forget the referendum for another week or two,blessing in disguise,if you think soberly,do you think NIS and state machinery did not have enough money and personnel to control such chaos?do you?

Without Prejudice.
Post by: RV Pundit on September 08, 2014, 10:28:55 PM
I bet you will find a way to describe uhuru's poo as delicious mokimo. Grow a brain.
The old Bmw worth $2000 made us forget the referendum for a week,now migori rally chaos will make us forget the referendum for another week or two,blessing in disguise,if you think soberly,do you think NIS and state machinery did not have enough money and personnel to control such chaos?do you?

Without Prejudice.
Post by: Mr Mansfield. on September 08, 2014, 10:37:13 PM
I bet you will find a way to describe uhuru's poo as delicious mokimo. Grow a brain.

Without Prejudice.

This is what Railae did and we forgot odm elections,i will treat todays event with high suspicion,

Without Prejudice.
Post by: Achiek tho on September 08, 2014, 10:47:28 PM
Where were you when they refused to let Raila eat in a hotel Nyeri? Where were you when they were stoning Raila in Nyeri...kwani you think luos dont have feeling? By the way Moses Kuria is coming for a fundraising in Suna migori on saturday. Tutakaribisha yeye kwa moyo mukujufu.

It seem only luo nyanza problem now...the rest of the country seem to have moved on and understood democracy..sometimes we have to deal with issues at community level...they were larger  crowds of luos there...who are living in decades gone by.
"You guys"
Post by: RV Pundit on September 08, 2014, 10:52:44 PM
I was online to codemn and will  be only to codemn any such primitive actions.
Where were you when they refused to let Raila eat in a hotel Nyeri? Where were you when they were stoning Raila in Nyeri...kwani you think luos dont have feeling? By the way Moses Kuria is coming for a fundraising in Suna migori on saturday. Tutakaribisha yeye kwa moyo mukujufu.

Post by: Achiek tho on September 08, 2014, 11:00:44 PM
How about when the same crowd throw shoes at Kajwang when Raila was present? I think you were among the same people who were laughing and saying Raila is Kaput in South Nyanza and even went further to say that the shoes back the was directed at Raila.   

I was online to codemn and will  be only to codemn any such primitive actions.
Post by: RV Pundit on September 08, 2014, 11:10:36 PM
I was definitely not amongst those who thought that way. There is no need for equivocation. This ought to be condemned.
How about when the same crowd throw shoes at Kajwang when Raila was present? I think you were among the same people who were laughing and saying Raila is Kaput in South Nyanza and even went further to say that the shoes back the was directed at Raila.   
Post by: Logan on September 09, 2014, 12:05:09 AM

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpa1/t1.0-9/10247233_10152191102196035_9066065646395536419_n.jpg)
No matter what Raila does or says, he's a villian..and I do not think he's apologetic about it.  :D
Post by: Logan on September 09, 2014, 05:15:10 AM
Post by: Kichwa Mbaya on September 09, 2014, 06:08:29 AM
I believe that leaders are the servants of the people and therefore the people can booo them as much as they want.  The people are tired of being lied to and hoodwinked.  Ouru's visit was highly political. He wanted to stick it to ODM by promoting leaders who have taken unpopular stands in Nyanza and sidelining leaders that the people like.  This was a set up and he knew it.  If Ouru wanted a heroic welcome in Nyanza he knows what company to keep.  People do not care about begging for development or all those things ouru have.  The people of Migori already know that ouru has no intention of developing nyanza, that he will only build Raila enemies from Nyanza and that he intends to rule for ever and make sure that no liked son of Nyanza ever makes it anywhere when he is a live.  The people then figured out they have nothing to lose, and they don't. It's not like if ouru was welcomed then Nyanza would immediately receives millions of shillings for development.
Post by: RV Pundit on September 09, 2014, 07:29:25 AM
Then stay away from his meetings; there is really no need for throwing stones or chairs into beehive to make a point; i have no problem with booing (i have booed Moi to his face) but when you start throwing shoes and chairs against a PORK; that is crossing the line.

Besides this will bring the old zonning..of ODM versus Jubilee zones...retrogressive politics.

I believe that leaders are the servants of the people and therefore the people can booo them as much as they want.  The people are tired of being lied to and hoodwinked.  Ouru's visit was highly political. He wanted to stick it to ODM by promoting leaders who have taken unpopular stands in Nyanza and sidelining leaders that the people like.  This was a set up and he knew it.  If Ouru wanted a heroic welcome in Nyanza he knows what company to keep.  People do not care about begging for development or all those things ouru have.  The people of Migori already know that ouru has no intention of developing nyanza, that he will only build Raila enemies from Nyanza and that he intends to rule for ever and make sure that no liked son of Nyanza ever makes it anywhere when he is a live.  The people then figured out they have nothing to lose, and they don't. It's not like if ouru was welcomed then Nyanza would immediately receives millions of shillings for development.
Post by: Mintos on September 09, 2014, 09:46:47 AM
Zoning is already on.  Lets see how the referendum signature collection in Central will be conducted.
Post by: RV Pundit on September 09, 2014, 10:07:40 AM
Yes UhuRuto are using party "dictatorship" to whip governors,mcas and others. But that okay. What Migori did yesterday is a crude form of zoning.
Zoning is already on.  Lets see how the referendum signature collection in Central will be conducted.
Post by: chiethakuodha on September 09, 2014, 10:22:09 AM

Chanting ODM  means nothing Jakoyo.  Hired goons will chant what they are told.  The telling can come from any quota to implicate others. 

I do not and cannot and will not condone such disrespect to the Office of the presidency and I denounce this cavalier way those marauders handled themselves period.  I watched tv in disbelief and embarrassment.

NIS where are you?  Kimaiyo let your men in uniform arrest those suspects to help with investigations.  The President is welcome to Kisumu any day.  Bring us those nets.