Author Topic: Concrete and steel boom leaves no land to grow food in North Rift  (Read 1806 times)

Concrete and steel boom leaves no land to grow food in North Rift
« on: September 08, 2020, 03:41:07 PM »
Declining income from agriculture in the North Rift has led to conversion of vast swathes of farmland into commercial plots, with serious implications for food security in the region and the country.

According to an annual crop development report released in January, acreage under crop production in such urban areas as Eldoret, Kitale and Kapsabet has been dwindling due to change of land use to real estate and other commercial purposes.

“Change of land use is posing a serious threat to food security in parts of Rift Valley, as most farmers find it profitable to convert their agricultural land to either settlement or commercial use,” stated the report.

Keen to cash in on the new commercial boom, farmers have been rushing to subdivide their agricultural land into commercial plots

https://nation.africa/kenya/counties/north-rift-farm-land-urbanisation-1930232

This is not sustainable. Does this country have an official land use policy?

You can't eat rent money, farms should not be paved over.

Re: Concrete and steel boom leaves no land to grow food in North Rift
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2020, 04:00:03 PM »
Best use of land is decided by market forces. Israeli is a desert and is more food sufficient than us.

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2020, 04:21:07 PM »
Wacha watu wakate miti ya Mau. The forest anyway belongs to them. :D

« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2020, 05:28:47 PM »
of course, you need to start thinking federal, and really concentrate on vihiga and nairobi. It's like you have no issues...when sugar cane is dying.

« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2020, 05:47:39 PM »
Best use of land is decided by market forces. Israeli is a desert and is more food sufficient than us.

False equivalence. We need the free market but we also need to have judicious land policies to safeguard our food security.

Land use planning is essential for regulating the use of land to promote more desirable social and environmental outcomes and efficient use of resources.Otherwise you get environmental degradation, urban sprawl, high transport costs, land use conflicts, and exposure to pollutants that is common in urban areas of Kenya.

« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2020, 05:51:38 PM »
Your village mentality amazes me. You never even uttered a word when Ruto and other Kalejin supremos made the maize farmers in RV cry as they plundered the coffers of NCPB.
Sugar died and any attempt to resurrect the industry is like trying to resurrect Johnstone Kamau. People have already moved on and are now planting avocados as adviced by Mjuaji No. 1 in Kenya.

of course, you need to start thinking federal, and really concentrate on vihiga and nairobi. It's like you have no issues...when sugar cane is dying.

« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2020, 05:52:48 PM »

No, we will not let them commit communal suicide by destroying Mau. Who is going to win Kenya medals in the Olympics and track meets otherwise?

« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2020, 05:54:02 PM »
This is too intellectual for Pundit. He needs ideas that fit his stomach and not his brain.
It is a pity that people who supposedly went to school cannot even agree on basic issues in life.

False equivalence. We need the free market but we also need to have judicious land policies to safeguard our food security.

Land use planning is essential for regulating the use of land to promote more desirable social and environmental outcomes and efficient use of resources.Otherwise you get environmental degradation, urban sprawl, high transport costs, land use conflicts, and exposure to pollutants that is common in urban areas of Kenya.

« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2020, 05:54:24 PM »
Politics need to go local. Then we won't be here with double standard. If each of us concentrate on their county - we will have issue based politics there. Otherwise our national political discourse is dysfunctional tribalism.
Your village mentality amazes me. You never even uttered a word when Ruto and other Kalejin supremos made the maize farmers in RV cry as they plundered the coffers of NCPB.
Sugar died and any attempt to resurrect the industry is like trying to resurrect Johnstone Kamau. People have already moved on and are now planting avocados as adviced by Mjuaji No. 1 in Kenya.

« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2020, 06:14:58 PM »
This is too intellectual for Pundit. He needs ideas that fit his stomach and not his brain.
It is a pity that people who supposedly went to school cannot even agree on basic issues in life.

:85:

« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2020, 06:17:07 PM »
Actual, it your guys who are interested in food, but if real estate is making sense for people, let them do it. There will be enough Ugali from other areas - our production capacity can improve five fold with basic agronomy.

« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2020, 06:20:20 PM »
:D :D don't be sarcastic but honestly Kalenjin will end very destitute in future.