Author Topic: Ndii finally understand corruption  (Read 2322 times)

Ndii finally understand corruption
« on: December 16, 2021, 09:05:21 AM »
Kenya is incredibly corrupt society - and it's now a complex problem. COK2010 has all the answers. Leave EACC to do the job. Leave the Judiciary to do the job. Leave the Auditor General to do their job. Leave Police and DCI to do their job. Dont use them as partisan tools. Let them independently investigate and prosecute graft perpetrators.

There is no role the president has in the fight against corruption except to follow COK2010 - allows independent institution to work - and follow chapter six on civil servants.

PORK should focus on getting his work done as the executive. It doesnt include fighting corruption. US or UK president doesnt fight graft. Independent non-partisan institution fight graft.

Re: Ndii finally understand corruption
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2021, 10:41:36 AM »
Ndii is just trying to justify his place in the corrupt UDA. He will be the biggest looser in a UDA goverment. The minute Ruto lands in SH he will realise he is just a pawn.
That bottomup economy will not work because the people involved are fraudsters and do not mean what they proclaim.

100B for mama mboga and boda boda enterprises. How much of it will actually get the the needy people? In a corrupt society like Kenya and having a government that tells us corruption is ok, we will see several new billionaires within a year of UDA government. We have seen it before with Waiguru's NYS and now it will only be official.

One cannot compare US and Kenya. In the US the president has no influence with the justice department. In Kenya SH controls who should be investigated.

Kenya is incredibly corrupt society - and it's now a complex problem. COK2010 has all the answers. Leave EACC to do the job. Leave the Judiciary to do the job. Leave the Auditor General to do their job. Leave Police and DCI to do their job. Dont use them as partisan tools. Let them independently investigate and prosecute graft perpetrators.

There is no role the president has in the fight against corruption except to follow COK2010 - allows independent institution to work - and follow chapter six on civil servants.

PORK should focus on getting his work done as the executive. It doesnt include fighting corruption. US or UK president doesnt fight graft.

« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2021, 11:43:52 AM »
Pinochet(Ruto) went to Chicago School of Economics - picked the best brains (Ndiis) - told them to devise an economic program - Chile became the 1st Latin country after Argentina to become developed - despite huge opposition from US - and Pinochet became also rich.

A drug dealer hires the best manager - the manager makes the drug dealer even more money from investment - and they all become rich.

That is kenya now.

Ruto=Raila=MaDVD - all of them are corrupt.

I dont want somoene lying to me that as corrupt as he is - he will fight graft.

I rather someone like Ruto who has said -  Judge me on the number of paved roads, hospitals, piped water, electricity and such bread-butter issues - I will give you.

If Ndii as expected become the Minister or PS of Planning - his job will end with coming with great plans - that are actionable - Ruto will execute the plans - the economy will grow.

Kenyans will become wealthier - Ruto will become even more wealthier. Ndii will also become wealthy.

Ndii is just trying to justify his place in the corrupt UDA. He will be the biggest looser in a UDA goverment. The minute Ruto lands in SH he will realise he is just a pawn.
That bottomup economy will not work because the people involved are fraudsters and do not mean what they proclaim.

100B for mama mboga and boda boda enterprises. How much of it will actually get the the needy people? In a corrupt society like Kenya and having a government that tells us corruption is ok, we will see several new billionaires within a year of UDA government. We have seen it before with Waiguru's NYS and now it will only be official.

One cannot compare US and Kenya. In the US the president has no influence with the justice department. In Kenya SH controls who should be investigated.

« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2021, 12:08:47 PM »
I love your fantasies.

Pinochet(Ruto) went to Chicago School of Economics - picked the best brains (Ndiis) - told them to devise an economic program - Chile became the 1st Latin country after Argentina to become developed - despite huge opposition from US - and Pinochet became also rich.

A drug dealer hires the best manager - the manager makes the drug dealer even more money from investment - and they all become rich.

That is kenya now.

I rather someone like Ruto who has said -  Judge me on the number of paved roads, hospitals, piped water, electricity and such bread-butter issues - I will give you.

If Ndii as expected become the Minister or PS of Planning - his job will end with coming with great plans - that are actionable - Ruto will execute the plans - the economy will grow.

Kenyans will become wealthier - Ruto will become even more wealthier. Ndii will also become wealthy.

« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2021, 02:19:16 PM »
The only way to fight corruption in kenya is to reduce scope and size of government. Shrinking the government by first slashing the budget, reducing regulations & bureaucracies and liberalization will dent corruption. However increasing spending and government involvement in the marketplace will always breed corruption.   

« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2021, 02:29:32 PM »
Agreed on principles.
Disagree on strategy.
Gov should be reduced - by reducing SOES - not slashing the budget.
Sell all the 200 SOES - Safaricom, KCB, National Oil, Mumias, all of them
Sell even the critical ones - retain 51 percent of KAA, Kenya Pipeline, KPA, all of them
Gov should remain the regulator role - that should be self funding

Once that has been done - gov recurrent expenditure will reduce - private sector will increase.

Now gov should double down on public investment - in roads, railways, water pipes, etc.

To reduce budget is inanity...because it means no roads, no water, no electricity, no schools, no police.

Yes these big projects like roads, dams, and etc - will provide political fatcats with rent seeking - but there is NO OTHER WAY

We just have to find the chinese like model that works - take 10 percent - but please deliver on time and quality and cost.

The only way to fight corruption in kenya is to reduce scope and size of government. Shrinking the government by first slashing the budget, reducing regulations & bureaucracies and liberalization will dent corruption. However increasing spending and government involvement in the marketplace will always breed corruption.   

« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2021, 04:34:33 PM »

That is kenya now.

Bandia election promise, bandia hasola, bandia planning minister, bandia money wash wash, bandia economy, bandia growth.

« Reply #7 on: December 16, 2021, 04:38:32 PM »
Ndii is an intelligent guy.  But he hasn't been making much sense in recent times.  It's not entirely his fault, because when you move in with the hyenas, you have to change.

« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2021, 04:51:15 PM »
The roads and electricity and Jubilee 1.0 development are real. It's why Ruto is getting all these people excited deep in Vihiga

Bandia election promise, bandia hasola, bandia planning minister, bandia money wash wash, bandia economy, bandia growth.

Offline Gikomba_Hawker

« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2021, 07:24:59 PM »
A Luhya recently wrote that Luhyas are attending Ruto rallies in order to be given money. They're then using this money to pay for transportation to attend Raila rallies.  :D :D :D

The roads and electricity and Jubilee 1.0 development are real. It's why Ruto is getting all these people excited deep in Vihiga

Don't steal. The Uhuruto Government hates competition.

« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2021, 11:02:27 PM »
Kenya is not chile.  Pinochet did not steal as much as Kenyans.  He was extensively investigated from crimes against humanity, corruption, etc and was found to only have about $5 million dollars (nothing for a dictator like him who'd been in power for almost 30 years)

Also, Chile, unlike Kenya has Germans.  Germans are known for their high productivity rates. Kenya is a different ball game.  It's a country of semi-literate, village bumpkins and farmers. What do they make?

Let's start with the fundamentals, what every nation must have to establish a stable, sustainable, widely shared prosperity. These are not just ethical niceties--these are the foundation of economic security.

Consider corruption. Corruption isn't just a "values" issue: corrupt societies have corrupt economies, and these economies are severely limited by that corruption. A deeply, pervasively corrupt economy cannot get from here to there.

Corruption acts as a "tax" on the economy, siphoning money from the productive to the parasitic unproductive Elites skimming the bribes, payoffs, protection money, unofficial "fees," etc. By definition, the money skimmed by corruption reduces the disposable income of households and enterprises, reducing their consumption and investment.

"Income" derived from corruption is the classic example of "unearned" feudal rights being imposed on serfs, a broad-based "tax" that keeps them impoverished.

The other side of the corruption coin is transparency: thus it is no surprise that Transparency International is the organization that monitors corruption globally and that issues its annual The Corruption Perceptions Index that ranks countries/territories based on how corrupt their public sector is perceived to be.

The top of the least--most transparent, least corrupt--are Denmark, New Zealand, Singapore, Finland and Sweden, with Canada, Netherlands, Australia, Switzerland and Norway close behind.

There is no way for a deeply corrupt society to get from here (their current level of development) to there (a higher level of development) because corruption limits two essential components of sustainable growth and widespread prosperity: social mobility and innovation.

In corrupt societies, potentially profitable innovations are quickly stolen, copied, pirated or appropriated by corrupt officials and/or criminal cartels. The innovator cannot reap the fruits of his innovation. His only choice is to move to a nation that offers him the freedom to develop his ideas and drive and keep the yield for himself and his family.

« Reply #11 on: December 17, 2021, 12:09:39 PM »
Chile economy is freest in Latin america https://www.heritage.org/index/ranking . There's direct correlation between economic freedom, corruption and GDP per capita . There's no shortcut to economic growth, a country has produce goods or provision of service either for local or export market and preferably for both markets.

« Reply #12 on: December 17, 2021, 12:40:40 PM »
True, but of late Chile has been rocked with civil protests. The gap between the rich and the poor is enormous. The people have pushed through a new constituition and this could bring some change away from the old constituition placed by the military dictatorship.

Chile economy is freest in Latin america https://www.heritage.org/index/ranking . There's direct correlation between economic freedom, corruption and GDP per capita . There's no shortcut to economic growth, a country has produce goods or provision of service either for local or export market and preferably for both markets.

« Reply #13 on: December 17, 2021, 12:41:28 PM »
Causation and Causality. Chicken and Egg Situation. When Pinochet was growing Chilean economy in 80s - it was corrupt country run by military - but the Chicago boys got it right.

For me countries that get it right have to ingraine policy experimentation - rarely do you get rich by following the beaten track.

Tiger Asians did the opposite of what everyone was saying.

China recently did the opposite of common wisdom and did well...while India has tried to follow the beaten truck and it's going nowhere.

We need to experiment until we get things like Mpesa revolution.

« Reply #14 on: December 17, 2021, 01:32:19 PM »
True, but of late Chile has been rocked with civil protests. The gap between the rich and the poor is enormous. The people have pushed through a new constituition and this could bring some change away from the old constituition placed by the military dictatorship.

Social mobility has slowed down as the country has tilted leftwards. Capital investment fell each year of socialist rule, real wage took 50% hit under that regime. The resentment was inevitable, when there was social mobility the inequality wasn't a problem.

« Reply #15 on: December 17, 2021, 02:35:16 PM »

What goods does kenya produce for export besides agricultural produce? What's kenya's competitive advantage? i.e. what can it make for export that other countries can't make at a competitive price? bottomsup doesn't mention production and it's why I think Ndii is a typical theoretical academic. How will Africans become rich when they make nothing?

« Reply #16 on: December 17, 2021, 02:38:32 PM »

« Reply #17 on: December 17, 2021, 03:37:34 PM »

What goods does kenya produce for export besides agricultural produce? What's kenya's competitive advantage? i.e. what can it make for export that other countries can't make at a competitive price? bottomsup doesn't mention production and it's why I think Ndii is a typical theoretical academic. How will Africans become rich when they make nothing?
https://wits.worldbank.org/CountryProfile/en/KEN Kenya needs to produce and consume more. The low hanging fruit is increase in agricultural productivity. Textile export were $700m , Bangladesh comparative advantage in textile is cheap labour. Just like Bangladesh, kenya cheap labour is deployed in the cut flower industry.  That cheap labour starts earning then start buying stuff and a market develops. 

« Reply #18 on: December 17, 2021, 04:00:21 PM »
I think we should keep it simple and stupid - we have problems - we solve those problems.
So what are our problems.

1) Food insecurity - we grow more food - we improve productivity in both farming and livestock keeping. That will employ maybe 8 million of farmers - and this we can only do by improving fertilizer applications plus quality seed plus vet services plus feedlots - through cheap credit lower than commercial banks and without predatory lending.

Ndii and I agree here - we need to set up a fund for this - and after initial capital injection say of 50B - this will not need further injection as farmers will repay the loan.

2) We have problem with infrastructure - we have slums, poor roads, pave walk - Kazi Mtaani type to clean up our streets - find a way to inject money into housing - and we can keep millions of kenyans employed as watu wa mjengo - working as Kazi mtaani.

3) Let us not solve problems that don't exist in our country - like the need to export or manufacture or make things? What for? Let us provide jobs to unemployed to solve real problems that are within realms of gov....like employing them to build roads using labour intensive projects

Gov job is not to make things. It's to provide services - and hopefully private sector can organically grow - and export goods - whatever that maybe.

https://wits.worldbank.org/CountryProfile/en/KEN Kenya needs to produce and consume more. The low hanging fruit is increase in agricultural productivity. Textile export were $700m , Bangladesh comparative advantage in textile is cheap labour. Just like Bangladesh, kenya cheap labour is deployed in the cut flower industry.  That cheap labour starts earning then start buying stuff and a market develops. 

« Reply #19 on: December 17, 2021, 04:44:51 PM »
1) So we have accepted corruption is just a way of life in Kenya. If we pump the 50B into the hasola fund, how much of it should we calculate will actually land in the hands of mama mboga and boda bodas? We have to be realistic in a hasola economy, some good portion will go in keeping our way of life as our chief economist has told us.

2) If we do not export and make things, how will we pay back our Chinese loans? The Chinaman does not accept our Ksh, only the hard $. Also think of our import bill that continues rising. If we do not increase our manufacturing, the import bill will continue rising.

I think we should keep it simple and stupid - we have problems - we solve those problems.
So what are our problems.

1) Food insecurity - we grow more food - we improve productivity in both farming and livestock keeping. That will employ maybe 8 million of farmers - and this we can only do by improving fertilizer applications plus quality seed plus vet services plus feedlots - through cheap credit lower than commercial banks and without predatory lending.

Ndii and I agree here - we need to set up a fund for this - and after initial capital injection say of 50B - this will not need further injection as farmers will repay the loan.

2) We have problem with infrastructure - we have slums, poor roads, pave walk - Kazi Mtaani type to clean up our streets - find a way to inject money into housing - and we can keep millions of kenyans employed as watu wa mjengo - working as Kazi mtaani.

3) Let us not solve problems that don't exist in our country - like the need to export or manufacture or make things? What for? Let us provide jobs to unemployed to solve real problems that are within realms of gov....like employing them to build roads using labour intensive projects

Gov job is not to make things. It's to provide services - and hopefully private sector can organically grow - and export goods - whatever that maybe.