Forum => Kenya Discussion => Topic started by: sema on March 02, 2023, 12:20:45 AM

Title: Dr. Susan Koech: Not Impressive
Post by: sema on March 02, 2023, 12:20:45 AM
Ruto's appointments are tribal (it's majority Kikuyu/kalenjin) but why susan koech? can't believe she beat out munir Ahmed.  Is she even a trained economist? She could barely answer the questions without looking at her notes.
Title: Re: Dr. Susan Koech: Not Impressive
Post by: Georgesoros on March 02, 2023, 03:52:33 AM
Sounds like Ghana. Appointments were not made on merit, as a result Ghana failed on sound economic policies. Now they cant pay their bill. Same thing in Shrilanka. Appointees whose only experience is political connections
Post by: patel on March 02, 2023, 04:39:41 AM
For crying out loud this is a deputy governor position. Critic lacks merit based on guess work at best.  Bure kabisa

Ruto's appointments are tribal (it's majority Kikuyu/kalenjin) but why susan koech? can't believe she beat out munir Ahmed.  Is she even a trained economist? She could barely answer the questions without looking at her notes.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 02, 2023, 05:52:22 AM
Agree.I hope she won't sit on monitoring policy.She has phd and worked in KCB bank..but she sounds stupid
Post by: hk on March 02, 2023, 07:20:36 AM
Couldn't believe that she wants return of interest rate caps. Also she clearly didn't know what cbk mandate is.
Post by: Kapcheptoror on March 02, 2023, 08:37:07 AM

She sounds hopelessly inept, even her body language points to deep seated self doubt, , how did she trounce seasoned and respected economists like Gerald Nyaoma  in the vetting process ?
Post by: Kadudu on March 02, 2023, 01:05:52 PM
The problem with Ruto, he believes it is only him who plays a role. All other cabinet members or his appointees are just stooges for him. He will learn very soon that he needs a competent team to run the country.

That woman is not fit even to run a kiosk.
Post by: Pragmatic on March 02, 2023, 01:25:18 PM
And clearly even after being coached and prepped.... with notes to boot; am sure she was taken through the questions that were to be asked. Not only couldn't she express herself in subject matter... she sounds hopelessly incompetent!! What Phd is that she holds.... ?? Very shallow.

Someone here has commented that she will be deputy governor appointee... yes, but clearly WsR intention and positioning is that she will be shoe-in for governor the moment Opud Dei Njoroge departs in July/August alongside current other Deputy Governor both of whose terms have run to term.

Shame!
Post by: RV Pundit on March 02, 2023, 02:16:14 PM
I dont think Ruto is that dumb. Next governor is likely to be Dr Haron Sirima - the samburu is very competent and been frustrated. Ruto wanted him appointed KRA commissioner, but Uhuru overturned that - and put incompetent dude.

KRA and Central Bank are very important to be left to Susan Koech type.  I would put Dr Sirima pale CBK and KRA David Yego - both were overlooked for incompetent corrupt Mburu.

Huyu affarmative action mama should be left to do banking stuff like counting money.

Policy will require brains. This one with her fake Phd should not sit in monetary policy commitee.

And clearly even after being coached and prepped.... with notes to boot; am sure she was taken through the questions that were to be asked. Not only couldn't she express herself in subject matter... she sounds hopelessly incompetent!! What Phd is that she holds.... ?? Very shallow.

Someone here has commented that she will be deputy governor appointee... yes, but clearly WsR intention and positioning is that she will be shoe-in for governor the moment Opud Dei Njoroge departs in July/August alongside current other Deputy Governor both of whose terms have run to term.

Shame!
Post by: RV Pundit on March 02, 2023, 02:29:27 PM
Ruto appoints chairman and CEOS if need be - ministers appoints the board.
The problem with Ruto, he believes it is only him who plays a role. All other cabinet members or his appointees are just stooges for him. He will learn very soon that he needs a competent team to run the country.

Post by: Georgesoros on March 02, 2023, 02:33:12 PM

I remember Kibaki released his Kraken policy makers and they were able to make sound policies. IT was born from Kibaki era.
We are back to Moi 2.0 where professionals do not have to know anything other than political connections.
Post by: Georgesoros on March 02, 2023, 02:34:32 PM

Shame!

I miss Cherserem. He saved Kenya.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 02, 2023, 03:29:22 PM
Which IT was born in Kibaki era and what is Kraken :) .
I remember Kibaki released his Kraken policy makers and they were able to make sound policies. IT was born from Kibaki era.
We are back to Moi 2.0 where professionals do not have to know anything other than political connections.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 02, 2023, 03:31:04 PM
He did. He was not brilliant. He didn't even have a degree. He was CPA. What he had was unmatched integrity and handwork. He sat from 5 am in the morning to 10am - personally signing all the cheques. He finished corruption in CBK.

Cheserem and Gen Tonje were few Kalenjin proffesionals who refused to sink kenya for their selfish gain.

Post by: Georgesoros on March 02, 2023, 04:40:30 PM
He did. He was not brilliant. He didn't even have a degree. He was CPA. What he had was unmatched integrity and handwork. He sat from 5 am in the morning to 10am - personally signing all the cheques. He finished corruption in CBK.

Cheserem and Gen Tonje were few Kalenjin proffesionals who refused to sink kenya for their selfish gain.

Why not hire the man?
I believe he is in his 70s. He is a pragmatic, no nonsense Nandi.
These low skilled people are going to destroy the country with their stupid policies.
Post by: Kadudu on March 02, 2023, 04:51:10 PM
Ukweli kabisa.

Cheserem was one of the few honest CBK governors that Kenya has ever had. Tonje did the military a big service by putting limits to the stay of top military brass.

Post by: RV Pundit on March 02, 2023, 05:03:35 PM
He is a keiyo - Biwott appointed him, but he turned against him. Tonje also a tugen - turned against Moi.

Nandi - only hero was  Eng Jan Mutai - brother of the iron lady youngest MP Chelangat Mutai - as KPTC MD he also refused to eat.

Cheserem is too old now - and few people want him in serious position because he is incorruptible.

He has created horticulture industry in Eldoret.

Tonje is happily looking after his goat after serving one term and refusing to extend.

Such people are rare because they have zero ambition for  riches.

Another unsung hero is obvioulsy Brig Boinnet - who also fixed NIS and save Kenya from KANU misadventures in 2002.

The rest of kalenjiin were pure takataka with LOW IQS who just stole and stole and stole.

Ukweli kabisa.

Cheserem was one of the few honest CBK governors that Kenya has ever had. Tonje did the military a big service by putting limits to the stay of top military brass.

Post by: RV Pundit on March 02, 2023, 05:09:21 PM
https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/rift-valley/article/2001374182/cremation-of-jan-mutai-leaves-village-in-shock

When his younger sister Chelagat Mutai chose to venture into the political world, Januarius Kipleting Mutai was fixated on pursuing the career that saw him become a successful engineer.

The mention of Chelagat conjures memories of a shrewd politician who became Kalenjin’s first elected female MP at 25, after her graduation from the University of Nairobi in 1974.

Januarius, or Jan Mutai as he was popularly known, had graduated two years earlier from the same university with a degree in Mechanical Engineering. Jan was born in 1947 and Chelagat in 1949. The latter was more vocal.

Chelagat died in 2013 and was always described as a heroine in the second liberation struggle who pushed for land rights and democratic space in the society

Jan, who passed on last week, was cremated in a private ceremony in Nairobi yesterday. His family said that Jan’s will for cremation was unanimously granted, although some members and residents of Nandi wished he was interred at his Lessos home for them to honour him for his immense contribution in education, agriculture and environmental conservation across the country.

Jan, who was appointed by former President Daniel Moi as Kenya Posts and Telecommunications Corporation (KPTC) managing director in 1995, died from metastatic cancer on the night of May 30.

The siblings from Terige village of Lessos in Nandi County are known as a brilliant and steadfast son and daughter of the community who apart from being trailblazers.
Post by: Georgesoros on March 02, 2023, 06:20:51 PM
https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/rift-valley/article/2001374182/cremation-of-jan-mutai-leaves-village-in-shock

When his younger sister Chelagat Mutai chose to venture into the political world, Januarius Kipleting Mutai was fixated on pursuing the career that saw him become a successful engineer.

The mention of Chelagat conjures memories of a shrewd politician who became Kalenjin’s first elected female MP at 25, after her graduation from the University of Nairobi in 1974.

Januarius, or Jan Mutai as he was popularly known, had graduated two years earlier from the same university with a degree in Mechanical Engineering. Jan was born in 1947 and Chelagat in 1949. The latter was more vocal.

Chelagat died in 2013 and was always described as a heroine in the second liberation struggle who pushed for land rights and democratic space in the society

Jan, who passed on last week, was cremated in a private ceremony in Nairobi yesterday. His family said that Jan’s will for cremation was unanimously granted, although some members and residents of Nandi wished he was interred at his Lessos home for them to honour him for his immense contribution in education, agriculture and environmental conservation across the country.

Jan, who was appointed by former President Daniel Moi as Kenya Posts and Telecommunications Corporation (KPTC) managing director in 1995, died from metastatic cancer on the night of May 30.

The siblings from Terige village of Lessos in Nandi County are known as a brilliant and steadfast son and daughter of the community who apart from being trailblazers.

Is this Chelagat Mutai's sister?
Chelagat was one of my favorite people. Very witty and down to earth person.
If Ruto wants to succeed, he needs good technocrats. I haven't seen any in his choice for CS.
Whatr happened to the woman who used to run the office which decided public servant pay? She is good too.
Post by: sema on March 02, 2023, 10:55:32 PM
Why did Ruto even nominate her? Because she’s a kalenjin? Was he not aware of her incompetence? When is the nomination for cbk governor happening? I hope parliament rejects her but I doubt they will

I don’t like low IQ people. Apparently she has a phd from moi university which we all know is a joke. What was Ruto thinking here?

And what happened with muñir Ahmed? One minute he was the ceo of kcb, next minute, he was out.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 02, 2023, 11:21:02 PM
Ruto is very busy man; he cannot micro-manage everything; someone has Phd and she is career banker; why would he doubt her; it not like Ruto is economist.

It upon parliament to cross-check; if they give her the benefit of doubt like tourism CS Malonza; ni sawa; she will be affarmative action appointment.

Failure here is parliament because they have never had the guts to reject candidates...their role should be to help executive reject one or two..but they are afraid.

Why did Ruto even nominate her? Because she’s a kalenjin? Was he not aware of her incompetence? When is the nomination for cbk governor happening? I hope parliament rejects her but I doubt they will

I don’t like low IQ people. Apparently she has a phd from moi university which we all know is a joke. What was Ruto thinking here?

And what happened with muñir Ahmed? One minute he was the ceo of kcb, next minute, he was out.
Post by: Pragmatic on March 02, 2023, 11:27:21 PM
@RvP; spot on... And you have mentioned 3 people who I interacted with and immensely respected. 2 of whom are/were personal friends. Jan ram-rod sharp made my breakthrough into Telekom by his handholding and great leadership. I approached him over a proposition to make KPTC a better service provider and he listened keenly and wholesomely embraced my idea and became my champion of the idea within KPTC roping in Davis Chirchir who was then Snr Mngr ICT. Great guy, amiable, honourable and very very smart! Incorruptible....

Cheserem on the other hand approached us to employ his daughter who had just returned from her degree in the UK. We became friends from this encounter. FYI Cheserem not only farms in Eldoret but also has a rose farm in Nairobi, Karen near Cooperative College.

As regards Boinnett, I was his tenant in Lavington/Kileleshwa for a long time. Always shy to interact with people, he let his business  run/managed professionally with him only being sighted occasionally. Once we got to introduce each other, we became friends have remained so to date over 25yrs later.

He is a keiyo - Biwott appointed him, but he turned against him. Tonje also a tugen - turned against Moi.

Nandi - only hero was  Eng Jan Mutai - brother of the iron lady youngest MP Chelangat Mutai - as KPTC MD he also refused to eat.

Cheserem is too old now - and few people want him in serious position because he is incorruptible.

Tonje is happily looking after his goat after serving one term and refusing to extend.

Another unsung hero is obvioulsy Brig Boinnet - who also fixed NIS and save Kenya from KANU misadventures in 2002.

The rest of kalenjiin were pure takataka with LOW IQS who just stole and stole and stole.

Ukweli kabisa.

Post by: RV Pundit on March 02, 2023, 11:29:32 PM
And how did you end up becoming Raila slave. It doesnt make sense. You strike me as unprincipled person to support a fool like Raila for so long.

Anyhow Boinnet and Kanyottu - were/are very brilliant and outstanding brains - both were probably aspergers like me - with photographic memory - never forgot someone face - even CIA were impressed by their skills in era where spying was not tech savy.

You have to be an outstanding fool to support Raila for years :) or stubborn like  mule - my brother is one such guy.

@RvP; spot on... And you have mentioned 3 people who I interacted with and immensely respected. 2 of whom are/were personal friends. Jan ram-rod sharp made my breakthrough into Telekom by his handholding and great leadership. I approached him over a proposition to make KPTC a better service provider and he listened keenly and wholesomely embraced my idea and became my champion of the idea within KPTC roping in Davis Chirchir who was then Snr Mngr ICT. Great guy, amiable, honourable and very very smart! Incorruptible....

Cheserem on the other hand approached us to employ his daughter who had just returned from her degree in the UK. We became friends from this encounter. FYI Cheserem not only farms in Eldoret but also has a rose farm in Nairobi, Karen near Cooperative College.

As regards Boinnett, I was his tenant in Lavington/Kileleshwa for a long time. Always shy to interact with people, he let his business  run/managed professionally with him only being sighted occasionally. Once we got to introduce each other, we became friends have remained so to date over 25yrs later.

Ukweli kabisa.

Post by: RV Pundit on March 02, 2023, 11:42:13 PM
And karen farm - I thought Sian roses in Karen is Kotut-Moi - or Cheserem has another.
Post by: Pragmatic on March 02, 2023, 11:52:27 PM
And you RvP are the biggest fool to think you can choose friends for me. Unlike you, my reasons and inclinations are not tribal and gluttonous accumulation biased...

Make your choices in peace as we make ours na maisha inaendelea.

And how did you end up becoming Raila slave. It doesnt make sense. You strike me as unprincipled person to support a fool like Raila for so long.

Anyhow Boinnet and Kanyottu - were/are very brilliant and outstanding brains - both were probably aspergers like me - with photographic memory - never forgot someone face - even CIA were impressed by their skills in era where spying was not tech savy.

You have to be an outstanding fool to support Raila for years :) or stubborn like  mule - my brother is one such guy.
Post by: Pragmatic on March 03, 2023, 12:03:51 AM
Cheserem is involved in that farm as well. He probably now owns it fully and may have bought out Kotut. In fact the twin sister of the daughter we had previously employed is the one who runs it if my information serves me credibly.

And karen farm - I thought Sian roses in Karen is Kotut-Moi - or Cheserem has another.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 03, 2023, 07:59:11 AM
And you RvP are the biggest fool to think you can choose friends for me. Unlike you, my reasons and inclinations are not tribal and gluttonous accumulation biased...

Make your choices in peace as we make ours na maisha inaendelea.

choose better friends ?t=8KUM5giite5ICeE0dWVrOg&s=19
Post by: sema on March 03, 2023, 02:50:37 PM
Did Koech nominate herself for this position? Her name was submitted and if Ruto is too busy, he has people to vet eg (for economic positions, rely on the advice of the council of economic advisors) ask them what they think.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 03, 2023, 03:41:39 PM
PSC interviewed candidates and gave Ruto finalist; Ruto picks; he doesnt need to interview; Parliament vet;
Did Koech nominate herself for this position? Her name was submitted and if Ruto is too busy, he has people to vet eg (for economic positions, rely on the advice of the council of economic advisors) ask them what they think.
Post by: Georgesoros on March 03, 2023, 08:19:48 PM
Cheserem is involved in that farm as well. He probably now owns it fully and may have bought out Kotut. In fact the twin sister of the daughter we had previously employed is the one who runs it if my information serves me credibly.

Exactly. You are a pragmatist.
Like you am beholden to character, not tribal affiliation
Post by: Georgesoros on March 03, 2023, 08:21:34 PM

PHD means you have satisfied academics that you can take a test and pass
Real world means you have to be a critical thinker..
Post by: sema on March 04, 2023, 03:30:04 AM
PSC interviewed candidates and gave Ruto finalist; Ruto picks;

Why did he pick her out of all the other finalists? clearly, it's because she's kalenjin and he wants he people in certain positions, but why her? this was a bad/blatant tribal appointment and hopefully CBK governor appointment will be better.
Post by: RV Pundit on March 04, 2023, 07:02:13 AM
PSC interviewed candidates and gave Ruto finalist; Ruto picks;

Why did he pick her out of all the other finalists? clearly, it's because she's kalenjin and he wants he people in certain positions, but why her? this was a bad/blatant tribal appointment and hopefully CBK governor appointment will be better.
Why would he not...she passes psc interviews..has phd...is a woman.Ruto has appointed non kalenjin too.You can't blame Ruto using new information discovered in next process..its parliament to do the  job now..if not carry the blame