Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
Kenya Discussion / Re: Sos veritas site has issues
« Last post by Nefertiti on May 02, 2024, 01:19:12 AM »
 :cdance:
Kenya Discussion / Re: Biashara sio mchezo.
« Last post by RV Pundit on May 01, 2024, 08:49:28 AM »
Nope. But I like the mobile crusher idea - and I think that will be next project.
Great insights.
Is your machinery mobile also??

I didn't lease land...land has so many stones n all exposed by soil erosion. Land huko cost 300k per acre believe it. I pay Maasai 130 per tonne..tipper Ni kitu 2000. I intend to move to my own land in next phase. Now learning the game.  This is not my main investment..I invested over years in rental units in Nairobi that take cares of my family needs. Hii Ni project yangu n my new wife
[/quote]
Emergency preparation are just words even in developed world. There is a reason they are emergencies and disasters. How do you prepare for floods, tsunamis?
Some year back it was Narok and Solai, now it is Mai Mahiu.

Have always sought to understand how mwafrika recovers and rebuilds their lives after disasters.

Red Cross seem to be scratching the surface and has contextual experience but taking the shine from political leaders, County Commissioners seems to be the main hindrance.

Are they ever prepared for any emergency? I think they wait till it happens then prepare. Most of Narok is built ona flood zone and they continue to allow permant buildings on the flood zone. Why didnt they close Mai Mahiu rd as soon as the rains started?

I know it because I was involved in it  at the county level in NYC. There are a lot of policies and procedure in place in case of ABC. Paid and unpaid staff dont suddenly show up. They are in place for many years, only waiting.
As far as I know the whole of Narok town is a flood zone. Rains from the mountains can come down at any moment even when there is no rain in Narok itself.
Kenya Discussion / Re: Floods Aftremath- Recovery/Rebuilding after such disasters
« Last post by gout on April 30, 2024, 06:07:19 PM »
Emergency preparation are just words even in developed world. There is a reason they are emergencies and disasters. How do you prepare for floods, tsunamis?
Some year back it was Narok and Solai, now it is Mai Mahiu.

Have always sought to understand how mwafrika recovers and rebuilds their lives after disasters.

Red Cross seem to be scratching the surface and has contextual experience but taking the shine from political leaders, County Commissioners seems to be the main hindrance.

Are they ever prepared for any emergency? I think they wait till it happens then prepare. Most of Narok is built ona flood zone and they continue to allow permant buildings on the flood zone. Why didnt they close Mai Mahiu rd as soon as the rains started?

Kenya Discussion / Re: Biashara sio mchezo.
« Last post by gout on April 30, 2024, 01:24:18 PM »
Great insights.
Is your machinery mobile also??

I didn't lease land...land has so many stones n all exposed by soil erosion. Land huko cost 300k per acre believe it. I pay Maasai 130 per tonne..tipper Ni kitu 2000. I intend to move to my own land in next phase. Now learning the game.  This is not my main investment..I invested over years in rental units in Nairobi that take cares of my family needs. Hii Ni project yangu n my new wife
[/quote]
Kenya Discussion / Re: Sakaja wants to construct a night club at Uhuru Park
« Last post by gout on April 30, 2024, 01:17:14 PM »
There was Checkers till recently.

The encroachment by the expressway exit and the matatu termini are the obnoxious projects which have destroyed a whole side of the park.

Going by Duale's pronouncements, ufool and jeshi had insidous plans to grab the park.
Kenya Discussion / Floods Aftremath- Recovery/Rebuilding after such disasters
« Last post by gout on April 30, 2024, 01:02:53 PM »

Kenya Discussion / Re: A economic avalanche is coming
« Last post by RV Pundit on April 30, 2024, 10:54:25 AM »
Yes unless flooding wreck more havoc; we should be onto good times; once again.
Things looking good.
Unga below 130 mark where the dollar is headed.

Sugar price easing off. We are likely to get to 100-125 per kilo.

Waiting to see how the madness with fake fertilizer will be dealt with.
Kenya Discussion / Will Kenyans go down this road???
« Last post by Georgesoros on April 28, 2024, 05:39:27 AM »
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10